Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

88%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 244 reviews

Akavar

Claims that you can eat all you want and still lose weight.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Akavar 20/50 is a European weight loss pill that has achieved much success. It has made its move to the U.S. seeking the same. Akavar boasts that it is the ultimate fat cure and that you'll see the results you seek without any diet restrictions or inclusion of exercise.

Akavar is designed to restrict your daily caloric intake to less than normal. Without those calories that your body requires for energy, you'll start to use your fat reserves. This will of course cause you to lose weight and inches. However, you'll immediately gain back that weight should you stop using Akavar. The website offers little-to-know information about the product leaving open many questions about the supplement.

PRO
  • Promotes eating all you like and still seeing weight loss
  • Reduces urge to overeat
  • Do not have to count calories
  • Won't feel hungry
CON

Akavar 20/50 leaves a lot to be desired. Some of the more concerning details include:

  • Promotes a lifestyle without exercise and healthy diet
  • No FDA approval
  • Web site offers very little information
  • No published clinical research
  • Does not publish ingredients
  • Contains caffeine
INGREDIENTS

It takes a lot of research to find what is inside those little Akavar tablets, as the product's website bypasses any discussion. Akavar includes many caffeine sources including xanthine and green tea leaf. Other ingredients include yerba mate, guarana seed, ginger root, kola nut, Tibetan ginseng, cocoa nut, rice flour, yellow no. 6, red no. 3 and Gelatin, among many others.

CONCLUSION

Akavar 20/50 leaves a lot of open questions- which really leads to concerns about both the product's effectiveness and impact on the body. With so many diet pills and supplements on the market, it is important for manufacturers to paint a detailed picture of the product to help consumers make the most educated decisions. Many diet pills and supplements provide all of the information that Akavar seems to have conveniently left out. It is also a little misleading that without diet and exercise you can still lose weight. Anyone who has ever committed to losing weight knows that without important changes to diet and exercise, results are often not achieved.

Common Misspellings

Akvar, Akavare, Akavar 50/20, Akavar 2050


Related Diets: Actipril, Green Tea


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 14 of 34, 677 total comments)

LadyLiz

ok!!! So I took the pill yesterday and I did feel kinda of weird. I noticed that I had so much more energy. I definitly noticed the decrease in appetite. Normally when I get home from work I go straight to the kitchen and munch away. Yesterday evening I did nothing but laundry, cleaning and did not thing of food at all. I did have a little tummy ache, but thats about it. NO CRAVINGS and no thoughts of eating! I love it so far! I fell asleep at about 10:00pm and had a wonderful nights sleep. No jitters just energy! This morning I came to work and weighed myself and I am now at 167. even. I also took 1 pill. I figure I strt out slow and not get carried away. Maybe it's water retention I have lost.... I quite don't know but so far so good. I will check in soon and hope for the best! Thanks for the great support! Good Luck everone!

posted Mar 28th, 2009 1:21 pm


SilentWolf

I have been reading these reviews for about an hour now and I am planning on buying it today. I am 6'1 and I weigh 235, I want to lose atleast 40 pounds..I was also wondering if anyone has drank alcohol while using akavar?? if so were there any side affects? Please contact me at

posted Mar 28th, 2009 10:42 am


LadyLiz

Oh yeah I forgot to tell ya how much I weigh! That would be helpful huh? Well I weigh 170lbs and trus me I am super excited to get started. Wish me luck and I really hope this works!!!

posted Mar 27th, 2009 7:31 pm


LadyLiz

Hi Everyone! I just went to my local GNC today during my lunch break after reviewing all of your reviews. I decided to give it a try. I turn 27 this May and want to look super great. So I will start tomorrow and see how it makes me feel. I will check in at a regular basis and hope for the best.

posted Mar 27th, 2009 5:08 pm



LIL T

I Started on Monday and it is now Wed. I have not seen results as of yet. I will continue the supplement and hope that the tummy aches stop.

posted Mar 25th, 2009 10:19 pm


gladys

i cannot finish my meals anymore. which is good. i will let everyone know how much i lost next week. i also use the bathroom everyday now.

posted Mar 25th, 2009 1:58 pm


Samantha H

I started taking the Akavar 2 days ago, the 1st day I took it before lunch with the water, I tried to eat a hamburger but felt sick after about 2 bites, and same every meal since then? I am taking 2 pill twice a day. This evening I felt like the incredible hulk around my daughters I was very easily agitated my face feels flushed and my heart is not beating fast but very loudly like my ears are pulsating... has anyone experinced the same thing?

posted Mar 24th, 2009 8:37 pm


Samantha S

I have been researching this product for a while and when i finally have enough money to go out and buy this product i did. I sat in my walgreens for almost an hour reading everything about this product and over looking the side effects and compared them to the other pills on the shelf. I am the type of person that can loose about 10-15 on my own and then cant go any further and i have been trying for years, i took my weight today and i currently weigh about 162.3 lb my goal, i would like to be about 120 lb. i'm young and I'm tired of being being this weight size. i don't look like i am 162 and i know a lot of this is because of my muscles but i want a smaller weight size and actually wanted to feel comfortable in a bathing suit at the beach, plus i have my college graduation and i just want to knock peoples socks off with the way i look, but anyways so i started taking them and honestly i wouldn't recommend them to anyone. I would like to if the people who took this pills actually had some of the side effects listed, such as a rapid heart beat, dizziness, headaches, or anything more extreme then the following?
because I did and i was only on my 2nd day, i took 2 pills before i ate at work and then an hour later my heart was pumping and i couldn't breathe and almost passed out. my vision went blurry and i was sweating. I got sent home from work and the moment i fell asleep, my breathing was deep and I wasn't getting enough air. I know it was only 2 days but honestly i was so scared and i will not resort to these pills ever again!

posted Mar 23rd, 2009 9:46 pm


PAM

I USE THE PILL BUT IT LEAVES ME SHAKIE AND I GET A STOMACH ACHE
BUT I TOTALY SEE THE RESULTS IT IS DEFINATLY WORK THE ACHE.!!

posted Mar 23rd, 2009 6:41 pm


aimee

been on akavar for over a week now. i've lost at least 5lbs and i still feel more energized than ever.

posted Mar 15th, 2009 4:48 am


maria

does n e one smoke? and use the akavar also?

posted Mar 14th, 2009 11:35 pm


Nikie

Nah not for me

posted Mar 10th, 2009 1:58 pm


Sarah

I just took Akavar for my first time about 2 hours ago...so i took my pills and waited 15 minutes to eat..and when my food was hot and sitting right in front of me, i didn't want the food at all. I ended up staring at it and eventually putting it back in the fridge. I have absolutley zero appetitte. I have a feeling i'll be losing weight :)

im about 5'6 and i weigh about 180 and i want to lose 20 pounds. so i guess we will see!

posted Mar 9th, 2009 3:51 pm


aimee

Started a couple of days ago (3/5) around 930pm. I work graveyard and, that first night, took only one pill and i was super wired the whole night. I stock freight at a large production grocery store and my job is very active. I haven't had so much energy in a while. I definitely don't look at food the same way as I have in the past, I'm not hungry most of the day and eat because I need to. I know that may seem kind of bad, but usually, I kinda eat constantly, snacking and such. My job, being high energy, calls for me to be able to provide burnable fuel and so I wasn't worried about it, til recently. I know I'm overweight (195lbs - 5'5") but I know that in general I am pretty healthy. (There's got to be some muscle in there. :P). Lately though, with the cold weather, I'm not as active outside of work and constantly snack while at home, causing me to gain 10-15lbs, which put me at this weight. I kinda feel like I should be eating all the time, like usual, but I never really feel hungry, just have the urge to eat. Anyway, I know this is becoming a huge post, so to end it I'll just say that, I usually am tired all the time, and yet since taking the pills I have more energy when not working and am not tired all the time. Seems good to me. Oh yeah, and besides being wired and not wanting to eat, :P I haven't seen any other side effects.

posted Mar 9th, 2009 1:09 pm


Galen

I just started 3 days ago. First day spent alot of time in the bathroom. But, now things are going good. I have a shirt that I just tried on over the week-end and couldn't button. I will be back in a week to let you know if I can button it yet. Haven't got on a scale yet but, will. Good luck everyone.

posted Mar 5th, 2009 5:18 pm


robynn

I only started taking this yesterday, so I'll repost a week or so from now with more. I am taking 4 a day. You MUST drink a full glass of water and must wait 15 minutes before eating. Instructions are there for a reason. I was so wired yesterday I wanted to bounce through the walls. After breakfast, I didn't feel hungry for a whole eight hours. In fact, the entire day the thought of food made me feel a bit sick and I really didn't want anything at all. I weight myself this morning, and I am down 3 pounds. You MUST weight yourself the same exact time every morning for the most consistent results, because your wait will fluctuate a pound or two throughout the day. I weight consistently the same though every morning around 11:00 a.m., but today I weight 3 pounds less. Could just be water weight as diet pills tend to do that, but I am down from 199 to 196 regardless and I had to force myself to eat my morning because food just looks nasty. I did have a very slight headache and feel a bit of an anxious feeling constantly while on this pill, but that is the effect of an excessive amount of caffeine/xanthine. Its not horrible and I can ignore it pretty easily. I did have some stomach upset this morning and my tummy gurgled and carried on with noises and stuff all night long and I had some gas. Besides that, the side effects are none and it is very easy to deal with unless you are sensitive to caffeine, which I am not really. I DO exercise, but not a whole lot. I'll play dance dance revolution for 30 minutes at least 5 days a week on medium difficulty. Everyone needs to exercise to keep your muscles, your heart, and your lungs happy. Even if you are skinny, your muscles, heart, and lungs can be weak and unhappy. You'll live longer and healthier if you give them a work and strengthen them. ddr is fun and you often forget it is exercise, plus it has a workout mode where it counts calories or time played. The calorie counter seems to overestimate actual calories burned, but its nice anyways. There are like at least 10 different version of the game with 70-100 songs on each disk and the older ones are pretty cheap, so you can switch out disks if you get tired of the same songs or you don't like the songs on one of the games. I also have a treadmill that I try to use at least three times a week for 20-40 minutes a day at 3 mph, or I'll go somewhere like the mall where I know I have to walk but will enjoy myself while doing it. DO exercise. Doesn't have to be hard, but get your heart rate up at least a little. Its good for you and will make Akavar work even better. If you lift WEIGHTS, you will probably GAIN weight because you are gaining muscle. Don't blame the pill. Look to how your clothes fit and how your body looks and take measurements with a tape measurer instead of weighing yourself if you are strength training/ weighlifting allot instead.

posted Mar 3rd, 2009 3:26 pm


Jill A

It seems (by reading all the feedback) that Akavar is best used as a diet supplement, not that "be all end all miracle drug"----It helps control hunger, it makes you feel full so you won't overeat, and it gives you some extra energy. It's like having some much needed help to anyone's diet regime. Find your correct dose, and make it work for you! Whether you have 100 lbs to lose or 15! Let's hear some more interesting diet stories. Has anyone ever read Shape Magazine? They always havimonies as part of their regular feature. It's so motivating!

posted Feb 26th, 2009 2:33 pm


mm

i post some thing last year. i started akavar last year september and weighed 212 pounds. by december, i was down to 170 pounds. i felt comfortable with my weight, so i stopped taking it. am back taking it again, coz i want to loose 20 more pounds. i will tell u that this product works. i have not gained any of the weight back and i feel confident. good luck to you all

posted Feb 24th, 2009 10:46 am


deegermany

I have been using it since Jan 20th and I must say IT DOES WORK! since I am sensitive to caffeine and allergic to so many things I started off with 1 per day. It made me so full of energy and I had trouble sleeping for about two weeks. My heart would race when I would walk up the stairs, but other than that I was fine. I also started a rigorous workout routine and cut back on a lot of foods. After two weeks, I was down almost 20 inches-but only 3 lbs, that's ok because inches are more visible than pounds.

Here's the thing---I started taking 4 per day, then I started having trouble breathing, walking up the stairs, and then I was fussing at my son and I felt like I was about to have a heart attack two weekends ago..It took me a few days to realize that it was the pills, so I stopped taking them, but continued to work out and eat healthy...after two weeks I hadnt lost a single pound or an inch.
So now this is proof positive that the pills were definitely helping me to lose fat very quickly...
I just started back to taking them 2 days ago, this time I will only stick to 1 or 2 per day, and I already am noticing my ring getting much looser on my finger, and I never gained the 18 inches lost back.
So I will say just use wisdom, but by all means they do work! Just be careful with taking the 4 per day...that was pretty scary!

posted Feb 23rd, 2009 3:30 pm


Jill A

Hi, I have been on Akavar for 45 days now. I purchased a bottle at Costco Qty=60 for $13.00. I have only 15 pounds to lose. Basically my jeans were just getting too tight. My biggest problem is that I am a stress eater and often overeat. I am also sensitive to stimulants like chromium and caffeine. This is how I take Akavar: I always get 8 hours of sleep. I get up in the morning and have a huge breakfast, then I take one Akavar. It lasts me all day and food is not on my mind at all. I eat a healthy lunch and a small healthy dinner and have no urge to snack. I did have to give up coffee and any other caffeinated drinks, but I didn't mind. I have lost 8 pounds now and I will probably just finish the bottle and be good . It's not a miracle drug, but it just aids me with my food intake. I have not checked my blood pressure, but I will check that next time I am at the grocery store. It also gives me some extra energy to do more, and that burns extra calories too.

posted Feb 23rd, 2009 12:19 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account