Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

78%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 276 reviews

Hydroxycut

One of the leading diet and weight loss supplements

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Founder: Muscle Tech Research and Development
  • Headquarters: Mississauga Ontario Canada
  • Accessibility: Online and major retailers
  • Diet Type: Supplement taken with diet and exercise
  • Gender: Male, Female
BACKGROUND

Hydroxycut Recall after FDA Warning to Stop Using the Diet Pill

Once making headlines for containing a controversial herb, Ephedra, banned by the FDA, Hydroxycut now offers an Ephedra-free product that claims to increase metabolism and energy while curbing your appetite, cutting calories and maintaining blood sugar.

When Hydroxycut is combined with a diet and exercise regimen, the product claims to help users shed two-to-three times more weight that without. When taking Hydroxycut, it is suggested that users commit to consistent exercise and a low-calorie diet. Take Hydroxycut half-to-one hour prior to meals with eight ounces of water.

PRO
  • Increases energy
  • Control appetite
  • Burn calories
  • Lose up to 4.5 times more weight than with diet and exercise alone
  • Recipes and exercises available
  • Research studies available
CON
  • Hydroxycut Recall due to product association with death and liver damage

  • Must diet and exercise for Hydroxycut to work

  • Pills must be taken 30-60 minutes before meals which can be difficult if you don’t always eat at the same time
  • Contains caffeine
INGREDIENTS
  • Hydroxycitric Acid, extracted from tropical fruit and linked with liver problems
  • Calcium
  • Chromium
  • Potassium
  • Hydroxagen Plus
  • HydroxyTea
  • Caffeine
  • Green Tea extract
  • White Tea extract
  • Soy
ADMINISTRATION

Take two caplets with eight ounce of water as a dietary supplement 3 times per day approximately 30-60 minutes before each meal. Do not snack after dinner. Consume 10 eight ounce glasses of water per day. Do not take within five hours of bedtime. For best results, use Hydroxycut for eight weeks with a low-calorie diet and exercise program. For the first three days of the program, take one capsule three times per day. From day four beyond, take two capsules three times per day.

DIET and NUTRITION

There is no clear advice from Hydroxycut on an eating plan. You are encouraged to sticky to a healthy diet while taking the supplement. This kind of flexibility allows you to choose a plan of your liking.

For those with food allergies- Hydroxycut is a gluten-free product.

EXERCISE

No guidance provided.

CONCLUSION

ConsumerHealthDigest.com conducted research of 30 dietary supplements. Scoring 3 on a scale of 1-5 for metabolism enhancement, weight-loss potential and ingredient control and 4 on a scale of 1-5 for appetite suppression, Hydroxycut ranked number 11.

Common Misspellings

Hydroxy Cut, Hydroxicut, hydroxcut, hydroxycut.com, hydroxy-cut, hydrox-cut,


Related Diets: Akavar, Alli, Hoodia P57, HOT-ROX, Hydrox-Slim, Hydroxycut Instant Drink Packets, Trimspa X32



Wikipedia

Hydroxycut is a nutritional supplement marketed by Iovate Health Sciences Inc., designed to help consumers lose weight. It is sold at conventional retailers, such as GNC and Wal-Mart, online retailers such as and , and through direct television marketing.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 40, 796 total comments)

` R

Just a comment. This post begins with the so called 'news' that t is being recalled by the FDA, of all people ! Really ? Who trusts the FDA, except those whose benefit it is to pay them off to get their products on the market. We see the Class Action suits now taking place against many of the products that the FDA DID approve. I say it's a perfect 'reverse barometer' When the FDA is against it, then it's probably very good. So now I'll RUN, now walk to get my first bottle of Hydroxycut and follow directions. By the way, they DO say that you will experience some of these side effects at first... so cut back, already. Oh, and it's a CANADIAN company, generally with some integrity. A big threat to an multi-zillion US. Pharmacuetical industry, selling us death. Use your head, will you, please ? Can't wait to get mine ~~

posted Aug 11th, 2013 2:32 am


Erica

Is it safe to drink the hydroxy cut instant drinks and take the hydroxy cut pills together I have been hearing u can drink the instant drinks and take the pills at the same time for better results and I was wondering if this is true or false

posted Apr 4th, 2013 9:26 pm


julie

I tiried the sprinkles they say it does not alter the food taste WRONG it tastes awful i thought it was just me but had my mom taste it just once and she said it was bitter. have not used since..

posted Mar 28th, 2013 1:11 pm


Dave

I bought the sprinkles, says it will not alter the taste of food? Will it does and taste like dirty feet. I tried to contact Hydroxycut to ask if this is a bad batch or what? The phone number on the box is just a recording to go to the web site and the web site just a place trying to sell you more products. The taste of this product and unable to contact this company makes me fell they are trying to hind something, I threw out the rest of the product and don't want to use hydroxycut again.

posted Mar 19th, 2013 6:48 pm


shell

made me shaky, and my heart was beating fast, kinda scared me, will not be taking this anymore

posted Mar 11th, 2013 6:14 am


reyna

don't recommend this product made feel sick i have stomach aches, nause, and my head is spining everywhere. my heart beat is rapidly.... don't take it

posted Feb 23rd, 2013 2:43 am


Rachel

There are always exclusions. First off if you're taking a diet pill you are already over looking some health concerns! Secondly, for those of you acting like you almost died from this product, how long did you take it? If it was longer than 2 weeks, shame on you! Pay more attention to your body! No one made you take it. If it was less than 2 weeks, how could you be so sick from just this pill? You probably already had something wrong with you to begin with. People are so dramatic! This is an optional product. Try it and if it doesn't work for you then stop using it! Simple! For me personally, I took the pills and lost 10 lbs in a month! Great! That was 2012! I'm taking the drink mix now and I have been following the directions to exactly! NO PROBLEMS! Again, i have already lost 5 lbs in a week! The box and the pill bottle clearly tell you to try this to get used to it. If you don't follow the directions then expect self-inflicted problems! Drink water! EAT don't starve yourselves! EXERCISE you can't just sit on your lazy but and expect the pill to perform magic! Oh and those 10 lbs stayed off last year even after I stopped taking the pill but I did not just start eating 20 to times a day, I did however start snacking between my 3 meals because you directed not to snack while taking the product!

posted Feb 8th, 2013 6:47 pm


Mit

This is my first day trying it and I have really bad heart burn. I can not sleep eventhough I took one pill at lunch. My stomach also feels very funny. This medication is going back to the store. Oh and I just read that many products have been recalled due to liver damage>>> Not GOOD.

posted Jul 24th, 2012 4:33 am


Jimmy

I took hydroxycut for a week having pains in my legs back and in my stomach like cramps sped up my heart and chest pains and I am at the hospital right now

posted Jul 2nd, 2012 10:37 pm



Irene Rivera Kjergaard

Tried this one. I lost weight, but it gave me the shakes and made me nauseated. Also gave me severe heartburn if I wasn't able to eat in time.

posted May 6th, 2012 7:25 pm


Marie

Hydroxycut is a product that "really" does work. I have used it on an off over the last several years and I have experienced phenomenal weight loss. I am very concerned about the cases of liver damage that have been said to be linked to it. I would like to use it again but I have a daughter who needs me. I don't want to voluntarily do anything that will decrease our time together. I hope that the makers of the product will do what is needed to prove that their product is safe. Hydroxycut works but it's not worth losing your life over. A little extra discipline and prayer goes a long way. Make the best choice for you.

posted Mar 12th, 2012 3:45 pm


glenda

ive not tried this new one yet but the old one was very good i had no problems with the old ones before taking off the market i wish they put the old ones back on the market because i was almost 300 lbs after taking them i was 160lbs

posted Jan 26th, 2012 7:58 pm


AnonAndOn

For those of you claiming the pill did nothing for you, you could be right. But to say you didn't see any results after working out is just just ludicrous. You're either A.) Lying and didn't work out at all - therefore any results would be minimal B.) Consumed more calories than you burned (due to weak exercise regimen or bad diet) or C.) Have a genetic predisposition which inhibits fat loss. I don't know how good these things are for you - probably not very - but to say you exercised, drank the recommended amount of water and took the pill with no results is likely due to user error, not the pill's. If it were the fault of the pill, it would have to be actively working against your metabolism to keep you from losing weight, which make these I-did-everything-right-with-no-results reviews highly suspect.

posted Jan 5th, 2012 12:16 am


jake

lost 20 lbs in a month with it,

posted Jan 2nd, 2012 6:20 pm


fayachinee

kinda work !!! but i ve a question , what if I missed one day ? cuz too much work and I forgot about it ? any side effect then or negative results ?

posted Dec 11th, 2011 4:44 pm


Melissa

Will Hydroxycut cause liver damage after taking it for just a week? I'm so scared...OMG, after reading these stories, I am traumatized! I'm 5'6 and 114lbs, I just wanted to shed a little extra for modeling and felt these could work in with working out. I've only been taking them for exactly a week now. My period the last two months has been spot on time, around 9th-10th, this month, it's not here...I read it can stop it (I don't want it to stop! I'm only 22, but want kids someday) and it can cause liver damage! It's only been a week so if I stop now, I'll be ok, right? T-T Please, email me: magickitty@verizon.net

posted Dec 11th, 2011 2:15 am


PJ

I have used the packets and just add half the amount to a full quart of water, which reduced racey feelings adequately...but I definitely notice an irritated bladder whenever I use it. I like it because it interests me in drinking water, and reduces my desire for food.

posted Dec 11th, 2011 1:29 am


mangoes

POISON.. Premature menopause @28.. told I cant have a baby!!!.. I was lean.. but now I am seriously ill. Celulite bloating.. MENOPAUSE. Aged rapidly. Periods stopped when I took it.. rapidly declined from there. Depressed.. If you have taken it.. DETOX NOW.

posted Nov 8th, 2011 6:41 pm


Kelly

Is liver damage a side-effect of Pro Clinical Hydroxycut? I took Hydroxycut in the summer of 2010. Worked fabulous! Does anyone know this pro clinical hydroxycut when exactly they switched to this formula? and the ppl on here saying they have liver damage- on which time frame & formula of hydroxycut bc they've changed the ingredients due to the recall. Is pro-clinical safe? It won't cause liver damage will it?

posted Nov 8th, 2011 4:56 pm


Jillian

I like the Thermogenic Hydroxycut Advanced. It helped me lose 60 lbs in 11 months, in combination with eating a calorie restricted diet and working out atleast 45 minutes a day on my elliptical.
I am very disappointed that this formula is no longer available. I do not like the Pro Clinical formula at all. It did nothing to curb my appetite, it gave me no energy, and it gave me headaches.
I with they'd bring back the Thermogenic Hydroxycut Advanced formula. That formula was awesome and very helpful to the person willing to put in the time and effort needed to embrace a healthy lifestyle.

posted Sep 1st, 2011 11:40 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account