Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

96%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 53 reviews

Maple Syrup Diet

Stars like Beyonce use this to detox and start fresh.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Popularized as of late by starlets around the globe, including Beyonce Knowles of Dreamgirls fame, the Maple Syrup Diet is not a diet per se. Rather, it is a cleanse, meant to detoxify the body of all previous food intake, providing a clean slate for future healthy eating. Also known as the "Master Cleanse" or the "Lemonade Diet", the program is basically a mixture of Grade B Maple syrup, fresh squeezed lemon juice, spring water and cayenne pepper that a person drinks for up to 10 days. Pioneered by Stanley Burroughs in the 1950s, its practitioners and participants claim that not only do they lose weight, but they see better, smell better, hear better and feel better, while also ridding their bodies of ailments that have afflicted them for years.

PRO
  • Users claim the lemon/maple syrup mixture is pleasant tasting
  • Weight loss is immediate as the user loses pounds of retained fecal material
  • Euphoria and other feelings of serenity are an added bonus as the person becomes almost yogi like in their fasting state

CON
  • Cannot leave the house for up to three days as user rushes to the bathroom for frequent bowel movements
  • No food intake of any kind other than maple syrup mixture means participant will likely develop intense food cravings, making it difficult if there are other people in the home eating solid foods
  • As you detoxify body, intense fatigue and mood swings are reported as "normal" by most users of the Maple Syrup Diet
  • Very low calorie intake, about 500/day
INGREDIENTS and RECIPE

Take a clean one-gallon jug and pour in the following:

  • 3 Quarts of Water
  • 1 Cup Lemon Juice (fresh if possible)
  • 1 Cup Grade B Maple Syrup (not maple flavored, but 100% real maple syrup)

  • 1 tsp. Cayenne pepper

  • Shake it all up and drink 8-12 glasses a day

Note: followers of this program also recommend a senna laxative tea as well as a saline water drink in the morning, as an additional component of this program. These additional supplements are simply for additional colon cleansing.

EXERCISE

None, and thank goodness, because most users would not have time (with all the trips to the bathroom) or the energy (at about 500 calories a day).

CONCLUSION

Again, this is not a diet, but a fasting or detox program, and cannot be recommended for long-term use. Ask your physician if you are healthy enough to carry out this very restrictive regimen before beginning. However, weight loss experts have touted the benefit of a healthy bowel system, but forcing the bowel to cleanse, may cause future problems for a person when they begin to eat their regular food routine. This would be a good program for someone who already eats vegetarian/vegan and avoids all processed foods, as a return to processed and fatty foods will take the user back to their pre-cleanse weight in short order.

Common Misspellings

Maple Sirup, maple syurp, mapple syrup, maple serup, syrup diet


Related Diets: Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Detoxatrim, Lemonade Diet, Colonics


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 7, 140 total comments)

jjvee

I will start this diets tomorrow to kick my new way of life into gear I cant wait

posted Jan 11th, 2011 1:47 pm


jmh

Totally messed me up. I was 118lb before starting and got down to 114lb and then quickly ballooned up to 125 and am still there 6 months later. I now crave carbs that I did not crave prior to doing this diet. I HIGHLY discourage this. I had hopes to go raw vegan but the carb cravings were too intense.

posted Jan 10th, 2011 3:52 pm


Madiana Alfred

Starting this diet on 1/10/11, hope it works lol

posted Jan 7th, 2011 3:10 am


longtermer

I've decided not to do the maple syrup diet because there's no way to maintain the weight you find yourself at after you do it. Losing weight is not the hard part... keeping it off is. You're most likely going to regain it. It's a better idea, if your goal is to lose weight, to do something maintainable (like southbeach which works far better).

posted Jan 6th, 2011 6:45 pm


Stephanie

I'm starting this program tomorrow! I'm really drawn in by the detox. aspect and I'm looking forward to this experience! :)

posted Dec 31st, 2010 2:18 am


NT

I'm going to try this on January 10th for 10days. I'm so excited. . . I hope to see some results. I'm so ready to shed off these pounds and feel healthier! I love the fact that it detoxified your body as well as weight loss. I can't wait.

posted Dec 29th, 2010 6:47 pm


Cherelle

this is my 1st day tryin this... im tryna get my family 2 do this with me so that i wouldnt have 2 watch them eat all that other good food lol... wish me goodluck :)

posted Dec 17th, 2010 8:00 pm


jvp8880villegas

Day 3, the first day was the worst, yesterday was better. I cheated on day 1 a little (chicken breast). I've lost 4.5 lbs.

posted Dec 16th, 2010 4:10 pm


jvp8880villegas

I juste stated today, I am very hungry but I think I can manage!! Want to lose at least 10lbs by Christmas! Good luck everyone!

posted Dec 14th, 2010 6:12 pm


db

Ahh day 10 done,starting the final stage of getting back to where I can eat.Orange juice today and I am having my First glass,it taste great.I will say though I am very happy with the results,I feel great and I have lost 20lbs.Good luck to everyone who is doing this it can be done.

posted Dec 9th, 2010 10:36 am


db

Wow done with the 10th day.I wiil admit I am tired of drinking THE DRINK looking forward to drinking some orange juice and starting my next stage.The results were outstanding though 22lbs now have got to keep going with the workout program and watch my calorie intake as I want to lose 30lbs more.Good luck to all who are doing this and keep the faith it can be done.

posted Dec 8th, 2010 10:52 pm


db

Half way trough my 7th day everything still going great.Have not slipped up.I am down 16 lbs but the weight is not coming off as fast as it did earlier.I did the sea salt flush yesterday ,today feeling a little funny but overall very pleased.Good luck everyone

posted Dec 5th, 2010 5:57 pm


db

Starting my 5th day ,things are going great.I am not hungry at all, my mood is very good and I am down 12 lbs.Good luck to all

posted Dec 3rd, 2010 3:50 pm


kadeen

Cheated but now I'm on day 3 full speed ahead! I pee a lot! Lost 4*nd a half lbs so I'm happy

posted Dec 3rd, 2010 9:43 am


DB

Done with day Two.Things are going great.No hunger problems,I am down 5 pounds.Got to say though this stuff tastes awlful.I made have put to much pepper in.Good luck to all .

posted Dec 1st, 2010 12:02 am


DB

I am on day one of this.I am useing this as a jumpstart to my weight loss and workout program.I will keep people posted as to how it is going.242 ILBS is my starting weight.Lots of luck to everyone for whatever reason you are doing this.

posted Nov 30th, 2010 12:29 am


vio

Hi Guys

I am on day 8, just like to find out what kind of syrup are you using cause i am from South Africa and tried to find Grade B ORGANIC but nothing I end up with Canadian Syrup original not flavoured, just want to find out if is fine or not.

posted Nov 23rd, 2010 1:10 pm


Vanessa

Just started today:) hope this works lol but after drinking it for three days how long do I stop drinking it for?and when do I start the next three days?

posted Nov 23rd, 2010 5:48 am


kadeen

Started yesterday and cheated! Started back today and I'm doing great! Lost 2lbs! Anyone wanna buddy up? How come I only pee a lot? Weird

posted Nov 12th, 2010 9:49 pm


kadeen

Hey guys! I started yesterday and drank 5 glasses then cheated lol! I have had 5 glasses already today and no food yeah! Only thing all I do is pee! How come all others r doing a poo:( lost 3lbs already

posted Nov 12th, 2010 9:20 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account