Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

40%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 70 reviews

Tapeworm Diet

This dangerous parasite is banned in the U.S.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Eating cabbage soup for two weeks. Exercising three times day. Drinking water with lemon juice and cayenne pepper for 10 days. We can all admit to going to great lengths, even if just once, to lose those unwanted pounds. But the Tapeworm Diet has to get as extreme and desperate as the world of dieting tricks and methods come. The good news is that importing or selling tapeworms in the U.S. is illegal. Tapeworms though, do occur in undercooked beef or raw meat dishes which are prone to contamination.

So what does a tapeworm in your gut actually do? It secretes proteins in our intestinal tract that make our digestion of food much less efficient. A less efficient digestive systems means that you can consume more calories through your food since your "body guest" is also noshing on them for his own growth purposes. Some scientists estimate that those infected with a single tapeworm can lose up to one or two pounds each week. Certain tapeworms can be downright lethal like a pork tapeworm, but for beef tapeworms, you can clear up an infection by taking a dose of antibiotics.

Some diet gimmicks have created tapeworm pills but since then the FDA has intervened and banned these unsubstantiated and dangerous products.

PRO
  • Weight loss is pretty much guaranteed
  • A scientist in Japan believes that tapeworms can also help clear up allergies like hay fever
CON
  • Can be deadly
  • Banned by the FDA
  • Medical intervention may be needed to get rid of the tapeworm
  • There are side effects to having a tapeworm
  • Can't purchase or import one
  • Once you get rid of the tapeworm, you risk putting weight back if you continue eating like you have a tapeworm
DIET and NUTRITION

The Tapeworm Diet is anything but a diet. Since a sizable percentage of what you eat goes to the tapeworm, it's a virtual dieter's dream: eat whatever you want and lose weight. Taking extra vitamins during an infection might help to prevent the massive nutrient loss. Following an infection, all those lost pounds can be easily put back on if you don't follow a healthy eating plan for just you and not your parasite.

TREATMENT

Treatment for getting rid of a tapeworm varies from grotesque to the less grotesque. A strong course of antibiotics is prescribed to get rid of the tapeworm.

CONCLUSION

Let us truly be thankful for the great strides in the hygienic practices of our farms and slaughterhouses and in our water supply. Even though our bodies have evolutionarily become used to being hosts to a myriad of parasites, our modern day ways have no doubt helped us to stay healthier and live longer. Voluntarily ingesting a tapeworm to lose weight is legally a difficult thing to pull off, not to mention dangerous. Your safer and less uncomfortable way to shed some pounds is probably heeding the advice of science and research: Consume less calories and stay active. Needless to say, this is one approach to weight loss that is not smart nor safe and should not be persued by anyone.

Common Misspellings

tapworm, tapewrom, taipworm, tapewerm, tapeworm's diet, tape worm diet, tape worm


Related Diets:


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 8, 144 total comments)

Taylor

WHO IS THE FREAKING AUTHOR?! HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO CITE THIS?!?!

posted Apr 7th, 2013 9:20 pm


Sara

I think it sounds kinda lame and weird to eat a tapeworm at all, let alone to lose weight.. o.o I only know about this, because of this project for school, for health class.

posted Mar 26th, 2013 4:21 am


unkown

EVERYONE WHO DOES THIS DIET IS AN IDIOT!!!!!! OBVIOUSLY IT WOULD HURT YOU AND WOULD MAKE YOU LOOK AND FEEL GROSS! EVEN IF YOU DO LOSE WEIGHT THERE IS STILL BETTER OPTIONS THAN THIS!!!!!!

posted Feb 12th, 2013 8:53 pm


GROSS!!!!

Who would even be crazy enough to do that!!! It is the most disgusting thing ever! Also why would you even get that when you can just stop eating junk food all the time!!!!!!!!!!

posted Feb 12th, 2013 8:46 pm


James

Actually, its called "a hoax," or at least "undetermined." Like most "too good to be true schemes," one merely do a modicum of research on the Internet to verify or debunk a claim, in this case Snopes:

posted May 24th, 2012 3:52 pm


AnnieQne

ITS CALLED SELF-CONTROL! Why eat 3 pounds of food and mope and cry afterwards, feel guilty, and do it all over again? Control yourselves. Food chains people, it is no only drugs or sex. Be free in Christ. Eating too much is a sin you know....

posted May 15th, 2012 12:32 pm


Maureen

I had a tapeworm that I did not ingest on purpose - GUESS WHAT??? I did NOT lose weight, I GAINED WEIGHT!!! only after completely killing off the sucker (not easy, made me very sick) I immediately felt better and lost that big clump of freeloading mass.

posted Apr 22nd, 2012 5:33 pm


madeabadmistake

it is funny how people say that it is stupid to do this diet- WE KNOW! But we still do it because it is still an option. I was just tired of people calling me fat and it worked better than having bulimia (witch iv also had). I know i will regret it in the longrun... don't do it, its just not worth it...

posted Jan 7th, 2012 2:47 pm


damon

umm [deleted] exercise man? you people are extremely stupid for even thinking of doing this, its called eat less and get active, ring a bell? lay off the twinkies lol.

posted Nov 28th, 2011 3:05 pm


Desperate

You can say rude things, and call people names, but I wonder if you can sympathize. Do you know what its like to eat till it hurts? Then to cry, admit your stupid fat and ugly, then to swear tomarrow you'll do better. Do you know what its like to think of nothing but food...how much you hate it, how much your tierd of hearing about it and how you destroy yourself with it ? Do you know what it feels like when your eating is killing you? If you knew, then maybe this diet wouldn' t seem so desperat

posted Nov 4th, 2011 4:12 am


mulki

this is a stupied thing it can kill ya but most of yu guys are going there annyways

posted Oct 18th, 2011 1:23 pm


Alex

You can dislike this comment all you want but the diet can kill you its not worth it it worksbut you may DIE

posted Sep 21st, 2011 12:07 pm


Sarah

Hate it all you want. I tried exercise, diet, cleanses, everything. Nothing work.

However, this worked wonders. I finally lost weight with this "crazy" diet. All of you people hating it and saying "quit being lazy" obviously don't have a problem with weight.

posted Sep 9th, 2011 1:44 pm


tc

it killed me

posted Jun 30th, 2011 6:41 pm


PRUDENCE

i saw the episode and i think people should start to be comfortable in their own skin,God did not create you by mistake!!!1

posted Jun 8th, 2011 9:46 am


Shaun

im 12 and im doing an essay on this crazy diet,try this german diet mum lost 4 kilos in a week

posted May 25th, 2011 1:37 am


BruceNY

wormy, that's what i thought too...I have no fact but logic to back it up though: it would make sense that a creature that has a shorter lifespan and that reproduces much faster than ours adapts to us rather than the other way around. By the way, it's been a while since our bodies adapted to anything: we tend to conditionour environement rather than our bodies. Which leads me to my next point: if you are seriously considering the tapeworm diet you might have a bigger problem than losing a few pounds. Your problem might be that you don't want to work to get to where you want to be, and it might translate in your work or in the way you raise your kids (mom AND dad).
You cannot get everything and not lose something. I was there myself and I don't blame you, we live in a society where everything is convenient and requires minimum effort. The fact is that this procedure won't fix your problem: wou will lose weight but will still not care about your body and even less about what's in your food. Even worse, you might end up thinking that it's safe for your kids, or teach them that it doesn't matter wether or not they exercise because they have options to have it all...

posted May 24th, 2011 6:43 pm


Brenda

where do you buy the capsules if one were to try it?

posted May 17th, 2011 10:17 pm


Jody

Ok , # 1 this "diet" has been around since well before 1900, do your research, # 2 it's nasty but some people do it get over it, # 3 most things you read from people that post on the net is BS, and finally no one cares about any of your opinions every one has one, just like every one has a a** hole

posted May 8th, 2011 1:06 pm


no one

i died on this diet

posted May 6th, 2011 9:24 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account