Advertisement

| |

Home > Videos > Diets In Review Video Navigation    
User Rating

97%

of people who tried this Video like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 36 reviews

Courtney's Summer Challenge: Week 2

A veggie per meal is Courtney's challenge to you.

Courtney's Summer Challenge takes on week 2! Your challenge this week: Eat a vegetable with each meal.

Courtney wants to see you incorporate one vegetable into each of your meals this week. Just one teensy, weensy, harmless little vegetable. She recognizes that this may not be easy for some, but the rewards are plentiful for all. Vegetables offer more satiety, meaning you'll feel fuller for longer and less likely to make a hungry dash to the snacks.

Week 2 Prize: DIR T-Shirt and Free Wholly Guacamole

Participate in the challenge by posting below. It could be your progress, success, hurdles, or even encouragement for other participants. We'll draw one winner to receive a shirt and some tasty guac, announced week 3.

Sign-up for weekly updates for Courtney's Summer Challenge

Visit this link to get all of the details and archive of each week's challenge: Courtney's Summer Challenge

Courtney's Summer Challenge is sponsored by Wholly Guacamole

Flag this Video Flag this Video



> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 3, 55 total comments)

carsun

So glad I started getting my veggie/fruit basket from Farmers Market Baskets !(Atlanta area) I LOVE to saute veggies with my egg whites in the morning. No problems with that. Veggies Rock!

posted Jul 6th, 2011 11:42 am


Terree

Anyone else finding it hard to eat veggies for breakfast? I'm an oatmeal girl--most days. I love having veggies at lunch & dinner, though. Like Traci commented already, though, I sometimes struggle with the slicing & dicing process once I get my veggies home from the store. Would love tips on cutting hard squash like spaghetti squash & butternut squash. I love eating them, but find it really hard to cut them.

posted Jul 1st, 2011 6:59 pm



Shanmommy

We'll it's Friday and I have managed to add veggies to almost every meal. I found spinach and green peppers 2 of the easiest veggies to put in different dishes. Tonight we are having Chicken breast with a side of Brown rice. We're throwing in some spinach, mushrooms, tomatoes, and a bit of onion and garlic to the rice. :) Yummy!

posted Jul 1st, 2011 2:05 pm


BrandiK

Last night we grilled turkey burgers and loaded the bun with avocado, roma tomatoes, and a handful of fresh spinach leaves. For breakfast today I added spinach and mushrooms to my scrambled eggs, then wrapped in a whole grain tortilla.

posted Jun 30th, 2011 12:50 pm



Margaret14

I ate 2 salads so far this week. Feeling pretty good about it!

posted Jun 30th, 2011 12:03 pm


JimmyC

Courtney, I know its not veggies but I have been incorporating fruit into my diet. It may sound trivial but I have been neglecting a major source of nutritional goodness for over 25 years!

posted Jun 29th, 2011 11:47 pm


Andrea

YUM, veggies don't seem to be a problem for me! For a while I was making a salad with either lunch or dinner everyday. And I want to incorporate make your own salad night at my house to use up leftovers around here too! GREAT challenge! Thanks Courtney!!!

posted Jun 29th, 2011 11:28 pm



rgag86

Just made a mini low fat pizza with the veggies (mushroom, onion, pepper, and spinach) piled high! Bought some egg whites to try the scramble tomorrow morning too! :)

posted Jun 29th, 2011 1:39 pm


Kirstie

I have to be honest...i am totally not a veggie eater...so this has been a challenge so far but I've found ways to make it work! Now just hoping it shows on the scale too!

posted Jun 29th, 2011 1:05 pm



Jessica Russell

love my veggies! I had sauteed mushrooms, onions, red and orange bell peppers and fresh spinach with my scrambled egg whites this morning! yum yum yum!

posted Jun 29th, 2011 1:01 pm



Luvcombatboots

Doing my veggies today and I feel good

posted Jun 29th, 2011 12:57 pm


dhaynes

I'm so excited to find Courtney's Summer Challenge! This is exactly what I need to get me motivated and back on track this summer. I had lost 100 pounds and was at my goal. Then in January, 2011, I broke my wrist during a boot-camp gym workout. A series of surgeries, many casts, and slow recovery discouraged me and resulted in my gaining back 25 of those hard-to-lose pounds. I need to get back on track and return to the healthy, fit person I became during my weight loss journey. I believe this site will help me.

posted Jun 28th, 2011 2:08 pm



lindasuzie

No problem with this challenge! We incorporate veggies every day every meal! I lost 3 pounds doing last weeks challenge!

posted Jun 28th, 2011 1:25 pm



Meredith Wood Rutherford

love veggies! just had a big salad with romaine, spinach, chickpeas; olives; fat-free feta; tomatoes, cucumbers; red pepper; 1/4 avocado; with a mix of olive oil, balsamic vinegar and lemon juice for the dressing. summer is the best time to eat lots of farm fresh veggies. i go to my local farmers market weekly to stock up. totally down for this challenge! and i plan to keep up the walking too.

posted Jun 28th, 2011 12:47 pm



Melanie Lang Mullen

Just tried peppers in my egg whites for the first time and yumm, i have been missing out! Thanks for the challenge this week! :)

posted Jun 28th, 2011 11:25 am


Traci

I have been successfully doing this weeks challenge for 3 weeks. The biggest key for me is to bring home all of those beautiful, colorful veggies and sit down immediately to cut them up and have them ready to go in the frig. We make it a family event. We all put the groceries away and then pull out the knives and cutting boards and get started. Makes getting the veggies in so much easier and doable. And, please, make the scramble that Courtney described in the video. That's been a staple of ours most mornings and it is TRULY delicious!!!! Seeing the change in our children and seeing them grab and apple instead of a pop tart makes this Mom shed tears. <3 Thanks, Courtney!! Good luck everyone - B.E.L.I.E.V.E in yourself - you can do this!!

posted Jun 28th, 2011 11:13 am


jasmine

I replace what i used to eat for lunch with a vegetable- a bowl of broccoli, zucchini, whatever i have on hand! I've lost 8 pounds so far!!!!

posted Jun 28th, 2011 11:11 am



Laura Gatlin Manning

I love love LOVE veggies! Last night I made a delicious Asian stir-fry and it was delicious!!! This morning I made mini fritatas with egg whites, tomatoes, spinach, broccoli, and fat-free cheese. They too were very good.
I went to the farmers market yesterday and loaded up on fresh, locally grown fruits and veggies. I'm really looking forward to this week's challenge!

posted Jun 28th, 2011 11:05 am



YulilAlonsoGarza

I always eat my vegetables!

posted Jun 28th, 2011 10:56 am


Jenn

Totally in!! Love veggies!!

posted Jun 28th, 2011 10:43 am



  123
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 





Featured Blog Posts

Featured Recipes