Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

40%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 70 reviews

Tapeworm Diet

This dangerous parasite is banned in the U.S.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Eating cabbage soup for two weeks. Exercising three times day. Drinking water with lemon juice and cayenne pepper for 10 days. We can all admit to going to great lengths, even if just once, to lose those unwanted pounds. But the Tapeworm Diet has to get as extreme and desperate as the world of dieting tricks and methods come. The good news is that importing or selling tapeworms in the U.S. is illegal. Tapeworms though, do occur in undercooked beef or raw meat dishes which are prone to contamination.

So what does a tapeworm in your gut actually do? It secretes proteins in our intestinal tract that make our digestion of food much less efficient. A less efficient digestive systems means that you can consume more calories through your food since your "body guest" is also noshing on them for his own growth purposes. Some scientists estimate that those infected with a single tapeworm can lose up to one or two pounds each week. Certain tapeworms can be downright lethal like a pork tapeworm, but for beef tapeworms, you can clear up an infection by taking a dose of antibiotics.

Some diet gimmicks have created tapeworm pills but since then the FDA has intervened and banned these unsubstantiated and dangerous products.

PRO
  • Weight loss is pretty much guaranteed
  • A scientist in Japan believes that tapeworms can also help clear up allergies like hay fever
CON
  • Can be deadly
  • Banned by the FDA
  • Medical intervention may be needed to get rid of the tapeworm
  • There are side effects to having a tapeworm
  • Can't purchase or import one
  • Once you get rid of the tapeworm, you risk putting weight back if you continue eating like you have a tapeworm
DIET and NUTRITION

The Tapeworm Diet is anything but a diet. Since a sizable percentage of what you eat goes to the tapeworm, it's a virtual dieter's dream: eat whatever you want and lose weight. Taking extra vitamins during an infection might help to prevent the massive nutrient loss. Following an infection, all those lost pounds can be easily put back on if you don't follow a healthy eating plan for just you and not your parasite.

TREATMENT

Treatment for getting rid of a tapeworm varies from grotesque to the less grotesque. A strong course of antibiotics is prescribed to get rid of the tapeworm.

CONCLUSION

Let us truly be thankful for the great strides in the hygienic practices of our farms and slaughterhouses and in our water supply. Even though our bodies have evolutionarily become used to being hosts to a myriad of parasites, our modern day ways have no doubt helped us to stay healthier and live longer. Voluntarily ingesting a tapeworm to lose weight is legally a difficult thing to pull off, not to mention dangerous. Your safer and less uncomfortable way to shed some pounds is probably heeding the advice of science and research: Consume less calories and stay active. Needless to say, this is one approach to weight loss that is not smart nor safe and should not be persued by anyone.

Common Misspellings

tapworm, tapewrom, taipworm, tapewerm, tapeworm's diet, tape worm diet, tape worm


Related Diets:


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 8, 144 total comments)

Faith

this is absolutely DISGUSTING.. are u guys RETARDED!!! who the heck would want to lose weight by placing WORMS in their stomache??? ppl in other countrys die from this!! who wants a worm in their stomache eating away at u...wat the heck..this is INSANE. to all the ppl on here who asked how to do it..why not take diet pills..u guys must be MENTAL!!!

posted Feb 9th, 2010 10:21 pm


bl

dont do this

posted Feb 8th, 2010 11:26 am


Danielle

I think this is amazing! Society says "BE THINNER" people go to the extreme to do just that...then they are looked down on. Why can't society just love people for who they are...Awesome wonderful makings of God!! Love yourself!

posted Feb 4th, 2010 3:01 pm


Karen

I HAVE A TAPEWORM... I think I got it in a border town in Mexico years ago. It is miserable! I get sick easily and am always fatigued. I thought I had some disease and did different tests for years to find out what it was. It puts out toxins that make you feel like you're flippin out. I get panic attacks. It's also very painful at certain times in it's cycle. I thought too that it might be a cyst because it would feel like it filled with fluid and get huge. I wanted someone to just cut me open or stick something in it to drain it to relieve the pressure and pain. Weight loss? I am 15 lbs overweight and have an appetite like a sumu wrestler! I finally found a dr. who discovered what the problem was and am being treated. Do you know what it is like knowing a huge worm is growing inside of you and waiting for it to come out in pieces? It's absolutely gross! I have nightmares about it. I had to give it a name in order to deal with this problem -- HURCULES!

posted Feb 3rd, 2010 2:41 pm


doll

DO NOT TRY !!!!!!!!

posted Feb 2nd, 2010 4:46 pm


zachary hill

there are certain choices about your beauty and representation to your friend of opposite sexes,that should stray you away from anything on that wing of thought.just do a simple pasta diet or vegetarian regimen,expect to loose 55 pounds a year by just filling you tummy with a non-substance (substance).you can figure this idea out .

posted Feb 1st, 2010 10:10 pm


Veronica

this is crazy....i understand that people want to lose weight but just exersize and do it the right way instead of having something live in you.... be smart dont be desperate and dumb....

posted Jan 25th, 2010 1:30 pm


sabrinadf

Greg...share your secret please...where can we find this incredible pill???

posted Jan 20th, 2010 1:53 pm


Jodi

what r people thinking

posted Jan 19th, 2010 1:03 pm


Elizabeth J.

This is the craziest thing I've wver heard of. I intend to use this as an example in my thesis: The Cost of Beauty. If you wnat to loose weight, but don't want to work for it then you will most likely gain it all back. When you work hard for something it means more to you. If you want to loose weight, eat right and exercise regularly. Remember the risks involved with this diet. You could literally die from this.

posted Jan 18th, 2010 6:37 pm


Elizabeth

This is the STUPIDEST diet I've ever heard of. I plan on using this diet as a source for my thesis: The Cost of Beauty. If you are so desperate to lose weight, stop eating junk and work out regularly. When you work hard for something, it means more to you and you'll be less likely to gain all your weight back.

posted Jan 18th, 2010 12:29 pm


Michelle

Hi,
I also have an issue with my weight. Always have. Actually, I am disappointed today that I lost over 30 pounds last year and have now put nearly every pound back on. The problem is that I love to eat... I love it. Nothing makes my day more than eating. Now that my fiance is asking me to loose weight... I know that I must. This is why I have been researching tape worms. This is absolutely ridiculous-- insane. But what else do we do... just because some idiots overused hydroxycut we now have lost our miracle pill. The new hydroxycut formula does not work--- uuuuhhhh, what do we do fat people? we need fat blockers or something... but still, a tape worm is just disguisting--- did anyone read the part about it hanging out of the anus at any given moment? Imagine having a dress on when that happens...

posted Jan 13th, 2010 7:23 pm


sam

dont do this diet its a bad diet



posted Jan 11th, 2010 1:02 pm


vixie

Ya, the product is great as long as the worm doesnt migrate and start laying eggs in your liver, kidneys or brain. Guess thats just one of those pesky side effects.

posted Jan 6th, 2010 2:19 am


OptomisticRealist

Reading this article describing the diet reminds me of the scene in Alien where it bursts out of the guy's stomach and scurries across the floor seeking refuge. Only wanting to find another host to infest and nurture it to full fruition. Back to the ole tried and true, "Art imitating life or life imitating art?". Interesting that the user, "Greg" used the term, "Infected" when promoting this diet and giving his little slimy organism friend accolades. This is a scary mindset and sets off my crazy alarm. The term utilized is both accurate and true. You are "infecting" your body with a parasite that your body was designed to fight off. You're throwing off the natural delicate balance of how the body responds to infection and disease that no amount of supplements will counteract. Your body is going to work overtime fighting this thing in your stomach (plus the dependency on supplements) that after the tapeworm has exited your body, your immune system is going to be so damaged, you'll pass away from the common cold. In my opinion, there is no difference with the extremism of labeling this as a new fad diet and labeling anorexia as a, "optimal way to lose those unwanted pounds so come on people and practice gagging on your finger while wrenching over a toilet". Can't you just imagine the cartoon like promotional commercial. I'm not trying to make light of anorexia as that is a serious disorder and addiction too many people suffer from. I am only attempting to utilize the shock factor and have people who consider this diet as being legit start to realize the ramifications of parasitic infestations. I can't help but to feel as though our warnings are falling on deaf ears and people when faced with extreme circumstances shall attempt extreme measures for resolution. People shall do what they want to their own bodies (not heeding warnings from the masses) only to rely on other people to correct stupidity through medicinal recourse and excuse lack of responsibility by labeling it a disorder. This diet is simply a new way of playing Russian Roulette. Replace gun with tapeworm and let the games begin!

posted Dec 31st, 2009 10:29 am


mike

i cant believe you people are that desprate to lose weight. its dangerous and can kill you. people have died using these methods. If you want to lose weight and cant consult your doctor dont risk your life.

posted Dec 30th, 2009 8:39 pm


ashly olds

Where can I get these tapeworm pills? Please email me if you k now.

posted Dec 29th, 2009 8:13 pm


lisa

i would like to order one how do i go about that........and i dont want to go to mexico to get it

posted Dec 29th, 2009 7:40 pm


Victoria

You must be pretty stupid to risk your life for something so superficial. In the end, you will either die or just gain all the weight back. The human body should never be treated this way. This is definitely a new low in this stupid American obsession of losing weight.

posted Dec 29th, 2009 4:21 pm


Michelle

I want to go on the tapeworm diet please tell me where i can get it.

posted Dec 29th, 2009 6:17 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account