Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

57%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 277 reviews
Nutrisystem

Nutrisystem Diet Review: Does it Work?

Lose weight with meals conveniently delivered to your home.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Nutrisystem Diet is a weight loss plan offering portion and calorie controlled prepackaged foods as well as food suggestions.  It claims to be backed by 40 years of customer approved weight loss results.

The diet also is claimed to offer up to 5 pounds of weight loss within the first week. The company delivers their own meals and provides select portion sizes.  Suggestions are offered as to what foods to prepare, but the majority of what’s eaten will be Nutrisystem meals. Our experts have reviewed several diet plans and have hound the 18Shake Diet to be the most effective. It offers an all-natural stimulant free metabolism booster, as well as an appetite suppressing high quality duo protein formula. More information about the 18Shake diet can be found in the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Nutrisystem Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

Here are some common ingredients added to Nutrisystem's prepackaged meals:

Sugar

Calcium Propionate

Modified Food Starch

Corn Syrup

Sorbate

Fructose

Guar Gum

Maltodextrin

Xanthan Gum

Potassium Phosphate

Carrageenan

Salt

Soy Lecithin

Sodium Caseinate

Tocopherols

Calcium Propionate: Food preservative often added to processed meats, dairy products, and bread.  It’s considered slightly toxic by a pesticides group.

A study published in ScienceDirect found that when it was given to mice it:

“increase in oxidative stress markers… hyperactivity…Development of limbic kindled seizures”

Many potentially damaging effects were seen in the use of this ingredient.

Fructose: Simple fruit sugar that is sweeter than standard sucrose and glucose. It’s often added to things like soda, and other processed foods. A study by the Louisiana State University System found that it:

“did not suppress ghrelin, a major appetite-stimulating hormone”

Therefore, when using this ingredient it has not been shown to satiate appetite.  The same study also adds:

“fructose is poorly absorbed… is also entirely cleared by the liver”

This can be of issue to diabetics, and it’s the reason why fructose is associated with cardiovascular diseases.

The top 10 ranked diet plans can be seen via the link provided here.

Carrageenan: Thickener extracted from seaweeds which is added to thicken and bind ingredients.  A study by the British Industrial Biological Research Association found that it:

“produces ulceration in the large intestine”

Another study by the University of Iowa confirmed:

“carrageenan, has been associated with induction and promotion of intestinal neoplasms and ulcerations on numerous animal experiments”

These types of ulcers and lacerations can trigger serious potentially dangerous health effects.

Xanthan Gum: Thickener and binder added to processed foods.  It can be extracted from common allergens that include dairy, soy, corn, and wheat.

It may also potentially lead to gas and bloating.

Corn Syrup: Processed form of food syrup that is extracted from corn. It’s believed that this sweetener is a major reason why there’s an increase in obesity. Since it’s processed by the liver, excess amounts turn into fats in the form of triglycerides, which can be harmful both to the arteries and the heart. How Stuff Works.com also adds:

“researchers do know that fructose doesn’t stimulate production of insulin, leptin, or ghrelin... which play a part in telling the boy how much it needs to eat”

This can then potentially lead to obesity.

There are 3 unique plans offered by Nutrisystem as well:

  • Basic: Begins at $9.82 per day. Certain foods are preselected, support tools and online tracking is offered. Complemented by a 4 week turbo plan which claims to offer 10 pounds of weight loss in a month. This involves being allowed only 1,000 calories a day maximum.  
  • Core: Begins at $10.54 a day. You get to select from 100 different foods, as well as everything offered in the basic plan but with added dieticians and counselors support.
  • Uniquely Yours: For around $11.96 a day, 150 different food options are offered. One can order as much of the frozen food items as one wants. All the other features from the core and basic are offered.

The turbo 10 plan which lasts 4 weeks calls for a 1,000 calorie limit. Live Strong.com commented on this type of low calorie diet by sating:

“may make the diet difficult to follow over the long term and could potentially lead to nutritional deficiencies”

It can also be hard to maintain as so little food is offered at this limitation. It’s possible for there to be weight loss, but this is only because of extreme deprivation.  These types of low calorie diets are often only advised with the support and watch of a physician to track any issues.

The top 10 ranked diet plans can be viewed in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Nutrisystem Diet Quality of Ingredients

 Many common processed ingredients are added to Nutrisystem’s prepackaged foods. Since the majority of foods eaten will be their meals, this makes this a very limited diet. These ingredients aren’t very wholesome, and they may actually make it more difficult to lose weight.

The diet also calls for a 1,000 calorie limit to start with, which can be extremely difficult. This is the reason why many users of Nutrisystem Diet have found it to not satisfy appetite.

There is the convenience of delivered food, but the kinds of foods are offered are only low calorie, and full of potentially harmful ingredients.  The link provided here has the top 10 best diet plans of 2016.

The Price and Quality of Nutrisystem Diet

Pricing varies both on the plan chosen and the kinds of foods one makes at home.  Web MD mentions the following for prices:

“expect to pay about $230 to the mid $300s a month for the Nutrisystem foods, plus whatever you buy from the grocery store”

The price does not reflect the quality however, as many of the additives are cheap and often added to processed foods.  There’s also the issue that the kinds of ingredients used are already found in many other cheap foods available in supermarkets. The only difference in Nutrisystem is that the portions are smaller.

Business of Nutrisystem Diet

The company is owned by the Nutrisystem, Inc group, and they can be contacted via the following:

Phone Number: (800) 585-5483

Address: 600 Office Center Dr.

                   Washington, PA 19034

They have a total of 247 complaints on their Better Business Bureau page, and around 250 negative reviews on their Pissed Consumer page.

According from estimates of Pissed Consumer, $22,000 has been taken from consumers who tried to return products.

Here are what some customers had to say about the company:

“Bad customer service”

“nothing but chemicals and artificial ingredients”

“tried on many occasions to contact customer service but was out on hold”

“told that I have to pay back the shipping fee plus a discount… total to around $80”

People often complained about the lack of a quality returns system. Some were forced to have to pay expensive cancellation fees, even though they were promised a money back return.  The majority of negative reviews were due to advertising disputes, and issues with the foods. Click the link here to see a comprehensive top 10 list of the best diet plans.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Nutrisystem Diet

Customer reviews for the diets can be found online, here are some select quotes:

“tastes like any food you buy... that has to be microwaved, except you get a lot less of it”

“food is terrible and I just can’t get myself to eat meat that I store in my pantry”

“Would not recommend this to anyone”

“this food is just the worst I’ve ever eaten anywhere”

People often complained that the quality of food was extremely poor, and that it tasted artificial and bland. Many of the foods were described as having a TV dinner style of presentation, but with really small portions.

Customers were also concerned to find that there were many artificial ingredients and chemicals added to the foods. The top 10 list has the highest rated diet plans.

Conclusion - Does Nutrisystem Diet Work?

When researching the Nutrisystem Diet it’s important to look at the customer reviews, quality of ingredients, and the science behind the weight loss. The strategy is fairly simple, as pre-packaged meals are offered which are lower in calories. This makes it easy to diet without having to meal prep and count calories. The problem lies in the kinds of ingredients used, which many are processed and cheap to add. Many customers felt that the quality of food was poor, and they were alarmed about the lack of a quality return policy.

The highest rated diet plan of 2016 was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It’s a combination of a metabolism booster made without stimulants, and a nutritionally balanced meal replacement both which are free of artificial ingredients or cheap fillers. Customers also agree it’s a potent combination for weight loss.

Both the meal replacement and the metabolism booster are backed by a full 30 day money back return policy. All purchases are backed by this risk free offer. Learn more about the 18Shake Diet Plan when you click the link found here.

How Does Nutrisystem Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Nutrisystem
  • 57 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 13 of 15, 283 total comments)

Mandy

-

My dad is a diabetic who tried the diet and loved it. He lost over 20 lbs and says it helped his insulin levels. So I decided to give it a try, and I the food was horrible. Some of it was OK, but on the whole it was pretty gross. I bought two months worth, and still have some in the pantry. Plus you have to buy your own fresh vegetables and fruit. Might as well plan out your own meals.

posted Oct 31st, 2008 2:23 pm


Alicia

+

I don't know what you people are talking about when stating that the sodium is too high...The daily allowance is a max of 2400mg..Which is also the amount that my Cardiologist recommended..I've also taken it one step further and actually added up my total sodium for the day while on Nutrisystem Silver and it comes to 1760mg..
Nutrisystem is not a quick weight loss gimmick, but just a very well balanced meal plan..It doesnâ??t take a brain surgeon to understand how it works..If anyone is going to join this program and think of it as just a diet to lose weight then it will not work for you..You have to take several things into consideration while on it..You have to pay attention to what you are eating and how much..Portion awareness plays a big part in all of this..As far as the food goes, is it â??momsâ?ť home cooking??Of course not, but I wasnâ??t a picky eater to get here in the first place, Imâ?? not about to start now..When introducing foods to a baby, most times they are not used to, but over time they acquire a taste for it..Well Nutrisystem is like that, and if you give your body time to adjust to the different tastes then youâ??ll do fine..You have to work the program as well..I myself incorporated my reality into it..That means that I did not deprive myself of any occasions when they approached, however, the very next day I got right back on the plan..I am not a 100+ pound loser who accomplished a miracle weight loss..I am your typical average middle aged woman who lost 40 lbs..I also weaned myself off Nutrisystem slowly by replacing non Nutrisystem meals and after 2 months I have the portions down packed..For anyone who says that the food is horrible then most times they are just not ready to make this change in their lives..

posted Oct 21st, 2008 8:26 am


wahyu

+

The product seems good to be tried, So many people have tried and success.

posted Oct 16th, 2008 10:33 pm


Leslie

My partner and I were on NutriSystem for about 6 months and at first it worked great. We lost a lot of weight. I liked a fair amount of the food and had a couple favorites that I would probably still eat today (that freeze-dried hamburger seems scary, but it really is pretty good (save your low fat cheese for the day, cut up some onions and mushrooms and use your weight watchers bread and turn it into a patty melt (yum))). I will say that I always thought that the food looked pretty disgusting. You know what they say, you eat with your eyes first. Anyway, I was almost to my goal weight, and had probably lost about 50 lbs (pretty good, right). By then, I was so sick of the food that I would rather not eat than eat than try to force down the NutriSystem food. That, of course led to cheating, which led to all the weight coming back (eventually). When we went on the diet we had a plan for coming off of it and applying the good habits that we learned to a normal diet. Because we weren't to our goal weights yet, we kept trying to stick with the diet, but just couldn't because we were so sick of the food (and some of it is really disgusting). So here's my advice: *Be prepared for the amount of supplementing that you must do. This diet doesn't seem too expensive until you factor in all the extra stuff that you have to buy which includes your vegetables, salads, and dairy/protein items. For 2 this was adding up to about $50 more per week. So the whole thing was costing us about $800 per month *Men get more (and better) food. If you like peas and higher glycemic vegetables and bread and you're a woman, say goodbye to those and have fun watching your husband eat them. I love peas and was so happy to eat them again after I went off the diet. *You better like your salads. It's been a year and I still can't look one in the eye. *Most important: Once you're sick of it, get off of the diet, and apply the concepts (eating smaller meals more often, portion size, etc) to a regular food. Don't try to loose that last 10 pounds with NutriSystem, 'cause if you're like us, you'll just start gaining it back. Based on this review and the statement that NutriSystem leads to yo-yo dieting makes me to believe that I'm not alone here. It's like gambling; take your win and leave the table before your luck changes. Good luck!

posted Oct 15th, 2008 2:05 pm


Elaine

+

Nutrisystem is not a miracle diet program, but it is easy to follow. If you're ready to make permanent lifestyle changes needed to be successful at losing weight and maintaining the weight loss, this could prove to be a very useful tool.

I just started NutriSystem a week ago, and so far so good. The prepackaged meals very convenient and yes, edible. It teaches you portion control. Surpisingly the soy and salt content has not been an issue for me (the program does fall below the range of daily recommended salt intake.) I actually like that you add fresh fruit, vegetables, and non/low-fat dairy, which are part of eating healthy anyway. I think it gives the diet some balance after all of the processed (prepackaged) food. The combination of high fiber, protein, low-glycemic index foods and 2 litres of water daily help keep you from getting too hungy before the next meal. The journaling keeps you honest. They also advise moderate exercise. It's definitely an easy program to follow.

posted Oct 14th, 2008 3:51 pm


Sallyb

+

Great way to lose weight. I always struggled with what to eat and preparing it. Nutrisystem really takes all that effort that tend to get you in trouble out of the weigh loss equation.

posted Oct 12th, 2008 6:53 pm


Phyllis Wooding

+

I tried the Nutrisystem program and it worked wonders for me. The food I chose was great but you have to try all the foods to choose what is tasty. I found the foods that were pleasing to my taste and I lost over 50 pounds and I have kept it off for over two years now. The program taught me portion control and how to eat healthy so after nutrisystem I have not returned to my unhealthy eating habits. I always plan and carry my lunch and I am very careful when I eat out. The food is not expensive for me. I am single so 240-300 dollars a month for food is quite cheap. Try the plan it really works. But please remember it is a diet so the food will not taste like regular food. If you want to lose the weight, then nutrisystem is the way to go.

posted Oct 10th, 2008 6:25 pm


Jennifer

This diet is terrible! The sodium is OUTRAGEOUS. You may lose weight because of portion control, but that much sodium causes it's own handful of potential health problems. Also -- you end up having to buy a TON of food at the grocery store. You think "this is nice, all my food is prepared"...its not at ALL. If your meal calls for a hamburger with lettuce, tomato, onions on a bun with a side salad, the only thing they provide is the hamburger patty!

posted Sep 22nd, 2008 9:37 am


DAVINA

I BOUGHT NUTRISYSTEM AT BIG LOTS AND IT HAS WORKED FOR ME!! YEAH SOME OF THE FOODS MAY NOT BE AS GOOD AS OTHERS, SO I KNOW NEXT TIME NOT TO GET THE NASTY ONES, BUT OTHER THAN THAT IT IS FILLING , MOST AMERICANS ARE GONNA COMPLAIN SIMPLY BECAUSE EVERYONE IS USED TO FATTY PROCESSED FOODS ON A DAILY BASIS THAT IS WHY EVERYONE IS OBESE...IF U WANNA DIET DONT COMPLAIN!!!

posted Sep 15th, 2008 9:00 am


Nan

Food is garbage. A friend of mine gave me two months worth of the men's program, and now I see why. You're better off buying fresh fruits and vegetables, yogurt, and salad.

posted Sep 15th, 2008 9:00 am


hopeful

I started Monday and this is Friday. The food is OK not as delicious as described but hey it's a diet. I've lost 7and 1/2 pounds. I'm going to try to stick with it.

posted Sep 15th, 2008 9:00 am


Shawny

Nutrisystem was awful. I didn't start the program right away and found some expired product in my box. Contacted customer service and they did NOTHING to help me. The food was great!....if you like eating cardboard. Do NOT waste your money and time with this system. I have heard from my friends that Jenny Craig and Weight Watchers is so much better. Never again, I tell ya!

posted Sep 8th, 2008 7:25 am


Judith

Like the food, liked the weight loss. For the first few months anyway...Hated the customer service, if you can call it that. They lie, lie, lie. They have promised daily for three weeks now to send my food the next day and still no food. Cancel you say? Can't, they have my money and I want my food. Worst customer service I have ever dealt with. People are nice enough but nothing happens or changes or gets fixed. Even the supervisors, promise to call you with the remedy, give you their number and you never hear from them again. I am so frustrated and angry. I am paying for this! They are not doing me a favor! Why can't they just do what they say they will? Because they are inept and unethical and we should not let them get away with it. Do not use this company. If I could I would call Dan Marino and Marie Osmond myself and tell them how their name is being used to cheat people. Do not do business with this company.

posted Aug 26th, 2008 9:26 pm


Anonymous

I tried this for a month and never felt good. I always felt like I was going to faint even after adding all veggies, fruit and dairy. Actually, you have to fill-up on those or you'll have less than the calories needed for a full day. The food was not great. I could tolerate the chili and some of the desserts. Sometimes it smelled so bad after taking it out of the microwave, I just threw it in the garbage! When I called to talk to customer service they were rude. I am a vegetarian and when I asked how I could incorporate the diet to meet my needs, they had no clue. I'm doing much better just eating smaller portions of 'normal' food.

posted Aug 16th, 2008 9:35 am


Grace

I tried NutriSystem for less than a month. The majority of the food was horrible. There were certian desserts and a few entrees that were bareble. I was also disappointed in how much I had to spend on the food. You are required to have a certain amount of vegetables, dairy, fruits, etc., along your day, which is not included in the food packet you are given. I was also worried about the amount of sodium each food item had. It worked for a lady that I knew, who thought it was amazing. That encouraged me to get it. It may work for some and fail for others....GOOD LUCK!

posted Jul 25th, 2008 10:49 am


Grace

I tried NutriSystem for less than a month. The majority of the food was horrible. There were certian desserts and a few entrees that were bareble. I was also disappointed in how much I had to spend on the food. You are required to have a certain amount of vegetables, dairy, fruits, etc., along your day, which is not included in the food packet you are given. I was also worried about the amount of sodium each food item had. It worked for a lady that I knew, who thought it was amazing. That encouraged me to get it. It may work for some and fail for others....GOOD LUCK!

posted Jul 25th, 2008 10:49 am


Melinda

I tried NutriSystem for six weeks, but just could not stick with it. To me the almost all of the food had horrible texture, smell and taste. I did lose weight, but I think most was just because I would heat up the food and then could not force myself to eat it, most of my meal would end up in the trash can!

posted Jun 10th, 2008 8:37 pm


Diane Hardy

I got some of the nurti system foods at BIG LOTS I think they are great.People who say they are awful have to realize they are on a diet and the food is not highly spiced like reasturant foods .so my week 1 is going great 7 pounds lost .I will be placing my first order in 3 days thank you nutri system Diane

posted Jun 3rd, 2008 9:05 am


Laura

The food is nasty and expensive; you have to buy a LOT of supplemental foods. Jenny Craig was much better, or if you have more time, Weight Watchers. Bonus: NutriSystem customer service is awful. I will be donating much of my first order to a food kitchen, with apologies.

posted Jun 2nd, 2008 9:14 am


MATT

I LIKE THE BEEF DINNER WITH POTATOES AFTER SOME JONNYS

posted May 11th, 2008 7:15 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1972
  • Founder: Harold Katz
  • Headquarters: Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
  • Stock Symbol: NTRI
  • Accessibility: Online, Phone
  • Diet Type: Low-fat, Low-calorie, Meal Delivery, Portion Control
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Melissa Joan Hart, Marie Osmond, Dan Marino, Jillian Barberie, Terry Bradshaw
  • Get started with this 40% off coupon! Nutrisystem Coupons

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

BACKGROUND

Nutrisystem is one of the most recognizable names in weight loss and has rightly earned its place among the top diets. Founded in 1972, Nutrisystem has helped millions of people lose weight on its convenient portion-controlled meals. This program takes the guesswork out of dieting and many people find it to be an easy approach to healthy weight loss.

The brand is one of the first diets to earn its marks by offering a hassle-free way to lose weight with its meal delivery service. The diet plan takes care of the majority of grocery shopping, cooking and portioning by delivering meals and snacks that are calorie-controlled and pre-prepared. All you have to do is heat and enjoy, supplementing with a few fresh grocery store items. Nutrisystem originally offered only pantry-ready foods, but in 2009 added a frozen line of meals; combined the two lines offer more than 150 menu options.

In 2014, the company unveiled Nutrisystem My Way, its new, customized plan for each individual’s metabolism. All new Nutrisystem customers will be enrolled in this personalized program, which calculates a person's metabolic rate by taking into account a variety of factors including age, sex, weight, and level of physical activity. (Prior to this program, the diet had two levels—one for men and one for women.) As part of the new My Way plan, Nutrisystem is also offering a one-week plan called Fast 5, which is being marketed as a low-calorie (1,000 a day) weeklong “jumpstart” to the program that guarantees a weight loss of 5 pounds in the first week. These results were confirmed in a clinical study.

In January 2016, Nutrisystem launched Turbo10, a clinically tested program that promises up to a 10-pound weight loss and an overall reduction of five inches from the waist, hips, thighs, chest, and arms in just the first month. In a clinical study sponsored by Nutrisystem, those who followed Turbo10 lost 3x more weight, 3x more total body inches and 3x more body fat in the first month compared to those who followed a do-it-yourself weight loss plan. In addition to weight loss, those on Turbo 10 also significantly reduced their systolic blood pressure after the first month.

The Nutrisystem diet is personalized to meet individual health goals and consistent with national guidelines for dietary intake meeting targets for fat, sodium, sugar, cholesterol and fiber as well as national guidelines for physical activity. All the foods are portion controlled and rely on a balanced approach by offering low glycemic index eating, to control blood sugar, that is high in protein and fiber, for satiety.

There are a range of plans at varying price points that are tailored to suit different nutritional needs, with those specifically for men, women, teens, people with diabetes and vegetarians.

Plans and meals are selected and ordered from Nutrisystem's website or by phone. You'll receive 28 days worth of food that comes in pantry-ready and or frozen containers that you simply heat before eating. Some grocery purchases will need to be made for items like fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts, whole grain bread, fish, and more.

When you sign up with Nutrisystem, you'll also receive access to a Mindset Makeover behavioral guide, a 13-week online plan to help you better understand your relationship with food. It provides steps for taking control of your eating habits. Nutrisystem customers also have online access to health information, community support, weekly newsletters, smart phone applications, and tracking tools. Additionally, you receive complimentary, optional counseling from trained weight-loss coaches, registered dietitians and certified diabetes educators.

Nutrisystem Videos

Having trouble viewing? Click here to watch the Nutrisystem Video.

PRO
  • Makes it clear what you need to do to lose weight

  • More than 71 million pounds lost by Nutrisystem customers in the past decade

  • Features more than 150 meals and snacks

  • Customizable

  • Provides balanced nutrition

  • Promotes exercise

  • Convenient

  • Vegetarian and diabetic friendly

  • Promotes weight loss at a healthy rate

  • Complimentary access to registered dietitians and weight loss counselors

  • 6th Most Popular Diet in 2012 at DietsInReview.com

  • Named "Best Convenience Diet" in USA Today's The Best of Diet & Fitness Magazine, 2013

  • Start Here for Discount Offering

CON
  • Meals may leave you feeling hungry

  • May be cost prohibitive for some

  • Limited flexibility for eating off plan (i.e. restaurants)

USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I tried nutrisystem in 2008 and lost 28 pounds. It was the only diet I ever went on that actually worked,yes it is a little expensive, with the veggies and dairy but if you stick to it it works. - Lori 6/28/11

I've been on NS, the diabetic program, for 3 months. I've lost 35 pounds and my blood sugar has come WAY down (from mid 200's to low 100's). And I don't find the food unpalatable at all. You can customize your order, so anything I don't like I just don't order again, and anything I like I order more off on the next shipment. Customer service has been excellent, and there is a huge member support that is extremely helpful. Plus, I AM learning how to eat properly to keep the weight off when I reach goal. Yay, Nutrisystem! - Betty 6/16/11

it absolutely works if you follow it correctly. It is easy to follow as well, but the food is horrible!!! There are only a few things that are tolerable, and even if you customize your order you will get extremely tired of eating those same things over and over. They have a plan where you get these other foods added that are frozen. They are WAY better, but you only get a couple of weeks worth of it then your back to eating the other horrible food. Totally not worth it. I've tried it three times because I did lose the weight, but I couldn't handle the food. - Whitney 5/17/11

The portion sizes are sooo small. It's not possible to just grab and go. To feel satisfied you have to add fruits and lots of vegetables. It's not as mindless as I thought it was going to be. Fruits and vegetables are expensive. Overall it works because your fat/calories are so restricted and because no one wants to wstet all the money they spent on the program. I didn't mind the food. I have don't have gourmet taste or anything. No worse than the frozen/dried meals in stores now. I will probably not buy another month worth of food. Could have probably lost weigt eating lean cuisines, protein bars etc. I think nutrisystem is a good jump start to a diet and healthier eating. - TB 1/21/11

See our in-depth Nutrisystem review completed in 2010.

Leave Your Own Review and Rating

DIET and NUTRITION

Whenever people sign up for a meal delivery diet, the big question is "What can I eat?". With Nutrisystem, there are more than 150 meal and snack options to choose from, to include pantry-ready and frozen meals. Muffins, roasted vegetable pizza, stuffed shells, macaroni and cheese, chicken noodle soup, chicken parmesan, and tacos are just a few of the entrees, while snacks include bars and pretzels. Dessert isn't out of the picture with options like oatmeal raisin cookies, chocolate, ice cream and whoopee pies. All of this is complemented by a few grocery purchases, including fresh fruits and vegetables. Each Nutrisystem meal is pre-packaged and prepared to the appropriate portion size. Many items are ready-to-eat but some require heating.

All of the Nutrisystem meals are low on the glycemic index and contain a balanced proportion of quality carbohydrates (50%), good fats (25%) and protein (25%). Meals are also low in sodium and trans fat. All of this allows customers to maintain blood sugar while maintaining a feeling of fullness, or satiety, between meals.

The women’s program contains about 1,200 calories and the men’s contains about 1,500 calories per day, but these numbers may change depending on your current weight, age, and activity level. Each day you’ll eat three meals and and two snacks with the addition of six servings of fresh fruits and vegetables. You can either custom select your own meals or choose an automated favorites meal and snack menu. Pantry-ready foods do not need to be refrigerated; however, fresh-frozen meals ship in a cooler and must be frozen until ready to prepare.

A typical day on the Nutrisystem SUCCESS program includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, one snack and a dessert. Below is a sample menu from the Nutrisystem Select option, which features some fresh-frozen items:

  • Breakfast: Granola Cereal or Honey Wheat Bagel

  • Snack: Hummus or an orange

  • Lunch: Red Beans and Rice or Chicken Tacos

  • Dinner: Meatloaf with Mashed Potatoes or Sweet and Sour Chicken

  • Dessert: Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies or Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

In December 2012, Nutrisystem announced the addition of two dozen new and improved meal options to their menu.

  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Stuffed Egg
  • Cheesecake Bar
  • Spicy Kung Pao
  • Margarita Pizza
  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Cinnamon Streusel Muffin
  • Chicken Parmesan Melt
  • Stuffed Apple Pie
  • White Chocolate Chunk Cookies

In 2016, Nutrisystem has reformulated more than 50% of the Nutrisystem menu items to contain no artificial colors, flavors or sweeteners. Whole grains were also increased in a large number of their foods with the goal to have at least 50% of the grains coming from whole grain sources while still meeting the USDA guidelines for fat, saturated fat, trans fat, cholesterol, sodium, carbohydrates, fiber, and protein.

In an effort to keep with customer demand for more fresh-frozen selections, Nutrisystem unveiled Uniquely Yours, which allows for ultimate flexibility in your food choices, allowing consumers to choose between ready to eat and fresh frozen menu options, with no restrictions, from more than 150 menu items.

As part of the Turbo10 program, Nutrisystem also introduced Turboshakes, the company’s first ever line of shakes with protein and probiotics to support digestive and immune health and help reduce belly bloat.

EXERCISE

Nutrisystem sees exercise as an important component to lifelong weight management and encourages members to get 150 minutes of moderate exercise each week (or 30 minutes five days a week).

The addition of the “My Daily 3” program has helped users achieve their workout goals. The program is made up of three 10-minute interval activities each day, allowing even the busiest of schedules to easily make fitness a priority. Nutrisystem customizes a fitness plan for each customer, based on an assessment taken online, and encourages your doctor to sign off on it. An example plan for a woman looks like this:

  • SUN: 20 minute hike, 10 minute bike ride

  • MON: 10 minute treadmill, 10 minute stationary bike, 10 minute rowing

  • TUE: Total body circuit training workout

  • WED: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • THU: Total body resistance band workout

  • FRI: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • SAT: 10 minutes stairs, 10 minute treadmill walking, 10 minute stationary bike

Members receive a two-week personalized fitness plan with guidance on how to increase their activity as fitness level improves and the weight loss journey progresses.

When you eat Nutrisystem's meals, you will lose weight without exercise. However, your weight loss will be more effective and sustainable if you incorporate a consistent exercise regimen. You will see faster results, have less trouble keeping the weight off, and enjoy better overall health. Find an activity you enjoy and that interests you. This will keep you motivated and looking forward to your workouts. There are online forums available to dieters for tips and suggestions from other members. Below are just a few examples of some popular choices:

  • Zumba
  • Aerobics classes
  • Walking with a buddy
  • Kickboxing
  • Yoga
  • Pilates
  • Biking
  • Swimming
  • Jogging
  • Fitness video games (example Nintendo Wii Fit)
NUTRISYSTEM FAQ

Common questions asked about the NutriSystem program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

What meals are on the menu for NutiSystem D? - Mike 5/25/11

What is the cost of NutriSystem? - David 6/4/11

Can you buy a sample of NutriSystem? - Sandy 7/6/11

CONCLUSION

Nutrisystem is a well-recognized and successful weight loss program that has helped millions of people lose weight and improve their health. It’s been calculated that in the past ten years, Nutrisystem has helped people shed more than 71 million pounds. Its convenience and portion-controlled meals are delivered to your door every month making it easy to eat healthy as you lose weight. The company has implemented many ways for members to gain support as they lose, transition, and maintain. Members are also being taught how to cook for themselves throughout the process and have access to support at all stages of the process. Exercise components to aid in faster loss and maintenance have also been added to make the program more well-rounded and allow for long-term success. While weight gain after ending a diet is common, Nutrisystem puts a lot of components in place to ensure customers have as much success during as they do after.

Nutrisystem has added many support elements so that individuals will feel comfortable to seek advice and assistance once they are past the pre-made meal stage. All variations of the Nutrisystem plans fall under the SUCCESS program and tailored to each individual, whether that be diabetes, vegetarian, men’s needs, women’s needs, budget needs, or any other issues.

NUTRISYSTEM RESOURCES

Nutrisystem Channel on DietsInReview.com

Nutrisystem.com

NutriSystem on Twitter

NutriSystem on Facebook

About NutriSystem at WebMD

NutriSystem at Wikipedia

Common Misspellings

Nutri System, Nutrasystem, Nutra system, Nutresystem, Nutrisystem.com, Nutrisytem, Nutrisytem, NutriSystem

DietsInReview.com is a paid affiliate of Nutrisystem, Inc.

Author

by

Related Diets: Medifast , Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Nu-Kitchen Fresh for NutriSystem, NutriSystem Advanced, NutriSystem Advanced Silver , NutriSystem D, NutriSystem Flex, NutriSystem for Men, NutriSystem Select, Glycemic Index

Whats better than
Nutrisystem?