Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

96%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 52 reviews

Maple Syrup Diet

Stars like Beyonce use this to detox and start fresh.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Popularized as of late by starlets around the globe, including Beyonce Knowles of Dreamgirls fame, the Maple Syrup Diet is not a diet per se. Rather, it is a cleanse, meant to detoxify the body of all previous food intake, providing a clean slate for future healthy eating. Also known as the "Master Cleanse" or the "Lemonade Diet", the program is basically a mixture of Grade B Maple syrup, fresh squeezed lemon juice, spring water and cayenne pepper that a person drinks for up to 10 days. Pioneered by Stanley Burroughs in the 1950s, its practitioners and participants claim that not only do they lose weight, but they see better, smell better, hear better and feel better, while also ridding their bodies of ailments that have afflicted them for years.

PRO
  • Users claim the lemon/maple syrup mixture is pleasant tasting
  • Weight loss is immediate as the user loses pounds of retained fecal material
  • Euphoria and other feelings of serenity are an added bonus as the person becomes almost yogi like in their fasting state

CON
  • Cannot leave the house for up to three days as user rushes to the bathroom for frequent bowel movements
  • No food intake of any kind other than maple syrup mixture means participant will likely develop intense food cravings, making it difficult if there are other people in the home eating solid foods
  • As you detoxify body, intense fatigue and mood swings are reported as "normal" by most users of the Maple Syrup Diet
  • Very low calorie intake, about 500/day
INGREDIENTS and RECIPE

Take a clean one-gallon jug and pour in the following:

  • 3 Quarts of Water
  • 1 Cup Lemon Juice (fresh if possible)
  • 1 Cup Grade B Maple Syrup (not maple flavored, but 100% real maple syrup)

  • 1 tsp. Cayenne pepper

  • Shake it all up and drink 8-12 glasses a day

Note: followers of this program also recommend a senna laxative tea as well as a saline water drink in the morning, as an additional component of this program. These additional supplements are simply for additional colon cleansing.

EXERCISE

None, and thank goodness, because most users would not have time (with all the trips to the bathroom) or the energy (at about 500 calories a day).

CONCLUSION

Again, this is not a diet, but a fasting or detox program, and cannot be recommended for long-term use. Ask your physician if you are healthy enough to carry out this very restrictive regimen before beginning. However, weight loss experts have touted the benefit of a healthy bowel system, but forcing the bowel to cleanse, may cause future problems for a person when they begin to eat their regular food routine. This would be a good program for someone who already eats vegetarian/vegan and avoids all processed foods, as a return to processed and fatty foods will take the user back to their pre-cleanse weight in short order.

Common Misspellings

Maple Sirup, maple syurp, mapple syrup, maple serup, syrup diet


Related Diets: Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Detoxatrim, Lemonade Diet, Colonics


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 7, 139 total comments)

TARSHA

CAN'T FIND REAL MAPLE SYRUP CAN I USE CANE SYRUP??

posted Aug 19th, 2009 5:06 pm


chriss

ok im starting tomorrow im really excited im doing it in order to detoxify my body the fact that i will lose weight is just a plus my question is what would be the mesurments if im pouring the ingredients in a bottle water?/
hopw you guys can help

posted Jul 31st, 2009 8:51 am


downnholler

I started the diet today and excited about losing the weight, I am a little bit worried about the bathroom issues but we will see. I could only find the grade A I hope that works in place of B. Someone else asked can we drink water with our cleanse and what about if we get hungry if we can eat what do we eat?
Wish me luck

posted Jul 13th, 2009 1:31 pm


leila

I am very much interested about this diet, unfortunately is hardly find maple syrup grade B here in my city.. Is it possible if i use grade A? Is it matter?

posted Jun 24th, 2009 5:16 am


adrema

i am on the maple syrup diet right now and it is wonderful i just started today i was wondering r u supposed to eat vegtables

posted Jun 18th, 2009 2:43 pm


rowena

im starting today this program... guyz! wish me luck! i want to get my pigure back....

posted May 24th, 2009 7:20 am


amerie

its my 2nd day in MC. as weigh myself this morning i have already lost 1 kg! and not only that i feel great and for that i know i would last long stay in the cleanse. i feel more energized and happy and i dont get tempted with food anymore.no cravings!

yepee!!

posted May 19th, 2009 11:29 am


amerie

hi

im 22 years old and living in UAE.

first of all , regarding the ingredients i have purchased KASHMIRI CHILI PEPPER (As locals here says that its just the same. i backed it up with some internet research) as for cayenne pepper is difficult to find here and the syrup a swell.luckily i had found it to one of the grocery but it does not state the grade. it only showed that its 100% canandian maple syrup. will this matter??


its my first day of detox and of course i wanted to shed few pounds for my birthday on JUNE 12 aimed to do it for 20 to 30 days.
wish me luck!

SWF is tolerable. its true, when ever u do SWF u have to be near a toilet.it acts fast and and its just like you pee on the other hole just like the others had said. but the lemonade??wow!!i love it. it so refreshing and very tasty.

if anyone would like to have "buddy" in doing this MC, i would sincerely appreciate it. plz do contact me on ameriemendoza@gmail.com

wish you all good luck!

posted May 18th, 2009 5:26 am


karina

I am on my 3rd day of maple cleanse.
Still alive :)

posted May 14th, 2009 6:46 am


Karina

you probably use cayene pepper with high heat units number. Go to Trader Joes - they have 2 types of cayeene pepper. Choose one with the lower #

posted May 14th, 2009 6:45 am


Heather

Ok, so i started this detox this morning i there is no way i can finish it for 10 days, I think the taste of the drink is horrible!!! i couldn't even drink it! The pepper in it was so strong and hot the it burnt my mouth and throat! I did the right measurments, i dont know, the heat from it is just to much! Is there any other solutions to this problem im having? Please help, so i can do this detox!!!

posted May 13th, 2009 3:45 pm


aGIRL

can we drink water while on this detox?? I think im doing something wrong..because i barely have to go to the bathroom. =( ..Hopefully..im doing it right.

posted Apr 21st, 2009 11:13 pm


mike b

Im gonna try it tomorrow. as for the maple syrup, I went to trader joes.
Good luck!!

posted Apr 20th, 2009 1:27 am


aGIRL

I just started the Maple syrup diet today..and im very excited. Im alittle spektical...but im going to give it a try anyways. Got any advice for me?

posted Apr 16th, 2009 12:22 am


aGIRL

Today i just started the MC. I dont feel hungry but that could change. Im kind of skeptical...but im going to give it a try. I feel like i never have any energy to do anything and plus losing some weight would be a major bonus. Anyone got any advice for me?? =)

posted Apr 16th, 2009 12:12 am


new new

i was wondering if this diet really works because i really want to loose weight and look good

posted Mar 31st, 2009 6:20 pm


carly

im startin this diet on monday and was wondering if u still can drink water while on this?

posted Mar 28th, 2009 4:37 pm


ALE

I AM STARTING THIS DIET TODAY,

posted Mar 27th, 2009 11:30 am


Monita Sharma

I want to try this detox programme, will provide feedback once through....

posted Mar 27th, 2009 3:17 am


Sandra

Hello, I am just wondering, you cannot eat anything through out the diet right? and do you girls do excise during this diet? Thanks! :)

posted Mar 25th, 2009 2:55 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account