Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

48%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 53 reviews
Maple Syrup Diet

Maple Syrup Diet Review: Does it Work?

Stars like Beyonce use this to detox and start fresh.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Maple Syrup Diet is a fad detox diet made to promote weight loss by drinking a homemade drink. This beverage mixes maple syrup, cayenne pepper, and lemonade.

The claimed benefits extend beyond weight loss and they include healthier skin and nails, a resistance to illness via stronger immune system, increase mental focus, enhanced energy, and stronger hair. The diet was popularized by the musician Beyoncé after she admitted it helped her lose weight for a film role. By reviewing many different weight loss diets our experts found the most effective was the 18Shake Diet. This diet offers a nutritionally balanced appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning diet pill. They both are free of stimulants, preservatives, binders, fillers, and only have natural ingredients. Discover more about the 18Shake Diet via the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Maple Syrup Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The key ingredients one will be eating are:

Maple Syrup:Sweetener extractedfrom the maple tree. It has a unique flavor and is mostly made up of the sugar sucrose. There are different grades to this as some are less processed, taste stronger, and have a darker amber color.

It also has very little macronutrients, and often has a lot of carbohydrates and sugars per serving.

Lemon Juice:This citrus fruit is low in sugar and high in vitamin C, with an average sized fruit providing 51% of the daily requirement for vitamin C.  They help support the immune system and are high in antioxidants.

Cayenne Pepper: Spicy chili pepper extract that is used to flavor dishes. It is rated from 30,000 to 50,000 Scoville units which means it can be exceptionally spicy and very little of it is need to add spice to meals. When handled and eaten it can promote side effects that may include:

         • Stomach pain, diarrhea, and cramps.

         • Skin irritation, burning, and itching.

         • Kidney or liver damage.

It contains a high amount of vitamin A and has some trace vitamins and minerals. It is known to help stimulate blood flow and increase the rate of metabolism.

There’s no official guide to the Maple Syrup Diet, though it’s often recommended to serve this drink in the following ratio. 2 tablespoons of maple syrup, 2 tablespoons of freshly squeezed lemon juice, and a pinch of cayenne pepper or ginger to a half pint of cold or hot water. One can drink as much as one likes, with an ideal range of 6 to nine glasses.

Different plans are offered as well with typically the 4 possibilities listed:

• Full detox: Having the only thing you eat being this drink for a total of 10 days straight, and 14 fulldays if one is capable. For people   beginning this diet it’s advised to do it for a 5 to 7 day period.

• One a week: Skip food just one day a week and replace with this drink.

• Master plan: Twice yearly and multi day detox approach followed once a week.

• Relaxed version: Replacing breakfast, dinner or both with 2 to 3 glasses. Also there is no allowance for dairy, coffee, sweets alcohol, red meat, processed foods, and fried foods.

For a top 10 ranked diet plans list for weight loss click the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Maple Syrup Diet Quality of Ingredients

While cayenne pepper and lemon juice can be healthy, the added maple syrup is high in sugar and there’s no protein from this drink. Sustaining oneself only on this can be potentially dangerous, as Web MD adds:

“The problem is, you will lose muscle mass. The diet puts you at risk for nutritional deficient too.”

They also mention the possibility for weight loss:

“you will likely gain the weight back really quickly once you start eating normally”

“You’ll likely be hungry on such a strict diet.

They even describe one of the key flaws to the diet:

“There’s no proof that detoxifying leads to long-termweight loss”

Eating only these kinds of foods instead of a nutritionally well-rounded meal can lead to deficiencies and side effects. It’s not only difficult to continue, but the possibility for real weight loss is very unlikely. For a list of the most effective weight loss diets click the link provided here.

The Price and Quality of Maple Syrup Diet

All one has to pay for is the lemons, cayenne, and maple syrup. This can be easy to obtain and often does not cost much, though the grade of maple syrup might be pricy.

Overall however, due to the lack of evidence, health sites like Web MD have confirmed that this is an unlikely weight loss fad diet. It’s considered a crash diet, meaning one has to follow it for a short period in order to achieve weight loss.

There are many potential issues and no proof that it is actually safe and effective. For a comprehensive list of the top ranking diet plans for weight loss follow the link provided.

The diet does not emphasize any important facets of weight loss, and instead is meant to promote effects via a detoxing effect which has not been proven. There is a lack of provided facts about the real effects of this diet. Without this key information, it makes the overall quality poor and potentially risky to try even in short bursts.

Business of Maple Syrup Diet

The diet was popularized by the musician Beyoncé and there are some websites which offer free resources. However, the basics of the diet are easy to explain.

It’s unclear exactly who created this diet, though one claim is that it was founded in the 1940’s by a Stanley Burroughs who practiced alternative health strategies. His claim was that this drink was effective for treating ulcers and eliminating toxic waste fromthebody. His original plan was to help detoxify the body, but this has since been debunked as Dr. David Dahlman mentions:

“not only is this diet dangerous, but it fails to detox the body” The detoxification system works by nutrients combining with toxins”

“doesn’t provide the necessary nutrients foe the liver to do its job, and it will deplete your reserves within 48 hours”

Therefore the science behind this diet has been proven to be ineffective. The top 10 ranked diet plans for weight loss are featured in this link.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Maple Syrup Diet

Many have tried this diet; here are some user quotes about the use of the Maple Syrup Diet:

“drank it and immediately vomited”

“I think the taste of the drink is horrible! I couldn't even drink it!”

“I HIGHLY discourage this.”

“I’ve got the mother of all headaches and nausea”

There were many people who found it undrinkable and much too spicy to handle. There were side effects such as nausea, heartburn, vomiting, diarrhea, and feelings of illness.

Some people did lose weight;however, any diet that severely restricts calories will have this effect. There is also no need balanced protein, carbohydrate, and fat profile to help suppress appetite. Many said they felt extremely hungry and unable to operate at full strength.

There were issues with a concern over the lack of science to back up any of the claims made about this diet. The highest rated top ranked diet plans for weight loss can be seen here.

The British Dietic Association has also said that the diet is potentially unsafe and that weight loss is likely to be short term, as the weight will return once one resumes a regular diet.

Conclusion - Does Maple Syrup DietWork?

The Maple Syrup Diet is a detox diet that claims it can help provide many benefits to overall health as well as make weight loss easy. The diet was first created as a way to help treat ulcers, but it’s now used by some celebrities for quick weight loss. While any severe caloric restriction can promote weight loss, it’s not considered the most wholesome way to accomplish this goal. Many users have repeated the same issues, that it does not taste good, promoted side effects, left them feeling hungry, and did not promote sustained weight loss. Health sites have also confirmed that this can lead to nutritional deficiencies and a rebounding effect with weight gain as soon as it’s no longer used.

Our experts have concluded after much research that the most effective weight loss solution is the 18Shake Diet. It combines anappetite suppressing meal replacement made with 15 grams of whey protein, and a plant based stimulant free diet pill to help burn fat and boost metabolism. Many who have tried it have left positive testimonials and reviews on the official website. People say that it is effective and can promote real weight loss change.

Both the diet pill and the meal replacement offered by the 18Shake Diet are fully supported by a money back return policy. This 30 day guarantee allows for returns with no questions asked for the entire period. Discover more about the 18Shake Diet when you visit the link provided here.

How Does Maple Syrup Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Maple Syrup Diet
  • 48 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 7, 140 total comments)

Nelisiwe

I did testing before and after . Went to the iridiologist and checked my systems and after that I went again and she confirmed that my systems had improved.

posted Feb 7th, 2012 7:02 am


Emma

I want to start today. Will I have to go to the bathroom a lot, because I still go to school. How can I do it when I have school?

posted Feb 1st, 2012 4:39 pm


Tee

My friend went from a size 18 to a 12 in two months from the maple diet.
I am on DAY 1 of mine. Unfortunatley had to make food for the house for the week so it was pretty hard focusing. I am determined to see it through to saturday.
Will keep you posted tmw.

posted Jan 29th, 2012 6:36 pm


Sara

I'll be starting this diet next friday and I'll be doing it for the weekend only just as a way to begin my new diet plan. I hope that I can loose about 5 pounds!

posted Jan 22nd, 2012 11:49 pm


becky

i am starting this diet tomorrow. i made the drink and gave it a taste today, and it tastes no where near as bad as i thought it would. i can tell its going to be a hard one to stick to, hopefully i can do it !

posted Jan 17th, 2012 1:35 am


dan

fourth day and going strong.The food cravings are there and stronger than ever especially since I work with food and prepare meals for the family.As they say fortune favors the bold and great achievements require sacrifices.Planing for a minimum of 10 days and will give regular updates

posted Nov 16th, 2011 9:23 pm


dan

On the third day and going strong.Surprising enough the hunger itself is not a major issue if you keep drinking.One issue worth mentioning is using a straw to drink,because your teeth will not enjoy the acid from the lemons in high and constant doses.Aiming for 10-14 days and have tried fasting before on fresh juices.Will keep all informed on the progress

posted Nov 15th, 2011 9:14 pm


woobsie

I am on day 4 of the Master Cleanse and I have lost 7.6 lbs. The first day was VERY hard, the 2nd day, hard, by the third day, getting easier and now it's almost, easy! It is sooo wonderful!
I tried the Shangri La diet (don't even bother!!), and Dukan diet, where I lost 4 lbs quickly, then plateaud, eventually lost 10 lbs in a month and couldn't stand to look at meat or cottage cheese for the following month. Gained it all back plus more, easily. I managed to lose while calorie counting but I find it makes me really anxious about making sure I am eating only foods I can count..etc. Makes me crazy! I don't have too hard of a time maintaining my weight, but I have a slow weight creep over the years.
With the Master Cleanse I do notice I have a heightened sense of smell, but the first day (and also if I am waiting too long in between drinks) headaches. I feel light on my feet and essentially pain free...my skin looks great, but it mostly did before. The main thing is headaches and if I smell food, I feel like I want to turn into a warewolf! I also notice I think about wanting food I normally don't crave, chinese food, chicken balls, fish and chips! Things I would never normally want to eat, but my weaknesses, like cookies and pizza, I don't even think about. The tone of my skin on my body looks nicer. I am a bit cranky. I tried the SWF once and it didn't do anything for me except make me feel bloated in the morning, but I have been drinking Senna tea in the morning and evening and really enjoy the taste! (Smooth moves)..I have only had 2 real bathroom emergencies really. My stomach/intestines feel waaay better than normal. I am typically plagued by gas and cramping usually every other to every day after eating dinner for some reason (very sensitive to too much sugar, wheat and artifical sweetener).
I will admit that during day 1 and day 2 I often thought, 'I am not going to make it!!' so I set a small goal of 4 days first. Because I thought, 4 days is better than 2!! This business about tongues turning white and weird stuff coming out...I can't say I shared this experience.

posted Oct 29th, 2011 5:12 pm


Pride

I am on my first day and its going well so far, hope to finish

posted Oct 19th, 2011 7:43 am


Jasmine

?

Will the Maple Syrup Diet still work if I use grade A maple syrup instead of grade B? Hey, I can't find grade B.... Did anyone use grade A, and did it work?I want to start tomorrow

posted Sep 24th, 2011 9:12 pm


marissa

if i take thyroid meds does that afect the diet?

posted Aug 20th, 2011 12:45 am


JennS

+

Half way through my first day. I decided not to go completely foodless..So I had a small apple for breakfast, lettuce, tofu and cucumber with Braggs Aminos as dressing for lunch and for dinner I will have the same as lunch but add Chicken. I made a gallon of mixture. It does down ok until you stop drinking, then you feel the pepper. So drink some regular water as your last sip, it helps. I am drinking one glass every hour or so. I don't feel bloated, which is nice.

The Grade B can be found on line at this site:
http://www.vitacost.com/Shady-Maple-Farms-Certified-Organic-Grade-B-Pure-Maple-Syrup
But for 1 cup, which is what the recipe calls for it is over 800 calories.

I am thinking to do a modified version. with 1/2 cup and eat about 500 calories of good /healthy food. I will still loose weight since I am eating about 1800 kcals a day. My stomach is growling...

posted Jul 9th, 2011 6:18 pm


tom

The first three days are the hardest!!!!!!!! I went 9 days on it and lost 15 lbs. The awesome part is i had more energy and slept the best i ever had. I believe because i was giving my organs a much need break.

posted Jul 6th, 2011 6:59 pm


fira feynberg

I have a problem with my allergy and sour stomach,probably this diet with
lemon & peper will upset my stomach...
If you have some recomendation for me
please send tomy e-mail.
Thank you. Sincerely, Fira

posted Jun 28th, 2011 9:07 pm


userfile
JulieDoesTheLemonDetox

Done 5 days - lost 7 Ibs. Didn't quite keep to it but when I strayed off the path it was either half a cup of bake beans, or half a cup of cereal, veg or fruit.

posted Jun 24th, 2011 2:48 pm


userfile
JulieDoesTheLemonDetox

Maple Syrup contains all these things;

Thiamine (vit. B1)
Riboflavin (Vit. B2)
Niacin (Vit.B3)
Pantothenic acid (B5)
Vitamin B6
Calcium
Iron
Magnesium
Manganese
Phosphorus
Potassium
Zinc

It also has 15 times more amount of calcium than honey, just out of interest.

I suspect the reason for steering us to Grade B, or No.2, instead of Grade A or No.1 is the fact that the above nutrients will be present in Grade B/ No.2 in "much more" quantity and is therefore better to sustain us throughout the diet. Grade A/No1. has been described as lighter. However, I'm not an expert on Maple Syrup but I do tend to get this impression after researching it on the internet as I wasn't sure which type to buy or whether it made that much of a difference. Somehow I think it does.

posted Jun 21st, 2011 4:40 pm


wanszr

+

I'm on day 1... really love the taste.. using the maple syrup grade A cos i cant get grade B....164lbs now.... need to lost at least 11lbs in a week!! Wish me luck! and good luck to u all too... :)

posted Jun 13th, 2011 10:02 pm


Mila

+

I Love It! Loss -13 p.

posted May 16th, 2011 2:05 am


nausheen

?

Is it okay if I dont find Grade B maple syrup?

posted May 13th, 2011 9:32 pm


Trina

OK... I started the maple syrup diet today 04/23/2011 and i feel sick to my stomache. I don't like the taste it's to spicy and has a nasty after taste. but over all i stick to it not goin to give up. So far i lost 2lbs on my frist day. so happy about that

posted Apr 23rd, 2011 9:42 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Popularized as of late by starlets around the globe, including Beyonce Knowles of Dreamgirls fame, the Maple Syrup Diet is not a diet per se. Rather, it is a cleanse, meant to detoxify the body of all previous food intake, providing a clean slate for future healthy eating. Also known as the "Master Cleanse" or the "Lemonade Diet", the program is basically a mixture of Grade B Maple syrup, fresh squeezed lemon juice, spring water and cayenne pepper that a person drinks for up to 10 days. Pioneered by Stanley Burroughs in the 1950s, its practitioners and participants claim that not only do they lose weight, but they see better, smell better, hear better and feel better, while also ridding their bodies of ailments that have afflicted them for years.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Users claim the lemon/maple syrup mixture is pleasant tasting
  • Weight loss is immediate as the user loses pounds of retained fecal material
  • Euphoria and other feelings of serenity are an added bonus as the person becomes almost yogi like in their fasting state

CON
  • Cannot leave the house for up to three days as user rushes to the bathroom for frequent bowel movements
  • No food intake of any kind other than maple syrup mixture means participant will likely develop intense food cravings, making it difficult if there are other people in the home eating solid foods
  • As you detoxify body, intense fatigue and mood swings are reported as "normal" by most users of the Maple Syrup Diet
  • Very low calorie intake, about 500/day
INGREDIENTS and RECIPE

Take a clean one-gallon jug and pour in the following:

  • 3 Quarts of Water
  • 1 Cup Lemon Juice (fresh if possible)
  • 1 Cup Grade B Maple Syrup (not maple flavored, but 100% real maple syrup)

  • 1 tsp. Cayenne pepper

  • Shake it all up and drink 8-12 glasses a day

Note: followers of this program also recommend a senna laxative tea as well as a saline water drink in the morning, as an additional component of this program. These additional supplements are simply for additional colon cleansing.

EXERCISE

None, and thank goodness, because most users would not have time (with all the trips to the bathroom) or the energy (at about 500 calories a day).

CONCLUSION

Again, this is not a diet, but a fasting or detox program, and cannot be recommended for long-term use. Ask your physician if you are healthy enough to carry out this very restrictive regimen before beginning. However, weight loss experts have touted the benefit of a healthy bowel system, but forcing the bowel to cleanse, may cause future problems for a person when they begin to eat their regular food routine. This would be a good program for someone who already eats vegetarian/vegan and avoids all processed foods, as a return to processed and fatty foods will take the user back to their pre-cleanse weight in short order.

Common Misspellings

Maple Sirup, maple syurp, mapple syrup, maple serup, syrup diet

Related Diets: Lemonade Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Liquid Diet, Detoxatrim, Colonics

Whats better than
Maple Syrup Diet?