Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

63%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 220 reviews

Nutrisystem

Lose weight with meals conveniently delivered to your home.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1972
  • Founder: Harold Katz
  • Headquarters: Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
  • Stock Symbol: NTRI
  • Accessibility: Online, Phone
  • Diet Type: Low-fat, Low-calorie, Meal Delivery, Portion Control
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Melissa Joan Hart, Marie Osmond, Dan Marino, Jillian Barberie, Terry Bradshaw
  • Get started by saving with these Nutrisystem Coupons
Nutrisystem.com
BACKGROUND

Nutrisystem is one of the most recognizable names in weight loss and has rightly earned its place among the top diets. Founded in 1972, Nutrisystem has helped millions of people lose weight on its convenient portion-controlled meals. This program takes the guesswork out of dieting and many people find it to be an easy approach to healthy weight loss.

The brand is one of the first diets to earn its marks by offering a hassle-free way to lose weight with its meal delivery service. The diet plan takes care of the majority of grocery shopping, cooking and portioning by delivering meals and snacks that are calorie-controlled and pre-prepared. All you have to do is heat and enjoy, supplementing with a few fresh grocery store items. Nutrisystem originally offered only pantry-ready foods, but in 2009 added a frozen line of meals; combined the two lines offer more than 150 menu options.

In 2014, the company unveiled Nutrisystem My Way, its new, customized plan for each individual’s metabolism. All new Nutrisystem customers will be enrolled in this personalized program, which calculates a person's metabolic rate by taking into account a variety of factors including age, sex, weight, and level of physical activity. (Prior to this program, the diet had two levels—one for men and one for women.) As part of the new My Way plan, Nutrisystem is also offering a one-week plan called Fast 5, which is being marketed as a low-calorie (1,000 a day) weeklong “jumpstart” to the program that guarantees a weight loss of 5 pounds in the first week. These results were confirmed in a clinical study.

The Nutrisystem diet is personalized to meet individual health goals and consistent with national guidelines for dietary intake meeting targets for fat, sodium, sugar, cholesterol and fiber as well as national guidelines for physical activity. All the foods are portion controlled and rely on a balanced approach by offering low glycemic index eating, to control blood sugar, that is high in protein and fiber, for satiety.

There are a range of plans at varying price points that are tailored to suit different nutritional needs, with those specifically for men, women, teens, people with diabetes and vegetarians.

Plans and meals are selected and ordered from Nutrisystem's website or by phone. You'll receive 28 days worth of food that comes in pantry-ready and or frozen containers that you simply heat before eating. Some grocery purchases will need to be made for items like fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts, whole grain bread, fish, and more.

When you sign up with Nutrisystem, you'll also receive access to a Mindset Makeover behavioral guide, a 13-week online plan to help you better understand your relationship with food. It provides steps for taking control of your eating habits. Nutrisystem customers also have online access to health information, community support, weekly newsletters, smart phone applications, and tracking tools. Additionally, you receive complimentary, optional counseling from trained weight-loss coaches, registered dietitians and certified diabetes educators.

Nutrisystem Videos

Having trouble viewing? Click here to watch the Nutrisystem Video.

PRO
  • Makes it clear what you need to do to lose weight

  • More than 71 million pounds lost by Nutrisystem customers in the past decade

  • Features more than 150 meals and snacks

  • Customizable

  • Provides balanced nutrition

  • Promotes exercise

  • Convenient

  • Vegetarian and diabetic friendly

  • Promotes weight loss at a healthy rate

  • Complimentary access to registered dietitians and weight loss counselors

  • 6th Most Popular Diet in 2012 at DietsInReview.com

  • Named "Best Convenience Diet" in USA Today's The Best of Diet & Fitness Magazine, 2013

CON
  • Meals may leave you feeling hungry

  • May be cost prohibitive for some

  • Limited flexibility for eating off plan (i.e. restaurants)

USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I tried nutrisystem in 2008 and lost 28 pounds. It was the only diet I ever went on that actually worked,yes it is a little expensive, with the veggies and dairy but if you stick to it it works. - Lori 6/28/11

I've been on NS, the diabetic program, for 3 months. I've lost 35 pounds and my blood sugar has come WAY down (from mid 200's to low 100's). And I don't find the food unpalatable at all. You can customize your order, so anything I don't like I just don't order again, and anything I like I order more off on the next shipment. Customer service has been excellent, and there is a huge member support that is extremely helpful. Plus, I AM learning how to eat properly to keep the weight off when I reach goal. Yay, Nutrisystem! - Betty 6/16/11

it absolutely works if you follow it correctly. It is easy to follow as well, but the food is horrible!!! There are only a few things that are tolerable, and even if you customize your order you will get extremely tired of eating those same things over and over. They have a plan where you get these other foods added that are frozen. They are WAY better, but you only get a couple of weeks worth of it then your back to eating the other horrible food. Totally not worth it. I've tried it three times because I did lose the weight, but I couldn't handle the food. - Whitney 5/17/11

The portion sizes are sooo small. It's not possible to just grab and go. To feel satisfied you have to add fruits and lots of vegetables. It's not as mindless as I thought it was going to be. Fruits and vegetables are expensive. Overall it works because your fat/calories are so restricted and because no one wants to wstet all the money they spent on the program. I didn't mind the food. I have don't have gourmet taste or anything. No worse than the frozen/dried meals in stores now. I will probably not buy another month worth of food. Could have probably lost weigt eating lean cuisines, protein bars etc. I think nutrisystem is a good jump start to a diet and healthier eating. - TB 1/21/11

See our in-depth Nutrisystem review completed in 2010.

Leave Your Own Review and Rating

DIET and NUTRITION

Whenever people sign up for a meal delivery diet, the big question is "What can I eat?". With Nutrisystem, there are more than 150 meal and snack options to choose from, to include pantry-ready and frozen meals. Muffins, roasted vegetable pizza, stuffed shells, macaroni and cheese, chicken noodle soup, chicken parmesan, and tacos are just a few of the entrees, while snacks include bars and pretzels. Dessert isn't out of the picture with options like oatmeal raisin cookies, chocolate, ice cream and whoopee pies. All of this is complemented by a few grocery purchases, including fresh fruits and vegetables. Each Nutrisystem meal is pre-packaged and prepared to the appropriate portion size. Many items are ready-to-eat but some require heating.

All of the Nutrisystem meals are low on the glycemic index and contain a balanced proportion of quality carbohydrates (50%), good fats (25%) and protein (25%). Meals are also low in sodium and trans fat. All of this allows customers to maintain blood sugar while maintaining a feeling of fullness, or satiety, between meals.

The women’s program contains about 1,200 calories and the men’s contains about 1,500 calories per day, but these numbers may change depending on your current weight, age, and activity level. Each day you’ll eat three meals and and two snacks with the addition of six servings of fresh fruits and vegetables. You can either custom select your own meals or choose an automated favorites meal and snack menu. Pantry-ready foods do not need to be refrigerated; however, fresh-frozen meals ship in a cooler and must be frozen until ready to prepare.

A typical day on the Nutrisystem SUCCESS program includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, one snack and a dessert. Below is a sample menu from the Nutrisystem Select option, which features some fresh-frozen items:

  • Breakfast: Granola Cereal or Honey Wheat Bagel

  • Snack: Hummus or an orange

  • Lunch: Red Beans and Rice or Chicken Tacos

  • Dinner: Meatloaf with Mashed Potatoes or Sweet and Sour Chicken

  • Dessert: Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies or Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

In December 2012, Nutrisystem announced the addition of two dozen new and improved meal options to their menu.

  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Stuffed Egg
  • Cheesecake Bar
  • Spicy Kung Pao
  • Margarita Pizza
  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Cinnamon Streusel Muffin
  • Chicken Parmesan Melt
  • Stuffed Apple Pie
  • White Chocolate Chunk Cookies
EXERCISE

Nutrisystem sees exercise as an important component to lifelong weight management and encourages members to get 150 minutes of moderate exercise each week (or 30 minutes five days a week).

The addition of the “My Daily 3” program has helped users achieve their workout goals. The program is made up of three 10-minute interval activities each day, allowing even the busiest of schedules to easily make fitness a priority. Nutrisystem customizes a fitness plan for each customer, based on an assessment taken online, and encourages your doctor to sign off on it. An example plan for a woman looks like this:

  • SUN: 20 minute hike, 10 minute bike ride

  • MON: 10 minute treadmill, 10 minute stationary bike, 10 minute rowing

  • TUE: Total body circuit training workout

  • WED: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • THU: Total body resistance band workout

  • FRI: 10 minute walk before each meal of the day

  • SAT: 10 minutes stairs, 10 minute treadmill walking, 10 minute stationary bike

Members receive a two-week personalized fitness plan with guidance on how to increase their activity as fitness level improves and the weight loss journey progresses.

When you eat Nutrisystem's meals, you will lose weight without exercise. However, your weight loss will be more effective and sustainable if you incorporate a consistent exercise regimen. You will see faster results, have less trouble keeping the weight off, and enjoy better overall health. Find an activity you enjoy and that interests you. This will keep you motivated and looking forward to your workouts. There are online forums available to dieters for tips and suggestions from other members. Below are just a few examples of some popular choices:

  • Zumba
  • Aerobics classes
  • Walking with a buddy
  • Kickboxing
  • Yoga
  • Pilates
  • Biking
  • Swimming
  • Jogging
  • Fitness video games (example Nintendo Wii Fit)
NUTRISYSTEM FAQ

Common questions asked about the NutriSystem program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

What meals are on the menu for NutiSystem D? - Mike 5/25/11

What is the cost of NutriSystem? - David 6/4/11

Can you buy a sample of NutriSystem? - Sandy 7/6/11

CONCLUSION

Nutrisystem is a well-recognized and successful weight loss program that has helped millions of people lose weight and improve their health. It’s been calculated that in the past ten years, Nutrisystem has helped people shed more than 71 million pounds. Its convenience and portion-controlled meals are delivered to your door every month making it easy to eat healthy as you lose weight. The company has implemented many ways for members to gain support as they lose, transition, and maintain. Members are also being taught how to cook for themselves throughout the process and have access to support at all stages of the process. Exercise components to aid in faster loss and maintenance have also been added to make the program more well-rounded and allow for long-term success. While weight gain after ending a diet is common, Nutrisystem puts a lot of components in place to ensure customers have as much success during as they do after.

Nutrisystem has added many support elements so that individuals will feel comfortable to seek advice and assistance once they are past the pre-made meal stage. All variations of the Nutrisystem plans fall under the SUCCESS program and tailored to each individual, whether that be diabetes, vegetarian, men’s needs, women’s needs, budget needs, or any other issues.

NUTRISYSTEM RESOURCES

Nutrisystem Channel on DietsInReview.com

Nutrisystem.com

NutriSystem on Twitter

NutriSystem on Facebook

About NutriSystem at WebMD

NutriSystem at Wikipedia

NutriSystem Review at Everyday Health

Common Misspellings

Nutri System, Nutrasystem, Nutra system, Nutresystem, Nutrisystem.com, Nutrisytem, Nutrisytem, NutriSystem

DietsInReview.com is a paid affiliate of Nutrisystem, Inc.

Author

by


Related Diets: Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Medifast , Nu-Kitchen Fresh for NutriSystem, NutriSystem Advanced, NutriSystem Advanced Silver , NutriSystem D, NutriSystem Flex, NutriSystem for Men, NutriSystem Select, Glycemic Index


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 10 of 13, 246 total comments)

rich sanders

Don't do Nutrisystem!!! We have cancelled the plan twice for my wife and after a month they send us another box and charge our credit card!! We are still waiting for the money back on the second cancellation of food. Not an ethical company!! Steer clear of people like this.

posted Apr 22nd, 2009 10:26 am


Kelly from Buffalo

I ordered Nutrisystem and am hoping to get it tomorrow. I'm confused at how people are saying it is SO expensive?? The deal they have now is first month (28 days) is $250 and you get 7 days free. That is 35 days of food for $250, second month you pay $300 and get the 7 days free. (no tax, no shipping charges) That is $550 for 70 days of food. Less than $8/day for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and then either snack or dessert. Who can eat that many meals for less than $8/day?!? I can not comment on the taste yet, but just wanted to put the cost into perspective. Other programs are about double what this costs. I'm not expecting amazing food, just something easy that takes the guess work out and eliminates the potential to "cheat" even on accident trying to add up calories, carbs, points... whatever all the other diets make you keep track of, can get quite overwhelming. I'm hoping this will help jump start me into eating healthier on my own once I lose some weight and get motivated again...

posted Apr 17th, 2009 12:53 am


KQ

I lost weight but the food was not very good. I could not continue eating this kind of pre-packaged food for more than a month. It did not seem like a very healthy diet to maintain for months, or long term.

posted Apr 14th, 2009 10:36 pm


CK

So I've only done it for 2 days but I find the food okay. Question though, does anyone feel like it's too much food?? Everyone's complaining about the portion size but after adding a small salad and a fruit and eating every 2 to 3 hours, it's a ridiculous (ridiculous in terms of HUGE) amount of food for me...

posted Apr 9th, 2009 8:46 pm


Maria

I have been on the nutrisystem for one week and here is my take. I usually count calories when trying to lose weight and it does work, but I needed to do something different to get me started and thought I would try the NS. If you are a picky eater, you probably won't like the plan. None of the foods are terrific, but when you are hungry, everything tastes good. Some are better and some you need to doctor up a bit; use your creative side :) I can honestly say that I haven't been hungry this week and usually hungry when I count calories. Going to weigh myself tomorrow which is the real proof. If I didn't lose anything, off to the bakery......... :D

posted Apr 8th, 2009 11:59 am


lisa

I am waiting for my 1st order of food. I need to loose about 50-60 pounds. I hope that this is the diet for me. Hopefully, I can tolerate the food that they give you...what happens after you loose the weight that you want? Do you still continue on the program, or do your own? Has anyone done that? Thanks

posted Apr 7th, 2009 9:41 am


Craig

My wife tried this and was queasy almost every meal. She even threw everything up on two seperate meals. God knows what they put into these meals. Stick with a "real food" diet like Body for Life or Weight Watchers!

posted Mar 16th, 2009 2:34 pm


Michele

I was going to try NurtiSystem and when I was looking at the lunch choices they all have fish oil, fish gelatin, and dried fish in them. How gross. Who want's dried fish in their mashed potatoes or bars

posted Mar 13th, 2009 12:01 pm



AmyC

I haven't tried this program but I have seen it first hand and when I saw powder fluff up into a burger by adding water I knew this was not the type of food anyone should be consuming. I suggest you steer clear!!

posted Mar 5th, 2009 8:27 pm


Krystal

I would think you could do this same type of diet concept by just going to the grocery store and buy the pre packaged lean Frozen Dinners. Then you do not have to pay for food you don't like and you can buy it each week with less up front cost. You can then formulate your diet to your food prefrences You can also buy fruit and vegie snacks or maybe some granola bars for inbetween meals. Just a thought that will save you some money.

posted Mar 5th, 2009 7:52 am


Fernando

I've been on it about 1 week, have not been hungry ( I suppliment meals with veggies and exercise 2hrs 4 times a week) and have lost 9 pounds. Work the program, it works.

posted Mar 3rd, 2009 7:51 pm


natalie

Some of the food is pretty good, some is pretty bad. the tomato based meals are very good. The powdered meals (just add water) are gross. ie: fettucini alfredo, mac and cheese, scrambled eggs.... blech! If you just want to lose 10 pounds (like me) I'd recommend it, but I couldn't do more than 5 weeks. The tacos and the burger are surprisingly good. And the granola for breakfast, YUM.

posted Mar 3rd, 2009 1:39 pm


sara61

I think nutrisystem is great for people who have a hard time preparing healthy meals. It stops you from eating unhealthy food when you are in a rush. It is tough to stay on long term but great to get you to shed the pounds!

posted Feb 24th, 2009 4:28 pm


Amelia West

Many of the foods are very unpalatable, especially the "free week" foods they send; you might as well throw them away. Most importantly, once you sign up you have to be very careful about unsubscribing or they will continue to send food and charge your credit card without confirmation from you. I cancelled my account and over a month later was still receiving shipments and charges to my account. Avoid this company at all costs. Try Weight Watchers instead. you buy you need the food at your local market and it tastes twice as good.

posted Feb 22nd, 2009 4:35 pm


David

Nutyisystem is working for me ....most people that complain about it ......are just use to eating anything and everything.......been there, done that. I've lost 75lbs in 5 months........i eat what i get from nutrisystem only. most of the time.....I spend very little at the food market. I love it!

posted Feb 21st, 2009 8:17 pm


Mike

This is a huge rip off! Very little food for the money and very poor quaility, packaging hard to open, huge amounts of sodium. Go with Healthy Choice meals when they are on sale at your local grocer. Same principle and your savings will be huge with more quality food, lower sodium, and mUCH less money!

posted Feb 19th, 2009 9:18 am


Michelle

The food was alright however three months after cancelling my account they started charging my credit card again. Now after several calls they tell me it can take up to three weeks to stop the charges and refund my money. Poor buisness practices.

posted Feb 2nd, 2009 1:18 pm


Susan

Don't have to freeze or refrigerate the food I got. It's all sealed in a canning process. There is a program on Nutrisystem, however that is refrigerated/frozen. I'm thinking of trying it next time. The only thing I HATE is having to buy all the extra food. I thought this was a self-sufficient diet program. That is what I was looking for.

posted Jan 30th, 2009 4:18 pm


Donnie Bouknight

I can not figure out if you put the food in freezer. It does not say. It seems it has not been frozen. I would be afraid to eat it to not freeze it. Let me know.

posted Jan 21st, 2009 8:15 pm


jdffffffff

Its so good and you lose weight instantly.

posted Jan 21st, 2009 3:41 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account