Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Fitness Diet Navigation    
User Rating

81%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 53 reviews

Curves

A women-only fitness center offering 30-minute total body circuit workouts.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1992
  • Founder: Gary and Diane Heavin
  • Headquarters: Waco, Texas
  • Accessibility: Fitness facilities and gyms
  • Diet Type: 30 minute workout circuit training
  • Gender: Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Jillian Michaels
jillian michaels 468
BACKGROUND

Women have hectic schedules, balancing work and family, without time to schedule a workout. Curves, a nationwide fitness network for women only, solves a busy girl’s problems.

Curves offers 30-minute workouts three times a week and approaches diet and fitness practically for the modern-day woman with a full schedule. Each gym employs trained professionals (although, these aren't necessarily certified personal trainers or exercise physiologists) to teach women how to use equipment and how to perform exercises. Plus, Curves fitness facilities are just for women so any discomfort they might feel in a co-ed gym is instantly relieved.

Curves expanded its diet and fitness options in 2012 with Curves Complete, a total weight loss solution for busy women combining fitness, meal plans, and coaching. Curves Complete provides a wealth of resources, community support and diet and fitness experts – now including famed trainer for Biggest Loser, Jillian Michaels.

Starting January 2014, Curves launched Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels. According to Mike Raymond, the Chief Marketing Officer for Curves, the Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels will add Michaels’ renowned methods for training and coaching to Curves’ traditional circuit workout. Each month, Michaels will update the workouts by introducing new moves.

PRO
  • Workouts are short and manageable
  • Female-only gym
  • Employs trained professionals for instruction and motivation
  • Celebrity diet and fitness spokesperson Jillian Michaels creates new workouts
  • Nutrition and diet plans offer low-calorie and low-carb options
  • Includes online diet and fitness resources
  • Additional in-person and online resources are available
CON
  • Nutrition and diet plans cut certain foods, specifically high-carb grains
  • Website does not detail nutrition and diet plan before membership
  • Franchised facilities might not provide the same quality of experience at each one
  • Males are not allowed to join Curves
DIET and NUTRITION

Curves provides online diet and nutrition plans with the gym membership. A self-assessment determines which of the two diet plans a woman follows. One plan calls for a low-calorie diet, and the other plan calls for a high-protein, low-carb diet. Both plans call for six small meals throughout the day.

The low-calorie diet simply requires women to cut their daily intake to 1,400 calories per day in the first phase. After the first two weeks, intake is increase to up to 1,600 calories. The low-calorie diet plan could be considered too little for more active women wanting to increase muscle mass and metabolism. For women wanting to lose weight, the low-calorie diet plan would be effective, but the sustainability of a low-calorie diet is questionable.

The high-protein, low-carb diet plan limits carbohydrate intake to less than 20 grams per day during the first two week. After that, intake is increased to 40 grams per day. The plan encourages women to avoid pasta, rice, bread and potatoes, among other high-carb foods, which could be ineffective for more active woman, especially runners.

A typical day on the Curves’ high-protein, low-carb plan looks like:

  • Breakfast: Blueberries on low-carb cereal
  • Snack: Protein shake
  • Lunch: Salad made with dark greens, cooked chicken, avocado and vinaigrette dressing
  • Snack: Celery stalks with peanut butter
  • Dinner: Grilled lean steak, green beans, mushrooms and peppers
  • Snack: Whole almonds

In addition, the Curves six-meal diet plans might be ineffective for the women the fitness network wants to target: busy working women with hectic schedules. Women balancing work and family might not be able to eat six times a day or even have time to prepare six meals a day.

EXERCISE

Curves built its fitness network on the Curves Circuit, a five-part program completed in 30 minutes. Women warm up, complete aerobic exercises and strength training, and then cool down and complete stretching exercises. At Curves gyms, women can jump in to a circuit at any point and go until they’ve completed the full workout.

Women alternate between strength training machines and cardiovascular exercises. Machines focus on strengthening major muscle groups. Between each machine, women recover by walking, jogging or running in place to maintain heart rate throughout the circuit.

In order to complete the Curves circuit, women must be at a Curves gym. The machine-only approach might be effective for women just learning to exercise but also might not be strenuous enough for women who are more knowledgeable about weight training and for women who need different types of lifts offered by free weight and body weight exercises.

The January 2014 launch of Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels adds Michaels’ cutting-edge style to the traditional Curves circuit workout. New exercises, tools and programs will be added monthly and throughout 2014 as the integration between the two famed weight loss coaches continues.

CONCLUSION

Women looking for an easy way to fit a fast workout into their busy schedules can find a 30-minute option at the nearest Curves gym. The comfort of a female-only setting adds to the knowledge of the trained fitness professionals on staff – all of whom were trained to team the Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels. The addition of online nutrition and diet plans, Curves Complete and CurvesSmart ID make the Curves fitness network a total weight loss solution for busy women. However, for women looking for more adaptable total weight loss plans, specifically in diet and in types of exercises, Curves and its products and services might not be a viable solution.

Common Misspellings

Curve, Curves deit program, curves for women, curves.com, curves jillian michaels


Related Diets: Curves 30 Day Diet Plan, Curves Complete, LA Weight Loss, The Curves Diet Book, 24 Hour Fitness, Curves Smart, Elements for Women, Lucille Roberts



Wikipedia

Curves International, also known as Curves for Women, Curves Fitness, or just Curves, is an international fitness franchise co-founded by Gary and Diane Heavin in 1995. Curves currently has 10,000 locations worldwide and an estimated 4 million plus members (as of October 2006). It is a privately held company by its co-founders, with corporate offices located in Waco, Texas. Curves fitness and weight loss facilities are designed specifically for and focused on women, although in some states, men are allowed to join.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 9, 174 total comments)

bp

I have been a member of Curves since 2001. It is the only program I have stuck too and gone back to after injuries. I lost 5 lbs the first month with exercise alone. I lost a total of 42 lbs. and the only time I can 5-10lbs back is when I slack off and don't go. It can be what you want it to be.Anyone who says Curves does not make you sweat or gives you a good workout has not put their all into it. I exercised at all times ofthe day and every group I met was friendly. Our club in AZ even does girls night out as many people in AZ have moved from out of state. We now have the Smart computer program and it really makes you work and my heart rate is at 75-80% for my workouts.I LOVE CURVES !!

posted Sep 2nd, 2008 8:37 am


Anonymous

Don't waste your money. The routine becomes very boring and barely makes you break a sweat. If you truly want to loose weight - learn to eat right. As for exersize see a real fitness trainer not a wannabee. Buyer beware!

posted Aug 28th, 2008 11:08 pm


Doesn't work

two of my friends joined Curves. They go three x's a week, follow the diet and have each lost about 10 pounds in 3 months, but you can't SEE any weight loss. They still look as huge as they did when they joined. One actually, looks BIGGER! Curves, workout is not a workout that shows any results. Every woman that I know who went to curves, still looks obese. What a waste of money!

posted Aug 27th, 2008 10:09 pm


Julie

I am very obese. I joined 4 months ago and I haven't lost much weight, but I FEEL GREAT. Now if I could just stick to a diet, I might lose some weight. I think Curves is saving my life and I love it!

posted Aug 21st, 2008 4:14 pm


beth:fresno

I joined curves about 4 years ago, I love it, the staff is great, helpful and the owner is a delight to be around. It can be social but you can choose not to engage in the socializing that goes on around you, it's your time to exerise if you don't want to talk don't no one is making you talk, again I love it I lost total of 50 lbs/inches in the 4 years.

posted Aug 17th, 2008 9:42 am


rachel

i have seen reference to an "up to" $50 fee to cancel a membership. is this true? i was told that there was no way out of my contract at all, that i simply had to continue paying even if i would not be going to the club.

posted Aug 14th, 2008 10:04 am


debby

I am currently thinking about joining Curves, so I am doing my "homework" before joining... Reading the above comments has pushed me toward the commitment. I used to be an exercise 'junkie,' working with weights. Then I went into exercise 'retirement!' I am knowledgable in using machines, and can read! At the Curves that I visited, they had directions (that looked like they came from the machine manufacturer) at each machine. In response to 'Debating in NOLA:' I am pro-life and find it refreshing to read that the founders of Curves are openly so, as well. The last I heard, we in America are still free to support the causes we believe in. However, I do not support physical violence or verbal abuse to those who do not believe as I do. A friendly conversation will do!

posted Aug 10th, 2008 8:07 pm


Pam

I tried Curves before, it does seem to work. However, I didn't join a club. I bought the Curves book for around $13.00 @ BJ's. Maybe some of you can try to gain benefit from the program without having to leave your homes. I did it & I saw results.

posted Aug 4th, 2008 5:33 pm


Lisa

You only have to sign up for a 1-year committment. It's $39/month. If, for some reason, you want them to stop taking money out of your account, go to your bank and have them put a stop payment on it. Then they can't take the money out. I have been fat most of my life, I felt horrible and unhealthy but I'm losing inches and fat and you know what--my family is going to die of shock and that alone is worth it.

posted Aug 4th, 2008 9:51 am


Trailblazer

I was a Curves member about 6 years ago. I stopped going because the location closed that I was going to. I'm going to start up again, because I really liked the workout. I now have one located in my hometown and it's close to where I live. I'm not sure of the hours, but I'll make sure to check everything out before signing any contracts or having any money taken out of my checking account again. I didn't have any trouble getting them to stop withdrawing the funds from my account. It usually takes a written notification to the center that you worked out at and then it takes a couple of months before it stops. (They should refund the money for those months that you don't use the facility). I hope this helps.

posted Jul 31st, 2008 1:01 pm


Val

DEAR HARDWORKER: I think your comment was uncalled for, if you are a Curves rep, you would not be who I would want at my side. Not everyone is going to like Curves, thats just hte way it is in life, but to post such a "bossy" message i think is very unprofessional and i would certainly not want to be at your Curves. The curves i belong too is great and so is the staff and owner. When i go for my workout today, i'm going to bring this up and see what the response is. I can bet its not going to be a positive one.

posted Jul 29th, 2008 8:34 am


Dee

I have not been too happy with the club, been measured 5 times by different staff members and each time something different. Been quite a few times and no one on the floor. I think it depends on your body type. I get better results from pilates and swimming than weights.

posted Jul 29th, 2008 8:34 am


Susan

NOT for tall women. I'm 6 feet tall. The equipment is not adjustable and there were a couple of the machines I couldn't use because the proportion was way off. I tried to make the most of it, but after a few months I hurt my back on one of the machines and haven't been back. Too bad!

posted Jul 28th, 2008 9:11 am


b

I recently started going to curves on a 10 visits for $10 and i'm glad i took this option instead of just signing on. Curves hours are made for the housewife, they are only open short hours that have no convenience for the working woman, and it is double the cost of a regular gym. Monday to Thursday 5:30=0 pm, however closed for lunch *very convienent for us) Fridays for the summer months Closed at 7pm Saturdays only open 8am-2pm. Sundays - Closed you pay the high cost and you must come on their terms not a convenient time for yourself. When they close for lunch, they actually ask you to leave and come back in an hour to finish your workout if your not complete????who does this in this day and age????its a work age we now live in, however Curves does not want the hardworking at their gym.

posted Jul 28th, 2008 9:11 am


mary norris

curves is great joined month ago lost 2 inches on stomach/thighs 2lbs the instructors at our curves are outstanding

posted Jul 24th, 2008 10:13 am


nicole washington

i use to be a member at curves but they had no daycare. Does anybody know if the home workout in the curves book is effective?

posted Jul 22nd, 2008 9:46 pm


Hard Worker

I work at Curves now and have for the past 3 years. I love my club and would do anything to keep it open and all of my freind happy. I hate it when people talk bad about Curves, sure some aren't as great as others, but SO WHAT? And the contracts vary from lcub to club and location to location, as so the prices. You wouldn't expect a big city to have its members only pay $29 a month, rent is not cheap! I get very frsutrated when poeople come in for a first workout and complain about how it is not "hard enough"! My awsner to them is always, "Well miss, maybe if you moved a little more you would feel something" This is an intense workout if you do it right! I make sure my ladies leave here sweaty, if they dont I yell at them (in the nicest possible way!). If you are not a member yet, DO IT NOW! You will not regret it. And if you hate it, well Curves is not for people who want to go to a gym to look for a date. Our slogan at my Curves is... It is not about the outfit, it is about the workout.

posted Jul 17th, 2008 8:14 am


Chris

I've been a member of Curves for 3 months and it's fantabulous! It's totally what my bod needs and I'm losing weight like a son of a gun. The best part is no one knows I'm a man. With my high voice and lack of facial hair I blend right in. See you tonight girls!

posted Jul 15th, 2008 10:09 pm


Jennifer

I joined the curves in Laurel, Md. Jan. 9, 2008 and ytd I have lost 52 pounds and 43.25 inches. Its changed my life!

posted Jul 14th, 2008 11:09 pm


Tee

I have been a member at Curves for four months. Yes, it can be a social party but I go there to workout so I start on the opposite end so they won't hold me up. You can work up a sweat if you are into the workout. I jog on the squares and I really push myself on the machines. I have not lost weight but I have lost inches (which was my reason for joining). I love the atmosphere and it works! If anyone is interesting in joining they do offer a free week before you join to see if it's for you. That is what I did. At the club I go to they offer it to anyone who comes in before they join. I agree that it depends on the club. Just do your own research and stop listening to other people! Everyone's experience and opinions are different.

posted Jul 11th, 2008 3:26 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account