Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

36%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 63 reviews
Curves

Curves Complete Review: Don’t Buy Before You Read This!

A women-only fitness center offering 30-minute total body circuit workouts.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Curves Complete is a women’s weight loss plan offering nutrition, fitness, and motivational support. Exercise regimens, personal consultations and support, and specific foods are recommended while on this system.

It’s claimed that those who use Curves Complete lose on average 3 inches and 10 pounds with around 13 weeks of use. There’s also 6 customizable meal plans with varying amounts of foods offered. Our review experts look at many kinds of weight loss diets. They’ve concluded the most effective overall is the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of a fat burning diet pill and an appetite suppressing meal replacement shake. Customers have rated it highly for its effective weight loss effects. Discover more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet by following this link.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Curves Complete Ingredients and Side Effects

All the foods offered are in recipe form, and it’s unknown what kinds of specific ingredients are allowed. There are 6 different eating plans however such as:

Wordily Chef: Provides the company’s granola bars, tacos, chicken with tomatoes, edamame, eggs, and more.

• Health Nut: Cantaloupe with yogurt, quinoa salad, special granola bars and salmon.

• Love it All: Pastrami sandwiches, pork chop, mixed salad, egg English muffin, and granola bars.

• Queen of My Kitchen: Roast beef sandwiches, dark chocolate bar, quiche, and more.

• On the Go: Steak with greens, almonds, granola bar, whole wheat English muffin, and mixed salad.

• Dietary Restricted: Special Greek yogurt parfait, roasted veggies, tuna salad, and omelet.

Only pictures are provided to explain what kinds of foods are allowed on each of these selections. No official descriptions as to the specific ingredients used are listed anywhere.

There’s also 3 different phases offered:

Phase 1: How to select portions is taught and calories are limited to 1,400 a day.

• Phase 2: Calories are increased by 1,500 a day, and this phase is dedicated to helping burn off fat instead of muscle. There are more recipes, foods from restaurants, and desserts allowed in this phase. This is continued until one reaches their targeted weight.

• Phase 3: Once the desired weight is reached, the same principles are applied without the need for dedicated calorie and food restrictions. There is an allowance of 2,000 calories per day, and a new lifestyle is allowed.

Exercise also plays a major rule, as 30 minute circuits are recommended at specific Curves fitness areas It’s recommended to go this center 4 times a week, and to alternate between cardiovascular workouts and strength training.

Click on the link provided for a list of the highest rated weight loss diets.

There is also the option of stretching and Zumba courses. 10,000 steps are also recommended each day. One targeted weight loss goals are reached, it’s recommended to maintain circuit training 3 to 4 times a week to maintain weight.

Going to Curves facility is advised and these exist all over the US.  There’s currently over 10,000 locations across the globe, and 1,035 centers across the US.

This is essentially a fitness, diet, and motivational support plan for weight loss. One has to cook foods from the allowed recipes, though it’s impossible to judge the overall quality without first seeing the kinds of ingredients used.

A potential issue is due to the low amount of calories which might not be enough for all people.  This can make it difficult to uphold without hunger pains. The link here has a list of the top rated weight loss diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Curves Complete Quality of Ingredients

It’s unknown what kinds of ingredients are called for in the recipes offered. The foods do look appetizing, but it’s unknown if only whole foods and natural ingredients are emphasized.

There’s also a low amount of calories offered, and this may not be enough to satisfy demands. Reducing calories is essential to weight loss, but there’s a heavy demand for exercise and its unknown if the meals provide enough protein to satisfy appetite.

When adding strenuous exercise as this plan requires, it can increase hunger and make it harder to suppress appetite. This can require then require more calories, which can make it difficult to stick to such a low calorie offering. Much more information is needed to ensure one will be able to live up to these diets demands. The list of the top ranked weight loss diets is featured in the link here.

The Price and Quality of Curves Complete

No official prices are offered on the website. There is a claim that going to the gym is as low as $3.25 per session, but its unknown what the total cost is for the recipes and the entire Curves Complete plan.

One price estimate says the rest of the plan is about $5 a week, and there is also start up fees for the gym as well as having to cook your own foods.

This plan is comprehensive as it combines exercise and dieting, but this requires a lot of time and dedication.

Business of Curves Complete

The official Curves International company can be reached at:

Phone Number: (877) 673-3144

Address: 5770 Fleet St

             Carlsbad, California 92008

Email: membercomments@curves.com

The company has had lawsuits against them up to $20 million. There are also 5 closed complaints on their Better Business Bureau website. For a list of the best weight loss diets, click on the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Curves Complete

Provided below are some online reviews from users:

“They will continue to bill you even after you die”

“Tried to email and call the customer service staff to cancel but they would not handle a credit dispute”

“Had to cancel and when I checked they sent me a very rude and disrespectful answer”

“at the gym they offer no helpful support”

People described it as a simple low calorie plan that requires exercise. This is a very common approach to weight loss.

Some had serious issues with the customer service staff, and there were also complaints about the contracts requires. People who read it mentioned how it makes it hard to escape being automatically charged each month.

There were also users who added how the recipes offered are basic. The link cited has a comprehensive list of the highest rated weight loss diets.

Conclusion - Does Curves Complete Work?

It’s likely that one will lose weight while greatly reducing calories and exercising. There were issues from users who added how they felt it was difficult to escape the contracts, and that there is very little support on how to properly exercise. Some also had issues with the amount of effort needed for weight loss. There is no information on the kinds of ingredients needed for the recipes, and this makes it impossible to determine the overall value.

Our review experts have rated many kinds of weight loss diets. In their research they found that the 18Shake Diet is the most effective for weight loss.  This offers an appetite suppressing meal replacement shake and a fat burning diet pill.

Both are made with pure natural ingredients free of preservatives, colors, binders, fillers, or any artificial ingredients. It’s also manufactured in a certified GMP approved facility that’s approved by the FDA. To find out more about the 18Shake Diet, click on the link provided here.

How Does Curves Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Curves
  • 36 /100



Wikipedia

Curves International, also known as Curves for Women, Curves Fitness, or just Curves, is an international fitness franchise co-founded by Gary and Diane Heavin in 1995. Curves currently has 10,000 locations worldwide and an estimated 4 million plus members (as of October 2006). It is a privately held company by its co-founders, with corporate offices located in Waco, Texas. Curves fitness and weight loss facilities are designed specifically for and focused on women, although in some states, men are allowed to join.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 10, 181 total comments)

Liz

I have enjoyed reading the comments about Curves both positive and otherwise (you can learn from both). I joined in Oct 06 as I was nearing my 50th BD and felt like I was turing to total flab. I had never seen a Curves Ad but my sister-in-law belonged to a Curves and had enjoyed the workout. I was over the "gym scene" having done that in my 20s and 30s. I was now very busy and had limited time to work out. Within 2 weeks I felt a difference. I did not need to lose weight but merely wanted to firm up. At the one month measurement/wt I had lost a total of 3 inches primarily in my lower abds and had lost 1 lb. That does not sound like much but it made a great difference in how I looked and felt. In the spring of 07 I placed both my husband and myself on the Curves Weight Management program (low carb). My husband lost 35 lbs and I lost 13 lbs. I was back to my pre-pregancy weight. That spring I went skiing for an entire week and never once complained that I did not have enough energy to keep up with my 10 year old son (I had complained a lot the prior year!!). Curves is what you make of it. If you put in the effort on the circuit it helps to create energy that you can use in other aspects of your life and you will become stronger. Being a physican I like the fact that women who might never set foot in a traditional gym feel comfortable enough to give Curves a try,potentially losing weight to the point of reducing their need for some medications. I believe in Curves so much I bought a franchise!

posted Apr 3rd, 2008 9:16 am


Cindy Jo

I am so glad that I joined and I do work out on my lunch break, I think some of you ladies just joined the wrong facility. I am sweaty after the workout but my curves has a shower and I am able to go back refreshed. Working out is more important than vanity so its a quick shower but I am able to accomplish it al in an hour. I joined and in one week I lost 6 pound and I am not dieting. The curves I go to has a lot of retired women attending so it is a real motivater that women in the 60's and 70's are dong this so me as a 30something can keep it up and succeed.

posted Apr 2nd, 2008 6:48 pm


Anonymous

HELP! DOES ANYONE OUT THERE KNOW HOW I CAN GET OUT OF THIS CONTRACT THAT I HAVE W/CURVES IN WHICH THE COMPANY AUTOMATICALLY TAKES THE MONEY OUT OF MY BANK ACCOUNT? I am not satisfied with Curves at all. First, I signed up for an indoor temperature controlled environment. You know heat in the winter & AIR CONDITIONG WHEN IT'S HOT OUTSIDE. Well that has not ben the case. We've had at least 15 days of 70-85% temperatures & the HEAT WAS STILL BLASTING ON INSIDE THE CURVES that I go to. Several times I was so overheated - I literally threw up in my car on the way home. And after a workout like that you need a full shower & everything. Don't plan on going on a lunch break to Curves - if it's hot, to be decent you will have to go all the way home & SHOWER & START your day over. I have also had problems with the Curves that I go to because there is usually at least one or two machines that are out of order. Also as different instructors have been there, I have been told several different ways to use one machine. I'll go & start on a machine & the instructor will tell me that I am doing it all wrong & tell me a completely different way to do the machine. So I have had KNEE & BACK PROBLEMS SINCE I STARTED GOING TO CURVES. IF ANYONE KNOWS HOW I SHOULD GO ABOUT GETTING OUT OF THIS CONTRACT WHERE CURVES AUTOMATICALLY DRAFTS MY CHECKING ACCOUNT, PLEASE TELL ME. AND DON'T JUST SAY GO TO ANOTHER LOCATION - THIS IS THE ONLY LOCATION THAT I CAN GET TO. I JUST WANT TO BELONG TO AN HOEST TO GOODNESS AIR CONDITIONED GYM WHERE I CAN WORKOUT WITHOUT PASSING OUT OR THROWING UP FROM THE HEAT! Please any advice or help would be appeciated.

posted Apr 2nd, 2008 7:00 am


grannisandi

I'm thinking of joining Curves. One issue I have and am wondering if it will be a problem for me is this: I'm 4 feet 8 inches short and wonder if I'll have any problems working the machines at Curves. Does anyone have an answer for me. Thanks, Grannisandi

posted Apr 1st, 2008 4:35 pm


Anonymous

Curves sucks as far asI can tell. I haven't had anyhing but negative experiences with this place & its' employees.

posted Mar 30th, 2008 3:05 pm


Renee

I love curves! i began going because i won a free week for 2 in a raffle... I love how its a great place to get away to for a little while, with no men and no kids hahaha! I have been a member for 5 months- I have only lost 7 pounds but have also lost 34.5 inches. I like that you don't have to pay extra for a "trainer" and you are not scemed into buying products. I like that it's "structured" so your not spending time wondering what you should do next... haha And love that it's small and personal... and that the windows are tinted so you can see out.. but not in... hahah.. Curves rocks!

posted Mar 30th, 2008 9:55 am


Karen

I recently joined Curves & I love it.Jenna Rush this is for you. At the Curves I go to they open at 5:30,that is the busiest time though;so I'm told. You don't have to use their diet plan,I follow my own nutritionist advice.I am not bugged by anyone trying to sell me anything;there are signs informing you of items you can buy;but you are not obligated.I feel better,have more energy,I really look forward to going. People talk but I dont see it as a social club. You make it what you want.

posted Mar 26th, 2008 8:55 pm


Yessenia

I'm 25 years old and have only 30lbs to loose. I hate going to large gyms where I have to keep moving from one area to the next and then having a Men stare at me. I prefer an intimate setting and quick! I think Curves would be ok but would it be good for my age group? About a year ago I went to curves for a free consultation and the Women that was there was very rude with me. That turned me off about curves. Let me know waz up ladies

posted Mar 26th, 2008 8:55 pm


Terri

I joined curves for the third time as in as many years. The first two years, I just was not commited. But this time, I feel like it's where I belong and it feels great. I haven't been measured yet, but I feel like I've lost a few inches and the weight loss will come.. My cost is $34 a month and I know of no gym that charges less than that. Don't let anyone tell you you shouldn't spend the money on curves -- do what you need to do to feel good about yourself.

posted Mar 26th, 2008 2:47 pm


jenna rush

i m thinking about joining IMMEDIATELY(i have the free travel walk through type pass tomorrow here in the nj area,so i have a few questions and CONGRATS to marie lauver 100 pounds in one year is a TRUE reasn to celebrate,an even losing FIVE POUNDS IN JUST TWO short weeks wow or more.and ok my question is: i am always on the go workin realestate music stuff etc.i m a morning person and i will wanna work out quietly not too"crowded"ONLY cause i am a talker thus,if i am around MORE CROWD i will start chattin it up at curves and do not want 2 LOSE FOCUS LOL so i am wondering can i go in the early morning first thing,like "when it is not so packed"i assume it getting crowded later after 10 or 12 or 5 in the evening even,i would love to get it cracking/goin ther as AS EARLY AS 7 OR 8 OR 9,is this possible? and last quest: i am already eating vegetarian almost lol an more fish etc. water one gal at least "per day" or 1/2 gal.so i m losing already "so do i have 2"use CURVE food diet program or no? i hope BOTH QUESTIONS are properly answered and i wish you all luck and future health losing much weight in 08 bye.

posted Mar 25th, 2008 8:31 pm


Crystal

Curves Smart has made curves an even better place to workout. No where else are you going to find the same kind of motivation, personal attention and immediate feedback. Unless, of course your paying a small fortune for a personal trainer.

posted Mar 25th, 2008 3:22 pm


Marie Lauver

With weight loss you have to commit and watch what you eat. I walked into Curves thinking this will never work and the way the program and circut is built, its an honest workout! Im hooked, I joined last Febuary and have lost 56 1/2 inches, along with 100 lbs. Its hard work, but Im living proof that if your interested in Curves, give it a go!

posted Mar 25th, 2008 9:43 am


Yvonne

I joined Curves a couple of weeks ago and already lost 5 pounds. The women are fantastik and the atmosphere is very relaxing. No one makes you feel uncomfortable, were all there for one reason or another. We all have a good time....what a way to relieve stress and unwind after a hectic day. The best part is you can go to the gym as many days and as many times as you want with no extra cost. I do have one question, I was intersted in the diet program that Curves is offering...I was wondering if anyone had tried it and what kind of success did you have. Thanks!

posted Mar 22nd, 2008 8:45 am


Moni

This is for Sue. Yes, you can go through the circuit twice. You may go as many times as you like. You pay your initial "membership fee" and your first month, the rest is a monthly payment (I have it billed to my credit card monthly). I haven't signed up for the Curves Complete diet program, but if you're currently not exercising and you start the program and start eating healthier your bound to lose weight. Any change from the ordinary will help you. I love my local curves and I travel a lot so I take advantage of the travel pass frequently.

posted Mar 20th, 2008 8:44 am


Sue

I have questions for you ladies who are enjoying this program. Can you go through the circuit twice if you like? Is there a limit to how many times per week or per day you may attend? Do you have to pay the entire amount up front if you don't do the automatic checking program? Is the food on the diet program pre-packaged? Thanks fo ryou answers!

posted Mar 19th, 2008 2:12 pm


CIN

I joined Curves two weeks ago. I LOVE IT! I feel motivated and the staff really connect with you and make you feel welcome. The music is great to workout to and with the Curves Smart, the machines help you with increasing your intensity. I am paying the same price I paid at 24hr Fitness and I don't feel intimidated or ashamed. Plus, I never have to wait to use anything and the staff helps you out, if you forget how.

posted Mar 17th, 2008 11:04 pm


Candice

I use to go to another woman only gym. I didnt like it. I had no support and no help with eating. Finally I joined Curves. I had always thought that it was for older woman. I am 24 and thought it wouldnt be a good enough work out. Well it's been only 11 days and I have lost 7 pounds!!! 7 pounds in 11 days. It's so easy. I go to Curves 5 days a week and go swimming 1 hour 2 days a week. I am also on the 6 week diet. I am never hungry and I already feel great. I finally know I can do this with the help of Curves and my own determination. I am so excited to know that I finally found a program that really works. My goal is to lose only 2 pounds a week. Curves in making this too easy for me. Try it!! It works!!

posted Mar 15th, 2008 4:01 pm


carol

I have been going to Curves for four years. I have lost weight and I must tell you I feel great. I am old and I do not have the aches and panes I had before I started to go. You are in charge of how hard you work. I like the fact that there are staff there to tell you how to use the machines. I lost 23 lbs, and feel Great. It is the only program I stuck with. Check with your local Curves for the cost.

posted Mar 15th, 2008 11:53 am


shayne

ive been at curves for about a week and i love it, its helps me and i feel like i have alot energy

posted Mar 15th, 2008 7:56 am


Geordi

I joined Curves last November, but didn't get serious until Mid January. You get out of the workout exactly what you put into it. I see women just barely moving the equipment, but at least they are up and trying. I work out pretty hard and get sweaty. It can be a social club, so I interject occasionally, but mostly just concentrate on the exercising. My Curves is awesome with lots of support and fun activities, but my niece belongs to another one and they don't do anything like that. So the advice to keep trying Curves until you find one that fits you is good. You can't just go to any location by dropping in though. You need a travel pass. The monthly weigh-ins and measuring are a great motivator to keep going. This is the longest I've kept doing an exercise program in a very long time. It's fun, convenient and gets results.

posted Mar 11th, 2008 10:20 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1992
  • Founder: Gary and Diane Heavin
  • Headquarters: Waco, Texas
  • Accessibility: Fitness facilities and gyms
  • Diet Type: 30 minute workout circuit training
  • Gender: Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Jillian Michaels

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

jillian michaels 468
BACKGROUND

Women have hectic schedules, balancing work and family, without time to schedule a workout. Curves, a nationwide fitness network for women only, solves a busy girl’s problems.

Curves offers 30-minute workouts three times a week and approaches diet and fitness practically for the modern-day woman with a full schedule. Each gym employs trained professionals (although, these aren't necessarily certified personal trainers or exercise physiologists) to teach women how to use equipment and how to perform exercises. Plus, Curves fitness facilities are just for women so any discomfort they might feel in a co-ed gym is instantly relieved.

Curves expanded its diet and fitness options in 2012 with Curves Complete, a total weight loss solution for busy women combining fitness, meal plans, and coaching. Curves Complete provides a wealth of resources, community support and diet and fitness experts – now including famed trainer for Biggest Loser, Jillian Michaels.

Starting January 2014, Curves launched Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels. According to Mike Raymond, the Chief Marketing Officer for Curves, the Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels will add Michaels’ renowned methods for training and coaching to Curves’ traditional circuit workout. Each month, Michaels will update the workouts by introducing new moves.

Participating Curves centers offer 2 memberships: Curves Fitness and Curves Complete.

Curves Fitness memberships include access to Curves Specialty Circuit Classes and Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels. This membership focuses only on fitness and workouts.

Curves Complete memberships offer access to all fitness classes of the Curves Fitness membership, plus customizable meal plans and weekly one-on-one support from a Curves Complete Coach. Each Curves Complete Coach has completed a certification program developed in conjunction with Cleveland Clinic.

PRO
  • World’s largest chain of fitness centers for women, with thousands of locations across North America
  • Workouts are short and manageable
  • Female-only gym for a comfortable, supportive atmosphere
  • Employs trained professionals for instruction and motivation
  • Celebrity diet and fitness spokesperson Jillian Michaels creates new workouts
  • Nutrition and diet plans offer low-calorie and low-carb options
  • Includes online diet and fitness resources
  • Additional in-person and online resources are available
CON
  • Nutrition and diet plans cut certain foods, specifically high-carb grains
  • Website does not detail nutrition and diet plan before membership
  • Franchised facilities might not provide the same quality of experience at each one
  • Males are not allowed to join Curves
DIET and NUTRITION

Curves provides online diet and nutrition plans with the gym membership. A self-assessment determines which of the two diet plans a woman follows. One plan calls for a low-calorie diet, and the other plan calls for a high-protein, low-carb diet. Both plans call for six small meals throughout the day.

The low-calorie diet simply requires women to cut their daily intake to 1,400 calories per day in the first phase. After the first two weeks, intake is increase to up to 1,600 calories. The low-calorie diet plan could be considered too little for more active women wanting to increase muscle mass and metabolism. For women wanting to lose weight, the low-calorie diet plan would be effective, but the sustainability of a low-calorie diet is questionable.

The high-protein, low-carb diet plan limits carbohydrate intake to less than 20 grams per day during the first two week. After that, intake is increased to 40 grams per day. The plan encourages women to avoid pasta, rice, bread and potatoes, among other high-carb foods, which could be ineffective for more active woman, especially runners.

A typical day on the Curves’ high-protein, low-carb plan looks like:

  • Breakfast: Blueberries on low-carb cereal
  • Snack: Protein shake
  • Lunch: Salad made with dark greens, cooked chicken, avocado and vinaigrette dressing
  • Snack: Celery stalks with peanut butter
  • Dinner: Grilled lean steak, green beans, mushrooms and peppers
  • Snack: Whole almonds

In addition, the Curves six-meal diet plans might be ineffective for the women the fitness network wants to target: busy working women with hectic schedules. Women balancing work and family might not be able to eat six times a day or even have time to prepare six meals a day.

EXERCISE

Curves built its fitness network on the Curves Circuit, a five-part program completed in 30 minutes. Women warm up, complete aerobic exercises and strength training, and then cool down and complete stretching exercises. At Curves gyms, women can jump in to a circuit at any point and go until they’ve completed the full workout.

Women alternate between strength training machines and cardiovascular exercises. Machines focus on strengthening major muscle groups. Between each machine, women recover by walking, jogging or running in place to maintain heart rate throughout the circuit.

In order to complete the Curves circuit, women must be at a Curves gym. The machine-only approach might be effective for women just learning to exercise but also might not be strenuous enough for women who are more knowledgeable about weight training and for women who need different types of lifts offered by free weight and body weight exercises.

The January 2014 launch of Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels adds Michaels’ cutting-edge style to the traditional Curves circuit workout. New exercises, tools and programs will be added monthly and throughout 2014 as the integration between the two famed weight loss coaches continues.

Participating Curves feature CurvesSmart, a digital coaching system that helps keep members motivated by providing instant feedback, suggestions and progress reports detailing stats like muscles worked and calories burned.

In 2015, Curves introduced 3 new classes: The Introductory class, which is appropriate for all levels, and works to gradually build strength, conditioning and endurance in the whole body, and The Level One class, which is offers a more advanced total body workout, and the Level Two class, which offers a high-intensity interval workout to burn major calories.

Curves also introduced their Specialty Circuit Classes, designed to meet the needs of women in their 40’s, 50’s, and beyond, focusing on balance, flexibility, and strength.

These classes include:

BODY BALANCE- a low-intensity, Coach-led class alternating time on the Curves Circuit strength machines with intervals emphasizing core strength and stability. ARMS-CORE-LEGS- targeted bodyweight moves designed to tone and strengthen the arms, core and legs. STRETCH & STRENGTH- stretch and strengthen the same muscle groups back to back

CONCLUSION

Women looking for an easy way to fit a fast workout into their busy schedules can find a 30-minute option at the nearest Curves gym. The comfort of a female-only setting adds to the knowledge of the trained fitness professionals on staff – all of whom were trained to team the Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels. The addition of online nutrition and diet plans, Curves Complete and CurvesSmart ID make the Curves fitness network a total weight loss solution for busy women. However, for women looking for more adaptable total weight loss plans, specifically in diet and in types of exercises, Curves and its products and services might not be a viable solution.

Common Misspellings

Curve, Curves deit program, curves for women, curves.com, curves jillian michaels

Related Diets: Curves 30 Day Diet Plan, Curves Complete, LA Weight Loss, The Curves Diet Book, 24 Hour Fitness, Curves Smart, Elements for Women, Lucille Roberts

Whats better than
Curves?