Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

63%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 222 reviews

Nutrisystem

Lose weight with meals conveniently delivered to your home.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1972
  • Founder: Harold Katz
  • Headquarters: Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
  • Stock Symbol: NTRI
  • Accessibility: Online, Phone
  • Diet Type: Low-fat, Low-calorie, Meal Delivery, Portion Control
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Melissa Joan Hart, Marie Osmond, Dan Marino, Jillian Barberie, Terry Bradshaw
  • Get started by saving with these Nutrisystem Coupons
Nutrisystem.com
BACKGROUND

Nutrisystem is one of the most recognizable names in weight loss and has rightly earned its place among the top diets. Founded in 1972, Nutrisystem has helped millions of people lose weight on its convenient portion-controlled meals. This program takes the guesswork out of dieting and many people find it to be an easy approach to healthy weight loss.

The brand is one of the first diets to earn its marks by offering a hassle-free way to lose weight with its meal delivery service. The diet plan takes care of the majority of grocery shopping, cooking and portioning by delivering meals and snacks that are calorie-controlled and pre-prepared. All you have to do is heat and enjoy, supplementing with a few fresh grocery store items. Nutrisystem originally offered only pantry-ready foods, but in 2009 added a frozen line of meals; combined the two lines offer more than 150 menu options.

In 2014, the company unveiled Nutrisystem My Way, its new, customized plan for each individual’s metabolism. All new Nutrisystem customers will be enrolled in this personalized program, which calculates a person's metabolic rate by taking into account a variety of factors including age, sex, weight, and level of physical activity. (Prior to this program, the diet had two levels—one for men and one for women.) As part of the new My Way plan, Nutrisystem is also offering a one-week plan called Fast 5, which is being marketed as a low-calorie (1,000 a day) weeklong “jumpstart” to the program that guarantees a weight loss of 5 pounds in the first week. These results were confirmed in a clinical study.

The Nutrisystem diet is personalized to meet individual health goals and consistent with national guidelines for dietary intake meeting targets for fat, sodium, sugar, cholesterol and fiber as well as national guidelines for physical activity. All the foods are portion controlled and rely on a balanced approach by offering low glycemic index eating, to control blood sugar, that is high in protein and fiber, for satiety.

There are a range of plans at varying price points that are tailored to suit different nutritional needs, with those specifically for men, women, teens, people with diabetes and vegetarians.

Plans and meals are selected and ordered from Nutrisystem's website or by phone. You'll receive 28 days worth of food that comes in pantry-ready and or frozen containers that you simply heat before eating. Some grocery purchases will need to be made for items like fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts, whole grain bread, fish, and more.

When you sign up with Nutrisystem, you'll also receive access to a Mindset Makeover behavioral guide, a 13-week online plan to help you better understand your relationship with food. It provides steps for taking control of your eating habits. Nutrisystem customers also have online access to health information, community support, weekly newsletters, smart phone applications, and tracking tools. Additionally, you receive complimentary, optional counseling from trained weight-loss coaches, registered dietitians and certified diabetes educators.

Nutrisystem Videos

Having trouble viewing? Click here to watch the Nutrisystem Video.

PRO
  • Makes it clear what you need to do to lose weight

  • More than 71 million pounds lost by Nutrisystem customers in the past decade

  • Features more than 150 meals and snacks

  • Customizable

  • Provides balanced nutrition

  • Promotes exercise

  • Convenient

  • Vegetarian and diabetic friendly

  • Promotes weight loss at a healthy rate

  • Complimentary access to registered dietitians and weight loss counselors

  • 6th Most Popular Diet in 2012 at DietsInReview.com

  • Named "Best Convenience Diet" in USA Today's The Best of Diet & Fitness Magazine, 2013

CON
  • Meals may leave you feeling hungry

  • May be cost prohibitive for some

  • Limited flexibility for eating off plan (i.e. restaurants)

USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I tried nutrisystem in 2008 and lost 28 pounds. It was the only diet I ever went on that actually worked,yes it is a little expensive, with the veggies and dairy but if you stick to it it works. - Lori 6/28/11

I've been on NS, the diabetic program, for 3 months. I've lost 35 pounds and my blood sugar has come WAY down (from mid 200's to low 100's). And I don't find the food unpalatable at all. You can customize your order, so anything I don't like I just don't order again, and anything I like I order more off on the next shipment. Customer service has been excellent, and there is a huge member support that is extremely helpful. Plus, I AM learning how to eat properly to keep the weight off when I reach goal. Yay, Nutrisystem! - Betty 6/16/11

it absolutely works if you follow it correctly. It is easy to follow as well, but the food is horrible!!! There are only a few things that are tolerable, and even if you customize your order you will get extremely tired of eating those same things over and over. They have a plan where you get these other foods added that are frozen. They are WAY better, but you only get a couple of weeks worth of it then your back to eating the other horrible food. Totally not worth it. I've tried it three times because I did lose the weight, but I couldn't handle the food. - Whitney 5/17/11

The portion sizes are sooo small. It's not possible to just grab and go. To feel satisfied you have to add fruits and lots of vegetables. It's not as mindless as I thought it was going to be. Fruits and vegetables are expensive. Overall it works because your fat/calories are so restricted and because no one wants to wstet all the money they spent on the program. I didn't mind the food. I have don't have gourmet taste or anything. No worse than the frozen/dried meals in stores now. I will probably not buy another month worth of food. Could have probably lost weigt eating lean cuisines, protein bars etc. I think nutrisystem is a good jump start to a diet and healthier eating. - TB 1/21/11

See our in-depth Nutrisystem review completed in 2010.

Leave Your Own Review and Rating

DIET and NUTRITION

Whenever people sign up for a meal delivery diet, the big question is "What can I eat?". With Nutrisystem, there are more than 150 meal and snack options to choose from, to include pantry-ready and frozen meals. Muffins, roasted vegetable pizza, stuffed shells, macaroni and cheese, chicken noodle soup, chicken parmesan, and tacos are just a few of the entrees, while snacks include bars and pretzels. Dessert isn't out of the picture with options like oatmeal raisin cookies, chocolate, ice cream and whoopee pies. All of this is complemented by a few grocery purchases, including fresh fruits and vegetables. Each Nutrisystem meal is pre-packaged and prepared to the appropriate portion size. Many items are ready-to-eat but some require heating.

All of the Nutrisystem meals are low on the glycemic index and contain a balanced proportion of quality carbohydrates (50%), good fats (25%) and protein (25%). Meals are also low in sodium and trans fat. All of this allows customers to maintain blood sugar while maintaining a feeling of fullness, or satiety, between meals.

The women’s program contains about 1,200 calories and the men’s contains about 1,500 calories per day, but these numbers may change depending on your current weight, age, and activity level. Each day you’ll eat three meals and and two snacks with the addition of six servings of fresh fruits and vegetables. You can either custom select your own meals or choose an automated favorites meal and snack menu. Pantry-ready foods do not need to be refrigerated; however, fresh-frozen meals ship in a cooler and must be frozen until ready to prepare.

A typical day on the Nutrisystem SUCCESS program includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, one snack and a dessert. Below is a sample menu from the Nutrisystem Select option, which features some fresh-frozen items:

  • Breakfast: Granola Cereal or Honey Wheat Bagel

  • Snack: Hummus or an orange

  • Lunch: Red Beans and Rice or Chicken Tacos

  • Dinner: Meatloaf with Mashed Potatoes or Sweet and Sour Chicken

  • Dessert: Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies or Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

In December 2012, Nutrisystem announced the addition of two dozen new and improved meal options to their menu.

  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Stuffed Egg
  • Cheesecake Bar
  • Spicy Kung Pao
  • Margarita Pizza
  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Cinnamon Streusel Muffin
  • Chicken Parmesan Melt
  • Stuffed Apple Pie
  • White Chocolate Chunk Cookies
EXERCISE

Nutrisystem sees exercise as an important component to lifelong weight management and encourages members to get 150 minutes of moderate exercise each week (or 30 minutes five days a week).

The addition of the “My Daily 3” program has helped users achieve their workout goals. The program is made up of three 10-minute interval activities each day, allowing even the busiest of schedules to easily make fitness a priority. Nutrisystem customizes a fitness plan for each customer, based on an assessment taken online, and encourages your doctor to sign off on it. An example plan for a woman looks like this:

  • SUN: 20 minute hike, 10 minute bike ride

  • MON: 10 minute treadmill, 10 minute stationary bike, 10 minute rowing

  • TUE: Total body circuit training workout

  • WED: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • THU: Total body resistance band workout

  • FRI: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • SAT: 10 minutes stairs, 10 minute treadmill walking, 10 minute stationary bike

Members receive a two-week personalized fitness plan with guidance on how to increase their activity as fitness level improves and the weight loss journey progresses.

When you eat Nutrisystem's meals, you will lose weight without exercise. However, your weight loss will be more effective and sustainable if you incorporate a consistent exercise regimen. You will see faster results, have less trouble keeping the weight off, and enjoy better overall health. Find an activity you enjoy and that interests you. This will keep you motivated and looking forward to your workouts. There are online forums available to dieters for tips and suggestions from other members. Below are just a few examples of some popular choices:

  • Zumba
  • Aerobics classes
  • Walking with a buddy
  • Kickboxing
  • Yoga
  • Pilates
  • Biking
  • Swimming
  • Jogging
  • Fitness video games (example Nintendo Wii Fit)
NUTRISYSTEM FAQ

Common questions asked about the NutriSystem program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

What meals are on the menu for NutiSystem D? - Mike 5/25/11

What is the cost of NutriSystem? - David 6/4/11

Can you buy a sample of NutriSystem? - Sandy 7/6/11

CONCLUSION

Nutrisystem is a well-recognized and successful weight loss program that has helped millions of people lose weight and improve their health. It’s been calculated that in the past ten years, Nutrisystem has helped people shed more than 71 million pounds. Its convenience and portion-controlled meals are delivered to your door every month making it easy to eat healthy as you lose weight. The company has implemented many ways for members to gain support as they lose, transition, and maintain. Members are also being taught how to cook for themselves throughout the process and have access to support at all stages of the process. Exercise components to aid in faster loss and maintenance have also been added to make the program more well-rounded and allow for long-term success. While weight gain after ending a diet is common, Nutrisystem puts a lot of components in place to ensure customers have as much success during as they do after.

Nutrisystem has added many support elements so that individuals will feel comfortable to seek advice and assistance once they are past the pre-made meal stage. All variations of the Nutrisystem plans fall under the SUCCESS program and tailored to each individual, whether that be diabetes, vegetarian, men’s needs, women’s needs, budget needs, or any other issues.

NUTRISYSTEM RESOURCES

Nutrisystem Channel on DietsInReview.com

Nutrisystem.com

NutriSystem on Twitter

NutriSystem on Facebook

About NutriSystem at WebMD

NutriSystem at Wikipedia

NutriSystem Review at Everyday Health

Common Misspellings

Nutri System, Nutrasystem, Nutra system, Nutresystem, Nutrisystem.com, Nutrisytem, Nutrisytem, NutriSystem

DietsInReview.com is a paid affiliate of Nutrisystem, Inc.

Author

by


Related Diets: Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Medifast , Nu-Kitchen Fresh for NutriSystem, NutriSystem Advanced, NutriSystem Advanced Silver , NutriSystem D, NutriSystem Flex, NutriSystem for Men, NutriSystem Select, Glycemic Index


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 13, 249 total comments)

shirley coleman

I don't like the taste of the food, sometimes I even throw it up - and it taste even worse the second time around. I am going to cancel my order.

posted Apr 15th, 2011 12:25 pm


Lessie Nixon

I have used Nutrisystem successfully in the past, and have recommended it, but they now routinely fail to fill orders correctly - intentionally or through carelessness substantially reducing the number of foods ordered and replacing them with unwanted items. This raises questions about their concern for their customers. I recommend that anyone using the system keep a copy of orders made on line and open your shipments immediately.Perhaps the business has grown too big. I will help by being one less customer and work with more trustworthy organizations if I diet in the future.

posted Apr 13th, 2011 8:41 pm


toni

No offense but it's disgusting pretend food. I thought I'd be getting real food. All it was was packaging and bubble wrap. Sodium and yuk. I thought about sending it back but I didn't want to pick it out of the garbage. Heat things up and take two bites then dump it. So that's the science you pay for. yuk yuk yuk.blaaaaaaaaaaa.. No only that you still have to buy your fruits and vegetables to add to the diet. So forget buying it period and just buy your fruits and vegetables and don't waste your money on this crap.

posted Apr 11th, 2011 11:18 am


Vickie

The food isn't fantastic, but it's not terrible, and you can just order the things you like. It actually called for me to eat more than I wanted to, so there was never any "starving." I lost 50 pounds in 6 months, and I"ve kept it off. Best HEALTHY diet ever.

posted Apr 6th, 2011 6:01 pm


Dgirl

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!! The frozen foods are good and many of the lunch foods are good, but the non-frozen dinners are so high in sodium and they taste terrible! I am not a picky eater (which is why I have a weight problem to begin with) but the dinners are just aweful. And of the snacks and breakfast foods, all of the caky type things like carrot cake and cinnamon rolls either have mold on them or they are rock hard. We signed up for the automated delivery, which they don't even notify you that they will be processing the order - you just see the money taken out of your account on the day they 'process' the order. I called to say I don't want it but they said it already shipped and the frozen stuff will be delivered today. This is supposed to be a 28 day supply and the last frozen order was only 2 weeks ago. They said I can return the stuff at my own expense. I say again DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

posted Apr 6th, 2011 5:36 pm


Dan

I had success with Nutrisystem. I don't like cooking and have low self control with eating. Nutrisystems' foods kept me full. I did my own form of weight loss. Only NS food plus some vegetables. 1200 calories a day when I need 3200. I would lose 4-5 pounds a week at the start. I like the system if you want to lose weight fast.

posted Apr 2nd, 2011 8:39 pm


Monica

Unfortunately, I had a terrible experience with Nutrisystem. The food was NOT edible. They charged me without permission, they would not provide me with a copy of my contract (electronically or otherwise) and then charged me again to cancel! Then, they wouldn't let me file a complaint with customer service. Not to mention I had much better result with Weight Watchers! Please DO NOT waste your money on Nutrisystem.

posted Mar 28th, 2011 10:34 am


Wolfe

I have just forced myself thru 1 1/2 months of this junk and will be tossing most of it that is left in the garbage! Most of the lunches ( reconstitued soups) are worse than WW2 C or K rations , and not as good as store bought dry mixes. The deserts are over the top with chocolate Bars , small cakes,and mix your self Puddings! I have tried most every thing that they produce and find 2//3 of the products to be subpar in taste and texture and eye appeal. Save yourselves a lot of money and learn to make correct serving sizes,and the correct foods,and do a minimal amount of excerise each week and you will lose weight and become healthier. Also be prepaired to spend another 1/3rd more for the add to's in vegetable's and extra's.

posted Mar 25th, 2011 10:40 pm


auhi

I started nutrisystem today and the food in fact is not bad at all! Almost not hungry at all, i have manage, hope everything goes well. :)

posted Mar 25th, 2011 9:47 pm


Rosie

This diet is good for folks who can't plan and can stick with highly processed foods plus some salads. I didn't like the food - high carb, high sodium. It really worked for my sister but with my diabetes and high blood pressure, the sodium level was too high. My doctor wants me to see a dietician to reduce salt.

posted Mar 25th, 2011 8:24 pm


Barbara Lemons

When do I get to eat a slice of whole wheat bread? Also, I do not see sugar-free jello on the list in my booklet? This first two days gave me a galloping case of diarrhea and I get that easily because the metformin that I take for diabetes is also likely to cause diarrhea. Help. Otherwise, I like what I have eaten so far. Thanks.

posted Mar 23rd, 2011 7:42 pm


marilyn

Hard to deal with. Missing item was not sent after 11 days. Must go through a long chat by the company till I handed my husband the phone. First I tried to email and they never returned my inquiry. Food to high in sodium,carbs and fiber. Such gas and bloat.Who are they trying to kid. Marie should be ashamed,

posted Mar 22nd, 2011 6:00 pm


JJ

In addition to the article, for me,

Pro's: convenience and portion control.

Cons:
- Not a Healthy, Sustainable way of eating long term - just another quick fix diet.

- Highly processed food

- Loaded with undesirable additives and lots of Aspartame.

- Almost every Item is sweet, even many lunches & dinners.,this does not promote "responsible" eating habits.



So-so:

- One of the "Pro's" listed above is: "Supplement with fresh produce from grocery store"; This can also be a con as it ads cost - and you still need to shop. (you also need to add dairy)

- The food is not great tasting, but edible. Lots of "Meal replacement bars" (not a fan of these). But you can choose your own menu items.

- Not the Best Diet solution - but if you have tried everything else, and must lose weight for health reasons, this may be worth a try.

posted Mar 19th, 2011 12:48 pm



Jenni11

I love NS. I love how the food tastes and have had no problems with orders or anything. I had tons of friends recomment the program because of how successful it was for them. I lost 15lbs the first month. I am just starting my 2nd month and excited to see my results at the end of the month. I love the new frozen foods also. I find it funny that people blame the company for things they could have and should have researched themselves before buying into the program. I also have diabetes and the plan really has helped regulate my blood sugar. In fact at my last dr appt I was told my diabetes was getting BETTER...Can't beat that. As for buying food outside of what you pay for of course you have to buy dairy fruits and veggies and if you did that prior to this program and eating them rather than going out or eating processed foods then we all wouldn't be here trying to lose weight. My kids are eating healthier because of me being on the program and love eating their fruits and veggies. Thank you NS. The food is good...there are a few items I wasn't fond of but I went to my acct and changed the choices that way I get what I like delivered to me.

posted Mar 13th, 2011 4:07 pm


june mcclerkin

I ordered nutri system 3 days ago and I paid 19.95 which i was told was a rush delivery chage and was soppose to receive my food by 12: the next day now I can't gt anyone to call me back. I am now told it will be on the 18th of this month which will be abt 2 1/2 weeks after i placed my order.. I believe it is a scam and i don't want any thing to do with it. i am going to my bank tomorrow to get my chages reversed

posted Mar 8th, 2011 9:14 pm


Joan

I ordered NS thru QVC and started it a week ago.
I'm not happy with it, especially the dinners, what do they put in it that makes it have a funny taste??? The breakfasts and snacks aren't to bad but the dinners....awful. If I paid the regular price for it I would have sent it back.
I know Jennie Craig is expensive but it's probably worth it to have food that tastes like food.

posted Feb 22nd, 2011 11:16 am


JL

Nutrisystem is awesome for people who are ready to make some changes and get healthy. You can't "diet", lose the weight and expect to go back to your old habits. It's really about getting rid of the factors that made you unhealthy in the first place. If eating fruits and veggies aren't something you care to do then don't bother with Nutrisystem. Continue to go through the drive-thru and use all time you saved yourself to complain about why you're fat.

posted Feb 19th, 2011 8:43 am


Ernest Cera

order was and is wrong. ordered diabetric program . u sent pasta crapi am a diabetic and ordered your diet for diabetics and u send me tons of pasta that i can not eat. i would like to return this junk and get a rebate. i am 70 years old and retired. if u can not get the orders right get out of the business. i can,t gave away this stuff. i would like to cancel my order.

posted Feb 18th, 2011 3:02 pm


Jill

I tried this diet for two months and really liked it. The food tasted reasonable for the price of the diet. There were a few things I couldn't stand to eat and I just called them and asked for something different. They were real nice about it and sent me new items of my choosing and never asked me to send back the items I couldn't eat. i quit after losing 10 pounds and decided I'd try to duplicate the diet on my own, only it's quite difficult and I failed at that. Two months later, I've gained back the ten pounds by eating exactly as I have pleased, but now it's time for me to go back and try Nutrisystem again. I'm looking forward to it with their new great prices and I plan on losing a lot more this time and sticking to it a little longer. Yes, I would definitely recommend this diet to anyone who wants to lose weight easily and fast.

posted Feb 17th, 2011 10:34 pm


Pixie

To the people that complain about the cancellation fees it's stated clearly that if you cancel before 2 months you will be charged a fee. It's also very clear on the website that you buy your own fruit and vegetables.

In regards to the diet I like it. The food isn't the best but it works. I would compare it to a Lean Cuisine. A few things I have gagged on but I can select my food options for the most part and not pick that one again. I think if they improved the taste of their food they would have one of the best affordable diet plans.

It's affordable and easy to follow. I'm really happy that they now include frozen food. Eating just the prepackaged food gets old.

I had no plans to use the online tools because they seemed too basic. However there are some fun things people do on the discussion boards. Biggest Loser challenge was a great motivator.

posted Feb 17th, 2011 3:06 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account