Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

33%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 270 reviews
Plexus Slim

Plexus Slim Review: Does it Work?

Drink your way thin with this powdered mix.

Top Rated Diet Shakes of 2016
What is it?

Plexus Slim is a weight loss drink that’s made to produce results without losing muscle. There’s natural ingredients added which are intended to help lower blood sugar, cholesterol, and lipids.

The package claims it’s the “Most Natural Way To Lose Weight”. It’s also made to help reduce appetite and improve one’s will power over the foods they choose.  They even add that the average time to see weight loss effects is around 2 weeks. In this review we go over all the important details surrounding Plexus Slim. You’ll learn whether or not it’s effective for weight loss, the company history, and what you can expect.  To learn about which shakes made it to the top 10 list, click here.

Do You Know the Best Diet Shakes of 2016?

Plexus Slim Ingredients and Side Effects

Green Coffee Bean Extract (contains Chlorogenic Acid and less than 2% Caffeine)

Garcinia Cambogia Fruit Extract

Alpha Lipoic Acid

Polydextrose

Citric Acid

Natural Flavors

Beet Extract

Stevia Leaf Extract

Luo-Han-Guo Fruit Extract

Guar Gum

Chromium Polynicotinate

Silicon Dioxide

Green Coffee Bean Extract (contains Chlorogenic Acid and less than 2% Caffeine): Unroasted coffee beans which contain levels of chlorogenic acids and caffeine.

It’s meant to help improve blood sugar and metabolism. It’s unknown what the milligram strength is for caffeine. This may potentially cause side effects that include:

  •   Nervousness, anxiety, and mood swings.
  •   Ringing in the ears, agitation, and headaches.
  •  Irregular heartbeat, cardiovascular problems, and high blood pressure.

 

The FDA has also targeted companies that make weight loss claims which have not been proven about green coffee bean. The FTC has also charged companies who make unproven weight loss claims.

Examine.com has also reviewed this ingredient and concluded:

“weight reduction seems quite unreliable”

“does not appear to be as potent as some other supplements”

This ingredient hasn’t been well studied enough and it’s possible that the only reason some have experienced weight loss is due to the caffeine.

Alpha Lipoic Acid: Fatty acid that helps in metabolizing energy.  It’s created by the body, and can be extracted from meats and some fruits and vegetables.

Those with diabetes are advised to be careful with this ingredient as it might significantly reduce blood sugar.  Examine.com also adds:

“long-term, relatively high-dose ALA treatment is liver toxic in mice”

Not many long-term studies have gone into this ingredient. But the one study that was performed did show a possibility for toxic buildup in the organs.

Polydextrose: Synthetic extract of glucose. It’s used as a soluble fiber source and also helps to substitute sugar.

In processed foods it will often replace fats, sugars, and starches. A study on its effects showed side effects even in low amounts. According to the Royal Hallamshire Hospital:

“Polydextrose is unlikely to be an alternative laxative… because of the unacceptable levels of flatulence”

This ingredient led to gas and stomach problems.

Though it’s also claimed to help with improving digestive health due to its fiber, the European Food Safety Authority concluded:

“cause and effect relationship has not been established between the consumption of Polydextrose and maintenance of normal defecation”

Not only did this ingredient show the possibility for side effects, but it’s not a very effective fiber source.

Luo-Han-Guo Extract: Fruit that’s used as a low calorie sweetener, often added to help reduce the total amount of sugar. It’s also shown to relax the bowels, and reduce bacteria in the intestines.

According to Drugs.com:

“No trials have been conducted to establish appropriate dosage”

Due to the lack of studies, it’s unknown what kind of an effect this ingredient might have.

Guar Gum: Thickener extracted from the seeds of the guar plant. It’s often added to processed foods as a cheap thickener.

Since it can swell up to 20 times than normal, it’s known to potentially cause blockages in the throat and intestines. Other possible side effects include:

  • Gas, diarrhea, and nausea.
  • Loose stools, and choking.

To prevent the possibility for choking, it’s often advised to take it with enough water. The FDA banned weight loss pills made with this ingredient due to health concerns, related to swelling and blockages in the body.

Certain people also have an allergic reaction that can cause rashes, difficulty breathing, and other symptoms.

You can discover the best shake brands for weight loss by clicking here.

Plexus Slim Quality Of Ingredients

There are only 4 ingredients added for weight loss, and 2 0f them are already found in many foods. Chromium polynicotinate and alpha lipoic acid both aren’t necessary in the average person, as a deficiency would be noticeable.

There’s Garcinia cambogia fruit extract which is effective for weight loss, though it’s important to know how much chlorogenic acid is provided.  Without knowing the full strength of this extract, it’s unknown if it will have a powerful enough weight loss effect.

Another ingredient used is green coffee bean extract which has added caffeine in unknown milligram strengths. Green coffee bean has not been proven to be effective for weight loss, and that’s why the FDA and FTC have filed complaints against companies who claim this ingredient is effective.

The rest of the ingredients include sweeteners, stabilizers, and ingredients for coloring. Since only one ingredient has been shown to be a good additional additive for weight loss, the majority of ingredients serve no beneficial fat burning purpose.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven meal replacement such as 18Shake for better results.

The Price and Quality of Plexus Slim

A 30 day supply sells direct from the manufacturers for $84.95.  This is an expensive price considering there are only 4 active ingredients. This breaks down to a daily price of $2.83.

Since two of the ingredients are often found in whole foods in sufficient amounts, only 2 additives in this are for weight loss. This isn’t a very fairly priced brand. It’s far too expensive for what’s offered. If you’re looking for cheaper alternatives you can click here.

The major issue with Plexus Slim is that its only useful ingredients can be sourced for much cheaper elsewhere. There’s no information about the strength of the garcinia cambogia to determine what kind of an effect can be expected.

Business of Plexus Slim

The company is owned by Plexus Worldwide, LLC and they are a multilevel marketing company. They can be reached using the following contact details:

Phone Number: (480) 998-3490

Address: 9145 E Pima Center Pkwy

                   Scottsdale, Arizona 85258

They currently hold a C rating on their Better Business Bureau page. This low rating is due to the 680 customer complaints. Here are some quotes from people who didn’t enjoy their experience with the company:

“This company charged my checking account… without authorization”

“They do not answer their phone”

“can’t even get a refund because they won’t answer phones or repond online”

“I have canceled my membership several times and they keeo charging me”

There were hundrerds of complaints against the automatic billing practices.  Many were also disappointed to find that they couldn’t contact the company, and that they fail to answer any emails or voicemails.

People have gone months with continual charges, without being able to cancel. These charges are filed against customers credit cards without due notice.

The FDA has also cited the company for making unproven health claims about their supplements.  The official website was loaded with false information that the FDA required them to take down.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results with meal replacement shakes diet our experts recommend to use it at least 5 months. Save your money buying a few bags of meal replacement product.

Customer Opinions of Plexus Slim

Reviews for a multilevel marketing company can be deceptive. There are sellers of this brand that earn a commission off sales. There’s a few websites which claim Plexus Slim is effective, but they will often end with a sales pitch to join the company.

Here are some customer reviews found online from real users of Plexus Slim:

“Plexus Slim tastes absolutely horrible”

“felt jittery and totally exhausted”

“Nothing changed. Besides having to pee way more in the morning and my heart beating so fast”

“I haven’t lost any weight”

Side effects were often listed from real people who used this brand.  This includes symptoms such as headaches, insomnia, jitters, rapid heart rate, and anxiety.

Also, through there’s a claimed 60 day money back guarantee, many mention they couldn’t reach the company, and that they aren’t able to schedule a return.

Conclusion - Does Plexus Slim Work?

There’s a lot to consider about Plexus Slim. Not only is it expensive, but many people have complained about a lack of a money back guarantee, side effects, and no weight loss benefits. Many of the ingredients added to this also have no proven weight loss effect. There are better solutions for weight loss available.

The very best meal replacement out of 2016 is 18 Shake. It’s made only with all natural ingredients, no fillers, high amounts of protein, and balanced amounts of vitamins and minerals. These are the main reasons why many customers have rated this brand as their favorite for weight loss. Many users have given it rave reviews by saying it tastes great, mixes easy, and helps with appetite suppression.

You can discover more about the benefits of this shake by clicking here.  There’s a full 30 day money back guarantee offered, with returns offered with no questions asked.

How Does Plexus Slim Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Good Taste
  • Plexus Slim
  • 33 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 11 of 17, 326 total comments)

INDREA

Pete sounds like you have a lot of time on your hands. Sometimes being quite sounds a whole lot louder than voicing your every opinion just because something didnt work for you. you are funny to me! Have a great day! Keep up the negative energy,it only provides more of an opportunity for the rest of us to be successful while you sit and play with your computer. Take care!

posted Feb 17th, 2012 3:59 pm


Pete

William

Do you realize how much sodium chips and salsa have? High sodium causes a person to carry more water. Cut your chips and salsa in half, carry less fluid, therefore less weght. Does'nt take an MBA to figure out. Water is what you loss, so don't go spending money on a product really responsible for anything but draining your wallet of your hard earned money. But, maybe you have it to waste, unlike most folks..

posted Feb 14th, 2012 10:17 pm


Pete

Susan

Please except my apology! I have had so many of my friends and relatives burned financially from these so called miracle products, and marketing practices, that if I can save one person I will be pleased. My apologies again.

posted Feb 13th, 2012 10:53 pm


SusanL

-

Pete: I am not in favor of this product. I contacted the company to get first hand info if the product can be purchased only from sellers, as the ambassadors are claiming. It is sad many are falling for the claims, making the sellers money and the makers very rich. Don't wake a sleeping dog, all you will do is get bitten. It is useless attempting to educate cult-thinking.

posted Feb 13th, 2012 6:48 pm


Pete

Susan and Kris. Being a former ambassador, Susan is right, you can buy from the company, and the other person was just trying to make the commission. Well Susan, what is your goal?!!!
People think PS is just a bunch of people working together. This is far from the truth. When you attend these "rah, rah" meetings, be nice to people, but on the other hand remember everyone, including your downline is your competition. You may ask what are we competing for/ Simple, PEOPLE! And there are just so many to go around, then the market becomes "saturated" and then it's over. No more money for you, no more money for the company. Sorry folks, that's 33 yrs of marketing talking, and the reason most MLM companies last only 3-5 yrs. This is the "law of marketing", similar to the law of gravity. Only time will tell, but that is all a MLM companiy wants, and that's time to drain you of every cent you have before moving on.

posted Feb 12th, 2012 3:31 pm


Pete

This is a good site and the write up seems to be unbiased. For another unbiased site would like to refer you to Joe Cannon's "Plexusslim Ingredients and Side Effects" on Google, or Yahoo.. Misspelled some words on my last post, do you think PS will help me with that, it seems to do everything else. LOL

posted Feb 11th, 2012 11:29 pm


Pete

Misti

I am no competitor to PS. My background is sales and marketing with a dergree in Biology. People can believe what they want to about PS, my gripe is MLM and how they conn people like your friend to spend their hard earned money on a product that has no clinical data backing it. I mean no disrespect to her, but the people I have witness losing weight with PS were extremely overweight, and she probably still is. I could get into the science of it, but I doubt you would understand it, and that is the whole point. This isn't about PS, but about MLM companies that will conn people out of their money for as long as they can then move on, change their name, and the process starts over again. This is due to the FTC guidelines not coming down on these comanies harder. But, that will be changing soon due to all the fraud going on. I will give you some advice and it won't cost you $84.00 a month, get off your big butts, watch your diet, and exercise. That will be .05 please. I am glad your friend is better healthwise, but I doubt if it was PS doing the work. She deserves the credit for realizing she needed help.

posted Feb 11th, 2012 10:31 pm


SusanL

-

Kris, what ambassador Karley relayed to you is untruth and an attempt to gain sales. You can call the company directly to place an order. Here is the response I received from the company when I posed the same question:

Thank you for contacting us. The best way for you to order would be to call us. You can reach me directly at 480-998-3490 ext XXX. When we place your order I can flag your account so that you do not get assigned to an Ambassador. Should you need further assistance please feel free to contact us again.

Thank you,
XXX,Representative
---
Customer Support
Plexus Worldwide, Inc.
7440 E. Karen Dr.
Suite 400
Scottsdale, AZ 85260

posted Feb 10th, 2012 9:55 pm


happy

+

Ok! before you take. if youre on any meds please take ingredients to your dr before taking Plexus Slim to get approval. everyone i know that takes it has not gotten an nonapproval from their dr to take. my ambassador has had a kidney transplant and is ok to take. so please ask your dr first!!!!
second..if you dont drink lots of caffiene i reccommend that you take half the accelerator one day and the other half the next. then try a whole pill by the 3rd day. it will deffinitlly make you gittery if your not use to ots of caffiene. example: if you can drink a cup of coffe at night and go to sleep right after, you most like can handle a whole pill the first day!
if you take the whole pill the first day make sure your ready to be busy that day. i had to keep moving so i wouldnt feel gittery. if i sat down i would feel my heart pulsing. but keep moving! after that day i was fine. i hope this helped some questions.
some may loose pounds some may lose inches at first.

posted Feb 10th, 2012 4:02 pm


Kelly

?

How come Plexus Slim is not working? Been taking pink drink for two wks now. Not much weight loss--IF ANY! Is that typical? I'm eating much much less and I have cut out beer (all alcohol) . Maybe inches? Help!

posted Feb 9th, 2012 11:57 pm


Karley

+

Hi Kris,
You can purchase WITHOUT having to be an ambassador YOURSELF but because product is retailed through a network marketing channel, you have to purchase THRU an ambassador. Here's my website and ambassador number. You can purchase here.

plexusslim.com/15690

posted Feb 9th, 2012 8:04 pm


kris

my husband and I went to a Home and Garden show and he saw the booth and we deided to try it. We were given a 3 day supply and purchased another 3 day for $5. I took it for the 3 days, lost 4 pounds, not sure how much he lost. First day was jittery initally but after about 1 hr felt fine. 2nd day felt fine and appetite was really cut, only ate because I knew I needed to. The only problem is trying to order more, we thought about trying to sell it but appears to be a pyramid scam, but I would still like to use the produce, just dont want to try to sell it. Apparently there is a great push for sells-people. Is there a way to purchase without having an "ambassador"...if anyone knows please let me know on this site. thanks

posted Feb 2nd, 2012 12:20 am


Shannon

At first, the accelerator worked great, but now, not so much. Someone told me that they take 2 per day. Is this safe?

posted Jan 31st, 2012 9:06 pm


Pat

+

I have been using this product since Jan 1, 2012 and have lost 10 pounds and I feel better. I really like this product. ESP. the slim. Pat
plexuslouisiana@yahoo.com

posted Jan 23rd, 2012 6:12 am


William

I have been on Plexus Slim nearing a month now. I started Plexus Slim weighing in at 233 pounds and now I am at 223 pounds. So thats 10 pounds in 30 days. Before I started Plexus Slim I would eat to helpings or baskets of chips/salsa at our local mexican diner. Now I'm down to a half a basket and I don't feel hungry. I started the product drinking two packs a day now I'm drinking one pack around 7:30 AM and eat an average size breakfast around 8 so I can pretty much bypass lunch and have a healthy dinner. So far, plexus is working for me so I'm gonna stick with it and continue to provide updates on how its going.

posted Jan 21st, 2012 6:19 pm


Shantelle

Open forums allow for all opinions. Consumers should know all sides, not just the "It works/I sell it/Here is my website." No one can say Pete is a competitor trying to bash the competition anymore than it can be said you are a Plexus Slim ambassador trying to boost sales. The "I had great results vs I got sick with this product" debate can continue indefinitely. But please do not attempt to crush first amendment rights of, among others, freedom of speech and freedom of the press. Unless restricted by forum owner, no one is required to leave their cynicism at the door.

posted Jan 12th, 2012 5:58 pm


Misti

Pete--- Who is to say you're no some competitor out there who is trying to bash the competition. All I know is I know a lady who sells it, is also her own customer and has lost 48 inches and went down from a 5x-XL since April. She has had knee surgery and has not been able to exercise. She is a diabetic and Plexusslim is her saving grace. How about you leave your cynicism at the door.

posted Jan 11th, 2012 9:57 pm


chris

I have been on the product 14 day and I am down 6 lbs! I have been sleeping all through the night also, that is not normal for me. So far I'm loving Slim.

posted Jan 9th, 2012 5:25 pm


Mandy

-

first off I am a 24/female

I was giving a free trial of the 3 day trial... and Today is my 1st day... I took it, and 30 Mins later I was EXTREMELY Jittery, my heart rate was extremely high... I felt like I was in Slow motion and couldnt hold still and was very cold but hot at the same time... I felt like i needed to go to the hospital... I then hurryed up and ate something... After eatin I cant stop Sweating cold sweats.... I have never had any kind of heart problems... I dont think I will be takin this EVER AGAIN!!!!!

Its been 3 hours now and I still feel jittery and sweaty...

posted Jan 8th, 2012 7:20 pm


pete

Some of you may have read my post concerning the plexusslim accelerator. the ingredient geranax is a cover up name for DMAA, a stimulent, that acts like ephedrine or bitter organce. two solders died having this chemical in their systems, causing the armed forces to consider taking all products with this it it off the self. you are being deceived if you think the accelerator is no mor than a cup of coffee. when i tried it to experiment, my pulse rate went from 65 to 121. dr said do not take. do your homework people before you hurt yourselves, and more importantly, your love ones.

posted Jan 4th, 2012 3:29 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: David Brown
  • Headquarters: Scottsdale, Arizona
  • Accessibility: Online or through a representative
  • Diet Type: Diet supplement drink mix
  • Gender: Male and female

Do You Know the Best Diet Shakes of 2016?

BACKGROUND

Plexus Slim is a powdered dietary supplement that is mixed with water to help you burn calories and fat while on the go. It contains no caffeine or stimulants and is meant to be used in conjunction with a regular diet plan.

Plexus Slim also claims to help you obtain healthy blood sugar, cholesterol and lipid levels and is considered safe for those with diabetes.

To take this supplement you simply pour it into a bottle of water 30 minutes before a meal and drink.

The products' two plant extract concentrates - chloregenic acid and oxypregnane steroid glycoside - work to provide effective "slimming and beauty benefits" thanks to antioxidants that are reportedly twice as potent as those found in dark chocolate.

Studies have also shown the caffein acid in chlorogenic acid contains high antioxidant levels that help limit the oxidation of lipids in the liver. And the oxypregnane steroidal glycoside helps with appetite control because it sends signals to the brain to tell the body it's full.

Plexus Slim claims the effectiveness of its product has been clinically proven. A 30-day supply of costs $84.95, but preferred customers - those who agree to receive a monthly recurring auto-shipment - pay $79.95.

Ingredients include: Chloregenic acid (plant extract), citrin K, alpha lipoid acid, oxypregnane steroidal, polydestrose, citric acid, natural flavors, beet root and grape skin extract, stevia extract and lo han extract.

Makers of Plexus Slim say users can expect to see results in as little as two weeks.

PRO
  • Contains no stimulants
  • Claims to be safe for diabetics
  • Contains natural ingredients
  • Can be conveniently mixed with water
  • May help to jump-start a weight loss plan

CON
  • Can be a bit expensive compared to similar products
  • Must buy a 30-day supply to get free sample
  • Diet and exercise are mentioned, but not heavily incorporated with Plexus Slim
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Weight loss claims are likely exaggerated
  • Natural does not always mean safe
INGREDIENTS
  • Chlorogenic acids
  • Oxypregnane steroidal glycoside
  • Low Glycemic Index Fructose
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Beet Root
  • Stevia
  • Lo Han Fruit
  • Grape Skin
  • Carmine
  • Rosmarinic Acid
  • Hydroxcycinnamic Acid
ADMINISTRATION

Pour into a 12-ounce glass or bottle of water and drink 30 minutes before a meal. Plexus Slim should be consumed only one time throughout the day.

DIET and EXERCISE

Changing your eating habits is recommended for optimal results with Plexus Slim. The product contains natural appetite suppressants, and basically you are told to listen to your body. Ordering smaller meals at restaurants and eating smaller portions is the extent of the dieting advice.

For exercise, you don’t have to incorporate any exercise to see results. It is mentioned that if you incorporate 20-30 minutes of exercise each day, your results will be seen a lot faster.

CONCLUSION

Losing weight can mean different things to different people. Some people desire to lose five or ten pounds while others have much larger amounts to lose. Using Plexus Slim might be a great added boost to help you reach your goals. While it gets bonus points for its convenient powdered mix which can be easily added to any bottle of water for a quick appetite suppressant and its natural ingredients, Plexus Slim is not a long-term solution weight and its all-natural ingredients may not equate to being safe for your health.

Talk to your doctor before using this product, particularly if you have diabetes.

Common Misspellings

plexis slim, plixis slim, plexas slim, plexusslim, plecksus slim, plexuss slim, plexxus slim

Related Diets: EFFER-THIN, Hydroxycut Instant Drink Packets, SlimShot Diet, SlimSplash, Wu-Yi Pixie Pack, Acai Easy Drink Pack

Whats better than
Plexus Slim?