Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

96%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 52 reviews

Maple Syrup Diet

Stars like Beyonce use this to detox and start fresh.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Popularized as of late by starlets around the globe, including Beyonce Knowles of Dreamgirls fame, the Maple Syrup Diet is not a diet per se. Rather, it is a cleanse, meant to detoxify the body of all previous food intake, providing a clean slate for future healthy eating. Also known as the "Master Cleanse" or the "Lemonade Diet", the program is basically a mixture of Grade B Maple syrup, fresh squeezed lemon juice, spring water and cayenne pepper that a person drinks for up to 10 days. Pioneered by Stanley Burroughs in the 1950s, its practitioners and participants claim that not only do they lose weight, but they see better, smell better, hear better and feel better, while also ridding their bodies of ailments that have afflicted them for years.

PRO
  • Users claim the lemon/maple syrup mixture is pleasant tasting
  • Weight loss is immediate as the user loses pounds of retained fecal material
  • Euphoria and other feelings of serenity are an added bonus as the person becomes almost yogi like in their fasting state

CON
  • Cannot leave the house for up to three days as user rushes to the bathroom for frequent bowel movements
  • No food intake of any kind other than maple syrup mixture means participant will likely develop intense food cravings, making it difficult if there are other people in the home eating solid foods
  • As you detoxify body, intense fatigue and mood swings are reported as "normal" by most users of the Maple Syrup Diet
  • Very low calorie intake, about 500/day
INGREDIENTS and RECIPE

Take a clean one-gallon jug and pour in the following:

  • 3 Quarts of Water
  • 1 Cup Lemon Juice (fresh if possible)
  • 1 Cup Grade B Maple Syrup (not maple flavored, but 100% real maple syrup)

  • 1 tsp. Cayenne pepper

  • Shake it all up and drink 8-12 glasses a day

Note: followers of this program also recommend a senna laxative tea as well as a saline water drink in the morning, as an additional component of this program. These additional supplements are simply for additional colon cleansing.

EXERCISE

None, and thank goodness, because most users would not have time (with all the trips to the bathroom) or the energy (at about 500 calories a day).

CONCLUSION

Again, this is not a diet, but a fasting or detox program, and cannot be recommended for long-term use. Ask your physician if you are healthy enough to carry out this very restrictive regimen before beginning. However, weight loss experts have touted the benefit of a healthy bowel system, but forcing the bowel to cleanse, may cause future problems for a person when they begin to eat their regular food routine. This would be a good program for someone who already eats vegetarian/vegan and avoids all processed foods, as a return to processed and fatty foods will take the user back to their pre-cleanse weight in short order.

Common Misspellings

Maple Sirup, maple syurp, mapple syrup, maple serup, syrup diet


Related Diets: Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Detoxatrim, Lemonade Diet, Colonics


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 7, 139 total comments)

Emma

I want to start today. Will I have to go to the bathroom a lot, because I still go to school. How can I do it when I have school?

posted Feb 1st, 2012 4:39 pm


Tee

My friend went from a size 18 to a 12 in two months from the maple diet.
I am on DAY 1 of mine. Unfortunatley had to make food for the house for the week so it was pretty hard focusing. I am determined to see it through to saturday.
Will keep you posted tmw.

posted Jan 29th, 2012 6:36 pm


Sara

I'll be starting this diet next friday and I'll be doing it for the weekend only just as a way to begin my new diet plan. I hope that I can loose about 5 pounds!

posted Jan 22nd, 2012 11:49 pm


becky

i am starting this diet tomorrow. i made the drink and gave it a taste today, and it tastes no where near as bad as i thought it would. i can tell its going to be a hard one to stick to, hopefully i can do it !

posted Jan 17th, 2012 1:35 am


dan

fourth day and going strong.The food cravings are there and stronger than ever especially since I work with food and prepare meals for the family.As they say fortune favors the bold and great achievements require sacrifices.Planing for a minimum of 10 days and will give regular updates

posted Nov 16th, 2011 9:23 pm


dan

On the third day and going strong.Surprising enough the hunger itself is not a major issue if you keep drinking.One issue worth mentioning is using a straw to drink,because your teeth will not enjoy the acid from the lemons in high and constant doses.Aiming for 10-14 days and have tried fasting before on fresh juices.Will keep all informed on the progress

posted Nov 15th, 2011 9:14 pm


woobsie

I am on day 4 of the Master Cleanse and I have lost 7.6 lbs. The first day was VERY hard, the 2nd day, hard, by the third day, getting easier and now it's almost, easy! It is sooo wonderful!
I tried the Shangri La diet (don't even bother!!), and Dukan diet, where I lost 4 lbs quickly, then plateaud, eventually lost 10 lbs in a month and couldn't stand to look at meat or cottage cheese for the following month. Gained it all back plus more, easily. I managed to lose while calorie counting but I find it makes me really anxious about making sure I am eating only foods I can count..etc. Makes me crazy! I don't have too hard of a time maintaining my weight, but I have a slow weight creep over the years.
With the Master Cleanse I do notice I have a heightened sense of smell, but the first day (and also if I am waiting too long in between drinks) headaches. I feel light on my feet and essentially pain free...my skin looks great, but it mostly did before. The main thing is headaches and if I smell food, I feel like I want to turn into a warewolf! I also notice I think about wanting food I normally don't crave, chinese food, chicken balls, fish and chips! Things I would never normally want to eat, but my weaknesses, like cookies and pizza, I don't even think about. The tone of my skin on my body looks nicer. I am a bit cranky. I tried the SWF once and it didn't do anything for me except make me feel bloated in the morning, but I have been drinking Senna tea in the morning and evening and really enjoy the taste! (Smooth moves)..I have only had 2 real bathroom emergencies really. My stomach/intestines feel waaay better than normal. I am typically plagued by gas and cramping usually every other to every day after eating dinner for some reason (very sensitive to too much sugar, wheat and artifical sweetener).
I will admit that during day 1 and day 2 I often thought, 'I am not going to make it!!' so I set a small goal of 4 days first. Because I thought, 4 days is better than 2!! This business about tongues turning white and weird stuff coming out...I can't say I shared this experience.

posted Oct 29th, 2011 5:12 pm


Pride

I am on my first day and its going well so far, hope to finish

posted Oct 19th, 2011 7:43 am


Jasmine

Will the Maple Syrup Diet still work if I use grade A maple syrup instead of grade B? Hey, I can't find grade B.... Did anyone use grade A, and did it work?I want to start tomorrow

posted Sep 24th, 2011 9:12 pm


marissa

if i take thyroid meds does that afect the diet?

posted Aug 20th, 2011 12:45 am


JennS

Half way through my first day. I decided not to go completely foodless..So I had a small apple for breakfast, lettuce, tofu and cucumber with Braggs Aminos as dressing for lunch and for dinner I will have the same as lunch but add Chicken. I made a gallon of mixture. It does down ok until you stop drinking, then you feel the pepper. So drink some regular water as your last sip, it helps. I am drinking one glass every hour or so. I don't feel bloated, which is nice.

The Grade B can be found on line at this site:
http://www.vitacost.com/Shady-Maple-Farms-Certified-Organic-Grade-B-Pure-Maple-Syrup
But for 1 cup, which is what the recipe calls for it is over 800 calories.

I am thinking to do a modified version. with 1/2 cup and eat about 500 calories of good /healthy food. I will still loose weight since I am eating about 1800 kcals a day. My stomach is growling...

posted Jul 9th, 2011 6:18 pm


tom

The first three days are the hardest!!!!!!!! I went 9 days on it and lost 15 lbs. The awesome part is i had more energy and slept the best i ever had. I believe because i was giving my organs a much need break.

posted Jul 6th, 2011 6:59 pm


fira feynberg

I have a problem with my allergy and sour stomach,probably this diet with
lemon & peper will upset my stomach...
If you have some recomendation for me
please send tomy e-mail.
Thank you. Sincerely, Fira

posted Jun 28th, 2011 9:07 pm


userfile
JulieDoesTheLemonDetox

Done 5 days - lost 7 Ibs. Didn't quite keep to it but when I strayed off the path it was either half a cup of bake beans, or half a cup of cereal, veg or fruit.

posted Jun 24th, 2011 2:48 pm


userfile
JulieDoesTheLemonDetox

Maple Syrup contains all these things;

Thiamine (vit. B1)
Riboflavin (Vit. B2)
Niacin (Vit.B3)
Pantothenic acid (B5)
Vitamin B6
Calcium
Iron
Magnesium
Manganese
Phosphorus
Potassium
Zinc

It also has 15 times more amount of calcium than honey, just out of interest.

I suspect the reason for steering us to Grade B, or No.2, instead of Grade A or No.1 is the fact that the above nutrients will be present in Grade B/ No.2 in "much more" quantity and is therefore better to sustain us throughout the diet. Grade A/No1. has been described as lighter. However, I'm not an expert on Maple Syrup but I do tend to get this impression after researching it on the internet as I wasn't sure which type to buy or whether it made that much of a difference. Somehow I think it does.

posted Jun 21st, 2011 4:40 pm


wanszr

I'm on day 1... really love the taste.. using the maple syrup grade A cos i cant get grade B....164lbs now.... need to lost at least 11lbs in a week!! Wish me luck! and good luck to u all too... :)

posted Jun 13th, 2011 10:02 pm


Mila

I Love It! Loss -13 p.

posted May 16th, 2011 2:05 am


nausheen

Is it okay if I dont find Grade B maple syrup?

posted May 13th, 2011 9:32 pm


Trina

OK... I started the maple syrup diet today 04/23/2011 and i feel sick to my stomache. I don't like the taste it's to spicy and has a nasty after taste. but over all i stick to it not goin to give up. So far i lost 2lbs on my frist day. so happy about that

posted Apr 23rd, 2011 9:42 am


Jen

Day 1 - Me and my friedn Amber are starting the Cyan Pepper/maple syrup diet today...it doesnt taste as bad as i thought it would, I am wanting to loose about 10-15 pounds...how long do i have to stay on for that?

posted Apr 1st, 2011 7:33 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account