Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

36%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 63 reviews
Curves

Curves Complete Review: Don’t Buy Before You Read This!

A women-only fitness center offering 30-minute total body circuit workouts.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Curves Complete is a women’s weight loss plan offering nutrition, fitness, and motivational support. Exercise regimens, personal consultations and support, and specific foods are recommended while on this system.

It’s claimed that those who use Curves Complete lose on average 3 inches and 10 pounds with around 13 weeks of use. There’s also 6 customizable meal plans with varying amounts of foods offered. Our review experts look at many kinds of weight loss diets. They’ve concluded the most effective overall is the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of a fat burning diet pill and an appetite suppressing meal replacement shake. Customers have rated it highly for its effective weight loss effects. Discover more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet by following this link.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Curves Complete Ingredients and Side Effects

All the foods offered are in recipe form, and it’s unknown what kinds of specific ingredients are allowed. There are 6 different eating plans however such as:

Wordily Chef: Provides the company’s granola bars, tacos, chicken with tomatoes, edamame, eggs, and more.

• Health Nut: Cantaloupe with yogurt, quinoa salad, special granola bars and salmon.

• Love it All: Pastrami sandwiches, pork chop, mixed salad, egg English muffin, and granola bars.

• Queen of My Kitchen: Roast beef sandwiches, dark chocolate bar, quiche, and more.

• On the Go: Steak with greens, almonds, granola bar, whole wheat English muffin, and mixed salad.

• Dietary Restricted: Special Greek yogurt parfait, roasted veggies, tuna salad, and omelet.

Only pictures are provided to explain what kinds of foods are allowed on each of these selections. No official descriptions as to the specific ingredients used are listed anywhere.

There’s also 3 different phases offered:

Phase 1: How to select portions is taught and calories are limited to 1,400 a day.

• Phase 2: Calories are increased by 1,500 a day, and this phase is dedicated to helping burn off fat instead of muscle. There are more recipes, foods from restaurants, and desserts allowed in this phase. This is continued until one reaches their targeted weight.

• Phase 3: Once the desired weight is reached, the same principles are applied without the need for dedicated calorie and food restrictions. There is an allowance of 2,000 calories per day, and a new lifestyle is allowed.

Exercise also plays a major rule, as 30 minute circuits are recommended at specific Curves fitness areas It’s recommended to go this center 4 times a week, and to alternate between cardiovascular workouts and strength training.

Click on the link provided for a list of the highest rated weight loss diets.

There is also the option of stretching and Zumba courses. 10,000 steps are also recommended each day. One targeted weight loss goals are reached, it’s recommended to maintain circuit training 3 to 4 times a week to maintain weight.

Going to Curves facility is advised and these exist all over the US.  There’s currently over 10,000 locations across the globe, and 1,035 centers across the US.

This is essentially a fitness, diet, and motivational support plan for weight loss. One has to cook foods from the allowed recipes, though it’s impossible to judge the overall quality without first seeing the kinds of ingredients used.

A potential issue is due to the low amount of calories which might not be enough for all people.  This can make it difficult to uphold without hunger pains. The link here has a list of the top rated weight loss diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Curves Complete Quality of Ingredients

It’s unknown what kinds of ingredients are called for in the recipes offered. The foods do look appetizing, but it’s unknown if only whole foods and natural ingredients are emphasized.

There’s also a low amount of calories offered, and this may not be enough to satisfy demands. Reducing calories is essential to weight loss, but there’s a heavy demand for exercise and its unknown if the meals provide enough protein to satisfy appetite.

When adding strenuous exercise as this plan requires, it can increase hunger and make it harder to suppress appetite. This can require then require more calories, which can make it difficult to stick to such a low calorie offering. Much more information is needed to ensure one will be able to live up to these diets demands. The list of the top ranked weight loss diets is featured in the link here.

The Price and Quality of Curves Complete

No official prices are offered on the website. There is a claim that going to the gym is as low as $3.25 per session, but its unknown what the total cost is for the recipes and the entire Curves Complete plan.

One price estimate says the rest of the plan is about $5 a week, and there is also start up fees for the gym as well as having to cook your own foods.

This plan is comprehensive as it combines exercise and dieting, but this requires a lot of time and dedication.

Business of Curves Complete

The official Curves International company can be reached at:

Phone Number: (877) 673-3144

Address: 5770 Fleet St

             Carlsbad, California 92008

Email: membercomments@curves.com

The company has had lawsuits against them up to $20 million. There are also 5 closed complaints on their Better Business Bureau website. For a list of the best weight loss diets, click on the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Curves Complete

Provided below are some online reviews from users:

“They will continue to bill you even after you die”

“Tried to email and call the customer service staff to cancel but they would not handle a credit dispute”

“Had to cancel and when I checked they sent me a very rude and disrespectful answer”

“at the gym they offer no helpful support”

People described it as a simple low calorie plan that requires exercise. This is a very common approach to weight loss.

Some had serious issues with the customer service staff, and there were also complaints about the contracts requires. People who read it mentioned how it makes it hard to escape being automatically charged each month.

There were also users who added how the recipes offered are basic. The link cited has a comprehensive list of the highest rated weight loss diets.

Conclusion - Does Curves Complete Work?

It’s likely that one will lose weight while greatly reducing calories and exercising. There were issues from users who added how they felt it was difficult to escape the contracts, and that there is very little support on how to properly exercise. Some also had issues with the amount of effort needed for weight loss. There is no information on the kinds of ingredients needed for the recipes, and this makes it impossible to determine the overall value.

Our review experts have rated many kinds of weight loss diets. In their research they found that the 18Shake Diet is the most effective for weight loss.  This offers an appetite suppressing meal replacement shake and a fat burning diet pill.

Both are made with pure natural ingredients free of preservatives, colors, binders, fillers, or any artificial ingredients. It’s also manufactured in a certified GMP approved facility that’s approved by the FDA. To find out more about the 18Shake Diet, click on the link provided here.

How Does Curves Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Curves
  • 36 /100



Wikipedia

Curves International, also known as Curves for Women, Curves Fitness, or just Curves, is an international fitness franchise co-founded by Gary and Diane Heavin in 1995. Curves currently has 10,000 locations worldwide and an estimated 4 million plus members (as of October 2006). It is a privately held company by its co-founders, with corporate offices located in Waco, Texas. Curves fitness and weight loss facilities are designed specifically for and focused on women, although in some states, men are allowed to join.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 7 of 10, 181 total comments)

MJ

I am still new at Curves, going on my third week. I am already seeing results, however in addition to my Curves workout I walk/jog on the days I do not go to Curves. Also, you really need to change your eating habits, as the old rule of calories in/calories out still applies no matter how many hours you work out. I agree with the comments about Curves having that social club environment and I?d like to add that at the particular Curves I go to, there is a group of women who act like its 1980 again, and we are back in high school gym class with their jock-girl attitudes. I say that if you encounter any jock-girls or social butterflies, just ignore them. I had one woman actually follow me around the circuit trying to strike up conversation about my personal life but I just answered with her with ?uh-huh? a couple of times and she stopped. I am all for camaraderie but it has to be in the right time and place, and weight training is not one of them. I believe that this is one time where individuality overrules team spirit, and I feel that my workout will not and should not be compared to others. I like going to Curves and will continue to go but my goal there is not to make ?friends? as I already have plenty of them. My goals at Curves are to improve my health by losing weight and improving my health.

posted May 15th, 2008 9:44 am


barb

I have wanted to join curves for a couple of years now,but like many women we usually say i will join next week,or the week after that,i finally joined,i have been there for about a month and a half now. I feel so good about myself and i have so much energy. I lost 6.25 lbs and 8.75 inches in one month,words can't explain how i felt when they told me how much i lost. Well ladies i just have one thing to say....Join it's so addicting,and so much fun,and even better it only takes just 30 minutes of your day,and you will feel so energized for the rest of the day.

posted May 8th, 2008 4:48 pm


Darlene

I want to join but does anyone know if they have daycare? I have an 8 month old that I need babysitting for. Some of the other gyms offer that.

posted May 7th, 2008 10:32 pm


sine nomine

i recently joined, and i'm pretty happy with it. i like that the workout is a no-brainer. i just have to go around the circuit two or three times, and i'm done. and since i'm doing the same thing every time, it's easier to see my progress -- it gets harder to keep my heart rate up and i can do more reps. having other people there doing the same thing helps me work harder, too. you fall into a rhythm. as far as people who seem not t o be doing much, don't judge. i'm someone who might seem to be slacking, but i'm not. i'm *really* out of shape, and what might look like an easy workout to you is keeping my heart rate at 80-85% of max. that's another thing i like; the curves i go to has people at all fitness levels and no one seems to pay much attention to who's working how hard. to me, curves is a safefriendly place to do something good for myself. (and according to my heart rate watch, i'm burning around 330 calories in each half hour. even more important, i'm building aerobic capacity).

posted May 7th, 2008 9:39 am


jill

i love curves in less than i month i went from 125 pounds to 118.2 pounds just with 3 30 minute workouts a week i recommend it to anyone... i feel better and sleep better i just love it!!!!

posted May 7th, 2008 9:39 am


amy

Do they allow children there and do they have a place for children to play.

posted Apr 28th, 2008 6:41 pm


Anonymous

I was a member of Curves until we purchased our own exercise equipment (which we DO use). It was a good experience, and to answer a couple of questions: pretty much everything in a Curves depends on the franchise owners. Our Curves taliored their hours to the traffic flow in our area. They open up at 5:30 and stay open until 7 at night. They are open a half day on Saturday and are closed on Sunday- usually. Also, I used to go around the circuit at least three times, to really feel like I had worked out. So, again, it depends on the franchise you go to. There are so many now that it shouldn't be a problem for those who live in urban or suburban areas. I live in a rural area and my only other choice was a co-ed gym where only the young and tight were pandered to. The rest of us were ignored and the machines were NOT user friendly, meaning they were too big for most women and were generally in bad repair. Now we have our own treadmill and weights, so I work out at home.

posted Apr 24th, 2008 9:21 am


Q

I joined Curves and stayed a member for a year (because of the contract) then I terminated my membership. I loved the overall concept but the hours suck. They dont open till 7 (I'm on my way to work by then) they are closed on Sundays, they close early on Wednesdays and on Saturdays the hours are very limited. This made it hard to get my money's worth. I quit and joined Snap Fitness - I love it and it's open 24 hours a day - every day! and NO contracts - its month to month...

posted Apr 22nd, 2008 10:24 am


anonymous

I have a question on weather as a curves member you can complete the circuit more than twice if you are wanting a longer workout and want to challenge yourself more. I was told 2 different things form 2 different tec`s and I`m confused.

posted Apr 21st, 2008 12:11 pm


Michelle Saunders

I am a trainer at Curves, and I must say that it is the best part time job that I have ever had. I read a comment about the trainers not really being trained except for viewing a couple of videos. That is incorrect. It usually takes 1-2 months, if not longer. We are trained on the 6-week management plan, which is the only plan that has helped my mother and I to lose weight. We are trained on all of the muscles used and the proper ways to use the machines. These are only a few things that we are trained on. I have taken excercise classes before with people who have are certified personal trainers and I knew just as much if not more about fitness, health, and weight loss. I have been a member at other gyms and I have never received as much assistance and support as we give to our members. Not only that but the 39$ monthly fee is about the same , if not cheaper, than other gyms. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but if someone is thinking about joining Curves, see for yourself. Don't get sucked into all of the negative comments by others.

posted Apr 18th, 2008 5:17 pm


Janell

I love this place. I went in to this thinking it was going to be so easy, and realized if you go in there and really work the machines, you can get a great workout. I've only been a member a few weeks, but I can't wait to go the next day. I go five days a week, and I feel so good when I leave. I only have 15 pounds to lose, but will be a member forever, cause it's so fun. It is what you make it. If you go in with a negative attitute, you get what you expect. Don't let the "debbie downers" or "negative nancys" bring you down!!! Try it, you'll love it.

posted Apr 18th, 2008 5:17 pm


Irene

I started Curves 9 months ago?.I love it. I lost inches and weight. The trainers are there encourage you to work at your peak workout level. I am overweight the best thing about Curves is that everyone there is just like YOU! You don?t have to feel guilty because you are overweight, watching some young tanned thin female working out hard and looking great while you are trying to do your best. Curves has Curves Bucks that you earn for working out, for weighing in, stretching, they even help exercise your BRAIN with games. It?s a family you get to see who is loosing weight and inches each month. It motivates you work just as hard. The 6 week solution is fantastic! I think that everyone that joins Curves should enroll in the 6 week solution it helps you to build a better eating habit. You enjoy real foods. You will be surprised at how much food you eat and still loose weight! Curves is working on getting the ?Smart Machines that will help maximize your workout by burning more calories per workout. Curves will help you if you are willing to do it for YOU! You do things for everyone but we always forget about taking care of our selves. Now is the time to take care of YOU. No one thing can break your eating and weight habit except for YOU. Then and only then will you be successful and enjoy looking at the person on the other side of the full length mirror. And you know that as Fat Girls we don?t like the full length mirror! But it will soon become your best friend because you will enjoy seeing the changes in your body. My favorite machine is the ARM machine because I can actually see my muscles flex as I work them out. Love the Squat Machine because it work my thighs! I work out 3-4 times a week. When I don?t go I fell bad like I?m missing something. Don?t let the unsuccessful comments keep you from making you look fabulous! You deserve it?your worth it!

posted Apr 17th, 2008 8:48 pm


Faye

Curves is an awsome establishment. You get out of it what you're willing to put in. I find most of the negative comments to be quite amusing mostly outrageous....also strange that they're all named "Anonymous". While Curves may not be for every woman out there it certainly has been a positive for many. So I say to those who can't seem to say enough bad about it, please, please take your business elsewhere whereas you're guaranteed lower prices, no binding contracts, and pounds just melting away.

posted Apr 11th, 2008 3:19 pm


Cathy

For grannisandi: I've been doing Curves for about a year. I'm 4' 11". I find the machines pretty comfortable. For the machines that you need to be taller to reach, they do have cushions to use. This seems to solve the problem for us shorter gals.

posted Apr 7th, 2008 8:09 pm


lisa

curves is greatthat muscle comment above is so untrue i lost 5 lbs in 3 weeks and i am not that big to start off wth so to all ou busy women try it youll love it

posted Apr 6th, 2008 9:13 pm


Anonymous

I tried Curves and was VERY disappointed. It was overpriced, the stafd didn't have a clue, and the workout was a joke. I recommend this place for highly overweight people that haven't had a day's excercise in their life. But if you're looking for a cardio, fast paced, fat burning workout, give CUrves a miss. I was there for only 3 months before cancelling my contract. I never worked up a sweat, and my heart-rate slowed down towards the end of the workout instead of elevating. In all fairness, I did lose body fat, but it was replaced by so much muscle mass that I ended up looking BIGGER than when I had started, when all I wanted to do was slim down and look smaller. Also, they refused to give me the eating plan unless I recommended 5 people to join the gym. I was newly arrived in the city and did not know anybody. For the high monthly fee I had to pay, I thought this was very unfair.

posted Apr 6th, 2008 11:05 am


carol

Wow!! What can I say! Curves is the place to be. I had first joined 4 years ago and lost 30lbs. I stop going because I was unable to go due to my work schedule. Now my job transferred to another location better hours. So my sister and I joined 3 weeks ago and I have lost 6 pounds already. I have more energy and feels wonderful.

posted Apr 5th, 2008 6:58 am


Anonymous

You should all try Butterfly Life. They have classes and real weighted machinery that will continue to challenge you. It is fully adjustable to fit a women's body and they have over 80 fitness classes a week. They also have a nutrition program and trained professionals. It's worth a try. Much better then Curves. And any women can benefit. Even if they are already physically fit.

posted Apr 5th, 2008 6:58 am


s.

Curves is *ok--a solid C, as we used to say* Pluses--lots of locations, no appointment, so it is good for busy people. Minuses--staff knows nothing about fitness, constantly tries to engage exercises in conversation, lots of talking and inappropriate (nosy) personal questions.

posted Apr 3rd, 2008 9:16 am


s

pluses--no appointment needed, open fairly good hours, clean. Minuses-staff knows nothing about fitness or exercise, filled with people chatting and barely exercising. Staff tries to engage clients in conversation--often to the detriment of getting a good work-out.

posted Apr 3rd, 2008 9:16 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1992
  • Founder: Gary and Diane Heavin
  • Headquarters: Waco, Texas
  • Accessibility: Fitness facilities and gyms
  • Diet Type: 30 minute workout circuit training
  • Gender: Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Jillian Michaels

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

jillian michaels 468
BACKGROUND

Women have hectic schedules, balancing work and family, without time to schedule a workout. Curves, a nationwide fitness network for women only, solves a busy girl’s problems.

Curves offers 30-minute workouts three times a week and approaches diet and fitness practically for the modern-day woman with a full schedule. Each gym employs trained professionals (although, these aren't necessarily certified personal trainers or exercise physiologists) to teach women how to use equipment and how to perform exercises. Plus, Curves fitness facilities are just for women so any discomfort they might feel in a co-ed gym is instantly relieved.

Curves expanded its diet and fitness options in 2012 with Curves Complete, a total weight loss solution for busy women combining fitness, meal plans, and coaching. Curves Complete provides a wealth of resources, community support and diet and fitness experts – now including famed trainer for Biggest Loser, Jillian Michaels.

Starting January 2014, Curves launched Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels. According to Mike Raymond, the Chief Marketing Officer for Curves, the Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels will add Michaels’ renowned methods for training and coaching to Curves’ traditional circuit workout. Each month, Michaels will update the workouts by introducing new moves.

Participating Curves centers offer 2 memberships: Curves Fitness and Curves Complete.

Curves Fitness memberships include access to Curves Specialty Circuit Classes and Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels. This membership focuses only on fitness and workouts.

Curves Complete memberships offer access to all fitness classes of the Curves Fitness membership, plus customizable meal plans and weekly one-on-one support from a Curves Complete Coach. Each Curves Complete Coach has completed a certification program developed in conjunction with Cleveland Clinic.

PRO
  • World’s largest chain of fitness centers for women, with thousands of locations across North America
  • Workouts are short and manageable
  • Female-only gym for a comfortable, supportive atmosphere
  • Employs trained professionals for instruction and motivation
  • Celebrity diet and fitness spokesperson Jillian Michaels creates new workouts
  • Nutrition and diet plans offer low-calorie and low-carb options
  • Includes online diet and fitness resources
  • Additional in-person and online resources are available
CON
  • Nutrition and diet plans cut certain foods, specifically high-carb grains
  • Website does not detail nutrition and diet plan before membership
  • Franchised facilities might not provide the same quality of experience at each one
  • Males are not allowed to join Curves
DIET and NUTRITION

Curves provides online diet and nutrition plans with the gym membership. A self-assessment determines which of the two diet plans a woman follows. One plan calls for a low-calorie diet, and the other plan calls for a high-protein, low-carb diet. Both plans call for six small meals throughout the day.

The low-calorie diet simply requires women to cut their daily intake to 1,400 calories per day in the first phase. After the first two weeks, intake is increase to up to 1,600 calories. The low-calorie diet plan could be considered too little for more active women wanting to increase muscle mass and metabolism. For women wanting to lose weight, the low-calorie diet plan would be effective, but the sustainability of a low-calorie diet is questionable.

The high-protein, low-carb diet plan limits carbohydrate intake to less than 20 grams per day during the first two week. After that, intake is increased to 40 grams per day. The plan encourages women to avoid pasta, rice, bread and potatoes, among other high-carb foods, which could be ineffective for more active woman, especially runners.

A typical day on the Curves’ high-protein, low-carb plan looks like:

  • Breakfast: Blueberries on low-carb cereal
  • Snack: Protein shake
  • Lunch: Salad made with dark greens, cooked chicken, avocado and vinaigrette dressing
  • Snack: Celery stalks with peanut butter
  • Dinner: Grilled lean steak, green beans, mushrooms and peppers
  • Snack: Whole almonds

In addition, the Curves six-meal diet plans might be ineffective for the women the fitness network wants to target: busy working women with hectic schedules. Women balancing work and family might not be able to eat six times a day or even have time to prepare six meals a day.

EXERCISE

Curves built its fitness network on the Curves Circuit, a five-part program completed in 30 minutes. Women warm up, complete aerobic exercises and strength training, and then cool down and complete stretching exercises. At Curves gyms, women can jump in to a circuit at any point and go until they’ve completed the full workout.

Women alternate between strength training machines and cardiovascular exercises. Machines focus on strengthening major muscle groups. Between each machine, women recover by walking, jogging or running in place to maintain heart rate throughout the circuit.

In order to complete the Curves circuit, women must be at a Curves gym. The machine-only approach might be effective for women just learning to exercise but also might not be strenuous enough for women who are more knowledgeable about weight training and for women who need different types of lifts offered by free weight and body weight exercises.

The January 2014 launch of Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels adds Michaels’ cutting-edge style to the traditional Curves circuit workout. New exercises, tools and programs will be added monthly and throughout 2014 as the integration between the two famed weight loss coaches continues.

Participating Curves feature CurvesSmart, a digital coaching system that helps keep members motivated by providing instant feedback, suggestions and progress reports detailing stats like muscles worked and calories burned.

In 2015, Curves introduced 3 new classes: The Introductory class, which is appropriate for all levels, and works to gradually build strength, conditioning and endurance in the whole body, and The Level One class, which is offers a more advanced total body workout, and the Level Two class, which offers a high-intensity interval workout to burn major calories.

Curves also introduced their Specialty Circuit Classes, designed to meet the needs of women in their 40’s, 50’s, and beyond, focusing on balance, flexibility, and strength.

These classes include:

BODY BALANCE- a low-intensity, Coach-led class alternating time on the Curves Circuit strength machines with intervals emphasizing core strength and stability. ARMS-CORE-LEGS- targeted bodyweight moves designed to tone and strengthen the arms, core and legs. STRETCH & STRENGTH- stretch and strengthen the same muscle groups back to back

CONCLUSION

Women looking for an easy way to fit a fast workout into their busy schedules can find a 30-minute option at the nearest Curves gym. The comfort of a female-only setting adds to the knowledge of the trained fitness professionals on staff – all of whom were trained to team the Curves Workouts with Jillian Michaels. The addition of online nutrition and diet plans, Curves Complete and CurvesSmart ID make the Curves fitness network a total weight loss solution for busy women. However, for women looking for more adaptable total weight loss plans, specifically in diet and in types of exercises, Curves and its products and services might not be a viable solution.

Common Misspellings

Curve, Curves deit program, curves for women, curves.com, curves jillian michaels

Related Diets: Curves 30 Day Diet Plan, Curves Complete, LA Weight Loss, The Curves Diet Book, 24 Hour Fitness, Curves Smart, Elements for Women, Lucille Roberts

Whats better than
Curves?