Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

96%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 53 reviews

Maple Syrup Diet

Stars like Beyonce use this to detox and start fresh.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Popularized as of late by starlets around the globe, including Beyonce Knowles of Dreamgirls fame, the Maple Syrup Diet is not a diet per se. Rather, it is a cleanse, meant to detoxify the body of all previous food intake, providing a clean slate for future healthy eating. Also known as the "Master Cleanse" or the "Lemonade Diet", the program is basically a mixture of Grade B Maple syrup, fresh squeezed lemon juice, spring water and cayenne pepper that a person drinks for up to 10 days. Pioneered by Stanley Burroughs in the 1950s, its practitioners and participants claim that not only do they lose weight, but they see better, smell better, hear better and feel better, while also ridding their bodies of ailments that have afflicted them for years.

PRO
  • Users claim the lemon/maple syrup mixture is pleasant tasting
  • Weight loss is immediate as the user loses pounds of retained fecal material
  • Euphoria and other feelings of serenity are an added bonus as the person becomes almost yogi like in their fasting state

CON
  • Cannot leave the house for up to three days as user rushes to the bathroom for frequent bowel movements
  • No food intake of any kind other than maple syrup mixture means participant will likely develop intense food cravings, making it difficult if there are other people in the home eating solid foods
  • As you detoxify body, intense fatigue and mood swings are reported as "normal" by most users of the Maple Syrup Diet
  • Very low calorie intake, about 500/day
INGREDIENTS and RECIPE

Take a clean one-gallon jug and pour in the following:

  • 3 Quarts of Water
  • 1 Cup Lemon Juice (fresh if possible)
  • 1 Cup Grade B Maple Syrup (not maple flavored, but 100% real maple syrup)

  • 1 tsp. Cayenne pepper

  • Shake it all up and drink 8-12 glasses a day

Note: followers of this program also recommend a senna laxative tea as well as a saline water drink in the morning, as an additional component of this program. These additional supplements are simply for additional colon cleansing.

EXERCISE

None, and thank goodness, because most users would not have time (with all the trips to the bathroom) or the energy (at about 500 calories a day).

CONCLUSION

Again, this is not a diet, but a fasting or detox program, and cannot be recommended for long-term use. Ask your physician if you are healthy enough to carry out this very restrictive regimen before beginning. However, weight loss experts have touted the benefit of a healthy bowel system, but forcing the bowel to cleanse, may cause future problems for a person when they begin to eat their regular food routine. This would be a good program for someone who already eats vegetarian/vegan and avoids all processed foods, as a return to processed and fatty foods will take the user back to their pre-cleanse weight in short order.

Common Misspellings

Maple Sirup, maple syurp, mapple syrup, maple serup, syrup diet


Related Diets: Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Detoxatrim, Lemonade Diet, Colonics


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 7, 140 total comments)

Holly

I just started this as I need to lose weight. I actually need to lose27 lbs and I have 17 days. For those saying it is temporary and you will gain it all right back, that's only if you are a fatty. Once you ease off, if you eat a clean, raw diet, you won't gain it back except maybe some muscle weight. If you go back to potato chips and twinkies then you obviously will. I am doing the full 40 days and once I am done I will be eating clean and only when I am hungry plus sticking with pilates and I know I will keep it off. If you do this diet for a quick solution and go back to eating the way you did that made you overweight to begin with, then yes you will gain it back. Do this cleanse but change your lifestyle.

posted Oct 6th, 2014 3:52 pm


Me, me, me it's al about me

Did you use lemon juice "from concentrate" or "not from concentrate" ? I have a hard time squeezing lemons....

posted Jan 25th, 2014 1:20 am


Yolanda

I started this diet yesterday and so far so good. It's actually going better than expected. The concoction itself is very easy to make and tastes good so it's filling but SWF has not worked for me at all. I had to break down and take 2tbsp of cod liver oil along with the herbal tea to move my bowels and they finally moved today. I started at 156lbs and today am at 149lbs. I intend to stay on this for 15 - 20 days. I have never been overweight or had to diet but was recently got off steroids that have made me gain 22 -27 lbs on off for the last 16mnths. It has been horrible so I decided to lose this weight immediately. At 4'10 and age 47, I was tired of feeling and looking and FAT instead of PHAT (pretty, hot and tempting)....I'm excited and look forward to the results that I will maintain with nutrition, exercise and no MEDS!!!

posted Jan 4th, 2014 10:44 pm



Aileen Gelpi

This is my first time with this diet and I'm wondering if we're not allowed to drink in addition to the water that comes de maple syrup/water/lemonade mix.Plus, of course, the senna tea. Anyone know?

posted Jul 5th, 2013 5:29 am


Nancy Gonzalez

this is the first time I am doing this and I like it. I hope to get rid of 20 pounds and feel better.

posted May 9th, 2013 10:10 pm


summer2013

I am starting the diet tommorrow. My goal is 25 days. Hope I can last.

posted Mar 14th, 2013 5:59 pm


abbie

fantastic diet, lost a stone in 8 days, im just starting it again now, but goin for 15-20 days :)

posted Mar 9th, 2013 2:00 pm


sophie

This is a master cleanse, my girlfriend has done it so many times and as soon as she stops the weight goes back on faster than you would ever believe. You have to eat sensibly ALL the time, this is the only way to keep your weight down... how can anyone say after one day of this cleanse they feel great!!

posted Feb 17th, 2013 12:06 pm


Laneyy

I'm on my first day of the Maple Syrup Cleanse. So far, everything is great. My family had bacon and eggs this morning, and it smelt amazing, but i had no urge to eat it as I usually do. I could only find 100% Grade A Maple Syrup though.... Is this okay??? LOVE IT THOUGH!!! i am hoping to lose 15-20 lbs in 10 days.

posted Jul 7th, 2012 8:24 pm


keisha

i will be starting this diet tomorrow 5/15/12! from what ive read, it works. but i need to know the side effects of this diet. i weigh 190 and i want to lose about 20-40 pounds. is this for me? is it easy to maintaine?

posted May 14th, 2012 6:25 am


Dutchbeach

I heard aout this dieet through a friend and was wondering if this is what you eat/ drink the whole day and what happens after the cleansing week?

posted May 5th, 2012 5:28 pm


Question!

I cannot take time off work, and it seems as though I would be spending too much time in the bathroom to go t Maple Syrup Diet

posted Apr 23rd, 2012 12:29 am


arlen

hey guys..let me tell u im used to this diet allready..have done it 2 times this in goin to be my 3 time...last time i lost 21 pounds in 11 days..hopefully this time ill take it to 25 pouns in 14 days

posted Apr 22nd, 2012 11:35 pm


sylvia

THIS DIET WORKS, toay is my 5th day and I've lost 9lbs.

posted Apr 22nd, 2012 10:52 am


anon

Ive been on the maple syrup diet for 4 days now, its not as hard as you may think. However i attempted it on a day in which i was hungover and failed so prepare the night before, i.e. dont drink lol, in fact they say youre supposed to "ease in" for 3 days before the diet drinking natural
soups and orange juice, however i didnt know about this at the time.
Anyway, I have recently put on around 20 pounds and weigh around 136lbs (i am used to a small figure and am short) and on my 4th day i have a flat belly and a less-rounded face!
They also say that day 4 is the "hump" day which is supposed to be the hardest and to be honest im not struggling really. Ive had mcdonalds around me today, have been in and out of ther fridge (to smell the food haha), been supermarket shopping AND I WORK IN A RESTAURANT, and if i can resist eating for 4 days so far, dont tell me you cant!!
So, the lemonade drink is yummy, just make sure you experiment with the water added to the maple and lemonade (i found the more water the better).I also only used a small ammount of pepper as i ddnt like the taste but got there in the end.
The salt water flush was HORRIBLE on the first day and i couldnt do it, however the next day i made it in concentrate (2 tsps and a small amount of water) and added a small amount of lemon juice and took a sip, and then a sip of water, and so on.
The laxative tea im drinking is yummy, its by pukka and contains aniseed fennel and some other natural igredients.
Ive only really been drinking 4 glasses a day and havve been fine, but its effective because as soon as you feel hungry/weak you can have a glass and feel fine, i actually like the feeling of emptiness i have in my belly its motivating.
Furthermore the craving and want for food, i.e. cakes, cookies, burgers chips etc i have learnt is a mental habit rather than a need. When you start you think in your head 'should i eat' 'arr i really fancy fried chicken' simply dismiss this crazy idea and do something about it - take a nap or go on a walk or a drive, just anything to avoid that state of mind, THIS IS KEY TO THE DETOX, without this in mind you are likely to fail.
I plan to do this until day 10, and think im going pretty strong, i feel strong and i feel motivated and better about myself and life in general - i guess this is the spiritual cleansing they speak about.
I will reblog to tell people how much i have lost on day 10.

posted Apr 20th, 2012 3:30 pm


Arucha Haynes

Its been 8 days now since I'm on this diet and it truly works, before I started I eat everything I can the week before so the cravings was not too harsh on me, I loose 9 lbs so far and I am determain to push forward, everyday I go on the scale I see the numbers keep falling and it motivates me to push forward, I have no problem so far with this diet.

posted Apr 18th, 2012 4:18 am


Ola

can i just mix the maple syrup with pure lemon juice rather than adding the cayenne pepper to it?

posted Apr 13th, 2012 12:57 am


Heidi

Hi! I have recently completed the lemon maple syrup diet (for 5 days only) and would like to give my thoughts.

On the plus side it worked, I lost a total of 4 kilos in 5 days - I have never been overweight but wanted to get rid of unnecessary body fat. Needless to say, people noticed it straight away saying I look noticeably skinnier, especially in my arms. I also lost few centimetres of my waist. It is all about self-control and I found it not too difficult to not eat proper food and just have the drink. I also did the salt water flush a couple of times.

Now... the huge minus side. This diet completely messed up my defense system and I have pretty much been ill for nearly the 3 weeks that I have been off the diet. The next day after stopping eating I got a food poisoning of some sort (have never had one in my life before), although my friends had the same food they didn't contract the poisoning, I got it as of course my body's defense system was down. Straight after food poisoning followed an infection in my tooth, again I don't usually get this problem, and a week after being treated with antibiotics, I got a ridiculously sore throat for few days with scary looking stuff in my throat. Once I got rid of that, the infection in my tooth has now come back and I will get another set of antibiotics.

Overall a diet that really works, but it has not been worth messing up my health over it. I am generally a very healthy person and it is overwhelming to have one illness after another since this diet. Unfortunately I cannot recommend the diet for this reason :( I would not advise my friends to do it. If you have a holiday coming up and want to shed some kilos quickly please do another form of diet, where you can still eat fruit etc and consume a lot of drinks. This one is too drastic and you may not end up making it to your holiday at the end.

I really hope it helps xx

posted Apr 12th, 2012 11:06 am


adp

Day 1... wish me luck!!!

Anyone done it for 5 days?? I cant imagine going 5 days without eating...

we can chew gum no?

posted Apr 9th, 2012 1:14 pm


Spanky

I am very pleased with this diet! I have tried so many different types of diets and I could not follow through or got lazy because I did not see immediate results. I got that here.

Let me be honest, this drink is way too hot ! I could barely breathe the first day when I started doing this diet BUT I noticed the results so I decided to find a solution for this. After some online research, I found out that I could make cayenne pills (place the cayenne in emply capsules that I purchased at Whole Foods) and TA-DA !! I was drinking sweet lemonade and popping a cayenne pepper! I was in love.

I do want you to know that one of the hardest things of this diet is the intense food cravings. Since there is nothing but liquid in your diet, I mean, I was dreaming dreams of quesadillas running through fields of cheese saying " Eat me, Eat me!" BUT I have never cheated once because you would have to start the diet all over again.

In three days, I have gone from 171.5 to 165.5, that is 6 pounds in 3 days. THAT is my motivation !!

posted Mar 20th, 2012 4:37 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account