Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

48%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 53 reviews
Maple Syrup Diet

Maple Syrup Diet Review: Does it Work?

Stars like Beyonce use this to detox and start fresh.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Maple Syrup Diet is a fad detox diet made to promote weight loss by drinking a homemade drink. This beverage mixes maple syrup, cayenne pepper, and lemonade.

The claimed benefits extend beyond weight loss and they include healthier skin and nails, a resistance to illness via stronger immune system, increase mental focus, enhanced energy, and stronger hair. The diet was popularized by the musician Beyoncé after she admitted it helped her lose weight for a film role. By reviewing many different weight loss diets our experts found the most effective was the 18Shake Diet. This diet offers a nutritionally balanced appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning diet pill. They both are free of stimulants, preservatives, binders, fillers, and only have natural ingredients. Discover more about the 18Shake Diet via the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Maple Syrup Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The key ingredients one will be eating are:

Maple Syrup:Sweetener extractedfrom the maple tree. It has a unique flavor and is mostly made up of the sugar sucrose. There are different grades to this as some are less processed, taste stronger, and have a darker amber color.

It also has very little macronutrients, and often has a lot of carbohydrates and sugars per serving.

Lemon Juice:This citrus fruit is low in sugar and high in vitamin C, with an average sized fruit providing 51% of the daily requirement for vitamin C.  They help support the immune system and are high in antioxidants.

Cayenne Pepper: Spicy chili pepper extract that is used to flavor dishes. It is rated from 30,000 to 50,000 Scoville units which means it can be exceptionally spicy and very little of it is need to add spice to meals. When handled and eaten it can promote side effects that may include:

         • Stomach pain, diarrhea, and cramps.

         • Skin irritation, burning, and itching.

         • Kidney or liver damage.

It contains a high amount of vitamin A and has some trace vitamins and minerals. It is known to help stimulate blood flow and increase the rate of metabolism.

There’s no official guide to the Maple Syrup Diet, though it’s often recommended to serve this drink in the following ratio. 2 tablespoons of maple syrup, 2 tablespoons of freshly squeezed lemon juice, and a pinch of cayenne pepper or ginger to a half pint of cold or hot water. One can drink as much as one likes, with an ideal range of 6 to nine glasses.

Different plans are offered as well with typically the 4 possibilities listed:

• Full detox: Having the only thing you eat being this drink for a total of 10 days straight, and 14 fulldays if one is capable. For people   beginning this diet it’s advised to do it for a 5 to 7 day period.

• One a week: Skip food just one day a week and replace with this drink.

• Master plan: Twice yearly and multi day detox approach followed once a week.

• Relaxed version: Replacing breakfast, dinner or both with 2 to 3 glasses. Also there is no allowance for dairy, coffee, sweets alcohol, red meat, processed foods, and fried foods.

For a top 10 ranked diet plans list for weight loss click the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Maple Syrup Diet Quality of Ingredients

While cayenne pepper and lemon juice can be healthy, the added maple syrup is high in sugar and there’s no protein from this drink. Sustaining oneself only on this can be potentially dangerous, as Web MD adds:

“The problem is, you will lose muscle mass. The diet puts you at risk for nutritional deficient too.”

They also mention the possibility for weight loss:

“you will likely gain the weight back really quickly once you start eating normally”

“You’ll likely be hungry on such a strict diet.

They even describe one of the key flaws to the diet:

“There’s no proof that detoxifying leads to long-termweight loss”

Eating only these kinds of foods instead of a nutritionally well-rounded meal can lead to deficiencies and side effects. It’s not only difficult to continue, but the possibility for real weight loss is very unlikely. For a list of the most effective weight loss diets click the link provided here.

The Price and Quality of Maple Syrup Diet

All one has to pay for is the lemons, cayenne, and maple syrup. This can be easy to obtain and often does not cost much, though the grade of maple syrup might be pricy.

Overall however, due to the lack of evidence, health sites like Web MD have confirmed that this is an unlikely weight loss fad diet. It’s considered a crash diet, meaning one has to follow it for a short period in order to achieve weight loss.

There are many potential issues and no proof that it is actually safe and effective. For a comprehensive list of the top ranking diet plans for weight loss follow the link provided.

The diet does not emphasize any important facets of weight loss, and instead is meant to promote effects via a detoxing effect which has not been proven. There is a lack of provided facts about the real effects of this diet. Without this key information, it makes the overall quality poor and potentially risky to try even in short bursts.

Business of Maple Syrup Diet

The diet was popularized by the musician Beyoncé and there are some websites which offer free resources. However, the basics of the diet are easy to explain.

It’s unclear exactly who created this diet, though one claim is that it was founded in the 1940’s by a Stanley Burroughs who practiced alternative health strategies. His claim was that this drink was effective for treating ulcers and eliminating toxic waste fromthebody. His original plan was to help detoxify the body, but this has since been debunked as Dr. David Dahlman mentions:

“not only is this diet dangerous, but it fails to detox the body” The detoxification system works by nutrients combining with toxins”

“doesn’t provide the necessary nutrients foe the liver to do its job, and it will deplete your reserves within 48 hours”

Therefore the science behind this diet has been proven to be ineffective. The top 10 ranked diet plans for weight loss are featured in this link.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Maple Syrup Diet

Many have tried this diet; here are some user quotes about the use of the Maple Syrup Diet:

“drank it and immediately vomited”

“I think the taste of the drink is horrible! I couldn't even drink it!”

“I HIGHLY discourage this.”

“I’ve got the mother of all headaches and nausea”

There were many people who found it undrinkable and much too spicy to handle. There were side effects such as nausea, heartburn, vomiting, diarrhea, and feelings of illness.

Some people did lose weight;however, any diet that severely restricts calories will have this effect. There is also no need balanced protein, carbohydrate, and fat profile to help suppress appetite. Many said they felt extremely hungry and unable to operate at full strength.

There were issues with a concern over the lack of science to back up any of the claims made about this diet. The highest rated top ranked diet plans for weight loss can be seen here.

The British Dietic Association has also said that the diet is potentially unsafe and that weight loss is likely to be short term, as the weight will return once one resumes a regular diet.

Conclusion - Does Maple Syrup DietWork?

The Maple Syrup Diet is a detox diet that claims it can help provide many benefits to overall health as well as make weight loss easy. The diet was first created as a way to help treat ulcers, but it’s now used by some celebrities for quick weight loss. While any severe caloric restriction can promote weight loss, it’s not considered the most wholesome way to accomplish this goal. Many users have repeated the same issues, that it does not taste good, promoted side effects, left them feeling hungry, and did not promote sustained weight loss. Health sites have also confirmed that this can lead to nutritional deficiencies and a rebounding effect with weight gain as soon as it’s no longer used.

Our experts have concluded after much research that the most effective weight loss solution is the 18Shake Diet. It combines anappetite suppressing meal replacement made with 15 grams of whey protein, and a plant based stimulant free diet pill to help burn fat and boost metabolism. Many who have tried it have left positive testimonials and reviews on the official website. People say that it is effective and can promote real weight loss change.

Both the diet pill and the meal replacement offered by the 18Shake Diet are fully supported by a money back return policy. This 30 day guarantee allows for returns with no questions asked for the entire period. Discover more about the 18Shake Diet when you visit the link provided here.

How Does Maple Syrup Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Maple Syrup Diet
  • 48 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 7, 140 total comments)

Holly

+

I just started this as I need to lose weight. I actually need to lose27 lbs and I have 17 days. For those saying it is temporary and you will gain it all right back, that's only if you are a fatty. Once you ease off, if you eat a clean, raw diet, you won't gain it back except maybe some muscle weight. If you go back to potato chips and twinkies then you obviously will. I am doing the full 40 days and once I am done I will be eating clean and only when I am hungry plus sticking with pilates and I know I will keep it off. If you do this diet for a quick solution and go back to eating the way you did that made you overweight to begin with, then yes you will gain it back. Do this cleanse but change your lifestyle.

posted Oct 6th, 2014 3:52 pm


Me, me, me it's al about me

?

Did you use lemon juice "from concentrate" or "not from concentrate" ? I have a hard time squeezing lemons....

posted Jan 25th, 2014 1:20 am


Yolanda

I started this diet yesterday and so far so good. It's actually going better than expected. The concoction itself is very easy to make and tastes good so it's filling but SWF has not worked for me at all. I had to break down and take 2tbsp of cod liver oil along with the herbal tea to move my bowels and they finally moved today. I started at 156lbs and today am at 149lbs. I intend to stay on this for 15 - 20 days. I have never been overweight or had to diet but was recently got off steroids that have made me gain 22 -27 lbs on off for the last 16mnths. It has been horrible so I decided to lose this weight immediately. At 4'10 and age 47, I was tired of feeling and looking and FAT instead of PHAT (pretty, hot and tempting)....I'm excited and look forward to the results that I will maintain with nutrition, exercise and no MEDS!!!

posted Jan 4th, 2014 10:44 pm



Aileen Gelpi

This is my first time with this diet and I'm wondering if we're not allowed to drink in addition to the water that comes de maple syrup/water/lemonade mix.Plus, of course, the senna tea. Anyone know?

posted Jul 5th, 2013 5:29 am


Nancy Gonzalez

+

this is the first time I am doing this and I like it. I hope to get rid of 20 pounds and feel better.

posted May 9th, 2013 10:10 pm


summer2013

+

I am starting the diet tommorrow. My goal is 25 days. Hope I can last.

posted Mar 14th, 2013 5:59 pm


abbie

+

fantastic diet, lost a stone in 8 days, im just starting it again now, but goin for 15-20 days :)

posted Mar 9th, 2013 2:00 pm


sophie

This is a master cleanse, my girlfriend has done it so many times and as soon as she stops the weight goes back on faster than you would ever believe. You have to eat sensibly ALL the time, this is the only way to keep your weight down... how can anyone say after one day of this cleanse they feel great!!

posted Feb 17th, 2013 12:06 pm


Laneyy

+

I'm on my first day of the Maple Syrup Cleanse. So far, everything is great. My family had bacon and eggs this morning, and it smelt amazing, but i had no urge to eat it as I usually do. I could only find 100% Grade A Maple Syrup though.... Is this okay??? LOVE IT THOUGH!!! i am hoping to lose 15-20 lbs in 10 days.

posted Jul 7th, 2012 8:24 pm


keisha

i will be starting this diet tomorrow 5/15/12! from what ive read, it works. but i need to know the side effects of this diet. i weigh 190 and i want to lose about 20-40 pounds. is this for me? is it easy to maintaine?

posted May 14th, 2012 6:25 am


Dutchbeach

I heard aout this dieet through a friend and was wondering if this is what you eat/ drink the whole day and what happens after the cleansing week?

posted May 5th, 2012 5:28 pm


Question!

?

I cannot take time off work, and it seems as though I would be spending too much time in the bathroom to go t Maple Syrup Diet

posted Apr 23rd, 2012 12:29 am


arlen

+

hey guys..let me tell u im used to this diet allready..have done it 2 times this in goin to be my 3 time...last time i lost 21 pounds in 11 days..hopefully this time ill take it to 25 pouns in 14 days

posted Apr 22nd, 2012 11:35 pm


sylvia

THIS DIET WORKS, toay is my 5th day and I've lost 9lbs.

posted Apr 22nd, 2012 10:52 am


anon

+

Ive been on the maple syrup diet for 4 days now, its not as hard as you may think. However i attempted it on a day in which i was hungover and failed so prepare the night before, i.e. dont drink lol, in fact they say youre supposed to "ease in" for 3 days before the diet drinking natural
soups and orange juice, however i didnt know about this at the time.
Anyway, I have recently put on around 20 pounds and weigh around 136lbs (i am used to a small figure and am short) and on my 4th day i have a flat belly and a less-rounded face!
They also say that day 4 is the "hump" day which is supposed to be the hardest and to be honest im not struggling really. Ive had mcdonalds around me today, have been in and out of ther fridge (to smell the food haha), been supermarket shopping AND I WORK IN A RESTAURANT, and if i can resist eating for 4 days so far, dont tell me you cant!!
So, the lemonade drink is yummy, just make sure you experiment with the water added to the maple and lemonade (i found the more water the better).I also only used a small ammount of pepper as i ddnt like the taste but got there in the end.
The salt water flush was HORRIBLE on the first day and i couldnt do it, however the next day i made it in concentrate (2 tsps and a small amount of water) and added a small amount of lemon juice and took a sip, and then a sip of water, and so on.
The laxative tea im drinking is yummy, its by pukka and contains aniseed fennel and some other natural igredients.
Ive only really been drinking 4 glasses a day and havve been fine, but its effective because as soon as you feel hungry/weak you can have a glass and feel fine, i actually like the feeling of emptiness i have in my belly its motivating.
Furthermore the craving and want for food, i.e. cakes, cookies, burgers chips etc i have learnt is a mental habit rather than a need. When you start you think in your head 'should i eat' 'arr i really fancy fried chicken' simply dismiss this crazy idea and do something about it - take a nap or go on a walk or a drive, just anything to avoid that state of mind, THIS IS KEY TO THE DETOX, without this in mind you are likely to fail.
I plan to do this until day 10, and think im going pretty strong, i feel strong and i feel motivated and better about myself and life in general - i guess this is the spiritual cleansing they speak about.
I will reblog to tell people how much i have lost on day 10.

posted Apr 20th, 2012 3:30 pm


Arucha Haynes

+

Its been 8 days now since I'm on this diet and it truly works, before I started I eat everything I can the week before so the cravings was not too harsh on me, I loose 9 lbs so far and I am determain to push forward, everyday I go on the scale I see the numbers keep falling and it motivates me to push forward, I have no problem so far with this diet.

posted Apr 18th, 2012 4:18 am


Ola

can i just mix the maple syrup with pure lemon juice rather than adding the cayenne pepper to it?

posted Apr 13th, 2012 12:57 am


Heidi

Hi! I have recently completed the lemon maple syrup diet (for 5 days only) and would like to give my thoughts.

On the plus side it worked, I lost a total of 4 kilos in 5 days - I have never been overweight but wanted to get rid of unnecessary body fat. Needless to say, people noticed it straight away saying I look noticeably skinnier, especially in my arms. I also lost few centimetres of my waist. It is all about self-control and I found it not too difficult to not eat proper food and just have the drink. I also did the salt water flush a couple of times.

Now... the huge minus side. This diet completely messed up my defense system and I have pretty much been ill for nearly the 3 weeks that I have been off the diet. The next day after stopping eating I got a food poisoning of some sort (have never had one in my life before), although my friends had the same food they didn't contract the poisoning, I got it as of course my body's defense system was down. Straight after food poisoning followed an infection in my tooth, again I don't usually get this problem, and a week after being treated with antibiotics, I got a ridiculously sore throat for few days with scary looking stuff in my throat. Once I got rid of that, the infection in my tooth has now come back and I will get another set of antibiotics.

Overall a diet that really works, but it has not been worth messing up my health over it. I am generally a very healthy person and it is overwhelming to have one illness after another since this diet. Unfortunately I cannot recommend the diet for this reason :( I would not advise my friends to do it. If you have a holiday coming up and want to shed some kilos quickly please do another form of diet, where you can still eat fruit etc and consume a lot of drinks. This one is too drastic and you may not end up making it to your holiday at the end.

I really hope it helps xx

posted Apr 12th, 2012 11:06 am


adp

Day 1... wish me luck!!!

Anyone done it for 5 days?? I cant imagine going 5 days without eating...

we can chew gum no?

posted Apr 9th, 2012 1:14 pm


Spanky

I am very pleased with this diet! I have tried so many different types of diets and I could not follow through or got lazy because I did not see immediate results. I got that here.

Let me be honest, this drink is way too hot ! I could barely breathe the first day when I started doing this diet BUT I noticed the results so I decided to find a solution for this. After some online research, I found out that I could make cayenne pills (place the cayenne in emply capsules that I purchased at Whole Foods) and TA-DA !! I was drinking sweet lemonade and popping a cayenne pepper! I was in love.

I do want you to know that one of the hardest things of this diet is the intense food cravings. Since there is nothing but liquid in your diet, I mean, I was dreaming dreams of quesadillas running through fields of cheese saying " Eat me, Eat me!" BUT I have never cheated once because you would have to start the diet all over again.

In three days, I have gone from 171.5 to 165.5, that is 6 pounds in 3 days. THAT is my motivation !!

posted Mar 20th, 2012 4:37 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Popularized as of late by starlets around the globe, including Beyonce Knowles of Dreamgirls fame, the Maple Syrup Diet is not a diet per se. Rather, it is a cleanse, meant to detoxify the body of all previous food intake, providing a clean slate for future healthy eating. Also known as the "Master Cleanse" or the "Lemonade Diet", the program is basically a mixture of Grade B Maple syrup, fresh squeezed lemon juice, spring water and cayenne pepper that a person drinks for up to 10 days. Pioneered by Stanley Burroughs in the 1950s, its practitioners and participants claim that not only do they lose weight, but they see better, smell better, hear better and feel better, while also ridding their bodies of ailments that have afflicted them for years.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Users claim the lemon/maple syrup mixture is pleasant tasting
  • Weight loss is immediate as the user loses pounds of retained fecal material
  • Euphoria and other feelings of serenity are an added bonus as the person becomes almost yogi like in their fasting state

CON
  • Cannot leave the house for up to three days as user rushes to the bathroom for frequent bowel movements
  • No food intake of any kind other than maple syrup mixture means participant will likely develop intense food cravings, making it difficult if there are other people in the home eating solid foods
  • As you detoxify body, intense fatigue and mood swings are reported as "normal" by most users of the Maple Syrup Diet
  • Very low calorie intake, about 500/day
INGREDIENTS and RECIPE

Take a clean one-gallon jug and pour in the following:

  • 3 Quarts of Water
  • 1 Cup Lemon Juice (fresh if possible)
  • 1 Cup Grade B Maple Syrup (not maple flavored, but 100% real maple syrup)

  • 1 tsp. Cayenne pepper

  • Shake it all up and drink 8-12 glasses a day

Note: followers of this program also recommend a senna laxative tea as well as a saline water drink in the morning, as an additional component of this program. These additional supplements are simply for additional colon cleansing.

EXERCISE

None, and thank goodness, because most users would not have time (with all the trips to the bathroom) or the energy (at about 500 calories a day).

CONCLUSION

Again, this is not a diet, but a fasting or detox program, and cannot be recommended for long-term use. Ask your physician if you are healthy enough to carry out this very restrictive regimen before beginning. However, weight loss experts have touted the benefit of a healthy bowel system, but forcing the bowel to cleanse, may cause future problems for a person when they begin to eat their regular food routine. This would be a good program for someone who already eats vegetarian/vegan and avoids all processed foods, as a return to processed and fatty foods will take the user back to their pre-cleanse weight in short order.

Common Misspellings

Maple Sirup, maple syurp, mapple syrup, maple serup, syrup diet

Related Diets: Lemonade Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Liquid Diet, Detoxatrim, Colonics

Whats better than
Maple Syrup Diet?