Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

33%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 270 reviews
Plexus Slim

Plexus Slim Review: Does it Work?

Drink your way thin with this powdered mix.

Top Rated Diet Shakes of 2016
What is it?

Plexus Slim is a weight loss drink that’s made to produce results without losing muscle. There’s natural ingredients added which are intended to help lower blood sugar, cholesterol, and lipids.

The package claims it’s the “Most Natural Way To Lose Weight”. It’s also made to help reduce appetite and improve one’s will power over the foods they choose.  They even add that the average time to see weight loss effects is around 2 weeks. In this review we go over all the important details surrounding Plexus Slim. You’ll learn whether or not it’s effective for weight loss, the company history, and what you can expect.  To learn about which shakes made it to the top 10 list, click here.

Do You Know the Best Diet Shakes of 2016?

Plexus Slim Ingredients and Side Effects

Green Coffee Bean Extract (contains Chlorogenic Acid and less than 2% Caffeine)

Garcinia Cambogia Fruit Extract

Alpha Lipoic Acid

Polydextrose

Citric Acid

Natural Flavors

Beet Extract

Stevia Leaf Extract

Luo-Han-Guo Fruit Extract

Guar Gum

Chromium Polynicotinate

Silicon Dioxide

Green Coffee Bean Extract (contains Chlorogenic Acid and less than 2% Caffeine): Unroasted coffee beans which contain levels of chlorogenic acids and caffeine.

It’s meant to help improve blood sugar and metabolism. It’s unknown what the milligram strength is for caffeine. This may potentially cause side effects that include:

  •   Nervousness, anxiety, and mood swings.
  •   Ringing in the ears, agitation, and headaches.
  •  Irregular heartbeat, cardiovascular problems, and high blood pressure.

 

The FDA has also targeted companies that make weight loss claims which have not been proven about green coffee bean. The FTC has also charged companies who make unproven weight loss claims.

Examine.com has also reviewed this ingredient and concluded:

“weight reduction seems quite unreliable”

“does not appear to be as potent as some other supplements”

This ingredient hasn’t been well studied enough and it’s possible that the only reason some have experienced weight loss is due to the caffeine.

Alpha Lipoic Acid: Fatty acid that helps in metabolizing energy.  It’s created by the body, and can be extracted from meats and some fruits and vegetables.

Those with diabetes are advised to be careful with this ingredient as it might significantly reduce blood sugar.  Examine.com also adds:

“long-term, relatively high-dose ALA treatment is liver toxic in mice”

Not many long-term studies have gone into this ingredient. But the one study that was performed did show a possibility for toxic buildup in the organs.

Polydextrose: Synthetic extract of glucose. It’s used as a soluble fiber source and also helps to substitute sugar.

In processed foods it will often replace fats, sugars, and starches. A study on its effects showed side effects even in low amounts. According to the Royal Hallamshire Hospital:

“Polydextrose is unlikely to be an alternative laxative… because of the unacceptable levels of flatulence”

This ingredient led to gas and stomach problems.

Though it’s also claimed to help with improving digestive health due to its fiber, the European Food Safety Authority concluded:

“cause and effect relationship has not been established between the consumption of Polydextrose and maintenance of normal defecation”

Not only did this ingredient show the possibility for side effects, but it’s not a very effective fiber source.

Luo-Han-Guo Extract: Fruit that’s used as a low calorie sweetener, often added to help reduce the total amount of sugar. It’s also shown to relax the bowels, and reduce bacteria in the intestines.

According to Drugs.com:

“No trials have been conducted to establish appropriate dosage”

Due to the lack of studies, it’s unknown what kind of an effect this ingredient might have.

Guar Gum: Thickener extracted from the seeds of the guar plant. It’s often added to processed foods as a cheap thickener.

Since it can swell up to 20 times than normal, it’s known to potentially cause blockages in the throat and intestines. Other possible side effects include:

  • Gas, diarrhea, and nausea.
  • Loose stools, and choking.

To prevent the possibility for choking, it’s often advised to take it with enough water. The FDA banned weight loss pills made with this ingredient due to health concerns, related to swelling and blockages in the body.

Certain people also have an allergic reaction that can cause rashes, difficulty breathing, and other symptoms.

You can discover the best shake brands for weight loss by clicking here.

Plexus Slim Quality Of Ingredients

There are only 4 ingredients added for weight loss, and 2 0f them are already found in many foods. Chromium polynicotinate and alpha lipoic acid both aren’t necessary in the average person, as a deficiency would be noticeable.

There’s Garcinia cambogia fruit extract which is effective for weight loss, though it’s important to know how much chlorogenic acid is provided.  Without knowing the full strength of this extract, it’s unknown if it will have a powerful enough weight loss effect.

Another ingredient used is green coffee bean extract which has added caffeine in unknown milligram strengths. Green coffee bean has not been proven to be effective for weight loss, and that’s why the FDA and FTC have filed complaints against companies who claim this ingredient is effective.

The rest of the ingredients include sweeteners, stabilizers, and ingredients for coloring. Since only one ingredient has been shown to be a good additional additive for weight loss, the majority of ingredients serve no beneficial fat burning purpose.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven meal replacement such as 18Shake for better results.

The Price and Quality of Plexus Slim

A 30 day supply sells direct from the manufacturers for $84.95.  This is an expensive price considering there are only 4 active ingredients. This breaks down to a daily price of $2.83.

Since two of the ingredients are often found in whole foods in sufficient amounts, only 2 additives in this are for weight loss. This isn’t a very fairly priced brand. It’s far too expensive for what’s offered. If you’re looking for cheaper alternatives you can click here.

The major issue with Plexus Slim is that its only useful ingredients can be sourced for much cheaper elsewhere. There’s no information about the strength of the garcinia cambogia to determine what kind of an effect can be expected.

Business of Plexus Slim

The company is owned by Plexus Worldwide, LLC and they are a multilevel marketing company. They can be reached using the following contact details:

Phone Number: (480) 998-3490

Address: 9145 E Pima Center Pkwy

                   Scottsdale, Arizona 85258

They currently hold a C rating on their Better Business Bureau page. This low rating is due to the 680 customer complaints. Here are some quotes from people who didn’t enjoy their experience with the company:

“This company charged my checking account… without authorization”

“They do not answer their phone”

“can’t even get a refund because they won’t answer phones or repond online”

“I have canceled my membership several times and they keeo charging me”

There were hundrerds of complaints against the automatic billing practices.  Many were also disappointed to find that they couldn’t contact the company, and that they fail to answer any emails or voicemails.

People have gone months with continual charges, without being able to cancel. These charges are filed against customers credit cards without due notice.

The FDA has also cited the company for making unproven health claims about their supplements.  The official website was loaded with false information that the FDA required them to take down.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results with meal replacement shakes diet our experts recommend to use it at least 5 months. Save your money buying a few bags of meal replacement product.

Customer Opinions of Plexus Slim

Reviews for a multilevel marketing company can be deceptive. There are sellers of this brand that earn a commission off sales. There’s a few websites which claim Plexus Slim is effective, but they will often end with a sales pitch to join the company.

Here are some customer reviews found online from real users of Plexus Slim:

“Plexus Slim tastes absolutely horrible”

“felt jittery and totally exhausted”

“Nothing changed. Besides having to pee way more in the morning and my heart beating so fast”

“I haven’t lost any weight”

Side effects were often listed from real people who used this brand.  This includes symptoms such as headaches, insomnia, jitters, rapid heart rate, and anxiety.

Also, through there’s a claimed 60 day money back guarantee, many mention they couldn’t reach the company, and that they aren’t able to schedule a return.

Conclusion - Does Plexus Slim Work?

There’s a lot to consider about Plexus Slim. Not only is it expensive, but many people have complained about a lack of a money back guarantee, side effects, and no weight loss benefits. Many of the ingredients added to this also have no proven weight loss effect. There are better solutions for weight loss available.

The very best meal replacement out of 2016 is 18 Shake. It’s made only with all natural ingredients, no fillers, high amounts of protein, and balanced amounts of vitamins and minerals. These are the main reasons why many customers have rated this brand as their favorite for weight loss. Many users have given it rave reviews by saying it tastes great, mixes easy, and helps with appetite suppression.

You can discover more about the benefits of this shake by clicking here.  There’s a full 30 day money back guarantee offered, with returns offered with no questions asked.

How Does Plexus Slim Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Good Taste
  • Plexus Slim
  • 33 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 13 of 17, 326 total comments)

Tami

I have always been on the thin side all of my life and never had to really diet. Menopause has been very cruel to me. Weight gain has been extremely fast. I tried dieting and exercising, but still gained. Tried Plexus Slim for two months hoping for help. Did not lose any weight at all, in fact gain a little more, still exercising. It did give me more energy and made me use the bathroom a lot more to get rid of fluid, but that's it. But not giving up, will continue different exercise program.

posted Oct 26th, 2011 7:49 pm


Brenda

I have a fatty liver and want to know if this has any negative effects on my liver......will it do any damage to my liver or will it help my condition?

posted Oct 19th, 2011 10:26 am



Bill Elsenrath

+

I love my Plexus Slim. I have lost 19 pounds in the past month taking the product. I have not had the problems that some have expressed below. I do know that if you drink coffee and then take the Plexus accelerator that you can get a sick feeling. I tell people not to drink coffee on the accelerator and also if you have high blood pressure to only take the drink. The accelerator can raise your blood pressure because I have monitored my own pressure. I'm a 3 cup a morning coffee drinker and still take the Plexus Accelerator and Plexus Slim. My body is now use to it and I feel fine taking it. I do tell people to consult their doctor if they have questions about the product interactions. as far as a pregnant women,,, I would not recommend this to a pregnant women. I'm not a doctor so I can't make any health claims but I will say that the product works for me. I lost 7 lbs in 8 days and that was my reason for joining the company. I went on to lose 12 more lbs so I'm very happy. It's not for everybody but it is worth a try. If it works for you then great. You can always try the product with a 3 or 7 day kit. The company also gives away a free sample. You can order your free sample at I Love Plexus.com

posted Oct 18th, 2011 12:44 pm


TML

+

I believe it's common for anyone with a "negative" opinion to report it... but there are FAR MORE positive feedbacks about this product or it wouldn't be growing like a wild fire.

I have several friends who have taken this product to their doctor & had it approved, and then got off 10 of their medications!! I've seen people with joint pain use this & it go away. I was a paralegal for 10 years & have done diligent research... I agree this product may not work on everyone, but it works on most!

posted Oct 16th, 2011 9:25 pm


shelly

it has same effect as flavored waters you can buy over the counter for much cheaper. Seriously....drink a plain glass of water before a meal nd common sense says you won't eat as much. it's a rip off. I tried it for two weeks and saw NOTHING and I am not someone who munches. I exercise DAILY and this product did absolutely NOTHING for me. the week AFTER i took it, when I went back to my normal PLAIN WATER before my meals, I continued to feel great and lost 2 more pounds. I can honestly say I triied it and it does not work. Seriously people.....flavored water that you buy from the store will give hte same benefits for less money. Or simply make your own al natural flavored water by adding a slice of fresh fruit to your water. Dont' get ripped off like I did. I gave my friend the unused products I had left over after my two weeks........NO RESULTS for her either and she is a bigger girl with plenty of weight to lose. This product did NOTHING for her but i have been helping her as her personal trainer and friend who is NOT charging her to assist with her goal of losing 45 ounds and she has lost 7 pounds with exercise alone. Please dont' be ripped off. Exercise will do it for you and plenty of plain water.

posted Oct 15th, 2011 1:29 pm


Joanne Alexander

-

A pregnant coworker was experiencing complications with high blood pressure. A plexus slim seller tells her plexus slim is good for high blood pressure and tries to sell product to pregnant lady. Very disturbing this sort of selling tactic. Always check with your physician before taking supplements. Natural does not always equate to safe. I tried the pink drink and it did nothing for me.

posted Oct 13th, 2011 5:01 am


Deidre

-

Diet and exercise are the #1 way to lose weight. You didn't gain 5 lbs a week, so you shouldn't lose 5 lbs in a week.

posted Oct 12th, 2011 5:21 pm


Sharon

?

Does this product work for those who have hypothyroidism? Does this work for those who have hypothyroidism? I have tried almost everything and nothing works because my metabolism is awful-

posted Oct 12th, 2011 1:58 pm


Kelley

My husband (Michael) has asked me in the past not to take any diet supplements because of all the health risk. When I saw Plexus Slim, I gave it to my husband to review and after he reviewed all the information for about 3 weeks, he came to the conclusion that it is an all natural weight loss supplement. When starting the product I did sign up to sell it because I get a much better price. I am not a skinny girl at all, I started at 297 and my first week lost 6.6 pounds. I am a muncher and when drinking Plexus Slim I do not have that desire to snack. Keep in mind I have only been taking this for 2 weeks now and have lost 10 pounds but I have had two birthday parties and a church event which is life. Iâ??ve known for awhile that I need to do something but exercise is very difficult and I really hate it. My husband who is not fat, exercise everyday and really watches what he eats, is even taking the product as well because of all the good things that it is does for your body.

Oh, let me also tell you that this company is not like most they want us to be healthy and even told us about a bacteria (yeast infection in our stomachs) that 9 out of 10 people have that turns everything you eat into sugar called Candida. My husband and I did the test, he did not have it but I did. All the research we have done, no wonder I havenâ??t been able to lose weight even when I tried. The test is easy and all you do is take a glass first thing in the morning before you do anything, fill the glass with water and spit in it. If your spit looks like a science project gone bad (I think it looks like snot) then you have Candida. It you spit is clear and dissolves like my husbandâ??s did you do not have it. I donâ??t hear other companies telling you that you could have this in your stomach and that everything you eat turns into sugar. Take the free test and tell others that they may also have this issue. This company does provide a solution in pill form that kills the bacteria in 30 days and I will tell you, I started it a week ago and I can tell changes are taking place, for one I have a lot less gas (LOL). I just want to be honest. To learn more about Candida www.nationalcandidacenter.com which this is website is not a related to Plexus but our own research. If you want to contact me directly go to www.plexus8.com even if you just want to ask me some questions on your own or if you just want to get a free sample. We even have a facebook page â??Plexus Slim â?? USAâ?ť where we have put the Candida information, utub video regarding it and yes a picture of me on a scale at 297 pounds. If your on Plexus Slim, report what youâ??re doing and your results even if you buy it from someone else.

I hope the information I provided has been helpful, do the Candida test and let me know what your results are.

posted Oct 12th, 2011 5:55 am


Lorinda

Shantell, yes I do sell the products, but that is not why I say it is good. I say that because it is!! I have lost 25 pounds as of today. I do agree with Gina it is not for everyone, some people just don't like it or it does not work for them, which is fine. I really Love this stuff and have many "non selling " people that love it to!

posted Oct 2nd, 2011 9:24 pm


Debbie

Does this products make you run to the bathroom urgently??

posted Sep 29th, 2011 12:03 pm


gina

The first day i took plexus slim i threw up three times. the second time i only took the pill and i threw up once. maybe this is good for some people but it definitely didnt work for me.

posted Sep 28th, 2011 2:48 pm


edward blaize

+

This is a great product if you habitually overeat and are too busy with work and life to get a good workout. if you have the time but not the energy, then take the accelerator, you will have the energy to workout after that. dont be a fool and starve yourself because you dont feel like eating. it is that good. you will have to make yourself eat.

posted Sep 28th, 2011 12:59 pm


Kristy

I've been on Plexis Slim/Accelerator for 7 days. I am down 6lbs. I've also been on WW for the last 5 years. I've lost 31 lbs on WW however have gained some back. I started using plexis to jump start me back on WW and it definitely did that. I do not sell this product nor will I ever sell any product, I have a job. I will say that I had to cut the dosage to 1/3 at 10am and the remaining at 1pm.

posted Sep 23rd, 2011 3:06 pm


Shantell

-

Lorinda, are you an ambassador?

posted Sep 19th, 2011 5:46 pm


Lynne

?

Is it good for type 1or type2diabetes??

posted Sep 18th, 2011 10:30 pm


lorinda

+

I posted earlier back in Aug when I first started using this product and now it is 8 weeks into it and OMG this stuff is great. My husband went to his Dr for his checkup and his Cholestrol has dropped 95 points as well as his Blood Pressure dropping 10 points and he lost 18 lbs. I have lost 19 Lbs. Best thing I have ever tried. You owe it to your self to atleast try it for the 3 day trial. Checkout the website and read all the details. www.plexusslim.com/16414

posted Sep 17th, 2011 11:47 pm


Shantell

Another "I lost a gazillion pounds" review from ambassador. Read the above: >>>While it gets bonus points for its convenient powdered mix which can be easily added to any bottle of water for a quick appetite suppressant and its natural ingredients, Plexus Slim is not a long-term solution weight and its all-natural ingredients may not equate to being safe for your health.<<< I will take advice from proven research, rather than some ambassador trying make money. You want to spend your money on something that is not lasting, go ahead. I am sticking the only long term solution to weight management: Burn more calories than you consume.

posted Sep 15th, 2011 4:52 pm


Kathy

+

Just wanted to address the issue of the statement someone made about Plexus Slim having an ingredient linked to liver damage...
The ingredient they are referring to is called Citrin K, otherwise known as hydroxycitric acid. It was one of the ingredients in the product Hydroxycut that had to be removed from the market due to claims of liver damage. That is where the whole liver damage issue stems from. Although, there are claims out that the hydroxycitric acid was the cause of the liver problems associated with Hydroxycut. These are claims that have no proof. In fact, health officials openly stated that they have been unable to determine which Hydroxycut ingredients are potentially toxic, partially because the formulation has changed several times. Furthermore, the tests performed after these incidents indicated that, in the doses found in Hydroxycut and similar weight loss products, hydroxycitric acid appears to be nontoxic and safe. In the numerous studies on hydroxycitric acid, it caused no significant ill effects. People taking HCA had no more side effects than those taking a placebo.
In Asia, people have used hydroxycitric acid for centuries as a food preservative and flavoring in curries and other dishes. It has a reputation for making foods feel more filling.
Not to mention that you can purchase it in it's pure form in any health food store as a supplement.

In conclusion, the statement that Plexus Slim contains an ingredient known to be linked to liver damage is a myth. And, yes, I'm an ambassador, but I did my due diligence and researched the product in full before I started taking it. I also did not sign up as an ambassador until I had taken the product and proved to myself that it worked. I wouldn't promote it if it didn't work.

posted Sep 14th, 2011 3:45 pm


Jesse

I tired V3 too- Gave me severe headaches- I switched to Plexus and have had no side effects- I do split the accelerator though because I felt like it was a little much for me- You can buy gel caps at the health food store and just dump 1/2 a capsule into an empty capsule- It will also last 2 months instead of one! I do NOT sell it- I have tried everything and this actually curbs my appetite and keeps my blood sugar stable.

posted Sep 9th, 2011 11:18 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: David Brown
  • Headquarters: Scottsdale, Arizona
  • Accessibility: Online or through a representative
  • Diet Type: Diet supplement drink mix
  • Gender: Male and female

Do You Know the Best Diet Shakes of 2016?

BACKGROUND

Plexus Slim is a powdered dietary supplement that is mixed with water to help you burn calories and fat while on the go. It contains no caffeine or stimulants and is meant to be used in conjunction with a regular diet plan.

Plexus Slim also claims to help you obtain healthy blood sugar, cholesterol and lipid levels and is considered safe for those with diabetes.

To take this supplement you simply pour it into a bottle of water 30 minutes before a meal and drink.

The products' two plant extract concentrates - chloregenic acid and oxypregnane steroid glycoside - work to provide effective "slimming and beauty benefits" thanks to antioxidants that are reportedly twice as potent as those found in dark chocolate.

Studies have also shown the caffein acid in chlorogenic acid contains high antioxidant levels that help limit the oxidation of lipids in the liver. And the oxypregnane steroidal glycoside helps with appetite control because it sends signals to the brain to tell the body it's full.

Plexus Slim claims the effectiveness of its product has been clinically proven. A 30-day supply of costs $84.95, but preferred customers - those who agree to receive a monthly recurring auto-shipment - pay $79.95.

Ingredients include: Chloregenic acid (plant extract), citrin K, alpha lipoid acid, oxypregnane steroidal, polydestrose, citric acid, natural flavors, beet root and grape skin extract, stevia extract and lo han extract.

Makers of Plexus Slim say users can expect to see results in as little as two weeks.

PRO
  • Contains no stimulants
  • Claims to be safe for diabetics
  • Contains natural ingredients
  • Can be conveniently mixed with water
  • May help to jump-start a weight loss plan

CON
  • Can be a bit expensive compared to similar products
  • Must buy a 30-day supply to get free sample
  • Diet and exercise are mentioned, but not heavily incorporated with Plexus Slim
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Weight loss claims are likely exaggerated
  • Natural does not always mean safe
INGREDIENTS
  • Chlorogenic acids
  • Oxypregnane steroidal glycoside
  • Low Glycemic Index Fructose
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Beet Root
  • Stevia
  • Lo Han Fruit
  • Grape Skin
  • Carmine
  • Rosmarinic Acid
  • Hydroxcycinnamic Acid
ADMINISTRATION

Pour into a 12-ounce glass or bottle of water and drink 30 minutes before a meal. Plexus Slim should be consumed only one time throughout the day.

DIET and EXERCISE

Changing your eating habits is recommended for optimal results with Plexus Slim. The product contains natural appetite suppressants, and basically you are told to listen to your body. Ordering smaller meals at restaurants and eating smaller portions is the extent of the dieting advice.

For exercise, you don’t have to incorporate any exercise to see results. It is mentioned that if you incorporate 20-30 minutes of exercise each day, your results will be seen a lot faster.

CONCLUSION

Losing weight can mean different things to different people. Some people desire to lose five or ten pounds while others have much larger amounts to lose. Using Plexus Slim might be a great added boost to help you reach your goals. While it gets bonus points for its convenient powdered mix which can be easily added to any bottle of water for a quick appetite suppressant and its natural ingredients, Plexus Slim is not a long-term solution weight and its all-natural ingredients may not equate to being safe for your health.

Talk to your doctor before using this product, particularly if you have diabetes.

Common Misspellings

plexis slim, plixis slim, plexas slim, plexusslim, plecksus slim, plexuss slim, plexxus slim

Related Diets: EFFER-THIN, Hydroxycut Instant Drink Packets, SlimShot Diet, SlimSplash, Wu-Yi Pixie Pack, Acai Easy Drink Pack

Whats better than
Plexus Slim?