Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 281 reviews

Hydroxycut Review: Does it Work?

One of the leading diet and weight loss supplements

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
What is it?

Hydroxycut is a weight loss brand that’s available in different forms, with common ingredients such as green coffee bean. They often use this ingredient to show that within 60 days, people lost 10.95 pounds versus a placebo.

The intended benefits of this brand are increased fat loss, energy, and enhanced metabolism. For their caffeine brands, they advise to start with just 1 capsule a day, then eventually building up to 2 capsules twice a day. Their Hydroxycut blend is a proprietary formula featuring fruit, green coffee, and saffron. In this review you’ll learn about the surprising company history, what customers have to say about it, and whether or not it’s a good weight loss supplement. The top 10 diet pills are featured in this comprehensive list.

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2016?

Hydroxycut Ingredients and Side Effects

Robusta Coffee Extract (45% (Chlorogenic Acid)



Saffron Extract

Caffeine Anhydrous


Amla Extract

Microcrystalline Cellulose

Dicalcium Phosphate Dihydrate

Pre-gelatinized Starch

Stearic Acid

Titanium Dioxide

Polyethylene Glycol


Croscarmellose Sodium

Magnesium Stearate

Silicon Dioxide



Robusta Coffee Extract (45% Chlorogenic Acid): Unroasted Robusta coffee, which is a species of coffee bean known for its higher bitterness and acidity.

It’s intended to help improve metabolism and control blood sugar. It can potentially cause side effects that include:

  •  Insomnia, nausea, and agitation.
  •  Anxiety, rapid heart rate, and difficulty concentrating.
  •  Restlessness, ringing in the ears, and headaches.

A study is provided by the manufacturers to show how effective this ingredient is versus a placebo.

The study was funded by a company who sells this extract, so there’s a potential for bias. In this study they took 50 volunteers and made them follow a low calorie diet.

Other unbiased studies have shown this ingredient to be ineffective for weight loss. Examine.com adds:

“seems weakly to moderately effective (on fat loss)”

It’s possible the only reason for fat loss is due to the caffeine.

Saffron Extract: Plant extract that’s used in cooking, as well as a way to improve mood and reduce sickness. Though there isn’t sufficient studies about its use. Web MD adds:

“There isn’t enough information to know how saffron might work”

“Taking large amounts of saffron by mough is POSSIBLY UNSAFE”

Possible side effects include:

  • Yellowing of the skin and eyes.
  •  Poisoning.
  •  Vomiting, bloody diarrhea, and numbness.
  •  Death.  

When taken at large amounts there have been cases of people dying from this.

Caffeine Anhydrous: Dehydrated form of caffeine that stimulates the central nervous system, it increaseses energy and metabolism.

A full serving of Hydroxycut Pro Clinical, their flagship brand, has 400 mg per daily serving. This is the maximum allowed limit for caffeine, and due to this, the company mentions:

“Do not take within 5 hours of bedtime”

“Consume 8 to 10 glasses of water per day”

This is to avoid both insomnia and dehydration. They also advise to not take any other stimulants, since it would likely raise the risk for serious side effects. Though on its own, it can potentially cause:

  •  Anxiety, agitation, and pain in the chest.
  •  Rapid heart rate, tremors, and jitters.
  •  Cardiovascular damage, insomnia, and restlessness.
  •  Dehydration, headaches, and mood swings.

Caffeine also has limitations, as Examine.com adds:

“Habitual caffeine use leads to tolerance. This means the effects of caffeine will be diminished… where the only benefit a user experiences is caffeine’s anti-sleep effect”

Therefore, caffeine must be only taken for short periods before it loses its potential weight loss effects.

Certain people are much more sensitive to caffeine, and that’s why it’s advised to slowly introduce this brand, and to not take more than just 1 pill to start with.

Maqui: A berry found in parts of Latin America, it’s used to help with weight loss. However, Web MD adds:

“There isn’t enough information to know if maqui is safe”

The possible side effects are also not known.

Amla Extract: This fruit has been used to lower bad cholesterol, and to provide antioxidant support. Though Examine.com adds:

“there is not enough evidence to recommend Amla for any particular purpose”

There have also been cases of people experiencing liver damage.

For better options for weight loss, you can find the very best diet pills brands by clicking here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner such as Sletrokor for better results.

Hydroxycut Quality of Ingredients

Ingredients like amla, maqui, and saffron have not been thoroughly studied and it’s unknown if they would affect weight loss.

Then there’s the added caffeine and green coffee bean which are the key active ingredients. Caffeine can be replaced with coffee or tea for cheaper and green coffee bean hasn’t shown any valuable weight loss effects. Studies have shown it to be either ineffective, or weak in its possible weight loss effects.

For the kinds of ingredients used, the lack of clinical studies for some ingredients, and the unknown side effects of certain additives, this mixture is a poor choice for weight loss. There are far too many unanswered questions to determine what the formula might do.

The Price and Quality of Hydroxycut

Sales are not offered via the manfaucturer, but they do suggest multiple online and in store 3rd party retailers.

Amazon.com sells one 150 capsule bottle for $28.56.  At the maximum dosage of 4 capsules a day, this lasts for a total of 37.5 days. This makes the daily cost for supplementation 76 cents.

Though inexpensive, many of the ingredinets in this are either innefective for weight loss, not yet proven, or can be replaced.

There’s a high amount of caffeine in this which isn’t a long lasting source for weight loss. It may also provide side effects. Stimulant free options for long lasting weight loss are available if you click here.

Caffeine at 400 mg is roughly 4 cups of coffee. That’s why special considerations must be put in place to help protect against side effects. Still, the key active ingredients in caffeine and green coffee bean extract aren’t enough to suggest both reliable and safe effects.  These two ingredients can also be replaced for much cheaper.

Business of Hydroxycut

The owners of this brand are Iovate Health Sciences Inc. They can be reached via the following:

Phone Number: (888) 334-4448

Address: 381 North Service Road West

                   Oakville, ON, L6M 0H4 Canada

Email: info@iovate.com

The company has been in trouble with both the FDA and FTC.

The FTC fined them $5.5 million dollars for making false advertising claims about their supplements. This included stating that their brands had positive health benefits, and because of this, they were required to refund customers who bought supplements from them.

The FDA also sent them a warning letter due to:

“liver toxicity associated with the use of multiple versions of the dietary supplement Hydroxycut”

“Agency has concluded that the ingestion of the dietary supplement Hydroxycut presents a severe potentially life-threatening hazard to some users”

This forced the company to schedule a mandatory recall on all Hydroxycut on the market. There were 23 reports of severe health problems due to this supplement, and one person died from it.

After this, in 2012 and 2013 there were still incidents of heart problems and ulcers associated the use of Hydroxycut.

They currently have 6 complaints on their Better Business Bureau website. This is due to issues with service, the products, and a lack of communication from the company.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results, our experts recommend using weight loss pills for at least 3 months. Save your money by buying a few bottles at once.

Customer Opinions of Hydroxycut

Here are select reviews from online customers:

“I really don’t have any effect using this product”

“Made me feel super sick and dizzy”

“It’s mostly a glorified caffeine pill”

“I had severe nausea, abdominal pain and felt like my stomach was on fire”

Amazon.com currently features 535 complaints. It’s often mentioned from customers that they experienced side effects, as well as a lack of weight loss.

Common side effects experienced by users include nausea, stomach pain, anxiety, rapid heart rate, restlessness, anxiousness, agitation, and some experienced difficulty breathing.

Many also said this is basically just a caffeine pill, and that it had no noticeable weight loss effects.

Conclusion - Does Hydroxycut Work?

The key features to notice about this brand are the company history, and the kinds of ingredients used. Many customers have failed to see any weight loss benefits, and people describe it as a caffeine pill. This is likely because the only ingredeints in this that might have a weight loss effect are caffeine and green coffee extract. There’s not enough in  this to suggest it would help benefit people. The company has also had to recall Hydroxycut due to serious health concerns. There’s also a lot of caffeine added to this, with a full serving providing the maximum recommended dosage strength for caffeine.

Stimulant free options are available, and the 2016 supplement of the year is called  Sletrokor.

There’s only natural ingredients added to this blend, with the ability to suppress appetite, increase metabolism, and improve mood. Many users have left great testimonials showcasing how effective and safe it is. This supplement has no artificial ingredients, preservatives, or stimulants of any kind.

You can try Sletrokor risk free since they offer a 30 day money back guarantee. Anyone can see for themselves what this brand has to offer.

How Does Hydroxycut Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • Hydroxycut
  • 36 /100


Hydroxycut is a nutritional supplement marketed by Iovate Health Sciences Inc., designed to help consumers lose weight. It is sold at conventional retailers, such as GNC and Wal-Mart, online retailers such as and , and through direct television marketing.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 10 of 40, 798 total comments)


I started taking hydroxycut almost a month ago. I don't use a scale so I don't really know how much weight I have lost, but my husband says that he sees a diffrence. I used to drink a lot of soda and caffeine, so I didn't get the same side effects many other people do. It does make my stomach feel really funny if I miss one.
I've been drinking a lot more water, and excersising a lot more.
I don't think this pill really does anything, they just make you pay tons of money to just get a lot of caffeine in your system then leaves you to do all the work with diet and excersise. It would probably be better off if you save your money and diet and excersise alone. I am sure you would get the same results.

posted Mar 6th, 2009 12:13 pm



Well i really dont know where to begin, umm im 20 years old and i just has a baby boy abot 8 months ago (my first child) now before i had gotten pregnant i weighed 114lbs and im 5`2 ...i was pretty skinny and looking quite good.....my weight today is 155. i look horrible... i truly hate myself.....i have never really been a big "eater" yet i used to be able to eat whatever i want when i want and not gain a pound.....now i eat a piece of bread and the next day i seem to be a pound heaver.....yet in my intire life i have never really exercised ever! im truly a lazy person when it comes to that. but about 2 weeks ago i started taking hydroxycut and so far i think i`ve lost like 2 measly pounds. and like 2 inches off of my weist.....yet i have NOT been working out at all...i have stopped drinking soda and started drinking tea instead...i really dont know where im going with this whole story but....i am going to continue to take the pills and hope for weight loss!

posted Mar 5th, 2009 5:15 am


can i take hydoxicut hardcore while taking birth control pills?

posted Mar 3rd, 2009 11:56 pm


I'm 5'7 205lbs. in one year hopefully I will take on amature body building status. Water is #1 no matter with what your are taking! If you use supplements , drink more water than what is stated. Cut carbs, eat protiens, and cut bread as much as possible. Its possible to get where you want . STAY FOCUSED an NEVER EVER GIVE UP !

posted Mar 1st, 2009 7:28 pm



I started yesterday and got on the scale this morning and already down 3 pounds...I climbed 11 flights of stairs yesterday 3x and felt great, stair climbing is a rigourous sport but def gets the heart pumping and burns an tremendous amount of calories. Im excited other than my tossing & turning of sleep last night:(..but i must say its a great boost to get started on your weight loss goal.

posted Feb 27th, 2009 11:20 am


I bought hydroxycut four days ago and so far i believe i've lost 3 lbs. I eat healthy and workout. I quit drinking soda. And i cut out all the junk food and try eat small servings.

posted Feb 27th, 2009 1:06 am


I was really overweight at 213 lbs. and 5'6" at 16 years old and would do anything to loose the weight, so i started using HHC and eating right and working out everyday sometimes even twice a day. I must say the results were amazing. NO JOKE I LOST 43 LBS. IN ABOUT 5 MONTHS. although it did work so well i did suffer the side effects. I felt jittery and couldnt sleep very well. I also started getting chest pains but went to the doctor and everything came back normal. I stoped using HHC because i was satisfied with the weight i was at. I was also happy to relize that once I stoped using HHC the side effects went away. Now I am 17 and I started it again 4 days ago so i could loose the extra 15-20 lbs. that I have left to loose. In those 4 days I have noticed that the side effects have returned, but i hope that once I stop again they will disappear along with my fat. wish me luck!

posted Feb 24th, 2009 10:05 am



hydroxycut is the worst feeling i've ever felt! i threw away an entire bottle because i dont want to feel that ever again nor do i want anyone else to feel it. somebody actually asked me if i was rolling on ecstacy while i was on hydroxycut! and yes, i followed the directions. these pills should be illegal. i'm still sick. i also read a review that said a women's son has been in the hospital for 3 days do to this. don't take it

posted Feb 23rd, 2009 6:19 pm



i started taking hydroxycut on monday 1 three times a day, at first i was jumpy and dizzy but after i worked out it went away, i've been on it for 3 day and lost 4lbs already i have been eating healthier and working out everyday as well ( i noticed when i work out i feel good on the pill instead of taking it and sitting down all day)this is a good product i'm hoping to lose 50lbs before the summer but i might stay at 3 pills a day instead of six.

posted Feb 19th, 2009 6:51 pm

Jeff Carroll

I just turned 24, and i woke up one morning and was tired of the way i look. I purchased the pill, i started eating about 2 to 3 times a day nothing inbetween and nothing past 7 o'clock, and consumed only healthy food,. I also workout with Taebo, every morning, and try to run 1 mile every afternoon. This was very important to me since im currently in the army, I have to be physically fit. I started taking this pill last wednesday and it has been 1 week now and i have lost 17 pounds. I have a lot more energy to use up. It does make my heart race quicker, but that just makes me work out that much harder. I don t know if the pill caused me to loose the weight or exercising but i am happy. I did weigh 240 and now 233. And my mile run was at 8 min and now it is at almost 7. I do think that exercising had alot to do with this weight loss, but to the ones reading this exercise as much as u can i know that it is hard to find the energy but u have to it will not come to, trust me.

posted Feb 18th, 2009 9:16 pm



I tried Hydroxycut in 2003 and I was very happy with the results! Combined with a very strict diet -cut out alot of junks - it seemed like forever that my weight was stubborn. I started using Hydroxycut and within 8 weeks my weight fell off with lots of exercise. Its not a fad "lose weight while you sleep diet" it works best combined with regular exercise and proper eating habits! I am now trying the Hydroxycut Max for women diet pills

posted Feb 17th, 2009 3:06 pm


not very good..

posted Feb 13th, 2009 2:27 pm


well, the first week i used hydroxycut i lost 6 lbs. i was doing billy blank's ab bootcamp workouts. you definitely have to work out.

i really dont eat much anyway, one meal a day usually. i didnt even drink that much water.

but lately i've gotten lazy. i havent been doing the exercises, so i havent been wasting the pills. hopefully ill get motivated again.

good news is, i havent gained any weight back. i've actually lost 3 more pounds, but i dont know if it was the hydroxycut or just me.

but i just wanted to note, i got the caffeine-free kind. and im 20 years old. the first couple of times i used it, i did get hyper (but that happens a lot anyway), and for a while it did make my heart race. so... be aware of that.

posted Feb 13th, 2009 2:23 pm



so I switched to the caffeine free hydroxycut pills and so far no side effects! On the other ones with caffeine I could not sleep at night and only after 2 days. But does this caffeine free one work as well?? and do I have to keep taking them once I get the weight off?? help

posted Feb 13th, 2009 1:14 pm



nala i've been taking it since last sat. and i only lost 2-3 pounds. . . .one pound comes and goes, hopefully it works. . .i have NO idea how some people are losing 5-6 pounds in a week, i think its harder for me cuz i've been changing my lifestyle for a few months now with exercise and diet before i even took the pill. . .so i think those people might have drasticly changed their eating and stuff when they started taking the pills?? i dont know. . .if yall read this then i would love to know what yall did as far as your eating habits and workouts!! any imput helps!!. . . . . .. so far though i think it is helping. . . . we will see

posted Feb 13th, 2009 12:46 pm


I started Hydroxycut this past Sunday (it's Thursday now) and I think I've lost only 1 lb. It's a little disappointing after reading so many customer reviews where people are losing 6 lbs in a week and all.

I've been taking 3 a day (morning, afternoon & evening), eating more healthfully (only water, no soda, no candy or sweets, trying not to eat after 8pm, smaller portions, more veggies/fruits, etc.) and exercising for about 45 minutes a day on my elliptical, burning about 250 calories. I've been eating right & exercising for about 3 weeks now, before I starting taking the Hydroxycut.

And only 1 lb??? Really? What am I doing wrong? Argh! This is so friggin' frustrating! Any feedback would be awesome.

Thanks! :)

posted Feb 12th, 2009 1:56 pm



so far so good...second day and I figured out that if I ate within 30 mins that I don't have the jitters..we'll see how it goes.

posted Feb 12th, 2009 12:46 pm


I started drinking the Hydroxycut supplements 5 days ago, 2 times a day. No jitters, definite change in appetite. Drinking 8-10 glasses of water each day. Working out 5 days a week - alternating cardio and strength training. I am only going to weigh myself once a week, and will take my measurements at the same time. The scale is only one measure of success - inches are critical.

posted Feb 12th, 2009 12:01 pm


Just started taking Hydroxycut drinks today...feel a lil jittery...hope it goes away. I do have more energy for the gym and had a better workout after taking hydroxycut.......I'm hoping this will work. I work out 3-4 times a week doing 45 mins of cardio and then resistance. I'm at 167lbs right now and would love to be at 130...we'll see...I'll keep you posted :o)

posted Feb 11th, 2009 12:25 pm


well feb 6th completed my first month on hydroxcut, i lost 12 lbs, i did exercise rounghly 3 times a week 30-45 mins, i never went on a diet where i ate only apples.... i only eat 1-2 meals a day now, cut the snacking...but those meals i eat thigns i like.... just about half of what i would eat before. that was my second month on the diet, so i know it wasnt water weight... the first month ( did not use hydroxy cut) i lost 15 lbs... but with anything you lose water weight at first, and the most weight in the first month... also the more you weigh the quicker it comes off..... i am down 27 lbs... 73 more to go.... im in no hurry..dont be...it gets you no wher

posted Feb 10th, 2009 9:26 am


Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


Already a member?

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Founder: Muscle Tech Research and Development
  • Headquarters: Mississauga Ontario Canada
  • Accessibility: Online and major retailers
  • Diet Type: Supplement taken with diet and exercise
  • Gender: Male, Female

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?


Hydroxycut Recall after FDA Warning to Stop Using the Diet Pill

Once making headlines for containing a controversial herb, Ephedra, banned by the FDA, Hydroxycut now offers an Ephedra-free product that claims to increase metabolism and energy while curbing your appetite, cutting calories and maintaining blood sugar.

When Hydroxycut is combined with a diet and exercise regimen, the product claims to help users shed two-to-three times more weight that without. When taking Hydroxycut, it is suggested that users commit to consistent exercise and a low-calorie diet. Take Hydroxycut half-to-one hour prior to meals with eight ounces of water.

  • Increases energy
  • Control appetite
  • Burn calories
  • Lose up to 4.5 times more weight than with diet and exercise alone
  • Recipes and exercises available
  • Research studies available
  • Hydroxycut Recall due to product association with death and liver damage

  • Must diet and exercise for Hydroxycut to work

  • Pills must be taken 30-60 minutes before meals which can be difficult if you don’t always eat at the same time

  • Contains caffeine

  • Hydroxycitric Acid, extracted from tropical fruit and linked with liver problems
  • Calcium
  • Chromium
  • Potassium
  • Hydroxagen Plus
  • HydroxyTea
  • Caffeine
  • Green Tea extract
  • White Tea extract
  • Soy

Take two caplets with eight ounce of water as a dietary supplement 3 times per day approximately 30-60 minutes before each meal. Do not snack after dinner. Consume 10 eight ounce glasses of water per day. Do not take within five hours of bedtime. For best results, use Hydroxycut for eight weeks with a low-calorie diet and exercise program. For the first three days of the program, take one capsule three times per day. From day four beyond, take two capsules three times per day.


There is no clear advice from Hydroxycut on an eating plan. You are encouraged to sticky to a healthy diet while taking the supplement. This kind of flexibility allows you to choose a plan of your liking.

For those with food allergies- Hydroxycut is a gluten-free product.


No guidance provided.


ConsumerHealthDigest.com conducted research of 30 dietary supplements. Scoring 3 on a scale of 1-5 for metabolism enhancement, weight-loss potential and ingredient control and 4 on a scale of 1-5 for appetite suppression, Hydroxycut ranked number 11.

Common Misspellings

Hydroxy Cut, Hydroxicut, hydroxcut, hydroxycut.com, hydroxy-cut, hydrox-cut,

Related Diets: Akavar, Alli, Hoodia P57, HOT-ROX, Hydrox-Slim, Hydroxycut Instant Drink Packets, Trimspa X32

Whats better than