Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

63%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 221 reviews

Nutrisystem

Lose weight with meals conveniently delivered to your home.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1972
  • Founder: Harold Katz
  • Headquarters: Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
  • Stock Symbol: NTRI
  • Accessibility: Online, Phone
  • Diet Type: Low-fat, Low-calorie, Meal Delivery, Portion Control
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Melissa Joan Hart, Marie Osmond, Dan Marino, Jillian Barberie, Terry Bradshaw
  • Get started by saving with these Nutrisystem Coupons
Nutrisystem.com
BACKGROUND

Nutrisystem is one of the most recognizable names in weight loss and has rightly earned its place among the top diets. Founded in 1972, Nutrisystem has helped millions of people lose weight on its convenient portion-controlled meals. This program takes the guesswork out of dieting and many people find it to be an easy approach to healthy weight loss.

The brand is one of the first diets to earn its marks by offering a hassle-free way to lose weight with its meal delivery service. The diet plan takes care of the majority of grocery shopping, cooking and portioning by delivering meals and snacks that are calorie-controlled and pre-prepared. All you have to do is heat and enjoy, supplementing with a few fresh grocery store items. Nutrisystem originally offered only pantry-ready foods, but in 2009 added a frozen line of meals; combined the two lines offer more than 150 menu options.

In 2014, the company unveiled Nutrisystem My Way, its new, customized plan for each individual’s metabolism. All new Nutrisystem customers will be enrolled in this personalized program, which calculates a person's metabolic rate by taking into account a variety of factors including age, sex, weight, and level of physical activity. (Prior to this program, the diet had two levels—one for men and one for women.) As part of the new My Way plan, Nutrisystem is also offering a one-week plan called Fast 5, which is being marketed as a low-calorie (1,000 a day) weeklong “jumpstart” to the program that guarantees a weight loss of 5 pounds in the first week. These results were confirmed in a clinical study.

The Nutrisystem diet is personalized to meet individual health goals and consistent with national guidelines for dietary intake meeting targets for fat, sodium, sugar, cholesterol and fiber as well as national guidelines for physical activity. All the foods are portion controlled and rely on a balanced approach by offering low glycemic index eating, to control blood sugar, that is high in protein and fiber, for satiety.

There are a range of plans at varying price points that are tailored to suit different nutritional needs, with those specifically for men, women, teens, people with diabetes and vegetarians.

Plans and meals are selected and ordered from Nutrisystem's website or by phone. You'll receive 28 days worth of food that comes in pantry-ready and or frozen containers that you simply heat before eating. Some grocery purchases will need to be made for items like fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts, whole grain bread, fish, and more.

When you sign up with Nutrisystem, you'll also receive access to a Mindset Makeover behavioral guide, a 13-week online plan to help you better understand your relationship with food. It provides steps for taking control of your eating habits. Nutrisystem customers also have online access to health information, community support, weekly newsletters, smart phone applications, and tracking tools. Additionally, you receive complimentary, optional counseling from trained weight-loss coaches, registered dietitians and certified diabetes educators.

Nutrisystem Videos

Having trouble viewing? Click here to watch the Nutrisystem Video.

PRO
  • Makes it clear what you need to do to lose weight

  • More than 71 million pounds lost by Nutrisystem customers in the past decade

  • Features more than 150 meals and snacks

  • Customizable

  • Provides balanced nutrition

  • Promotes exercise

  • Convenient

  • Vegetarian and diabetic friendly

  • Promotes weight loss at a healthy rate

  • Complimentary access to registered dietitians and weight loss counselors

  • 6th Most Popular Diet in 2012 at DietsInReview.com

  • Named "Best Convenience Diet" in USA Today's The Best of Diet & Fitness Magazine, 2013

CON
  • Meals may leave you feeling hungry

  • May be cost prohibitive for some

  • Limited flexibility for eating off plan (i.e. restaurants)

USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I tried nutrisystem in 2008 and lost 28 pounds. It was the only diet I ever went on that actually worked,yes it is a little expensive, with the veggies and dairy but if you stick to it it works. - Lori 6/28/11

I've been on NS, the diabetic program, for 3 months. I've lost 35 pounds and my blood sugar has come WAY down (from mid 200's to low 100's). And I don't find the food unpalatable at all. You can customize your order, so anything I don't like I just don't order again, and anything I like I order more off on the next shipment. Customer service has been excellent, and there is a huge member support that is extremely helpful. Plus, I AM learning how to eat properly to keep the weight off when I reach goal. Yay, Nutrisystem! - Betty 6/16/11

it absolutely works if you follow it correctly. It is easy to follow as well, but the food is horrible!!! There are only a few things that are tolerable, and even if you customize your order you will get extremely tired of eating those same things over and over. They have a plan where you get these other foods added that are frozen. They are WAY better, but you only get a couple of weeks worth of it then your back to eating the other horrible food. Totally not worth it. I've tried it three times because I did lose the weight, but I couldn't handle the food. - Whitney 5/17/11

The portion sizes are sooo small. It's not possible to just grab and go. To feel satisfied you have to add fruits and lots of vegetables. It's not as mindless as I thought it was going to be. Fruits and vegetables are expensive. Overall it works because your fat/calories are so restricted and because no one wants to wstet all the money they spent on the program. I didn't mind the food. I have don't have gourmet taste or anything. No worse than the frozen/dried meals in stores now. I will probably not buy another month worth of food. Could have probably lost weigt eating lean cuisines, protein bars etc. I think nutrisystem is a good jump start to a diet and healthier eating. - TB 1/21/11

See our in-depth Nutrisystem review completed in 2010.

Leave Your Own Review and Rating

DIET and NUTRITION

Whenever people sign up for a meal delivery diet, the big question is "What can I eat?". With Nutrisystem, there are more than 150 meal and snack options to choose from, to include pantry-ready and frozen meals. Muffins, roasted vegetable pizza, stuffed shells, macaroni and cheese, chicken noodle soup, chicken parmesan, and tacos are just a few of the entrees, while snacks include bars and pretzels. Dessert isn't out of the picture with options like oatmeal raisin cookies, chocolate, ice cream and whoopee pies. All of this is complemented by a few grocery purchases, including fresh fruits and vegetables. Each Nutrisystem meal is pre-packaged and prepared to the appropriate portion size. Many items are ready-to-eat but some require heating.

All of the Nutrisystem meals are low on the glycemic index and contain a balanced proportion of quality carbohydrates (50%), good fats (25%) and protein (25%). Meals are also low in sodium and trans fat. All of this allows customers to maintain blood sugar while maintaining a feeling of fullness, or satiety, between meals.

The women’s program contains about 1,200 calories and the men’s contains about 1,500 calories per day, but these numbers may change depending on your current weight, age, and activity level. Each day you’ll eat three meals and and two snacks with the addition of six servings of fresh fruits and vegetables. You can either custom select your own meals or choose an automated favorites meal and snack menu. Pantry-ready foods do not need to be refrigerated; however, fresh-frozen meals ship in a cooler and must be frozen until ready to prepare.

A typical day on the Nutrisystem SUCCESS program includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, one snack and a dessert. Below is a sample menu from the Nutrisystem Select option, which features some fresh-frozen items:

  • Breakfast: Granola Cereal or Honey Wheat Bagel

  • Snack: Hummus or an orange

  • Lunch: Red Beans and Rice or Chicken Tacos

  • Dinner: Meatloaf with Mashed Potatoes or Sweet and Sour Chicken

  • Dessert: Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies or Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

In December 2012, Nutrisystem announced the addition of two dozen new and improved meal options to their menu.

  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Stuffed Egg
  • Cheesecake Bar
  • Spicy Kung Pao
  • Margarita Pizza
  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Cinnamon Streusel Muffin
  • Chicken Parmesan Melt
  • Stuffed Apple Pie
  • White Chocolate Chunk Cookies
EXERCISE

Nutrisystem sees exercise as an important component to lifelong weight management and encourages members to get 150 minutes of moderate exercise each week (or 30 minutes five days a week).

The addition of the “My Daily 3” program has helped users achieve their workout goals. The program is made up of three 10-minute interval activities each day, allowing even the busiest of schedules to easily make fitness a priority. Nutrisystem customizes a fitness plan for each customer, based on an assessment taken online, and encourages your doctor to sign off on it. An example plan for a woman looks like this:

  • SUN: 20 minute hike, 10 minute bike ride

  • MON: 10 minute treadmill, 10 minute stationary bike, 10 minute rowing

  • TUE: Total body circuit training workout

  • WED: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • THU: Total body resistance band workout

  • FRI: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • SAT: 10 minutes stairs, 10 minute treadmill walking, 10 minute stationary bike

Members receive a two-week personalized fitness plan with guidance on how to increase their activity as fitness level improves and the weight loss journey progresses.

When you eat Nutrisystem's meals, you will lose weight without exercise. However, your weight loss will be more effective and sustainable if you incorporate a consistent exercise regimen. You will see faster results, have less trouble keeping the weight off, and enjoy better overall health. Find an activity you enjoy and that interests you. This will keep you motivated and looking forward to your workouts. There are online forums available to dieters for tips and suggestions from other members. Below are just a few examples of some popular choices:

  • Zumba
  • Aerobics classes
  • Walking with a buddy
  • Kickboxing
  • Yoga
  • Pilates
  • Biking
  • Swimming
  • Jogging
  • Fitness video games (example Nintendo Wii Fit)
NUTRISYSTEM FAQ

Common questions asked about the NutriSystem program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

What meals are on the menu for NutiSystem D? - Mike 5/25/11

What is the cost of NutriSystem? - David 6/4/11

Can you buy a sample of NutriSystem? - Sandy 7/6/11

CONCLUSION

Nutrisystem is a well-recognized and successful weight loss program that has helped millions of people lose weight and improve their health. It’s been calculated that in the past ten years, Nutrisystem has helped people shed more than 71 million pounds. Its convenience and portion-controlled meals are delivered to your door every month making it easy to eat healthy as you lose weight. The company has implemented many ways for members to gain support as they lose, transition, and maintain. Members are also being taught how to cook for themselves throughout the process and have access to support at all stages of the process. Exercise components to aid in faster loss and maintenance have also been added to make the program more well-rounded and allow for long-term success. While weight gain after ending a diet is common, Nutrisystem puts a lot of components in place to ensure customers have as much success during as they do after.

Nutrisystem has added many support elements so that individuals will feel comfortable to seek advice and assistance once they are past the pre-made meal stage. All variations of the Nutrisystem plans fall under the SUCCESS program and tailored to each individual, whether that be diabetes, vegetarian, men’s needs, women’s needs, budget needs, or any other issues.

NUTRISYSTEM RESOURCES

Nutrisystem Channel on DietsInReview.com

Nutrisystem.com

NutriSystem on Twitter

NutriSystem on Facebook

About NutriSystem at WebMD

NutriSystem at Wikipedia

NutriSystem Review at Everyday Health

Common Misspellings

Nutri System, Nutrasystem, Nutra system, Nutresystem, Nutrisystem.com, Nutrisytem, Nutrisytem, NutriSystem

DietsInReview.com is a paid affiliate of Nutrisystem, Inc.

Author

by


Related Diets: Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Medifast , Nu-Kitchen Fresh for NutriSystem, NutriSystem Advanced, NutriSystem Advanced Silver , NutriSystem D, NutriSystem Flex, NutriSystem for Men, NutriSystem Select, Glycemic Index


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 9 of 13, 247 total comments)

Nick M.

Yuck! lost the weight - but it was a terrible experience and emotionally draining. i could not stand to open up one of those boxes again and eat more tasteless food. On top of that, one has to buy so much supplemental food it's not worth it. I switched to diets-to-go post-pregnancy. worth every dime. fresh food delivered to your house with everything you need (including fruit, juice, condiments) - so easy to manage what I eat while being a mom to a newborn! my husband was so impressed he's considering joining. N/S is preservative filled food that is horrible!

posted Apr 5th, 2010 12:50 am


Whitney

I haven't even been on the program for a month and I have lost 17 pounds on it so far!! The food isn't bad but you just got it remember it is diet food.

posted Apr 3rd, 2010 12:21 pm


Marie

I've been on this diet for about 9 months and I have lost 55 pounds. However, I am now at a plateau about 15 pounds above my healthy BMI range, and I just can't get past it.

Overall, I really liked this diet. It is so convenient so I don't have to be obsessed with food all day long. I don't know if I buy into that glycemic index stuff, but the food really does keep me satisfied for a long time. At first I assumed that they tell you that you won't be hungry because they let you eat as much as you want of certain vegetables. However, I hate vegetables so I usually skip them, but I was still full and satisfied with this food. Before I even started the program, I planned to allow myself occasional treats for special occasions. One time I was planning to have ice cream, but I was so full that I didn't even want it. Somehow it really works.

The food quality is really mixed. Some of it is simply disgusting, some of it is so good I would eat it even if I weren't on a diet, and most of it is good enough. For anyone who is thinking of starting it, I strongly suggest that you get the customizable plan, rather than the set menu that they have available. For anyone who has tried it in the past, the food quality has improved dramatically over the past year. The muffins are actually good now, and I absolutely love the new desserts that they came out with last January. Stay away from anything with chicken in it. The chocolate bars a little weird and certainly not like eating Hershey's, but they're pretty good for diet food.

posted Mar 13th, 2010 7:30 pm


Pam

Breakfast foods were good, snack sweets were good, lunches edible, chips & dinners not edible chicken??? not sure it didn't taste like chicken dry & tastless. I have over a months of dinner & lunches left going to waste . It should be called the alpo diet but then again even my dog wouldn't eat it

posted Feb 23rd, 2010 9:27 am


Kay

I lost on it. I like it for the most part.


I just wish you would not gain the pounds back when you start eating real food again.

posted Feb 22nd, 2010 9:13 pm


Kimberly

The food does not taste like my own and I certainly didn't expect it to. I use assorted Mrs. Dash flavors to improve some of the dishes. Yes, some of the cakes and desserts seem a little less moist than say a 600-calorie honeybun. I eat my cakes and desserts with an 8oz glass of skim milk. I supplement meals with my own tasty veggies, salads and a large variety of fruits (esp in summer). I walk 30-45 mins per day. I have a prior neck injury so I can't do any other type of exercise. I've lost 90 lbs in 18 months---slow compared to some, but just what I need to get to and maintain a normal weight.

posted Jan 11th, 2010 7:35 pm


Christina

Nutrisystem is the monst convienant, delicious diet I have tried. The food is outstanding. I'm pretty sick of people saying the food is wretched. You are obviously on a diet because you are overweight and eat too much as it is (like myself) and in which case you obviously ate delicious fattening foods for awhile so yeah in comparison it isn't as good.

posted Jan 7th, 2010 9:55 pm



Dawn Delgatto

I don't really care for there bars and the cakes r very very dry

posted Jan 7th, 2010 12:24 am


Marilyn

I'm really focused on getting into shape this new year. I've already ordered and waiting my first shipment of Nutrisystem. I'm leary of the taste/quality of the food, but otherwise feel like this is what's going to help me lose these 30 pounds!!

posted Dec 30th, 2009 11:53 am


Sue

Decent food and easy

posted Dec 26th, 2009 8:45 am


Carolyn Raines

I want my order canceled. My blood count is higher than ever. There should not be any sugar included in the breakfast food.

posted Sep 9th, 2009 2:08 pm


Shawn

I started Nutrisystem on August 11th. A friend of mine lost over 40lbs in a year of following the program. Back in 2005-2006 I lost 80lbs following the South Beach program overtime I drifted from those habits and gain back 70 of that in the last few years. I decided I should get back on a program since what I was doing wasn't working.

I need things to be simple and easy to prepare and Nutrisystem is great for people who like convience. Everything is prepackaged and properly portioned. You supplement the program with Fruits and Veggies since that wouldn't be very good prepackaged. You can either order the "Favorites" package or pick your own. I tried the "Favorites" package and found things that I definately like and also found stuff I will never order again. Everyone has their own preferences but if you are used to frozen meals from Lean Cuisine, Health Choice, etc you should have no trouble finding something you enjoy in NS.

In the 18 days that I have been on the program I have dropped 18.7 lbs doing some extra exercise on the side which is recommended but not required for success.

For those of you wanting to get an extra discount I can provide you a referral code at it will entitle you to $30 off your first order. If you are new to Nutrisystem it should work just fine. If you are coming back to the program and have been inactive for more than 4 months it should also work for you too. Here's all that you need to do:

Email and put in the memo NS Referral and I will send you a code within 24 hours. This should work if you do it online or call in your first order.

I was amazed at the number of people complaining about this program I just don't understand why it is pretty easy to follow and I don't feel hungry at all!

posted Aug 29th, 2009 6:36 pm


juju

My boyfriend ordered this diet a while ago in order to lose a few pounds. The food is horrible!!!! How can someone it this kind of food. What meet stays out in packages for days and it doesn't even need to be forzen ( Nowhere on the meat packaging said store in the fridge) I can only imagine how healthy it is if it can be shipped and sit on the counter for days . If you enjoy a lot of chemicals and preservatives in your food , go ahead order it!

posted Aug 22nd, 2009 11:46 am


EddiM

I hate cooking and dont really want to go on some crazy juice diet. Home delivered meals sound perfect. If Marino will back them then it is worth giving a shot. right..

posted Aug 10th, 2009 8:57 am


donna

I went on nutrasystem 20 years ago to get rid of a stubborn15 lbs ,with success and again this past year on 2 different occasions. Each time I was successful in losing the unwanted lbs with ease. The way everything is constructed, cal, fats, glycemic index is just perfect for shedding relatively quickly. I was never hungry with the plan and even times hard to complete a full meal including fruits and vegatables. My only negative is like many, the taste of the food. Some were ok, some were just horrible but I was able to choose which I could get by with. Went on the plan each time for 2 months, lost what I wanted and then, that was enough for me. The snacks, cheese ravioli and especially the fudge graham bars got me through. Look, it depends on how much you really want to succeed. Also, when you are done losing, you do have to really try to maintain the same eating habits, which is not hard except the meals are so precionsally prepared that it would be really difficult to match the calories, fat content and glycemic content to give you the perfect combination to continue to lose or maintain your weight on your own. They do have online support and maintanence programs also. It's not really expensive in the long term, just you have to pay for it upfront, so it seems expensive initially and you have to really be on top of your ordering and know when you are due to reorder if on the reorder program. You will only go into automatic reorder if you request it upfront. Most people do because you get your first order cheaper that way. You do have the option to cancel that prior to the next shipment. All in all, it has worked for me in the past to get that stubborn weight off. I usually don't have more than 10-15lbs to lose so I can see the light at the end of the tunnel when I first start... good luck to all!!!

posted Aug 7th, 2009 9:18 am


Jeannninenine

It is a good program if you need to lose weight and dont have time to prepare all your meals.

posted Aug 4th, 2009 8:59 am


sue

Pretty good food but most important it works. I lost ten pounds in 3 weeks.

posted Aug 3rd, 2009 8:22 pm


michelle

let me tell everyone that this diet is great.....i was talking to a friend who went on it twice and she lost at least 10 to 15 oounds in a month each time. she told me to stay clear of anythig very saucy and when i ordered my food it was lazagna, ravioli. fettucchini, cheesy potatos, burger, pizza,chicken noodle,oat meal, blueberry muffin, breakfat bar, tortellini. and all of the deserts are amazing...remember you supplement your food with veggies, salads, fruits and fats and dairy. it is probalbly the heathest diet most people will be on in their whole life. the meals are perfectly porportioned with protein, carbs and fats. if it doesnt work for people it is because they gave up and went back to their old ways...it take dedication to lose weight and there is no way around it and nutrisystem has the heathiest way to lose it...i love it and i am glad i didnt listen to the negative people who say it doesnt work....well, if it didint work then why is nutrisystem so popular!!

posted Jul 17th, 2009 10:50 pm


Alberto

I lost 65 lb in 4 months on the nutrisystem program about 2 years ago. I was dieting and doing excercise too. The food was ok. I hated my first shipment because the sent me their "favorites" package; it was horrible. Then I ordered some food that was not as bad. I did spend lots of money on fruits, vegetables, carbs and dairy products. So this program is expensive. It is very convenient because every food is prepared for you. So all you have to do is grab and go. I really liked that part. However, after I got off the program I began gaining weight.

I continued exercising, running at least 4 miles per day 5 times a week. I began eating regular foods in small portions and drinking lots of water. Well, the weight kept coming back. It was very depressing. I gained everything back in 6 months and a few extra pounds. Now I'm left with a few nice stretch marks... woo hoo!!!

DON'T DO IT!!! Yes it will work for a quick fix. If you want to look good for your wedding then do it but don't think you'll stay thin forever. You will gain it back no matter what you do. I think that your body knows best, don't try to cheat it.

posted Jul 12th, 2009 3:12 am


Ruth

Hey David,
When you said :
"i eat what i get from nutrisystem only" Did you literally mean that you eat ONLY the packaged food and don't supplement it with fruit, veggies, dairy, etc. etc?
Thanks,
Ruth

posted Jun 21st, 2009 9:46 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account