Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Fitness Diet Navigation    
User Rating

81%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 53 reviews

Curves

A women-only fitness center offering 30-minute total body circuit workouts.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1992
  • Founder: Gary and Diane Heavin
  • Headquarters: Waco, Texas
  • Accessibility: Fitness facilities and gyms
  • Diet Type: 30 minute workout circuit training
  • Gender: Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Jillian Michaels
jillian michaels 468
BACKGROUND

Women have hectic schedules, balancing work and family, without time to schedule a workout. Curves, a nationwide fitness network for women only, solves a busy girl’s problems.

Curves offers 30-minute workouts three times a week and approaches diet and fitness practically for the modern-day woman with a full schedule. Each gym employs trained professionals (although, these aren't necessarily certified personal trainers or exercise physiologists) to teach women how to use equipment and how to perform exercises. Plus, Curves fitness facilities are just for women so any discomfort they might feel in a co-ed gym is instantly relieved.

Curves expanded its diet and fitness options in 2012 with Curves Complete, a total weight loss solution for busy women combining fitness, meal plans, and coaching. Curves Complete provides a wealth of resources, community support and diet and fitness experts – now including famed trainer for Biggest Loser, Jillian Michaels.

Starting January 2014, Curves launched Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels. According to Mike Raymond, the Chief Marketing Officer for Curves, the Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels will add Michaels’ renowned methods for training and coaching to Curves’ traditional circuit workout. Each month, Michaels will update the workouts by introducing new moves.

PRO
  • Workouts are short and manageable
  • Female-only gym
  • Employs trained professionals for instruction and motivation
  • Celebrity diet and fitness spokesperson Jillian Michaels creates new workouts
  • Nutrition and diet plans offer low-calorie and low-carb options
  • Includes online diet and fitness resources
  • Additional in-person and online resources are available
CON
  • Nutrition and diet plans cut certain foods, specifically high-carb grains
  • Website does not detail nutrition and diet plan before membership
  • Franchised facilities might not provide the same quality of experience at each one
  • Males are not allowed to join Curves
DIET and NUTRITION

Curves provides online diet and nutrition plans with the gym membership. A self-assessment determines which of the two diet plans a woman follows. One plan calls for a low-calorie diet, and the other plan calls for a high-protein, low-carb diet. Both plans call for six small meals throughout the day.

The low-calorie diet simply requires women to cut their daily intake to 1,400 calories per day in the first phase. After the first two weeks, intake is increase to up to 1,600 calories. The low-calorie diet plan could be considered too little for more active women wanting to increase muscle mass and metabolism. For women wanting to lose weight, the low-calorie diet plan would be effective, but the sustainability of a low-calorie diet is questionable.

The high-protein, low-carb diet plan limits carbohydrate intake to less than 20 grams per day during the first two week. After that, intake is increased to 40 grams per day. The plan encourages women to avoid pasta, rice, bread and potatoes, among other high-carb foods, which could be ineffective for more active woman, especially runners.

A typical day on the Curves’ high-protein, low-carb plan looks like:

  • Breakfast: Blueberries on low-carb cereal
  • Snack: Protein shake
  • Lunch: Salad made with dark greens, cooked chicken, avocado and vinaigrette dressing
  • Snack: Celery stalks with peanut butter
  • Dinner: Grilled lean steak, green beans, mushrooms and peppers
  • Snack: Whole almonds

In addition, the Curves six-meal diet plans might be ineffective for the women the fitness network wants to target: busy working women with hectic schedules. Women balancing work and family might not be able to eat six times a day or even have time to prepare six meals a day.

EXERCISE

Curves built its fitness network on the Curves Circuit, a five-part program completed in 30 minutes. Women warm up, complete aerobic exercises and strength training, and then cool down and complete stretching exercises. At Curves gyms, women can jump in to a circuit at any point and go until they’ve completed the full workout.

Women alternate between strength training machines and cardiovascular exercises. Machines focus on strengthening major muscle groups. Between each machine, women recover by walking, jogging or running in place to maintain heart rate throughout the circuit.

In order to complete the Curves circuit, women must be at a Curves gym. The machine-only approach might be effective for women just learning to exercise but also might not be strenuous enough for women who are more knowledgeable about weight training and for women who need different types of lifts offered by free weight and body weight exercises.

The January 2014 launch of Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels adds Michaels’ cutting-edge style to the traditional Curves circuit workout. New exercises, tools and programs will be added monthly and throughout 2014 as the integration between the two famed weight loss coaches continues.

CONCLUSION

Women looking for an easy way to fit a fast workout into their busy schedules can find a 30-minute option at the nearest Curves gym. The comfort of a female-only setting adds to the knowledge of the trained fitness professionals on staff – all of whom were trained to team the Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels. The addition of online nutrition and diet plans, Curves Complete and CurvesSmart ID make the Curves fitness network a total weight loss solution for busy women. However, for women looking for more adaptable total weight loss plans, specifically in diet and in types of exercises, Curves and its products and services might not be a viable solution.

Common Misspellings

Curve, Curves deit program, curves for women, curves.com, curves jillian michaels


Related Diets: Curves 30 Day Diet Plan, Curves Complete, LA Weight Loss, The Curves Diet Book, 24 Hour Fitness, Curves Smart, Elements for Women, Lucille Roberts



Wikipedia

Curves International, also known as Curves for Women, Curves Fitness, or just Curves, is an international fitness franchise co-founded by Gary and Diane Heavin in 1995. Curves currently has 10,000 locations worldwide and an estimated 4 million plus members (as of October 2006). It is a privately held company by its co-founders, with corporate offices located in Waco, Texas. Curves fitness and weight loss facilities are designed specifically for and focused on women, although in some states, men are allowed to join.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 9, 173 total comments)

DEBBIE

I JOINED CURVES A MONTH AGO. NEED TO LOSE THAT LAST 10 POUNDS. I JUST TURNED 51 AND NEEDED TO GET OFF THE COUCH. I'VE LOST 5 LBS. AND EVEN MORE INCHES. I HAVE ALOT OF MUSCLE ALREADY, SO I REALLY WANT TO CONCENTRATE ON MY INCH LOSS AND NOT BE A SLAVE TO THE SCALE. THE WORKOUTS ARE WHAT YOU PUT INTO THEM, DON'T WASTE THAT 30 MIN. AND DO SOME TYPE OF EXERCISE ON YOUR OFF DAYS. MY ENERGY IS THROUGH THE ROOF!

posted Apr 11th, 2009 2:29 pm


KikkiJ

Liked it at first, but it got boring quickly. Signed a year contract, so I can't quit until August. Also the hours at my Curves are odd. They do not open until 8:00 am and close for lunch 12:00 to 3:00 and close at 7:00 pm. On Saturdays they close at noon. The owner and staff talk to much about their personal lives also.

posted Apr 6th, 2009 2:38 pm


YOMARIS

HELLO EVERYONE MY NAME IS YOMARIS AND IVE JOINED CURVES I MADE AMONTH IN CURVES WHEN I STARTED I WEIGHTED 180 NOW I WEIGHT 167 IN A MOTNH I LOST ABOUT 12 POUNDS OR MORE..IM STILL GOING AND IM LOVING IT..THANKS CURVES.

posted Mar 13th, 2009 12:59 pm


Sarah

I joined on February 23rd. It is March 11th. I am going to my Curves 3x a week and following the weight management program. I have lost 17.20lbs and 30inches already!!!!!! Curves is what you make of it. Sometimes you have to try different locations to find one that suits you best. This is my second time joining, because I too, didn't have a great experience at first, but now there is new staff and such a different vibe all around. Don't lose hope.. lose yourself in your workout and lose those unwanted pounds!

posted Mar 11th, 2009 10:03 pm


Kathy

I've been a member of Curves for two years, and have upgraded to the Curves Smart program. The Weight Management Program was a little intimidating at first, but it does work.

posted Mar 11th, 2009 9:51 pm


To IMV

Dear IMV,
I am also in my twenties, and was a prior member, and to tell you the truth Curves is more of a beginner workout. Its not really meant for people who are fit and used to hardcore workouts. I think you will end up bored after awhile. I think they have trial periods, see if you can ask them to try the place a couple of times and decide what you want to do after that.

Good luck

posted Feb 17th, 2009 12:31 am


Debra

I joined curves a month ago and I love love love it. I am losing weight and my energy level is up. Its so much fun and very doable.

posted Feb 12th, 2009 1:03 pm


IMV

***I have read ALL the reviews. Im trying to do my hw before signing up.***

Hi. I am a 22 year old, fit girl since I work all day and have a puppy, I need to be home as soon as possible but I used to work out everyday (and I just cant workout at home)... with the 30 min circuit, Curves seems a great place to loose the 15 lbs that I gained over Chrismas and the unlimited food bar (where I work) for lunch.

What concerns me is.. is it going to be good enough (hard enough) in a few months when I get back in shape? I mean, after all I will sign a one year agreement I dont want it to go down the drain in a few months.

I like rutines & easy to use machines (less time spent figuring them out, it really adds up) and time is my biggest constraint.

I have been to gyms before where if I work out everyday the same routine I can loose 15 pouns in a months, no change in diet... so I know workouts do it for me. so all I ask is for someone young and fit to tell me that it will work for me and I can sign up right away.. I am currently doing the 2 weeks free trial and so far I like it... but I have only seen older women (40-80s) and its stops me from commiting... I mean their metabolism is different, most of them have had kids (different bodies)...

Anything would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you all for your feedback!

posted Feb 5th, 2009 8:19 am


Mrs.D.

I joined about six weeks ago. I'm 49 and have done no regular exercise for decades. I have fibromyalgia and early rheumatoid arthritis. I am about 20 lbs over weight.
I joined to get my self out of the house and moving my muscles. Also joined so I would not stay home and be depressed. Cold weather and grey winter skies get me down.
Curves has helped me get through this time in my life where I would rather not leave home! An old friend who I had not seen in several years found me online on LinkedIn. We had lunch, she invited me to try Curves for a week for free - she is the owner. I think she is an angel in disguise. Oh yes, I have lost 5 lbs! and my body doesn't ache nearly as much. My spirits are up and I just feel better all over. If nothing else, join for the friendship and fellowship. There are wonderful women at the location where I go.

posted Jan 29th, 2009 9:30 pm


Angela

Curves could be great for weight loss but at our local Curves there is no way to get a good workout. It was mostly older women who seemed to be more interested in talking than working out.

posted Jan 19th, 2009 9:39 am


ga

I joined curves a month ago after trying it out for two weeks free. I love it! I go three days a week. The staff is very friendly and answer any questions that you have. We have the smart machines at the curves that I joined. I really like to see the results after the workout. The calories that I burned where I may need to work a little harder, I like to push myself to see if I can do better with each workout. When i'm finished working out I can really feel it. The music at the curves I go to is great!! I have no complaints at all. I can tell the difference in my cloths already. That's the best part of all. I don't really need to lose much weight maybe 10 pounds, I want to be more toned. I tell all my friends and family about curves and how much I enjoy my workouts there.

posted Jan 11th, 2009 1:07 pm


kaydee1435

curves worked for me, i lost 75 pounds and went from a size 24 to a size 14!!

the machines are what you make of them, the harder you push yourself the more muscle your going to gain and the cardio mats are great for jumping jacks or leg lifts or boxing kicks and punches, add leg weights if your needing more out of your workout, or your getting Bored with it.
i do agree that the music needs to be updated, but that can be fixed as easy as requesting new curve cds.

one day i just couldnt get into my work out so i walked out. I was MAD and made it well known, when i came back in, i talked to the owner, i explained that the music just wasnt doing it for me, she ordered new CD's that week.

Be open and honest with your curves, tell them your ideas for making your circuit time fun.

i would say if you can do the standard gyms then do them, but if your new to the working out world then curves ranges from a super light workout for the newbies, to a full body sweat.

i do wish they was open all day cus lately since my pregnancy 5 months ago, all my free time falls right around the time of day when they're closed!!!

posted Jan 6th, 2009 9:44 pm


kaydee1435

Curves is great.

posted Jan 6th, 2009 9:20 pm


Lesley

I had been going to curves all through college, when I was my slimmest. I, also, walked several miles a day. I stopped going to curves & went to a regular gym & I did not notice a difference. Currently, I re-joined curves & I run an inline a few days a week in addition to curves. I think the best option is to do curves & cardio on the side. I do think curves works. This is coming from someone who has used their workout & not in a matter of 6 years.

posted Jan 4th, 2009 11:11 am


Lynn

I bought the Curves Book some time ago and it's been extremely helpful and effective. Over a period of 6 months I lost 45 pounds, many inches, and gained tone and energy. The book has an interesting and motivating section on nutrition and the Curves rational, a good home exercise regimen that you can even travel with (only thing you need to buy is a resistance band), and diet plans complete with menus and grocery lists. I planned to start with the book and if I liked it join Curves - but the book was all I needed. Highly recommend - just remember it takes two; the book won't do your exercise and lose your weight for you!

posted Nov 18th, 2008 5:27 pm


Gillian

I have been going to Curves for about 18 months and have lost 10 lbs and many inches. I was not noticebly overweight, but have been told by SO many people that I have lost weight and trimmed down and look GREAT!! These are people who did not know I wanted to lose any weight or that I was doing exercise. I walk on the days that I don't go to Curves, and I am careful what I eat, but I don't really diet.
More importantly, I feel fitter and suffer from less headaches. I know this would happen with any regular exercise, but as I virtually did no exercise until I was 42, a program that keeps me committed is very important.
It is fun to go, the music is great and I REALLY sweat. Anyone who doesn't is not putting in the necessary effort. The machines work on resistance, so you can spend 30 secs on machine, just moving with it, or you can work!

posted Nov 10th, 2008 6:32 am


Sue

I love Curves! I joined this month and love the workout. I too just listen to others talk. Everyone is friendly and asks if I'm OK or need any help. Nothing comes easy so if you want something out of it you need to put some extra effort into it. All I know is this: I work up a sweat and love it! It's the only workout I have stuck to.

posted Oct 23rd, 2008 1:33 pm


Anonymous

I wasn't impressed with the center near me, the machines were never moved to prevent boredom in the circuit and the employees save 2 left alot to be desired. Not watching senior patrons closely and two women were almost injured. Not good. The program is fun but the music gets stale.

posted Sep 25th, 2008 9:06 am


Mel

How can I get out of my 1 year contract. My club is VERY boring and never anyone there...and the MUSIC is best suited for an elevator!!

posted Sep 5th, 2008 8:26 pm


bp

I have been a member of Curves since 2001. It is the only program I have stuck too and gone back to after injuries. I lost 5 lbs the first month with exercise alone. I lost a total of 42 lbs. and the only time I can 5-10lbs back is when I slack off and don't go. It can be what you want it to be.Anyone who says Curves does not make you sweat or gives you a good workout has not put their all into it. I exercised at all times ofthe day and every group I met was friendly. Our club in AZ even does girls night out as many people in AZ have moved from out of state. We now have the Smart computer program and it really makes you work and my heart rate is at 75-80% for my workouts.I LOVE CURVES !!

posted Sep 2nd, 2008 8:37 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account