Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

78%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 276 reviews

Hydroxycut

One of the leading diet and weight loss supplements

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Founder: Muscle Tech Research and Development
  • Headquarters: Mississauga Ontario Canada
  • Accessibility: Online and major retailers
  • Diet Type: Supplement taken with diet and exercise
  • Gender: Male, Female
BACKGROUND

Hydroxycut Recall after FDA Warning to Stop Using the Diet Pill

Once making headlines for containing a controversial herb, Ephedra, banned by the FDA, Hydroxycut now offers an Ephedra-free product that claims to increase metabolism and energy while curbing your appetite, cutting calories and maintaining blood sugar.

When Hydroxycut is combined with a diet and exercise regimen, the product claims to help users shed two-to-three times more weight that without. When taking Hydroxycut, it is suggested that users commit to consistent exercise and a low-calorie diet. Take Hydroxycut half-to-one hour prior to meals with eight ounces of water.

PRO
  • Increases energy
  • Control appetite
  • Burn calories
  • Lose up to 4.5 times more weight than with diet and exercise alone
  • Recipes and exercises available
  • Research studies available
CON
  • Hydroxycut Recall due to product association with death and liver damage

  • Must diet and exercise for Hydroxycut to work

  • Pills must be taken 30-60 minutes before meals which can be difficult if you don’t always eat at the same time
  • Contains caffeine
INGREDIENTS
  • Hydroxycitric Acid, extracted from tropical fruit and linked with liver problems
  • Calcium
  • Chromium
  • Potassium
  • Hydroxagen Plus
  • HydroxyTea
  • Caffeine
  • Green Tea extract
  • White Tea extract
  • Soy
ADMINISTRATION

Take two caplets with eight ounce of water as a dietary supplement 3 times per day approximately 30-60 minutes before each meal. Do not snack after dinner. Consume 10 eight ounce glasses of water per day. Do not take within five hours of bedtime. For best results, use Hydroxycut for eight weeks with a low-calorie diet and exercise program. For the first three days of the program, take one capsule three times per day. From day four beyond, take two capsules three times per day.

DIET and NUTRITION

There is no clear advice from Hydroxycut on an eating plan. You are encouraged to sticky to a healthy diet while taking the supplement. This kind of flexibility allows you to choose a plan of your liking.

For those with food allergies- Hydroxycut is a gluten-free product.

EXERCISE

No guidance provided.

CONCLUSION

ConsumerHealthDigest.com conducted research of 30 dietary supplements. Scoring 3 on a scale of 1-5 for metabolism enhancement, weight-loss potential and ingredient control and 4 on a scale of 1-5 for appetite suppression, Hydroxycut ranked number 11.

Common Misspellings

Hydroxy Cut, Hydroxicut, hydroxcut, hydroxycut.com, hydroxy-cut, hydrox-cut,


Related Diets: Akavar, Alli, Hoodia P57, HOT-ROX, Hydrox-Slim, Hydroxycut Instant Drink Packets, Trimspa X32



Wikipedia

Hydroxycut is a nutritional supplement marketed by Iovate Health Sciences Inc., designed to help consumers lose weight. It is sold at conventional retailers, such as GNC and Wal-Mart, online retailers such as and , and through direct television marketing.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 10 of 40, 796 total comments)

corinne

can i take hydoxicut hardcore while taking birth control pills?

posted Mar 3rd, 2009 11:56 pm


BULL

I'm 5'7 205lbs. in one year hopefully I will take on amature body building status. Water is #1 no matter with what your are taking! If you use supplements , drink more water than what is stated. Cut carbs, eat protiens, and cut bread as much as possible. Its possible to get where you want . STAY FOCUSED an NEVER EVER GIVE UP !

posted Mar 1st, 2009 7:28 pm


85baby

I started yesterday and got on the scale this morning and already down 3 pounds...I climbed 11 flights of stairs yesterday 3x and felt great, stair climbing is a rigourous sport but def gets the heart pumping and burns an tremendous amount of calories. Im excited other than my tossing & turning of sleep last night:(..but i must say its a great boost to get started on your weight loss goal.

posted Feb 27th, 2009 11:20 am


Kymmi

I bought hydroxycut four days ago and so far i believe i've lost 3 lbs. I eat healthy and workout. I quit drinking soda. And i cut out all the junk food and try eat small servings.

posted Feb 27th, 2009 1:06 am


bob

I was really overweight at 213 lbs. and 5'6" at 16 years old and would do anything to loose the weight, so i started using HHC and eating right and working out everyday sometimes even twice a day. I must say the results were amazing. NO JOKE I LOST 43 LBS. IN ABOUT 5 MONTHS. although it did work so well i did suffer the side effects. I felt jittery and couldnt sleep very well. I also started getting chest pains but went to the doctor and everything came back normal. I stoped using HHC because i was satisfied with the weight i was at. I was also happy to relize that once I stoped using HHC the side effects went away. Now I am 17 and I started it again 4 days ago so i could loose the extra 15-20 lbs. that I have left to loose. In those 4 days I have noticed that the side effects have returned, but i hope that once I stop again they will disappear along with my fat. wish me luck!

posted Feb 24th, 2009 10:05 am


sammy

hydroxycut is the worst feeling i've ever felt! i threw away an entire bottle because i dont want to feel that ever again nor do i want anyone else to feel it. somebody actually asked me if i was rolling on ecstacy while i was on hydroxycut! and yes, i followed the directions. these pills should be illegal. i'm still sick. i also read a review that said a women's son has been in the hospital for 3 days do to this. don't take it

posted Feb 23rd, 2009 6:19 pm


jennifer

i started taking hydroxycut on monday 1 three times a day, at first i was jumpy and dizzy but after i worked out it went away, i've been on it for 3 day and lost 4lbs already i have been eating healthier and working out everyday as well ( i noticed when i work out i feel good on the pill instead of taking it and sitting down all day)this is a good product i'm hoping to lose 50lbs before the summer but i might stay at 3 pills a day instead of six.

posted Feb 19th, 2009 6:51 pm


Jeff Carroll

I just turned 24, and i woke up one morning and was tired of the way i look. I purchased the pill, i started eating about 2 to 3 times a day nothing inbetween and nothing past 7 o'clock, and consumed only healthy food,. I also workout with Taebo, every morning, and try to run 1 mile every afternoon. This was very important to me since im currently in the army, I have to be physically fit. I started taking this pill last wednesday and it has been 1 week now and i have lost 17 pounds. I have a lot more energy to use up. It does make my heart race quicker, but that just makes me work out that much harder. I don t know if the pill caused me to loose the weight or exercising but i am happy. I did weigh 240 and now 233. And my mile run was at 8 min and now it is at almost 7. I do think that exercising had alot to do with this weight loss, but to the ones reading this exercise as much as u can i know that it is hard to find the energy but u have to it will not come to, trust me.

posted Feb 18th, 2009 9:16 pm


irene

I tried Hydroxycut in 2003 and I was very happy with the results! Combined with a very strict diet -cut out alot of junks - it seemed like forever that my weight was stubborn. I started using Hydroxycut and within 8 weeks my weight fell off with lots of exercise. Its not a fad "lose weight while you sleep diet" it works best combined with regular exercise and proper eating habits! I am now trying the Hydroxycut Max for women diet pills

posted Feb 17th, 2009 3:06 pm


hah

not very good..
:[

posted Feb 13th, 2009 2:27 pm


meriDEATH

well, the first week i used hydroxycut i lost 6 lbs. i was doing billy blank's ab bootcamp workouts. you definitely have to work out.

i really dont eat much anyway, one meal a day usually. i didnt even drink that much water.

but lately i've gotten lazy. i havent been doing the exercises, so i havent been wasting the pills. hopefully ill get motivated again.

good news is, i havent gained any weight back. i've actually lost 3 more pounds, but i dont know if it was the hydroxycut or just me.


but i just wanted to note, i got the caffeine-free kind. and im 20 years old. the first couple of times i used it, i did get hyper (but that happens a lot anyway), and for a while it did make my heart race. so... be aware of that.

posted Feb 13th, 2009 2:23 pm


Sarah

so I switched to the caffeine free hydroxycut pills and so far no side effects! On the other ones with caffeine I could not sleep at night and only after 2 days. But does this caffeine free one work as well?? and do I have to keep taking them once I get the weight off?? help

posted Feb 13th, 2009 1:14 pm


NiCoLe

nala i've been taking it since last sat. and i only lost 2-3 pounds. . . .one pound comes and goes, hopefully it works. . .i have NO idea how some people are losing 5-6 pounds in a week, i think its harder for me cuz i've been changing my lifestyle for a few months now with exercise and diet before i even took the pill. . .so i think those people might have drasticly changed their eating and stuff when they started taking the pills?? i dont know. . .if yall read this then i would love to know what yall did as far as your eating habits and workouts!! any imput helps!!. . . . . .. so far though i think it is helping. . . . we will see

posted Feb 13th, 2009 12:46 pm


Nala

I started Hydroxycut this past Sunday (it's Thursday now) and I think I've lost only 1 lb. It's a little disappointing after reading so many customer reviews where people are losing 6 lbs in a week and all.

I've been taking 3 a day (morning, afternoon & evening), eating more healthfully (only water, no soda, no candy or sweets, trying not to eat after 8pm, smaller portions, more veggies/fruits, etc.) and exercising for about 45 minutes a day on my elliptical, burning about 250 calories. I've been eating right & exercising for about 3 weeks now, before I starting taking the Hydroxycut.

And only 1 lb??? Really? What am I doing wrong? Argh! This is so friggin' frustrating! Any feedback would be awesome.

Thanks! :)

posted Feb 12th, 2009 1:56 pm


Sarah

so far so good...second day and I figured out that if I ate within 30 mins that I don't have the jitters..we'll see how it goes.

posted Feb 12th, 2009 12:46 pm


Jill

I started drinking the Hydroxycut supplements 5 days ago, 2 times a day. No jitters, definite change in appetite. Drinking 8-10 glasses of water each day. Working out 5 days a week - alternating cardio and strength training. I am only going to weigh myself once a week, and will take my measurements at the same time. The scale is only one measure of success - inches are critical.

posted Feb 12th, 2009 12:01 pm


Sarah

Just started taking Hydroxycut drinks today...feel a lil jittery...hope it goes away. I do have more energy for the gym and had a better workout after taking hydroxycut.......I'm hoping this will work. I work out 3-4 times a week doing 45 mins of cardio and then resistance. I'm at 167lbs right now and would love to be at 130...we'll see...I'll keep you posted :o)

posted Feb 11th, 2009 12:25 pm


PRINCESSMARY

well feb 6th completed my first month on hydroxcut, i lost 12 lbs, i did exercise rounghly 3 times a week 30-45 mins, i never went on a diet where i ate only apples.... i only eat 1-2 meals a day now, cut the snacking...but those meals i eat thigns i like.... just about half of what i would eat before. that was my second month on the diet, so i know it wasnt water weight... the first month ( did not use hydroxy cut) i lost 15 lbs... but with anything you lose water weight at first, and the most weight in the first month... also the more you weigh the quicker it comes off..... i am down 27 lbs... 73 more to go.... im in no hurry..dont be...it gets you no wher

posted Feb 10th, 2009 9:26 am


Amanda

I am only 17 years old but I really want to loose about 12 lbs before summer. I started taking the pill yesterday and my step mom said to take only one pill once a day to start off. Is this a good idea? Or should I start with one pill twice a day? I am young but I want to try it. Help!

posted Feb 9th, 2009 11:28 pm


nicole

i just started it and i feel a little shaky but hope it works!!

posted Feb 7th, 2009 6:30 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account