Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

96%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 53 reviews

Maple Syrup Diet

Stars like Beyonce use this to detox and start fresh.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Popularized as of late by starlets around the globe, including Beyonce Knowles of Dreamgirls fame, the Maple Syrup Diet is not a diet per se. Rather, it is a cleanse, meant to detoxify the body of all previous food intake, providing a clean slate for future healthy eating. Also known as the "Master Cleanse" or the "Lemonade Diet", the program is basically a mixture of Grade B Maple syrup, fresh squeezed lemon juice, spring water and cayenne pepper that a person drinks for up to 10 days. Pioneered by Stanley Burroughs in the 1950s, its practitioners and participants claim that not only do they lose weight, but they see better, smell better, hear better and feel better, while also ridding their bodies of ailments that have afflicted them for years.

PRO
  • Users claim the lemon/maple syrup mixture is pleasant tasting
  • Weight loss is immediate as the user loses pounds of retained fecal material
  • Euphoria and other feelings of serenity are an added bonus as the person becomes almost yogi like in their fasting state

CON
  • Cannot leave the house for up to three days as user rushes to the bathroom for frequent bowel movements
  • No food intake of any kind other than maple syrup mixture means participant will likely develop intense food cravings, making it difficult if there are other people in the home eating solid foods
  • As you detoxify body, intense fatigue and mood swings are reported as "normal" by most users of the Maple Syrup Diet
  • Very low calorie intake, about 500/day
INGREDIENTS and RECIPE

Take a clean one-gallon jug and pour in the following:

  • 3 Quarts of Water
  • 1 Cup Lemon Juice (fresh if possible)
  • 1 Cup Grade B Maple Syrup (not maple flavored, but 100% real maple syrup)

  • 1 tsp. Cayenne pepper

  • Shake it all up and drink 8-12 glasses a day

Note: followers of this program also recommend a senna laxative tea as well as a saline water drink in the morning, as an additional component of this program. These additional supplements are simply for additional colon cleansing.

EXERCISE

None, and thank goodness, because most users would not have time (with all the trips to the bathroom) or the energy (at about 500 calories a day).

CONCLUSION

Again, this is not a diet, but a fasting or detox program, and cannot be recommended for long-term use. Ask your physician if you are healthy enough to carry out this very restrictive regimen before beginning. However, weight loss experts have touted the benefit of a healthy bowel system, but forcing the bowel to cleanse, may cause future problems for a person when they begin to eat their regular food routine. This would be a good program for someone who already eats vegetarian/vegan and avoids all processed foods, as a return to processed and fatty foods will take the user back to their pre-cleanse weight in short order.

Common Misspellings

Maple Sirup, maple syurp, mapple syrup, maple serup, syrup diet


Related Diets: Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Detoxatrim, Lemonade Diet, Colonics


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 7, 140 total comments)

Jen

Day 1 - Me and my friedn Amber are starting the Cyan Pepper/maple syrup diet today...it doesnt taste as bad as i thought it would, I am wanting to loose about 10-15 pounds...how long do i have to stay on for that?

posted Apr 1st, 2011 7:33 am


DALIS

congrats every one....

posted Mar 27th, 2011 1:39 pm


nathalie

Hi, Day 1 here. Looking to loose 30 pounds. Hope this works, never tried it before. Anyone with some words of wisdom? Anyone want to buddy up?

posted Mar 23rd, 2011 2:09 pm


kate

Just started today, weighing 10st13lb, want to be down to 9st maybe more :) Will keep you posted :D

posted Mar 4th, 2011 9:14 am


Shin007

Wow anotha 5lb down! Hope I get to loose another 10pm by Friday my start weight was 14st 7lb! Rite now I'm down to 13st 2lb!

posted Feb 27th, 2011 8:37 am


Shin007

11days still going stronger !!

posted Feb 27th, 2011 8:36 am



Hugz

I lost 15 lbs!! in 7 days!

posted Feb 24th, 2011 2:13 pm


Shin007

So far good 3 lb lighter feel good!

posted Feb 20th, 2011 8:31 am


mani777

Is it necessary to have diarrhea for the cleanse to work? I am going to the loo normally (once a day). Does this defeat the purpose?

posted Feb 17th, 2011 11:53 am


Shin007

Day1 I have had 2 glasses already, yum yum, I did it 2 years ago, I didnt use salt flush, just had laxative tea every nite, in 10 days I lost 14 lb n nope never gained it bak, dis time I'm hopping to do 15 days, wish me look, I'm use to drinking water, as I drink 3 liters,

posted Feb 16th, 2011 6:24 am


Shin007

Is anyone starting the mayple syrup diet?? Need a buddy start 2morow!

posted Feb 15th, 2011 11:51 am


Shin007

Good very very good

posted Feb 14th, 2011 5:11 am



simz

I've read about this detox since yesterday, I went and bought all the ingredients I needed, except when I looked at the maple syrup it says grade A, will that work as well as the grade B?

I read that your suppose to drink sea salt solution before doing the detox, is that something that is to be done?
I need a little more info please from the people that has had success on this detox please advise with a message. Thanks

Ready to get back to feeling good about myself!!!

posted Feb 12th, 2011 5:59 pm


amerie

hi everyone! its been almost two years since i last did the MC. and it was great. my main aim is to loose several kg's and detox and i did. i lost 6 kgs in a week. i guess it works differently to everyone. However u cant stick to the diet for too long. you would need something that last and all natural therefore after i have done MC i switched to CATABOLIC DIET combined with SCARDALE DIET. actually both diets are different but you could research on it and learn how it could work for you....

p.s if there any Q's please email me at ameriebenchaabane@yahoo.com

goodluck everyone!

posted Feb 10th, 2011 10:14 am


So

Hi y'all. I just heard about this detox. I live in Asia im not sure if i can find any of these ingredients. Do we have to use a saline water? Can we use a regular water? can we drink a plain water on the side?Anyways i will try to get it from abroad. My question is lot of gals here posted about their start what happened at the end is a mystery.

posted Feb 10th, 2011 8:10 am


OB

I started this diet on Saturday now i'm day two! Mentally im not hungry, but my stomach is. I did loose 4 lbs, not sure why I lost that much in 1 day. See how much I'll loose tomorrow! I'm only going to do a 3 day cleanse.
If any of wonder about the taste "I describe it as a fresh lemon with chili powder" It's actually pretty good!

posted Jan 30th, 2011 11:18 pm


TheJock

just started it today, my mom already gave up lol, but i have to finish this no matter what! weigh 150 and want to go down to 125 if not less!!!! cant wait til day 10 haha

posted Jan 28th, 2011 11:40 pm



rachelle1

i am startin today , i'm nervous because i think its' goin to taste weird n not work for me , finger cross, n wish me luck , ill keep yall update,


Do yall think its possible for me to lose 40 pound n 3 weeks?

posted Jan 15th, 2011 6:13 am


joseyve

Ok I'm on day 3 and I have to tell you this is my first real day. There is a lot not on this site about the Cleanse, but I downloaded the App Master Cleans and I tell you it started working right away I love it. Day 2 was the worst for me but now I'm in the zone

posted Jan 14th, 2011 4:07 pm


joseyve

I just got done with day one it was so hard but I did it now 1 down 9 to go

posted Jan 13th, 2011 11:34 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account