Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

40%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 70 reviews

Tapeworm Diet

This dangerous parasite is banned in the U.S.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Eating cabbage soup for two weeks. Exercising three times day. Drinking water with lemon juice and cayenne pepper for 10 days. We can all admit to going to great lengths, even if just once, to lose those unwanted pounds. But the Tapeworm Diet has to get as extreme and desperate as the world of dieting tricks and methods come. The good news is that importing or selling tapeworms in the U.S. is illegal. Tapeworms though, do occur in undercooked beef or raw meat dishes which are prone to contamination.

So what does a tapeworm in your gut actually do? It secretes proteins in our intestinal tract that make our digestion of food much less efficient. A less efficient digestive systems means that you can consume more calories through your food since your "body guest" is also noshing on them for his own growth purposes. Some scientists estimate that those infected with a single tapeworm can lose up to one or two pounds each week. Certain tapeworms can be downright lethal like a pork tapeworm, but for beef tapeworms, you can clear up an infection by taking a dose of antibiotics.

Some diet gimmicks have created tapeworm pills but since then the FDA has intervened and banned these unsubstantiated and dangerous products.

PRO
  • Weight loss is pretty much guaranteed
  • A scientist in Japan believes that tapeworms can also help clear up allergies like hay fever
CON
  • Can be deadly
  • Banned by the FDA
  • Medical intervention may be needed to get rid of the tapeworm
  • There are side effects to having a tapeworm
  • Can't purchase or import one
  • Once you get rid of the tapeworm, you risk putting weight back if you continue eating like you have a tapeworm
DIET and NUTRITION

The Tapeworm Diet is anything but a diet. Since a sizable percentage of what you eat goes to the tapeworm, it's a virtual dieter's dream: eat whatever you want and lose weight. Taking extra vitamins during an infection might help to prevent the massive nutrient loss. Following an infection, all those lost pounds can be easily put back on if you don't follow a healthy eating plan for just you and not your parasite.

TREATMENT

Treatment for getting rid of a tapeworm varies from grotesque to the less grotesque. A strong course of antibiotics is prescribed to get rid of the tapeworm.

CONCLUSION

Let us truly be thankful for the great strides in the hygienic practices of our farms and slaughterhouses and in our water supply. Even though our bodies have evolutionarily become used to being hosts to a myriad of parasites, our modern day ways have no doubt helped us to stay healthier and live longer. Voluntarily ingesting a tapeworm to lose weight is legally a difficult thing to pull off, not to mention dangerous. Your safer and less uncomfortable way to shed some pounds is probably heeding the advice of science and research: Consume less calories and stay active. Needless to say, this is one approach to weight loss that is not smart nor safe and should not be persued by anyone.

Common Misspellings

tapworm, tapewrom, taipworm, tapewerm, tapeworm's diet, tape worm diet, tape worm


Related Diets:


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 8, 144 total comments)

kayla

i lost lot of weight

posted May 4th, 2011 4:20 pm


diana

i tried it and lost weigth

posted Apr 5th, 2011 2:29 pm


leahh

This diet is very very STUUUPID!

posted Mar 29th, 2011 3:55 pm


VEGETARIAN DIETERS

Anyone who tried this diet are pathetic... look at me i lost 15 pound in a month just by being vegetarian...

posted Feb 27th, 2011 5:03 am


paul

Hey everyone this sounds like such an interesting fad I am a journalist writing an article on interesting diets. I am looking for any body who has tried this diet and is willing to share their experience with me. If so please email me at

posted Feb 22nd, 2011 8:23 pm


bre

I enjoyed the information, the comments from the peanut gallery where also comical. What is everyone?? Thirteen? Lol

posted Feb 16th, 2011 8:13 pm


No way!

This "diet" is madness, and is way too dangerous!

Extra weight can be lost in much safer ways.

Exercise, 30 minutes to 1 hour each day if possible.
Do not skip meals, and DO eat breakfast. Eating breakfast revvs up your metabolism, which means you'll burn up more calories during the day. Not eating breakfast puts you at risk to develop obesity.
Eat a lot of vegetables.
Cut down on fatty and sugary foods.
Drink water or tea instead of soft drinks.

You can drink soft drinks or eat candy, cakes etc., but shouldn't do so daily, and you should eat low quantities.

If you still cannot lose weight, you might suffer from metabolic syndrome, or insulin resistance.
You should see a doctor to eliminate this.
Certain medications like corticoids and antidepressants are also known to cause weight gain, that can be so dramatic that a normal weight person can become obese in a few months!

posted Jan 28th, 2011 1:19 pm


wormy

It's parasites which have evolved to be tolerated by our organisms, not the other way around, and it's not all species of parasites, but only the species which have evolved to become host specific to humans.

The immunitary system tried to get rid of foreign bodies, when it detects parasites it tries to get rid of them. Parasites have evolved to deflect the immunitary system and to trick it into thinking they're part of the body!

Thus you get less severe or no allergic reactions, but at the same time you have an increased risk for cancer. Since the body is immunosupressed, it cannot get rid of tumoral cells before they turn malignant.

Species which rarely infect humans, and are not adapted to our bodies, are much more dangerous, and are full blown killers, for example, baylascaris, the racoon roundworm, which cannot develop beyond the larval stage in humans, but kills because of the immune reaction of the body.

posted Jan 28th, 2011 12:43 pm


Pg

Hmm I wonder why there are a few ProS and alot of cons, oh yeah! that's because it's STUPID. Get up & just exercise if y'all want to make ya self sick. Go ahead but your breakin the law and ya self. There's alot of comments on here, but most of them are bad. Just listen to the doctors and scientists who actually know what is good for ya. If ya fat . Lose weight the healthy and natural way. Not the bad way

posted Dec 28th, 2010 5:23 am


yocelyn

this dietis so weird i would not do it other diets are better =)

posted Dec 14th, 2010 9:25 pm


Jeanne

This article is all about reviewing the diet. It in no way endorses eating a tapeworm. I think that if people want to try losing weight via this diet, then that should be their choice, although they should carefully consider the repercussions: if the cysts from the tapeworm embed in one's muscles or organs, then surgery may be required to have them removed, and they can cause irreparable damage to internal organs. If you have a child, spouse, or pet, then it is highly likely that you will pass your tapeworm's eggs on to them, so that they will have their own tapeworms. Maybe you want to lose weight, but do you really want your child to be infested by a worm? I think that may be classified as child abuse. However, if you feel that your home is clean enough and you plan on sterilizing your toilet often, then you can probably do this diet. Just be careful.

For the rest of you badmouthing the diet... it's not your choice, and all you're doing is making yourself look silly, especially when you cannot spell or use correct grammar.

posted Nov 11th, 2010 12:32 am


Kimberly

All that like this is stupid taoeworms are dangerous I saw something about someone who did this n she DIED because the tapeworm grew so much that it had no more room so it ate its way out of her stomac and ate all her organs but if u really wanna loose weight get off ur fat ass and get to a gym and eat healthy thats how I get my weight off

posted Oct 27th, 2010 8:16 pm


gary

Are all of you people completely out of your minds? I caught a hookworm/cutaneous larve migrans and it almost killed me! it attacked one half of my body and eventually all of my organs. Disfigured my left side and i lost 40 lbs in one month. I would rather weigh 440lbs then even mess with something that has been around before the egyptians. get off your ass because a specialist in parasitic diseases said I had 41 hours left to live before treatment. My god is vanity that important? Reason being is because what was in my body wanted to take my life at all cost

posted Oct 27th, 2010 12:34 am


Dayman

Why in the would you want that in your body?

posted Oct 18th, 2010 5:31 pm


Denise

If you want to lose weight . . . You are just gonna have to quit being lazy and make time in your schedule to do the right things to achieve your goals. This includes changing your dietary habits and exercising and/or doing more things that burns calorie. The number 1 reason why people gain weight is because they do not burn off all the mega calories they ingest on a daily basis. If you take in 4,000 calories, but only burn off 2,000 by the time you hit the hay for the day .... and do this for months... I'm sure you get the picture. Just eat right at least 85% of the time, exercise and move around more often and see what happens. You can't starve yourself (you'll be undernourished), you shouldn't ingest parasites, and you shouldn't take pills that promise this and that. All you have to do is get MOTIVATED, MAKE A PLAN, SET GOALS, DO IT, and KEEP DOING IT! :P ... It is HARD to do . . . but what would you rather have... HORRIBLE SIDE EFFECTS OR EVEN DEATH from parasites and pills or . . . eating NATURAL things and just burning off the calories you actually ingest? Of course, if you are trying to lose weight, you have to burn off more than you are taking in until you get down to your goal size. Just my red cent based on me actually accomplishing this years ago. Thanks! ... (this is excluding medical conditions... totally different issue altogether, see your doctor)

posted Sep 30th, 2010 8:41 pm


yum_cherries

i would like to start off by saying that i would not be totally close minded to the people who decide to take on this tapeworm diet, but i would like to add however that tapeworms are harmful pesticites who grow on contaminated beef, chicken and swine. if you are interested in taking this diet you should do a full analysis of research because not only does it take away unwanted weight but it can stop height growth and effect your body's digestive system. be safe and think before you do.

posted Sep 17th, 2010 6:48 pm


Star

I would love to know how to get one!!! Its my body let me do what I want to it!

posted Sep 16th, 2010 7:17 pm


Jen

I think all of you people who want to try this diet should definately do it! We don't need all these stupid ignorant people reproducing and lowering the IQ of the human race! I think its a great idea; you should def do it...

posted Jul 28th, 2010 7:14 pm


HW

Another one of these fad diets that Hollywood promotes.

Sounds interesting, however. I just wonder how you can buy a tapeworm and do yo swallow it or what?

I going to do more research since this is becoming popular!

posted Jul 16th, 2010 3:40 am


Naina

This is so weird. Ewwwwww.

posted Jul 15th, 2010 1:11 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account