Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

59%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 250 reviews

Nutrisystem

Lose weight with meals conveniently delivered to your home.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1972
  • Founder: Harold Katz
  • Headquarters: Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
  • Stock Symbol: NTRI
  • Accessibility: Online, Phone
  • Diet Type: Low-fat, Low-calorie, Meal Delivery, Portion Control
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Melissa Joan Hart, Marie Osmond, Dan Marino, Jillian Barberie, Terry Bradshaw
  • Get started by saving with these Nutrisystem Coupons
Nutrisystem.com
BACKGROUND

Nutrisystem is one of the most recognizable names in weight loss and has rightly earned its place among the top diets. Founded in 1972, Nutrisystem has helped millions of people lose weight on its convenient portion-controlled meals. This program takes the guesswork out of dieting and many people find it to be an easy approach to healthy weight loss.

The brand is one of the first diets to earn its marks by offering a hassle-free way to lose weight with its meal delivery service. The diet plan takes care of the majority of grocery shopping, cooking and portioning by delivering meals and snacks that are calorie-controlled and pre-prepared. All you have to do is heat and enjoy, supplementing with a few fresh grocery store items. Nutrisystem originally offered only pantry-ready foods, but in 2009 added a frozen line of meals; combined the two lines offer more than 150 menu options.

In 2014, the company unveiled Nutrisystem My Way, its new, customized plan for each individual’s metabolism. All new Nutrisystem customers will be enrolled in this personalized program, which calculates a person's metabolic rate by taking into account a variety of factors including age, sex, weight, and level of physical activity. (Prior to this program, the diet had two levels—one for men and one for women.) As part of the new My Way plan, Nutrisystem is also offering a one-week plan called Fast 5, which is being marketed as a low-calorie (1,000 a day) weeklong “jumpstart” to the program that guarantees a weight loss of 5 pounds in the first week. These results were confirmed in a clinical study.

The Nutrisystem diet is personalized to meet individual health goals and consistent with national guidelines for dietary intake meeting targets for fat, sodium, sugar, cholesterol and fiber as well as national guidelines for physical activity. All the foods are portion controlled and rely on a balanced approach by offering low glycemic index eating, to control blood sugar, that is high in protein and fiber, for satiety.

There are a range of plans at varying price points that are tailored to suit different nutritional needs, with those specifically for men, women, teens, people with diabetes and vegetarians.

Plans and meals are selected and ordered from Nutrisystem's website or by phone. You'll receive 28 days worth of food that comes in pantry-ready and or frozen containers that you simply heat before eating. Some grocery purchases will need to be made for items like fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts, whole grain bread, fish, and more.

When you sign up with Nutrisystem, you'll also receive access to a Mindset Makeover behavioral guide, a 13-week online plan to help you better understand your relationship with food. It provides steps for taking control of your eating habits. Nutrisystem customers also have online access to health information, community support, weekly newsletters, smart phone applications, and tracking tools. Additionally, you receive complimentary, optional counseling from trained weight-loss coaches, registered dietitians and certified diabetes educators.

Nutrisystem Videos

Having trouble viewing? Click here to watch the Nutrisystem Video.

PRO
  • Makes it clear what you need to do to lose weight

  • More than 71 million pounds lost by Nutrisystem customers in the past decade

  • Features more than 150 meals and snacks

  • Customizable

  • Provides balanced nutrition

  • Promotes exercise

  • Convenient

  • Vegetarian and diabetic friendly

  • Promotes weight loss at a healthy rate

  • Complimentary access to registered dietitians and weight loss counselors

  • 6th Most Popular Diet in 2012 at DietsInReview.com

  • Named "Best Convenience Diet" in USA Today's The Best of Diet & Fitness Magazine, 2013

CON
  • Meals may leave you feeling hungry

  • May be cost prohibitive for some

  • Limited flexibility for eating off plan (i.e. restaurants)

USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I tried nutrisystem in 2008 and lost 28 pounds. It was the only diet I ever went on that actually worked,yes it is a little expensive, with the veggies and dairy but if you stick to it it works. - Lori 6/28/11

I've been on NS, the diabetic program, for 3 months. I've lost 35 pounds and my blood sugar has come WAY down (from mid 200's to low 100's). And I don't find the food unpalatable at all. You can customize your order, so anything I don't like I just don't order again, and anything I like I order more off on the next shipment. Customer service has been excellent, and there is a huge member support that is extremely helpful. Plus, I AM learning how to eat properly to keep the weight off when I reach goal. Yay, Nutrisystem! - Betty 6/16/11

it absolutely works if you follow it correctly. It is easy to follow as well, but the food is horrible!!! There are only a few things that are tolerable, and even if you customize your order you will get extremely tired of eating those same things over and over. They have a plan where you get these other foods added that are frozen. They are WAY better, but you only get a couple of weeks worth of it then your back to eating the other horrible food. Totally not worth it. I've tried it three times because I did lose the weight, but I couldn't handle the food. - Whitney 5/17/11

The portion sizes are sooo small. It's not possible to just grab and go. To feel satisfied you have to add fruits and lots of vegetables. It's not as mindless as I thought it was going to be. Fruits and vegetables are expensive. Overall it works because your fat/calories are so restricted and because no one wants to wstet all the money they spent on the program. I didn't mind the food. I have don't have gourmet taste or anything. No worse than the frozen/dried meals in stores now. I will probably not buy another month worth of food. Could have probably lost weigt eating lean cuisines, protein bars etc. I think nutrisystem is a good jump start to a diet and healthier eating. - TB 1/21/11

See our in-depth Nutrisystem review completed in 2010.

Leave Your Own Review and Rating

DIET and NUTRITION

Whenever people sign up for a meal delivery diet, the big question is "What can I eat?". With Nutrisystem, there are more than 150 meal and snack options to choose from, to include pantry-ready and frozen meals. Muffins, roasted vegetable pizza, stuffed shells, macaroni and cheese, chicken noodle soup, chicken parmesan, and tacos are just a few of the entrees, while snacks include bars and pretzels. Dessert isn't out of the picture with options like oatmeal raisin cookies, chocolate, ice cream and whoopee pies. All of this is complemented by a few grocery purchases, including fresh fruits and vegetables. Each Nutrisystem meal is pre-packaged and prepared to the appropriate portion size. Many items are ready-to-eat but some require heating.

All of the Nutrisystem meals are low on the glycemic index and contain a balanced proportion of quality carbohydrates (50%), good fats (25%) and protein (25%). Meals are also low in sodium and trans fat. All of this allows customers to maintain blood sugar while maintaining a feeling of fullness, or satiety, between meals.

The women’s program contains about 1,200 calories and the men’s contains about 1,500 calories per day, but these numbers may change depending on your current weight, age, and activity level. Each day you’ll eat three meals and and two snacks with the addition of six servings of fresh fruits and vegetables. You can either custom select your own meals or choose an automated favorites meal and snack menu. Pantry-ready foods do not need to be refrigerated; however, fresh-frozen meals ship in a cooler and must be frozen until ready to prepare.

A typical day on the Nutrisystem SUCCESS program includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, one snack and a dessert. Below is a sample menu from the Nutrisystem Select option, which features some fresh-frozen items:

  • Breakfast: Granola Cereal or Honey Wheat Bagel

  • Snack: Hummus or an orange

  • Lunch: Red Beans and Rice or Chicken Tacos

  • Dinner: Meatloaf with Mashed Potatoes or Sweet and Sour Chicken

  • Dessert: Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies or Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

In December 2012, Nutrisystem announced the addition of two dozen new and improved meal options to their menu.

  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Stuffed Egg
  • Cheesecake Bar
  • Spicy Kung Pao
  • Margarita Pizza
  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Cinnamon Streusel Muffin
  • Chicken Parmesan Melt
  • Stuffed Apple Pie
  • White Chocolate Chunk Cookies
EXERCISE

Nutrisystem sees exercise as an important component to lifelong weight management and encourages members to get 150 minutes of moderate exercise each week (or 30 minutes five days a week).

The addition of the “My Daily 3” program has helped users achieve their workout goals. The program is made up of three 10-minute interval activities each day, allowing even the busiest of schedules to easily make fitness a priority. Nutrisystem customizes a fitness plan for each customer, based on an assessment taken online, and encourages your doctor to sign off on it. An example plan for a woman looks like this:

  • SUN: 20 minute hike, 10 minute bike ride

  • MON: 10 minute treadmill, 10 minute stationary bike, 10 minute rowing

  • TUE: Total body circuit training workout

  • WED: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • THU: Total body resistance band workout

  • FRI: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • SAT: 10 minutes stairs, 10 minute treadmill walking, 10 minute stationary bike

Members receive a two-week personalized fitness plan with guidance on how to increase their activity as fitness level improves and the weight loss journey progresses.

When you eat Nutrisystem's meals, you will lose weight without exercise. However, your weight loss will be more effective and sustainable if you incorporate a consistent exercise regimen. You will see faster results, have less trouble keeping the weight off, and enjoy better overall health. Find an activity you enjoy and that interests you. This will keep you motivated and looking forward to your workouts. There are online forums available to dieters for tips and suggestions from other members. Below are just a few examples of some popular choices:

  • Zumba
  • Aerobics classes
  • Walking with a buddy
  • Kickboxing
  • Yoga
  • Pilates
  • Biking
  • Swimming
  • Jogging
  • Fitness video games (example Nintendo Wii Fit)
NUTRISYSTEM FAQ

Common questions asked about the NutriSystem program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

What meals are on the menu for NutiSystem D? - Mike 5/25/11

What is the cost of NutriSystem? - David 6/4/11

Can you buy a sample of NutriSystem? - Sandy 7/6/11

CONCLUSION

Nutrisystem is a well-recognized and successful weight loss program that has helped millions of people lose weight and improve their health. It’s been calculated that in the past ten years, Nutrisystem has helped people shed more than 71 million pounds. Its convenience and portion-controlled meals are delivered to your door every month making it easy to eat healthy as you lose weight. The company has implemented many ways for members to gain support as they lose, transition, and maintain. Members are also being taught how to cook for themselves throughout the process and have access to support at all stages of the process. Exercise components to aid in faster loss and maintenance have also been added to make the program more well-rounded and allow for long-term success. While weight gain after ending a diet is common, Nutrisystem puts a lot of components in place to ensure customers have as much success during as they do after.

Nutrisystem has added many support elements so that individuals will feel comfortable to seek advice and assistance once they are past the pre-made meal stage. All variations of the Nutrisystem plans fall under the SUCCESS program and tailored to each individual, whether that be diabetes, vegetarian, men’s needs, women’s needs, budget needs, or any other issues.

NUTRISYSTEM RESOURCES

Nutrisystem Channel on DietsInReview.com

Nutrisystem.com

NutriSystem on Twitter

NutriSystem on Facebook

About NutriSystem at WebMD

NutriSystem at Wikipedia

Common Misspellings

Nutri System, Nutrasystem, Nutra system, Nutresystem, Nutrisystem.com, Nutrisytem, Nutrisytem, NutriSystem

DietsInReview.com is a paid affiliate of Nutrisystem, Inc.

Author

by


Related Diets: Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Medifast , Nu-Kitchen Fresh for NutriSystem, NutriSystem Advanced, NutriSystem Advanced Silver , NutriSystem D, NutriSystem Flex, NutriSystem for Men, NutriSystem Select, Glycemic Index


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 13, 259 total comments)

V Broman

I ordered a week early due to my hectic schedule, and told the representative that I was not going to start for a week. The first week (fast 5) I lost 1 pound. I called and was told that the amount of weight to lose is really a percentage, and because I was not overweight, that was good. After the first week of food, I was told I should eat more, etc. I then chose to cancel, since I did not lose much weight, and now they say it will cost me $80 to cancel. So BEWARE. IF IT DOES NOT WORK THE FIRST 14 DAYS, DEMAND YOUR MONEY BACK. Do not listen to their excuses or they will make you pay for another month of food, even if you told them it was not working within the 14 days!

posted Apr 28th, 2015 10:18 pm


Bob

Perhaps if you are really, really overweight and can totally buy into their system and tolerate their chocolaty drinks/bars and pasta w/ what tastes like reconstituted meat meals, you may lose weight. But it won't come as quickly as they'd like you to believe, nor as cheaply - the $10-12/day, when augmented with groceries to fill out the necessary menu add-ons will set you back another $5. After 7 weeks, I lost about 8 lbs. at a cost of around $100/lb. A better alternative, and much faster, might be a gentle laxative. Also watch out for penalty shipping costs - another $75 - if you're not totally satisfied after the 14 day trial period.

On balance: a positive: they are an extraordinarily accomplished marketing organization. .

posted Apr 23rd, 2015 7:43 pm


Marie Gifford

I'm new to NS. I can also make the food work where it tastes good, but NS is in the process of transitioning their program from one NS website to two websites. Users will now have to use the NS website for food management only. They have another site called NuMi that is basically a food tracker. It is a lousy food tracker and doesn't give a person room to track their powerfuels and smart carbs. Apparently, NS is saying now that they can be eaten any time (but still no way to track accurately on NuMi).

A major problem is NS is doing away with their discussion boards (even though their current website has this as one of their selling points). This is significant for several reasons. Once the transition is complete, no members will have access to a discussion board with other losers, weight maintainers, and newbies. They suggest using their Facebook forum but their are so many security issues with that. When I first received my shipment, it was overwhelming. The counselors were not helpful and not reliable in that I would get different answers to the same questions. It was the discussion board members that assisted me in understanding how the NS program worked. Members on the board also hold challenges that people participate in which is all helpful to weight loss.

NS also had a "Daily Dose" that you could click and read and receive discounts, etc. after a period of time. They will still have the "Daily Dose" on the NuMi website, but you get nothing for reading them. Basically, NS is doing away with all their current perks.

So I'm on to using myfitnesspal.com and will be able to do this by buying my food to fit the tracker.

Good luck to all those on a weight loss journey.

posted Apr 20th, 2015 9:50 pm


Cheryl

Do I buy the snacks or will I recieve them in another order? I want to know how many food items I will receive. I'm really excited about starting this. I have noticed that there are no snacks all desserts. Without the shakes I have about 130 135 food items. Please let me know asap. I am so ready to get started.

posted Apr 17th, 2015 10:04 pm


Laura

You can't pick your food in the first auto delivery order and some of the food that is sent is bad and poorly rated. I also had issues trying to delay the delivery of an order because I was going on vacation. I received a confirmation email of the delay but they sent it anyway and then gave me a very hard time trying to get credit for the frozen food.

posted Mar 18th, 2015 3:08 am


Phyllis McQueen

Easy to follow BUT the food is disgusting and a lot of them are hard for me to open. I regret buying this crap!

posted Mar 8th, 2015 4:02 am


Leticia

I bought the 5 day box at Walmart and did not finish it. They need to improve the taste on the meals and muffins. I do not recommend it

posted Feb 14th, 2015 6:02 am


Helene Gates

My mom got me started on this program. She began with the fast 5 and lost 8 pounds in the first week. I am on my second day and so far so good. I feel that the food is very good a flavorful! This program is perfect for me, because I am not the best when it comes to portion control. My favorite part of the program is the desserts. I so far tried the carrot cake and it was so good. This morning I began with the blueberry muffin and for lunch the loaded baked potato. I am very satisfied with this program. I haven't purchased my food box online. I purchased a 5 day kit at Wal-Mart so I can buy the meals weakly.

posted Jan 27th, 2015 5:58 pm


jo ann j. hilmes

This is the fourth time I am ordering Nujtrisystem and I did not lose one ounce the other three times. Whatt am doing wrong

posted Jan 18th, 2015 8:22 pm


billy

i dont have any changes with my body..i have really only lost 10 pounds im 12 weeks..maybe it only works for some people.

posted Dec 7th, 2014 2:38 am


Pauline

Ithis plan is really high in salt. Is there a plan that is low sodium

posted May 26th, 2014 4:57 pm


gloria mcmillian

It is not as simple as they claim. buying grocer items and figuring out what to buy is a pain. False advertising not telling a person the difficulty buying the food to go with it. very disappointed.

posted Apr 28th, 2014 2:13 am


Joseph Leising

Food almost always tasted good; the plan worked for me. Did not like that orders continued to be shipped automatically after the first month unless I cancelled

posted Apr 16th, 2014 1:08 pm


Deb

I like the system, but the food is not good at all. Bla..bla..bla No taste, and very weird textures. I lost ONE pound in a week with the 5 day weight loss quick start.

posted Mar 21st, 2014 5:14 pm


Joann Webb

May I substitute shakes for meals in my order

posted Feb 26th, 2014 2:34 pm


Penney Snyder

I have lost 17 lbs in 5 weeks! The food is great and I can take it without having to dish out portions. I spend as much or more grocery shopping so this is a win, win for me.

posted Feb 13th, 2014 2:18 pm


Cecelia

I purchased one of the 5-day starter kits from Walmart and with a few exceptions found the food to be tasteless and boring. The chili and some of the granola bars were somewhat edible but the rest was horrible and the portions were so small that I found I was hungry again in less than 2 hours. I was really excited about trying a few months of your plan to help me get started but if the starter kit was an example of what I could expect I decided it was not worth it.

posted Jan 12th, 2014 11:09 pm


G.

This is a great diet and it's more than a diet... it's a lesson in portion control and healthy eating habits. If you're interesting in trying nutrisystem for the first time you can get a free $30 nutrisystem coupon code by emailing me at ggartnerislander@gmail.com. I will send it to you immediately and you will be on your way to success!

posted Oct 28th, 2013 5:36 am


Michelle

After struggling with my weight my entire life I finally tried Nutrisystem and lost 41 pounds!! That was two years ago and the weight is STILL off!!! I found the program simple to follow and the food was awesome!! I still order some of the food today because I simply LOVE it and want it in my daily diet :-) ! I am 34 years young and in the best shape of my life! I even have my first 1/2 marathon coming up in three weeks!!! For the first time in my life I have control of my weight and it feels AMAZING!!!! I have Nutrisysyem to thank for getting me to this amazing place! I never want to look back :-)

posted Sep 11th, 2013 2:44 pm


Lisa

Very easy to follow- all my meals for the month were sent right to me! I liked the on-line tracking of my meals, exercise, and progress. I saw results from the very first week.

posted Sep 9th, 2013 4:39 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account