Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Fitness Diet Navigation    
User Rating

81%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 53 reviews

Curves

A women-only fitness center offering 30-minute total body circuit workouts.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1992
  • Founder: Gary and Diane Heavin
  • Headquarters: Waco, Texas
  • Accessibility: Fitness facilities and gyms
  • Diet Type: 30 minute workout circuit training
  • Gender: Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Jillian Michaels
jillian michaels 468
BACKGROUND

Women have hectic schedules, balancing work and family, without time to schedule a workout. Curves, a nationwide fitness network for women only, solves a busy girl’s problems.

Curves offers 30-minute workouts three times a week and approaches diet and fitness practically for the modern-day woman with a full schedule. Each gym employs trained professionals (although, these aren't necessarily certified personal trainers or exercise physiologists) to teach women how to use equipment and how to perform exercises. Plus, Curves fitness facilities are just for women so any discomfort they might feel in a co-ed gym is instantly relieved.

Curves expanded its diet and fitness options in 2012 with Curves Complete, a total weight loss solution for busy women combining fitness, meal plans, and coaching. Curves Complete provides a wealth of resources, community support and diet and fitness experts – now including famed trainer for Biggest Loser, Jillian Michaels.

Starting January 2014, Curves launched Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels. According to Mike Raymond, the Chief Marketing Officer for Curves, the Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels will add Michaels’ renowned methods for training and coaching to Curves’ traditional circuit workout. Each month, Michaels will update the workouts by introducing new moves.

PRO
  • Workouts are short and manageable
  • Female-only gym
  • Employs trained professionals for instruction and motivation
  • Celebrity diet and fitness spokesperson Jillian Michaels creates new workouts
  • Nutrition and diet plans offer low-calorie and low-carb options
  • Includes online diet and fitness resources
  • Additional in-person and online resources are available
CON
  • Nutrition and diet plans cut certain foods, specifically high-carb grains
  • Website does not detail nutrition and diet plan before membership
  • Franchised facilities might not provide the same quality of experience at each one
  • Males are not allowed to join Curves
DIET and NUTRITION

Curves provides online diet and nutrition plans with the gym membership. A self-assessment determines which of the two diet plans a woman follows. One plan calls for a low-calorie diet, and the other plan calls for a high-protein, low-carb diet. Both plans call for six small meals throughout the day.

The low-calorie diet simply requires women to cut their daily intake to 1,400 calories per day in the first phase. After the first two weeks, intake is increase to up to 1,600 calories. The low-calorie diet plan could be considered too little for more active women wanting to increase muscle mass and metabolism. For women wanting to lose weight, the low-calorie diet plan would be effective, but the sustainability of a low-calorie diet is questionable.

The high-protein, low-carb diet plan limits carbohydrate intake to less than 20 grams per day during the first two week. After that, intake is increased to 40 grams per day. The plan encourages women to avoid pasta, rice, bread and potatoes, among other high-carb foods, which could be ineffective for more active woman, especially runners.

A typical day on the Curves’ high-protein, low-carb plan looks like:

  • Breakfast: Blueberries on low-carb cereal
  • Snack: Protein shake
  • Lunch: Salad made with dark greens, cooked chicken, avocado and vinaigrette dressing
  • Snack: Celery stalks with peanut butter
  • Dinner: Grilled lean steak, green beans, mushrooms and peppers
  • Snack: Whole almonds

In addition, the Curves six-meal diet plans might be ineffective for the women the fitness network wants to target: busy working women with hectic schedules. Women balancing work and family might not be able to eat six times a day or even have time to prepare six meals a day.

EXERCISE

Curves built its fitness network on the Curves Circuit, a five-part program completed in 30 minutes. Women warm up, complete aerobic exercises and strength training, and then cool down and complete stretching exercises. At Curves gyms, women can jump in to a circuit at any point and go until they’ve completed the full workout.

Women alternate between strength training machines and cardiovascular exercises. Machines focus on strengthening major muscle groups. Between each machine, women recover by walking, jogging or running in place to maintain heart rate throughout the circuit.

In order to complete the Curves circuit, women must be at a Curves gym. The machine-only approach might be effective for women just learning to exercise but also might not be strenuous enough for women who are more knowledgeable about weight training and for women who need different types of lifts offered by free weight and body weight exercises.

The January 2014 launch of Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels adds Michaels’ cutting-edge style to the traditional Curves circuit workout. New exercises, tools and programs will be added monthly and throughout 2014 as the integration between the two famed weight loss coaches continues.

CONCLUSION

Women looking for an easy way to fit a fast workout into their busy schedules can find a 30-minute option at the nearest Curves gym. The comfort of a female-only setting adds to the knowledge of the trained fitness professionals on staff – all of whom were trained to team the Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels. The addition of online nutrition and diet plans, Curves Complete and CurvesSmart ID make the Curves fitness network a total weight loss solution for busy women. However, for women looking for more adaptable total weight loss plans, specifically in diet and in types of exercises, Curves and its products and services might not be a viable solution.

Common Misspellings

Curve, Curves deit program, curves for women, curves.com, curves jillian michaels


Related Diets: Curves 30 Day Diet Plan, Curves Complete, LA Weight Loss, The Curves Diet Book, 24 Hour Fitness, Curves Smart, Elements for Women, Lucille Roberts



Wikipedia

Curves International, also known as Curves for Women, Curves Fitness, or just Curves, is an international fitness franchise co-founded by Gary and Diane Heavin in 1995. Curves currently has 10,000 locations worldwide and an estimated 4 million plus members (as of October 2006). It is a privately held company by its co-founders, with corporate offices located in Waco, Texas. Curves fitness and weight loss facilities are designed specifically for and focused on women, although in some states, men are allowed to join.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 9, 173 total comments)

Tosha

Curves is what you make it. If you do the workout 3 to 4 times a week with changes in your diet you will see results. I have been been a memeber for about 3 months and I have seen lost is both inches and pounds. I have lost a total of 7 inches all around and also 8.50 of pure body fat not water not muscles but pure body fat which is what I am going for. So I believeme if you work at it you will see the differnece .

posted Nov 21st, 2012 5:04 pm


Ann

I joined Curves 2 weeks ago and am committed to hanging in there. I was convinced when my co-worker lost over 13 inches in slightly less than 5 weeks. That was just with going 3 times a week!!! I need to get healthier and hate exercise but with the motivation from my co-worker and the ladies I have met so far, I know I will continue or will seriously regret it if I don't. I am a 3 times weight watcher drop out and need the motivation that this group of people and the exercise circuit offers. I for one am very thankful to be a part of it. I feel muscles in places that I didn't realize I had muscles to feel!!! It gives a a feeling of accomplishment each time I'm finished.

posted Jul 14th, 2012 1:27 am


Debbie

Curves is a joke. The Manager at the Curves on Calvary Dr in Raleigh NC was more interested in telling everyone about her love life than instructing members. Everything I learned was from other women working out. Definitely not what I signed up for. I only used 6 months of my yearly contract.

posted Feb 9th, 2012 2:07 pm


Maijken

I've been a member for almost 2 years. and as long as I stick to the weight loss program, it works for me.

posted Jan 31st, 2012 12:26 am


Anjean

I just realized today that Curves has been charging me $29/month even though I haven't been there for 2 years. DuBois, PA owner tells me my $600 is not refundable even though their records show I haven't used Curves during this time. I signed an agreement that binds me as a member forever unless I inform them IN WRITING otherwise. Odd. CONSUMERS BEWARE!

posted Dec 12th, 2011 8:04 pm


mcdana333

I really like the sound of curves, gonna check if they have one near my house. How much is it a month?

posted Oct 13th, 2011 3:39 pm


LC

Found a good deal on Curves today. Forwarding in case any of you ladies were interested. It's cheap.

posted Apr 20th, 2011 3:58 pm


karen

curves is the only gym that has ever worked for me and ive been to many gyms,,i feel i am toning my muscels properly and doing some cardio which i can do at my own pace,,overall i come out feeling brill from my workout and would defo recommend it 2 any1,,tanx curves uve changed my life :-)

posted Mar 10th, 2011 7:35 pm


Dianna

I work out at my local Curves where I am a member 4 evenings a week. During the work week I like to visit a Curves location near my work, I have a travel pass. How many times per week/month can I use my travel pass to visit this same Curves location?

posted Feb 21st, 2011 7:47 pm


Rita Austin

I was previously enrolled in curves but did not finish the program will that prevent me from joining again?

posted Feb 19th, 2011 4:31 pm


Sam

I like Sandie's post about wanting to work out for a healthy longevity, and not for weight loss. I am in the same boat, I dont need to lose weight, however my doctor said my resting heart rate is high (over 100) and I need to do more cardio to get my resting rate down, because I am supposedly a skinny yet out of shape person. So yeah, if you see a skinny girl working next to you, dont judge them, lol. Their heart may just be out of shape because they are so skinny, they never thought they had to work out!

posted Feb 8th, 2011 1:38 am


Sally

I am in the middle of my free week. I read some of the feedback and noted that some people thought that this was not a serious workout. Well, in my opinion, those people are wrong! I thought I was in good shape, working out 2-3 times a week at the gym. So, I was shocked when I did my first workout at Curves. This workout 'kicked my butt'! I am hooked! In 3 visits I feel every muscle in my body, so I know this workout is working. I look forward to becoming a long time member.

posted Feb 5th, 2011 4:01 pm


nikki

I joined curves a two months ago. I try to go for two or three days a week. I like it alot .Everybody is very nice and polite. It gives me motivation and good start for the day. I am looking forward to loose some weight , Although I am not over weight, but I think its good for health.

posted Jan 19th, 2011 3:42 am


Cindy

I love Curves! I am in my 40's & look forward to my workouts with the ladies! As for children, mine are grown, but women shouldn't expect it's ok to take their children with them everywhere! I like the no children policy because not everyone will think your child is well behaved and frankly it's a lot nicer without them there! Take some Mom time & get a sitter for an hour!

posted Sep 10th, 2010 7:50 pm


Deeann

This is the best 30 minute workout! No need to figure out which weights and adjust. CurvesSmart does it for me and on my 2 days between 3 regular days, the workouts are lighter (auto adjusted to ME). I sweat but am not sore and no need for an armband as the pulse is checked on an elliptical each round. It's super because when I travel, I know where I can find a quick workout, too. Friendly, caring support all around.

posted Jul 9th, 2010 2:27 pm


sandra

This was a terrible experience. The 'trainer' asked about my medical conditions...which she did not understand. Then pushed me thru a workout, which I could not do...and brushed off my request to quit..I hurt myself and ended up in PT for 6 months.
That and the 'founder' is a scum bucket that was in prison for not paying child support and now is on the family first band wagon.

posted Jul 8th, 2010 1:39 pm


Pegg

I joined Curves in early May 2010, I really lost 8 lbs in 7 weeks. I work out at Curves about 5 days a week. I must say it really works for me. Certainly I also cut down some calories intake and it does help a lot.

posted Jul 1st, 2010 8:20 pm


yesenia

im 21 yrs old i been going to curves for a month already i love the results i hava lost already couple of pounds i usually go 3 to 5 times a week and kind off follow a heathy diet. i feel happy rrelax and it helps realized my strees.

posted May 27th, 2010 10:06 pm


Sandie

I have just started but would like to express that my situation is unique and i think people and Curves should take notice that choosing to exercise is for a longer healthier lifestyle. I joined for these reasons. However, I joined with my mother who would love to lose about 30 pounds. I, however, am at the other end of the spectrum. I have always, and I mean always been thin and I am not bulemic or anerixic. I have a high metabolism. I want to gain weight, I always have. I want to exercise but what I really think is neat is that I am spending some great time with my mother. So please don't judge me when you see me working next to you as I am happy with me and I want to live a long and healthy life like you. I think Curves should also advertise that they do work with women who want to gain weight. It may not be the majority of women but I first joined to support my mom and learned I could work on me too.

posted May 19th, 2010 6:12 pm



Margie McElhenie Landreville

I Love it it is so much fun and so easy to do! Look out World here comes a NEW ME!!! Just Like A Butterfly!
You'll Love It Too!

posted Mar 16th, 2010 3:40 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account