Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

36%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 63 reviews
Curves

Curves Complete Review: Don’t Buy Before You Read This!

A women-only fitness center offering 30-minute total body circuit workouts.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Curves Complete is a women’s weight loss plan offering nutrition, fitness, and motivational support. Exercise regimens, personal consultations and support, and specific foods are recommended while on this system.

It’s claimed that those who use Curves Complete lose on average 3 inches and 10 pounds with around 13 weeks of use. There’s also 6 customizable meal plans with varying amounts of foods offered. Our review experts look at many kinds of weight loss diets. They’ve concluded the most effective overall is the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of a fat burning diet pill and an appetite suppressing meal replacement shake. Customers have rated it highly for its effective weight loss effects. Discover more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet by following this link.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Curves Complete Ingredients and Side Effects

All the foods offered are in recipe form, and it’s unknown what kinds of specific ingredients are allowed. There are 6 different eating plans however such as:

Wordily Chef: Provides the company’s granola bars, tacos, chicken with tomatoes, edamame, eggs, and more.

• Health Nut: Cantaloupe with yogurt, quinoa salad, special granola bars and salmon.

• Love it All: Pastrami sandwiches, pork chop, mixed salad, egg English muffin, and granola bars.

• Queen of My Kitchen: Roast beef sandwiches, dark chocolate bar, quiche, and more.

• On the Go: Steak with greens, almonds, granola bar, whole wheat English muffin, and mixed salad.

• Dietary Restricted: Special Greek yogurt parfait, roasted veggies, tuna salad, and omelet.

Only pictures are provided to explain what kinds of foods are allowed on each of these selections. No official descriptions as to the specific ingredients used are listed anywhere.

There’s also 3 different phases offered:

Phase 1: How to select portions is taught and calories are limited to 1,400 a day.

• Phase 2: Calories are increased by 1,500 a day, and this phase is dedicated to helping burn off fat instead of muscle. There are more recipes, foods from restaurants, and desserts allowed in this phase. This is continued until one reaches their targeted weight.

• Phase 3: Once the desired weight is reached, the same principles are applied without the need for dedicated calorie and food restrictions. There is an allowance of 2,000 calories per day, and a new lifestyle is allowed.

Exercise also plays a major rule, as 30 minute circuits are recommended at specific Curves fitness areas It’s recommended to go this center 4 times a week, and to alternate between cardiovascular workouts and strength training.

Click on the link provided for a list of the highest rated weight loss diets.

There is also the option of stretching and Zumba courses. 10,000 steps are also recommended each day. One targeted weight loss goals are reached, it’s recommended to maintain circuit training 3 to 4 times a week to maintain weight.

Going to Curves facility is advised and these exist all over the US.  There’s currently over 10,000 locations across the globe, and 1,035 centers across the US.

This is essentially a fitness, diet, and motivational support plan for weight loss. One has to cook foods from the allowed recipes, though it’s impossible to judge the overall quality without first seeing the kinds of ingredients used.

A potential issue is due to the low amount of calories which might not be enough for all people.  This can make it difficult to uphold without hunger pains. The link here has a list of the top rated weight loss diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Curves Complete Quality of Ingredients

It’s unknown what kinds of ingredients are called for in the recipes offered. The foods do look appetizing, but it’s unknown if only whole foods and natural ingredients are emphasized.

There’s also a low amount of calories offered, and this may not be enough to satisfy demands. Reducing calories is essential to weight loss, but there’s a heavy demand for exercise and its unknown if the meals provide enough protein to satisfy appetite.

When adding strenuous exercise as this plan requires, it can increase hunger and make it harder to suppress appetite. This can require then require more calories, which can make it difficult to stick to such a low calorie offering. Much more information is needed to ensure one will be able to live up to these diets demands. The list of the top ranked weight loss diets is featured in the link here.

The Price and Quality of Curves Complete

No official prices are offered on the website. There is a claim that going to the gym is as low as $3.25 per session, but its unknown what the total cost is for the recipes and the entire Curves Complete plan.

One price estimate says the rest of the plan is about $5 a week, and there is also start up fees for the gym as well as having to cook your own foods.

This plan is comprehensive as it combines exercise and dieting, but this requires a lot of time and dedication.

Business of Curves Complete

The official Curves International company can be reached at:

Phone Number: (877) 673-3144

Address: 5770 Fleet St

             Carlsbad, California 92008

Email: membercomments@curves.com

The company has had lawsuits against them up to $20 million. There are also 5 closed complaints on their Better Business Bureau website. For a list of the best weight loss diets, click on the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Curves Complete

Provided below are some online reviews from users:

“They will continue to bill you even after you die”

“Tried to email and call the customer service staff to cancel but they would not handle a credit dispute”

“Had to cancel and when I checked they sent me a very rude and disrespectful answer”

“at the gym they offer no helpful support”

People described it as a simple low calorie plan that requires exercise. This is a very common approach to weight loss.

Some had serious issues with the customer service staff, and there were also complaints about the contracts requires. People who read it mentioned how it makes it hard to escape being automatically charged each month.

There were also users who added how the recipes offered are basic. The link cited has a comprehensive list of the highest rated weight loss diets.

Conclusion - Does Curves Complete Work?

It’s likely that one will lose weight while greatly reducing calories and exercising. There were issues from users who added how they felt it was difficult to escape the contracts, and that there is very little support on how to properly exercise. Some also had issues with the amount of effort needed for weight loss. There is no information on the kinds of ingredients needed for the recipes, and this makes it impossible to determine the overall value.

Our review experts have rated many kinds of weight loss diets. In their research they found that the 18Shake Diet is the most effective for weight loss.  This offers an appetite suppressing meal replacement shake and a fat burning diet pill.

Both are made with pure natural ingredients free of preservatives, colors, binders, fillers, or any artificial ingredients. It’s also manufactured in a certified GMP approved facility that’s approved by the FDA. To find out more about the 18Shake Diet, click on the link provided here.

How Does Curves Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Curves
  • 36 /100



Wikipedia

Curves International, also known as Curves for Women, Curves Fitness, or just Curves, is an international fitness franchise co-founded by Gary and Diane Heavin in 1995. Curves currently has 10,000 locations worldwide and an estimated 4 million plus members (as of October 2006). It is a privately held company by its co-founders, with corporate offices located in Waco, Texas. Curves fitness and weight loss facilities are designed specifically for and focused on women, although in some states, men are allowed to join.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 9 of 10, 181 total comments)

Florida Gal

I am NOT the type to join a gym and stick with it. But I joined Curves about a month or two ago, and started reducing my daily calorie intake. I have lost 2 sizes in clothing already! The pounds are coming off, but since I am replacing fat with muscle, it is a slower rate than I anticipated. But size is everything! I can't believe how fast my body has shaped up! I will probably never be a size 6, but I feel like I look incredible anyway! And who knows, maybe I WILL get to a size 6! I am usually intimidated by going to the gym, but this is the friendliest environment to work out in! (Although I agree they need to change the music!)

posted Mar 7th, 2008 9:05 am


Alex

To NOLA: if you looked at the article in full, you shouldn't be torn. The founder may support anti-choice but that doesn't mean that the curves chain itself supports it. Besides, if you really need to lose weight or get in shape and you think curves is a good place are you really going to let one man's views stop you?

posted Mar 1st, 2008 5:56 am


Amy

I was thinking about joining curves, but I only need to lose about 15-20 lbs. Is this the place for me? Do you work up a sweat?

posted Feb 29th, 2008 9:54 pm


Debating in NOLA

I'm really torn. I really want to join Curves, but am disturbed by the founder's vocal and financial support of aggressively anti-choice organizations. I was hoping it was a rumor, but found this on snopes.com: http://www.snopes.com/business/alliance/curves.asp Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

posted Feb 29th, 2008 2:07 pm


md

Curves is very convenient for me and the people are nice. BUT - it is more of a social club where women come to meet friends. If you are serious about losing weight this probably is not the place for you. the music does not encourage movement it is more like upbeat elevator music. people want to talk to you even though you are trying to really work out. I have lost some weight but I really make an effort and I feel really out place for doing so. like i am being "antisocial".

posted Feb 26th, 2008 10:10 pm


A

YOU DO HAVE TO SIGN A CONTRACT FOR TWO YEARS AND BUT YOU CAN TERMINATE AFTER ONE YEAR PENALTY FREE, IF IT IS BEFORE THE YEAR AND YOU CANCEL IT IS FIFTY DOLLARS AND YOU HAVE TO GIVE A MONTH IN ADVANCE. THE COST IS 39 A MONTH


michelle

IM THINKING OF JOINING CURVED BUT I;VE HEARD ALOT OF NEGATIVE FEED BACK ON IT. AND I DONT LIKE THE IDEA OF NOT KNOWING HOW MUCH ITS GOING TO COST OR EVEN IF I HAVE TO SIGN A CONTRACT DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY INFO ON THIS????


Anonymous

Don't trust all of the negative publicity you see about Curves. It really is a great program. I used to work there myself. It is a little deceptive about pricing. You are memorizing scripts but many companies do that. At the club I worked at it was $39 a month if you paid by cash or check each month. If you let them draft your bank account it was $29 a month. The bank draft program is there to make you think you're stuck in it. That's a good and bad thing. First of all, for women, if we think we're forced to spend that money every month, it'll give us extra motivation to keep going. On the flip side, you're not really stuck. If you press the employees hard enough, they'll tell you that if you're on the draft program and decide to quit, you can come back when you are leaving and pay $10 per month for every month you were a member. That just converts your membership back to the "month-to month" which is what you would have paid had you not drafted your account. Curves is fun. You have support from women-most of whom really care about your success. If you didn't like Curves, I would suggest finding another location. They are franchises, which means the atmosphere will vary. Find one who plays by the rules. For example, every few minutes you are suppossed to stop and check your heart rate. If you're never prompted to do so or if everyone just keeps moving, you need to move on. That's a vital part of your workout. You are paid very low wages, however after your initial 90 days as an employee, you can earn commission on people who sign up. Depending on the traffic coming in and out, that may make up for a bad salary. Overall I would do it again. Actually, I'm on this site because I was thinking about joining. (As an employee your workouts are free) I think I will. Thanks. I hope this was helpful. It's worth the money. It's really about a dollar a day. Wouldn't you pay that to lose weight the safe way? I know I would.


Anonymous

Curves does not have 'trained professionals' working at its gyms. These employess go through a crash course of watching three training sessions on the computer, writing tests and memorizing information about fitness and exercise. Curves employees are paid minimum wage or slightly above that rate. If they were truly professionals they would be paid more and not pressured to memorize phone scripts and price presentation scripts !!! For about half the price of the monthly membership dues members pay at Curves you can go to another women's gym and have access to more equipment and facilities instead of between 8 and 13 exercise machines that Curves offers its members. Not all Curves offer the Six week solution however. If you are a woman who is not terribly active and wants to spend over $50 a month at this club then go for it. Otherwise spend your money elsewhere. Diet and exercise is quite simple for most persons (besides those with health issues). It can be done for free !


Anonymous

I joined Curves a month ago. I just got weighed and measured and lost 6 pounds and 9". I love going and look forward to going.


NORA

I JOINED CURVES ABOUT 3 WEEKS AND AS OF TODAY I HAVE ALREADY LOSTED 3POUNDS THATS AWESOME


KIM

I joined 4 months ago, didn't take it serious for 3 1/2 months and gained weight. Decided to finally take it serious and in two weeks, I lost 6lbs. Attended Curves 12/14 days during the two weeks. Hoping weight loss continues.


TANA

I JOINED CURVES IN OCT. 06' AND HAVE LOST 87LBS. AND STILL GOING! IT'S SO CONVIENT AND EASY! MEETING LOTS OF NEW PEOPLE IS REWARDING ALSO!


CJ

I went for several months, worked hard, lost nothing (I am overweight by about 45 pounds) but felt better. Then they changed the hours they were open which greatly conflicted with my work schedule so I dropped. the fact that it was so clichish didn't help either.


Anonymous

In my 4 months at Curves, I lose a total of 27" overall and about 15 lbs. It is fantastic!!


Amber

I have been going a month now and have lost 3.5 inches off my waist, and 2.5 pounds. I love Curves ad what it has done for women everywhere.


Pat

I started Curves two months ago and I have lost 7 pounds and 15 inches. I just love it.


Ali

Lots of fun and high energy setting.


Jocelyn

THIS PLACE ROCKS!!! I've been a member for a few months now. It's so convenienent. The people are really nice and supportive and help you along the way. I've lost a few inches and not quite to my goal but Curves makes me feel like it is something I can reach!


Kash

There is one in my neighborhood and a whole group of us women gather there a few times each week after work. We love it. It's fun- which I can't say about any other "diet" i've been on. I'm also doing the high protein plan and really like it. It feels like I'm eating all the time- but less and healthier. See you at Curves!



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1992
  • Founder: Gary and Diane Heavin
  • Headquarters: Waco, Texas
  • Accessibility: Fitness facilities and gyms
  • Diet Type: 30 minute workout circuit training
  • Gender: Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Jillian Michaels

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

jillian michaels 468
BACKGROUND

Women have hectic schedules, balancing work and family, without time to schedule a workout. Curves, a nationwide fitness network for women only, solves a busy girl’s problems.

Curves offers 30-minute workouts three times a week and approaches diet and fitness practically for the modern-day woman with a full schedule. Each gym employs trained professionals (although, these aren't necessarily certified personal trainers or exercise physiologists) to teach women how to use equipment and how to perform exercises. Plus, Curves fitness facilities are just for women so any discomfort they might feel in a co-ed gym is instantly relieved.

Curves expanded its diet and fitness options in 2012 with Curves Complete, a total weight loss solution for busy women combining fitness, meal plans, and coaching. Curves Complete provides a wealth of resources, community support and diet and fitness experts – now including famed trainer for Biggest Loser, Jillian Michaels.

Starting January 2014, Curves launched Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels. According to Mike Raymond, the Chief Marketing Officer for Curves, the Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels will add Michaels’ renowned methods for training and coaching to Curves’ traditional circuit workout. Each month, Michaels will update the workouts by introducing new moves.

Participating Curves centers offer 2 memberships: Curves Fitness and Curves Complete.

Curves Fitness memberships include access to Curves Specialty Circuit Classes and Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels. This membership focuses only on fitness and workouts.

Curves Complete memberships offer access to all fitness classes of the Curves Fitness membership, plus customizable meal plans and weekly one-on-one support from a Curves Complete Coach. Each Curves Complete Coach has completed a certification program developed in conjunction with Cleveland Clinic.

PRO
  • World’s largest chain of fitness centers for women, with thousands of locations across North America
  • Workouts are short and manageable
  • Female-only gym for a comfortable, supportive atmosphere
  • Employs trained professionals for instruction and motivation
  • Celebrity diet and fitness spokesperson Jillian Michaels creates new workouts
  • Nutrition and diet plans offer low-calorie and low-carb options
  • Includes online diet and fitness resources
  • Additional in-person and online resources are available
CON
  • Nutrition and diet plans cut certain foods, specifically high-carb grains
  • Website does not detail nutrition and diet plan before membership
  • Franchised facilities might not provide the same quality of experience at each one
  • Males are not allowed to join Curves
DIET and NUTRITION

Curves provides online diet and nutrition plans with the gym membership. A self-assessment determines which of the two diet plans a woman follows. One plan calls for a low-calorie diet, and the other plan calls for a high-protein, low-carb diet. Both plans call for six small meals throughout the day.

The low-calorie diet simply requires women to cut their daily intake to 1,400 calories per day in the first phase. After the first two weeks, intake is increase to up to 1,600 calories. The low-calorie diet plan could be considered too little for more active women wanting to increase muscle mass and metabolism. For women wanting to lose weight, the low-calorie diet plan would be effective, but the sustainability of a low-calorie diet is questionable.

The high-protein, low-carb diet plan limits carbohydrate intake to less than 20 grams per day during the first two week. After that, intake is increased to 40 grams per day. The plan encourages women to avoid pasta, rice, bread and potatoes, among other high-carb foods, which could be ineffective for more active woman, especially runners.

A typical day on the Curves’ high-protein, low-carb plan looks like:

  • Breakfast: Blueberries on low-carb cereal
  • Snack: Protein shake
  • Lunch: Salad made with dark greens, cooked chicken, avocado and vinaigrette dressing
  • Snack: Celery stalks with peanut butter
  • Dinner: Grilled lean steak, green beans, mushrooms and peppers
  • Snack: Whole almonds

In addition, the Curves six-meal diet plans might be ineffective for the women the fitness network wants to target: busy working women with hectic schedules. Women balancing work and family might not be able to eat six times a day or even have time to prepare six meals a day.

EXERCISE

Curves built its fitness network on the Curves Circuit, a five-part program completed in 30 minutes. Women warm up, complete aerobic exercises and strength training, and then cool down and complete stretching exercises. At Curves gyms, women can jump in to a circuit at any point and go until they’ve completed the full workout.

Women alternate between strength training machines and cardiovascular exercises. Machines focus on strengthening major muscle groups. Between each machine, women recover by walking, jogging or running in place to maintain heart rate throughout the circuit.

In order to complete the Curves circuit, women must be at a Curves gym. The machine-only approach might be effective for women just learning to exercise but also might not be strenuous enough for women who are more knowledgeable about weight training and for women who need different types of lifts offered by free weight and body weight exercises.

The January 2014 launch of Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels adds Michaels’ cutting-edge style to the traditional Curves circuit workout. New exercises, tools and programs will be added monthly and throughout 2014 as the integration between the two famed weight loss coaches continues.

Participating Curves feature CurvesSmart, a digital coaching system that helps keep members motivated by providing instant feedback, suggestions and progress reports detailing stats like muscles worked and calories burned.

In 2015, Curves introduced 3 new classes: The Introductory class, which is appropriate for all levels, and works to gradually build strength, conditioning and endurance in the whole body, and The Level One class, which is offers a more advanced total body workout, and the Level Two class, which offers a high-intensity interval workout to burn major calories.

Curves also introduced their Specialty Circuit Classes, designed to meet the needs of women in their 40’s, 50’s, and beyond, focusing on balance, flexibility, and strength.

These classes include:

BODY BALANCE- a low-intensity, Coach-led class alternating time on the Curves Circuit strength machines with intervals emphasizing core strength and stability. ARMS-CORE-LEGS- targeted bodyweight moves designed to tone and strengthen the arms, core and legs. STRETCH & STRENGTH- stretch and strengthen the same muscle groups back to back

CONCLUSION

Women looking for an easy way to fit a fast workout into their busy schedules can find a 30-minute option at the nearest Curves gym. The comfort of a female-only setting adds to the knowledge of the trained fitness professionals on staff – all of whom were trained to team the Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels. The addition of online nutrition and diet plans, Curves Complete and CurvesSmart ID make the Curves fitness network a total weight loss solution for busy women. However, for women looking for more adaptable total weight loss plans, specifically in diet and in types of exercises, Curves and its products and services might not be a viable solution.

Common Misspellings

Curve, Curves deit program, curves for women, curves.com, curves jillian michaels

Related Diets: Curves 30 Day Diet Plan, Curves Complete, LA Weight Loss, The Curves Diet Book, 24 Hour Fitness, Curves Smart, Elements for Women, Lucille Roberts

Whats better than
Curves?