Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

96%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 53 reviews

Maple Syrup Diet

Stars like Beyonce use this to detox and start fresh.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Popularized as of late by starlets around the globe, including Beyonce Knowles of Dreamgirls fame, the Maple Syrup Diet is not a diet per se. Rather, it is a cleanse, meant to detoxify the body of all previous food intake, providing a clean slate for future healthy eating. Also known as the "Master Cleanse" or the "Lemonade Diet", the program is basically a mixture of Grade B Maple syrup, fresh squeezed lemon juice, spring water and cayenne pepper that a person drinks for up to 10 days. Pioneered by Stanley Burroughs in the 1950s, its practitioners and participants claim that not only do they lose weight, but they see better, smell better, hear better and feel better, while also ridding their bodies of ailments that have afflicted them for years.

PRO
  • Users claim the lemon/maple syrup mixture is pleasant tasting
  • Weight loss is immediate as the user loses pounds of retained fecal material
  • Euphoria and other feelings of serenity are an added bonus as the person becomes almost yogi like in their fasting state

CON
  • Cannot leave the house for up to three days as user rushes to the bathroom for frequent bowel movements
  • No food intake of any kind other than maple syrup mixture means participant will likely develop intense food cravings, making it difficult if there are other people in the home eating solid foods
  • As you detoxify body, intense fatigue and mood swings are reported as "normal" by most users of the Maple Syrup Diet
  • Very low calorie intake, about 500/day
INGREDIENTS and RECIPE

Take a clean one-gallon jug and pour in the following:

  • 3 Quarts of Water
  • 1 Cup Lemon Juice (fresh if possible)
  • 1 Cup Grade B Maple Syrup (not maple flavored, but 100% real maple syrup)

  • 1 tsp. Cayenne pepper

  • Shake it all up and drink 8-12 glasses a day

Note: followers of this program also recommend a senna laxative tea as well as a saline water drink in the morning, as an additional component of this program. These additional supplements are simply for additional colon cleansing.

EXERCISE

None, and thank goodness, because most users would not have time (with all the trips to the bathroom) or the energy (at about 500 calories a day).

CONCLUSION

Again, this is not a diet, but a fasting or detox program, and cannot be recommended for long-term use. Ask your physician if you are healthy enough to carry out this very restrictive regimen before beginning. However, weight loss experts have touted the benefit of a healthy bowel system, but forcing the bowel to cleanse, may cause future problems for a person when they begin to eat their regular food routine. This would be a good program for someone who already eats vegetarian/vegan and avoids all processed foods, as a return to processed and fatty foods will take the user back to their pre-cleanse weight in short order.

Common Misspellings

Maple Sirup, maple syurp, mapple syrup, maple serup, syrup diet


Related Diets: Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Detoxatrim, Lemonade Diet, Colonics


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 7, 140 total comments)

Annette

Great! It give a lot of energy and you start up a work out plan with ease. so once this cleansing is thru- 10 days max... Stick with the exercise and you'll see results.

posted Oct 31st, 2010 11:15 pm


Mellissa

is it safe for underage people to do it? need to drop 4 dress sizes fast!! planning to do this but if i start feeling dizzy or get bad sideaffects i will have a very light meal. good idea? :)

posted Sep 22nd, 2010 8:35 pm


Muhammud

It's my first day on Beyonce's famously made Maple Syrup diet and I Hate to love it. I feel like Im anorexic because I keep thinking I Hav'nt had anything all day (well... I hav'nt apart from the diet drink of course). Im not going to lie it tastes spicy and i dread drinking it again, but i've got the will power and im going the whole 2 weeks, depending if I need it because I am a girl at 5ft 8, and weigh nearly 10 and a half stones so I don't think I need to Lose 20pounds. I love all your comment, will you guys follow me on Twitter it's - http://twitter.com/Yasmiin_music
We can all survive together! and last thing, everytime you walk into the kitchen and see that box of choclate or whatever else remember to say (in your head or else it'll kinda be a little scary to everyone else) "that thing will not make me satisfied, that thing is the reason im so fricking ugly!" Hahaha x

posted Sep 16th, 2010 6:46 am


Apol

Detox is fine but exercise is a must. Remember muscle is an active tissue that burns fat, the more muscle you have the less fat you will store.
Eating habits & exercise forever, there is no easy way out.

I lost 27kg 8yrs ago, by weighttraining, cardio & vegetarian/organic eating.
I drink alkaline water 9.5ph. I weigh the same now 8yrs later because it is a lifestyle. I dont like going to the gym but I have to just like I have to work, sleep etc.

posted Jul 19th, 2010 3:45 am


jean

Well I am ready to start this diet,Im kind of worried tho because i currently eat healthy but its not working and i want fast results so hopefully this will boost it up a little.I have never done any cleansing before but if it really works then im gna have to mix in a little of both togetherthe cleansing for 2 weeks then the vegetarian diet 2 weeks after to give my self a break then start it over.my goal is to loose 50-75lbs.so yeah im kind of desperate.lol!!Is it safe to do that?

posted Jul 16th, 2010 5:45 am


sam

This diet rocks. To start with you need to have a lot of self-control and will power otherwise you will not be able to do it. And this diet is only for Fat people. I didnt follow the diet to the T because I cant just survive on liquid. I had 7 glasses of the mixture everyday. in breakfast i used to have two digestives and a cuppa tea. then in the mid morning i used to have 2 apples or 2 pears. And in lunch I used to eat 2 spoons of boiled brown rice, two spoons of lentils and one cucumber. And in dinner one fruit. The next day I lost 1 kilo. On second day i lost another kilo. on 3rd day i lost 500gms. on 4th day i lost another kilo. On 5th day i lost 1.2 kilos. then i quit the diet. It was saturday and I had to go out and eat out. i didnt eat anything in morning. i had a glass of juice. then in lunch I had KFC fried chicken and mojito(no carbs). in the evening i had few bites of snacks and few shots of whiskey. Next morning(sunday) i got up late and str8 ate lunch at the buffet and i hogged like a cow. i didnt eat anything after that and today is monday. I weighed myself and i lost 7 kilos in seven days!

posted Jul 12th, 2010 1:49 am


shajeda

i have actually been on this diet, first few days really killed but after that i felt so energetic, i went on this diet near nuff 2 weeks, and i hve lost 20 pound which is lot, well this was 2 years ago i have actually gaind it all back, its just a temparary weight lost but being able to feel skinny for while was wrth it, im gonna try to do it again from tomorow for 2 weeks, and every 3 mnths later to help me put off the weight and clense the inner body, for all u guys our ther if i can do it neone can so gudluck

posted Jun 28th, 2010 7:19 pm


Laila Chumakov

Hello Everyone....
Today is my first day on this cleanse and I love it already! You know, I think it all has to do with the way we think and the way we set our mind on this cleanse or any kind of a diet... It's not easy only drinking this mix and not enjoying the meals with our families, but in the long run the results will pay off.....
I, myself have 3 children.... so hard to watch them enjoy the meals that I've prepared and not be able to eat them... but instead of sitting down and torturing myself, I bring my magnifying mirror and pluck my eyebrows or do my make-up and still be able to hang out and chat with my kids.... Every time you feel hungry try to do something, something that will keep you busy.. Go for a walk, call a friend that will motivate you, do yard work, anything.. except don't watch TV that will make you crave food.
I've been on a diet 2-weeks ago and lost 15 pounds in 12 days, all I did was eat grapefruits whenever I got hungry. But now I want to do this cleanse because not only it will help my loose 20 more pounds, but it will also clean out my inside, I think I will love this cleanse. We can all do it, if we have the right motivation and our minds will be set on it, look at the food and think of it as "If I eat this, I know I will regret it" and walk away.... Think about all the skinny people out there and prove to them that they are not the only ones out there, but you too can be healthy, skinny, and gorgeous!
My love to all of you out there, stay strong!

posted May 18th, 2010 7:22 pm


d_friend4u

Here is a link to know how to make your own saline water. http://www.aspiruslibrary.org/patient_ed/pdf/wc/pe-wc-059-030.pdf

Also, the recipe of the Master Cleanse in the gallon size is used as needed. It says to drink ?? cups of it daily. Read the post concerning it. Just remember that 1 cup equals only 8 ounces....no more.....no less!! I will be starting mine today too. Maybe we can be an encouragement for eachother during this. Thanks!! and Stay strong in your journey!

posted May 7th, 2010 11:40 am


Becky

what are you taken as a saline water drink ? Can I buy it or can I make it myself ? anybody knows....? please reply ASAP thanks I appreciate it ..

posted May 7th, 2010 12:19 am


Becky

The whole gallon mixture .. is it for one day ?

posted May 7th, 2010 12:15 am


Amanda

I am on day 8 of the Master Cleanse. I LOVE it! The drink tastes great. The weight is falling off of me so quickly. I started this cleanse to get healthier. In contrast to what some people think, it is NOT a diet. A perk of the cleanse is losing fat. I just had a full hysterectomy three months ago, and am still having complications (infection and scar tissue not healing). After your body cleanses itself from the toxins, it will start healing itself naturally. This is what I'm looking forward to, and why I am doing this cleanse. (Day 11 when you include the 3 preparation days.) Good luck everyone!

posted Apr 15th, 2010 1:09 pm


tina

my first day and am a little worryed about my breath.

posted Mar 22nd, 2010 7:28 am


beth

what if am allergic to cayanne pepper

posted Feb 18th, 2010 1:41 pm


KKV

I am on 5th day feel so active...

posted Jan 27th, 2010 10:34 pm


geri

starting today, hope it works :)

posted Dec 29th, 2009 8:19 am


valerie

i just started.Great so far.

posted Nov 28th, 2009 5:46 pm


you people are idiots

Here's an idea, put the potato chips down, get your lazy lardasses off the couch, and do some exercise. This "cleanse" is nothing more than a temporary fix. If you need to lose a few pounds so you can fit your tubby self into an evening gown you used to wear 10 years ago, then give it a shot. However, don't expect the weight to stay off once you go off the diet. If anything, it'll probably come back faster than you lost it. Permanent weight loss is achieved by a lifestyle change committed to eating properly and getting enough exercise.

P.S. Learn how to spell. Where did you turds learn English?

posted Nov 21st, 2009 8:07 pm


MissCandy

I want to start this diet/detox but im worried about the constant trips to the bathroom?!

posted Oct 15th, 2009 10:03 am


Beth

A couple of suggestions. Do not add the cayenne until you are ready to drink. 1/10 of a teaspoon per 8 oz.

Cayenne gets hotter over time and will be difficult to drink after awhile.

Maple Syrup
Grade A is found with all of the other syrups. Grade B can be found in the organic section of your grocery store. Found mine at Kroger.

posted Oct 4th, 2009 12:08 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account