Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

78%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 277 reviews

Hydroxycut

One of the leading diet and weight loss supplements

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Founder: Muscle Tech Research and Development
  • Headquarters: Mississauga Ontario Canada
  • Accessibility: Online and major retailers
  • Diet Type: Supplement taken with diet and exercise
  • Gender: Male, Female
BACKGROUND

Hydroxycut Recall after FDA Warning to Stop Using the Diet Pill

Once making headlines for containing a controversial herb, Ephedra, banned by the FDA, Hydroxycut now offers an Ephedra-free product that claims to increase metabolism and energy while curbing your appetite, cutting calories and maintaining blood sugar.

When Hydroxycut is combined with a diet and exercise regimen, the product claims to help users shed two-to-three times more weight that without. When taking Hydroxycut, it is suggested that users commit to consistent exercise and a low-calorie diet. Take Hydroxycut half-to-one hour prior to meals with eight ounces of water.

PRO
  • Increases energy
  • Control appetite
  • Burn calories
  • Lose up to 4.5 times more weight than with diet and exercise alone
  • Recipes and exercises available
  • Research studies available
CON
  • Hydroxycut Recall due to product association with death and liver damage

  • Must diet and exercise for Hydroxycut to work

  • Pills must be taken 30-60 minutes before meals which can be difficult if you don’t always eat at the same time
  • Contains caffeine
INGREDIENTS
  • Hydroxycitric Acid, extracted from tropical fruit and linked with liver problems
  • Calcium
  • Chromium
  • Potassium
  • Hydroxagen Plus
  • HydroxyTea
  • Caffeine
  • Green Tea extract
  • White Tea extract
  • Soy
ADMINISTRATION

Take two caplets with eight ounce of water as a dietary supplement 3 times per day approximately 30-60 minutes before each meal. Do not snack after dinner. Consume 10 eight ounce glasses of water per day. Do not take within five hours of bedtime. For best results, use Hydroxycut for eight weeks with a low-calorie diet and exercise program. For the first three days of the program, take one capsule three times per day. From day four beyond, take two capsules three times per day.

DIET and NUTRITION

There is no clear advice from Hydroxycut on an eating plan. You are encouraged to sticky to a healthy diet while taking the supplement. This kind of flexibility allows you to choose a plan of your liking.

For those with food allergies- Hydroxycut is a gluten-free product.

EXERCISE

No guidance provided.

CONCLUSION

ConsumerHealthDigest.com conducted research of 30 dietary supplements. Scoring 3 on a scale of 1-5 for metabolism enhancement, weight-loss potential and ingredient control and 4 on a scale of 1-5 for appetite suppression, Hydroxycut ranked number 11.

Common Misspellings

Hydroxy Cut, Hydroxicut, hydroxcut, hydroxycut.com, hydroxy-cut, hydrox-cut,


Related Diets: Akavar, Alli, Hoodia P57, HOT-ROX, Hydrox-Slim, Hydroxycut Instant Drink Packets, Trimspa X32



Wikipedia

Hydroxycut is a nutritional supplement marketed by Iovate Health Sciences Inc., designed to help consumers lose weight. It is sold at conventional retailers, such as GNC and Wal-Mart, online retailers such as and , and through direct television marketing.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 7 of 40, 797 total comments)

LJ

I had always been able to loose weight, until recently, the pounds just were not falling off. 5'8"-147. (only want to loose 10 lbs). I decided to try a fat burner. It's been 10 days since I started using Hardcore Hydroxycut. In the first week, I lost 5 lbs. Mind you, I burn at least 700 added calories a day or every other day at the gym. I maintain a healthy diet. 3 meals a day, broken up by snacks. I've even pigged out a few days, and still manage shed the lbs. Since taking HC, I've been, what I consider hot, nauseous, and have experienced a rapid heart beat. Nothing over the top or that I can't handle. I cannot take the recommended dosage, but find that a lower amount works just fine. Another good thing, I don't know if it's in my mind, but I don't have the urge to graze like I used to. I do find myself being hungry in the evening. Sleeping is a little problem. However, even on a few hours sleep, I can still manage the next day. This are the only side effects I have exp. I'd recommend this to a healthy person, looking to use this only for a short amount of time.

posted Apr 20th, 2009 2:54 pm


Pikavu

Oi it's been 3 days since I started tAking it and wow I have actually lost 3 pounds although the first I took only 3 but I felt none of the side affects cept for sleeplessness but I just wore a sleeping mask which helped solve that problem . I weighed 153 pounds but have to get in shape for boxing and I believe this product will help me achieve results faster but I maintain a strict very low calorie diet: cereal or oatmeal in the morning, a salad for lunch, a salad with white meat for dinner this may seem like an extreme diet but it will definetly help you achieve results faster. I still go to school so working out may be tough but I don't waste my time doing frivolous stuff instead I work out for 1-2 hours when I get home and then do all my work non stop for the next 5 hours and take the pills. I try to sleep by 10-11 pm so I will be able to wake up at 5 am to jog and work out. You MUST have a good diet and exercise plan for this to work and I reccommend drinking as much water as you can cause it will flush out all the bad stuff inside your body. :) good luck

posted Apr 18th, 2009 9:25 am


Lisa Camara

I'm 5'8. I started dieting in Sept 08 with a starting weight of 271lbs. I am currently STUCK at 196lbs. I work out, I watch my food intake. I just FEEL like I need something to kick me over the curb I have been stuck at for almost a month. I have NEVER use a supplemental weight loss pill. I am hoping this will be just what I need to pop my metabolism back into place.

posted Apr 16th, 2009 9:14 pm


Donna

I used hydroxycut for 1 week. Drank tons of water and light exercise. By the 7th day my heart started racing even when I was just sitting or doing very little activity. I got very little sleep and developed dry patches on my skin. I stopped the hydoxycut cold turkey and had terrible withdrawl symptoms for 5 days..headache, tremors, upset stomach, night sweats. I would not recommend this to anyone!

posted Apr 16th, 2009 11:09 am


michael

when i was 19 i took the Weight gainer drink to build msuic because i was like 110 lbs and 5'4 i gained a lot and ended up overweight at 150. i started running eveyother day and i lost it and went down to 118 year later. but when i started to go to college i didn't have time to run and the weight came back. i wonder if that weight gainer fucked up my metabolism forever? so i'm looking for something help reverse that, maybe hydroxycut?

posted Apr 14th, 2009 3:34 pm


Jennifer

Ok... I've been dieting and exercising off and on my whole adult life. I just turned 42, 5'1" and 145 lbs. I'm a size 8-10, so most of my weight is muscle. I work out 6 days a week at a gym. At least and hour of cardio and 30 min of weight training. Plus, kickboxing, yoga, step etc. I eat a pretty healthy diet, lean protein, good carbs, limited sugar etc. I have probably 20 lbs of stubborn belly fat I want to lose by summer. I just started HydroxyCut Hardcore today. I have really plateaued and hope this helps push me along. So far I feel great!

posted Apr 12th, 2009 12:48 am


diane

made me sick in the stomach and I only would take threeee pills dailey

posted Apr 9th, 2009 1:07 pm


Dan C

I LOVE THIS PRODUCT.. im on my 4th day and I already lost 3 lbs. My healthy diet consists of alot of protein. I typically eat 2 egg whites and 1 piece of toasted whole wheat bread or a Dunkin Donuts Vegtable Egg white flatbread sandwich if im in a rush for breakfast .. REMEMBER ITS IMPORTANT TO EAT BREAKFAST! ITS THE MOST IMPORTANT MEAL OF THE DAY. For lunch i typically have a salad with low fat honey mustard dressing or a roast beef sandwich on whole wheat bread and for a snack in between breakfast and lunch ; as well as lunch and dinner I like to eat friut my favorite is strawberries.. Not only are strawberries good for you but they are also negative calories which help you burn more calories.. And for dinner i usually eat a form of meat whether it is a piece of grilled chicken or a little but of ground beef.. and with that i have vegtables (usually spinach or a small salad) I also exercise everyday.. i either go to the gym or walk in my development.. when im at the gym i do a 45 minute cardio and the eliptical and 25 on the bicycle.. and i walk for 2 hours on the days im not at the gym.. DO NOT TAKE THIS PILL IF YOU ARE LAZY.. it wont help you .. its supposed to speed up weight loss not lose the weight for you. This pill deffinatly helps, I have so much more energy now than before. When I go to the gym now I can run for 45 minutes and I still wont be tired. Before the pill i could barely run for 10 minutes without running out of breath.

posted Apr 7th, 2009 7:04 pm


mselicia

Ok Im doing a bit of the atkins, no carb diet. High protein such as tuna, grilled chicken and vegetable fruit diet. i will not eat beef or pork and Im going to hit the gym 3 xs a week doing cardio for 30 mins followed by 15 minute weight training. We're going to rate this hydroxycut once and for all. If you'd like to follow me hit me on face book felicia cunningham of nashville, TN

posted Apr 6th, 2009 2:12 am


Jake

I just bought hydroxycut hardcore today and will start it tomorrow. Im 18 5'7-8 and around 180lbs. I have extra baggage but am not overweight. I workout everyday but im more into gaining muscle then burning fat, but im going to start running and situps. I was on a National rugby team but the season is over so i have to run myself. I love meat, does anyone have a good diet?

posted Apr 5th, 2009 4:25 am



lilbratz000

I DON'T LIKE HC , I LUV LUV LUV HC ;)

posted Apr 5th, 2009 12:54 am


melissa

Hydroxycut did nothing for me. I took it as directed and worked out 5x a week and ate healthy.

I know everyones body reacts differently, so no hard feelings

posted Apr 4th, 2009 7:10 pm


Daniel C

I just started using hydroxycut today and i already feel a difference, I have a lot more energy than i did before. I am 18 5'5 and 180 lb and i wanna lose between 40 - 50 lbs .. hopefully this will be the boost i need.

posted Apr 4th, 2009 9:36 am


antrise

there is a lot of people saying that they have nausuea,vomiting,headache(ect.)because of HC but the reason these people are having these effects is because 1 the pill gives u energy and if u are not eating the pill dont have nothing to keep the energy flowing so it will cause u to feel sick.second the headache is u not drinking enough water!!!!!

posted Apr 3rd, 2009 4:54 pm


antrise

i just bought some hc today im going to start take them to tommorow and we will see if i like it

posted Apr 3rd, 2009 3:26 pm


Mikey D

yea i been taking it for a couple days and i remember someone saying your throat aches almost like strep throat, good thing i read it cause i am too experiencing the same thing, my throat has almost like a stinging sensation, not too bad, but i figured i would try it out, i dont recommend people who have a case of anxiety or panic attacks to take this stuff, plus i also researched that there are ingredients in here that could cause permant heart valve damage, and other harmful things to your heart and liver, my advice would be train the good old fashion way, diet and excercise, although this product seems to work great for shedding stubborn fat, it's not worth the long term effects, TRUST ME

posted Apr 3rd, 2009 3:25 pm


Mikey D

there are alot of people arguing on this product that it may not work, and there is too many side effects, there are a few different reasons why, 1) everyones body reacts to EVERYTHING a different way, some people struggle to lose weight, some people get anxiety attacks from it, etc.... but in all actuality caffeine is 1 of the key ingredients in fat loss, green tea........has caffeine, every weight loss pill on the market wether it works or not, has caffeine in it, all the different hydroxcuts are different, i use the Hardcore hydroxycut, but i only recommend HC to people who have hit a plataeu in their weight loss, either way this pills not going to work if you sit on your butt all day, you need to diet and excercise............also u would think cardio is the greatest thing to burn weight the more you run the more you lose right? wrong!!! because your only recommended to use 75 to 80% of your heart rate because using more then that will give you now results cause once you hit over 80 percent, instead of burning fat, your heart is gonna be trying to keep the oxygen flowing and the heart pumping..........honestly you should really only use hydroxcut once you hit a plataeu (or however you spell that) in ur weight loss...........but in all actuality i recommend a good diet and excercise, if you are overweight start with diet.........i have lost over 30 pounds in 1 month on diet alone, pops, fruit juices with tons of sugar in them, sugar turns into stubborn fat, and stay away from as much as possible the trans and saturated fats which are the bad fats, and lean more on things like poly and monosaturated fats, which is the good fats.......this pill is not going to work for everyone, and there is a possibility that you may be jittery with the amount of caffeine, but its a proven fact caffeine helps you burn the fat.......and green tea is possibly one of the best natural ways to get it, untill you load it with sugar to sweeten it, diets huge key part in weight loss, try something, instead of drinking juice and pop, drink nothing but water for the next couple weeks, i lost 5-6 pounds just doing that, it may not work for everyone but just try it, then switch your eating habits, such as fibers in the morning which help reduce cholesterol and also help lose a little weight, oatmeal, cheerio's with the low sugar, whole wheat breads, cause your other breads contain a decent amount of sugar as well, boiled eggs is a great source of protein, and also key in building muscle, which for people who dont know fat turns into muscle which is why excercising with weights also helps you lose alot of muscle, but i used to be 252 pounds and only a month and a half later before even using hydroxycut, i currently weight 215 pounds, get a notepad and write down what you eat everyday, and when you go to your doctor for anything or just your yearly checkup, show him your list and let him guide you from there, im sorry for this long long review, i hope this helped clear up a little misunderstanding, and also sorry for repeating myself if i did at anytime in this story, and for those who overweight do not pay attention to your scale or BMI, cause looking at your scale can make you lose bigtime motivation and make you not wanna follow through with your workouts, and BMI is inaccurate going by your weight age and height, because if your a solid mass type of person (muscle weighs more then fat) your BMI is going to be high and therefore being obese, or if your older or have less muscle mass and more fat, then your BMI will tell you your underweight, best way to measure BMI is the skinfold technique by pulling your extra skin and using calipers to measure it, but most people do not know this way of calculating which could also lead to inaccuracy, but those looking to lose weight and get energy, eat a healthy breakfast and excercise is the best way for energy boosting and loosing weight the good ol' Natural way

posted Apr 2nd, 2009 8:36 pm


Katie

If caffeine doesn't have a big effect on you, chances are this pill won't affect you. I took them for a few days and felt absolutely nothing. Then again, I could drink coffee and go straight to bed. So unless you get some kind of energy boost from caffeine, don't waste your money.

posted Apr 2nd, 2009 3:44 pm


lake

I'm 19 years old, male, 165lbs at 5'8". I'm pretty muscular and only have 13% BMI (Body Mass Index - in other words, 13% of my weight is body fat) which is lower than average. My goal is to drop my BMI to 9% (think olympic swimmer) to get better muscle definition.

Today was my first day, i took 4 tablets (they recommend 3 per day for the first few days). I took one at breakfast, two at lunch, and one at dinner. I had NO side effects whatsoever. My parents love coffee, so I've grown up with the caffeine. Even when I took two at lunch I felt very little caffeine kick. The caffeine is what causes the bad side effects in some users.

My recommendation is go to a coffee shop and ask for a "Triple Americano" it is basically three cups of coffee in one. I get about the same kick from a triple americano as I did when I took the two pills. So, if you can handle the Triple Americano, then go get HydroxyCut. Yes, HC is expensive, but now you don't have to buy a coffee everyday so it works out.

I refuse to weigh myself cause i have pissed so much today that I know I have lost weight, but its only urine. I am going to judge my results by comparing photographs. I will check back in a week and let you guys know.

posted Apr 2nd, 2009 1:17 am


Terry

I began using Hydroxycut instant drink packets almost two weeks ago. I have already lost 10lbs. I am 5'8 and weigh 284. I have a lot of weight to loose. I also purchased a stationary bike at home and began using that every morning... but I don't believe the bike alone has sparked such a decrease in weight so quickly. The instant drink mix also curves my appetite. I drink three times a day 30 minutes before I eat. I cut out junk food as well. Hopefully I can continue my weight loss journey. Only thing Hydroxycut can be a bit pricey. Good luck to all who try it.

posted Apr 1st, 2009 3:10 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account