Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

88%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 244 reviews

Akavar

Claims that you can eat all you want and still lose weight.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Akavar 20/50 is a European weight loss pill that has achieved much success. It has made its move to the U.S. seeking the same. Akavar boasts that it is the ultimate fat cure and that you'll see the results you seek without any diet restrictions or inclusion of exercise.

Akavar is designed to restrict your daily caloric intake to less than normal. Without those calories that your body requires for energy, you'll start to use your fat reserves. This will of course cause you to lose weight and inches. However, you'll immediately gain back that weight should you stop using Akavar. The website offers little-to-know information about the product leaving open many questions about the supplement.

PRO
  • Promotes eating all you like and still seeing weight loss
  • Reduces urge to overeat
  • Do not have to count calories
  • Won't feel hungry
CON

Akavar 20/50 leaves a lot to be desired. Some of the more concerning details include:

  • Promotes a lifestyle without exercise and healthy diet
  • No FDA approval
  • Web site offers very little information
  • No published clinical research
  • Does not publish ingredients
  • Contains caffeine
INGREDIENTS

It takes a lot of research to find what is inside those little Akavar tablets, as the product's website bypasses any discussion. Akavar includes many caffeine sources including xanthine and green tea leaf. Other ingredients include yerba mate, guarana seed, ginger root, kola nut, Tibetan ginseng, cocoa nut, rice flour, yellow no. 6, red no. 3 and Gelatin, among many others.

CONCLUSION

Akavar 20/50 leaves a lot of open questions- which really leads to concerns about both the product's effectiveness and impact on the body. With so many diet pills and supplements on the market, it is important for manufacturers to paint a detailed picture of the product to help consumers make the most educated decisions. Many diet pills and supplements provide all of the information that Akavar seems to have conveniently left out. It is also a little misleading that without diet and exercise you can still lose weight. Anyone who has ever committed to losing weight knows that without important changes to diet and exercise, results are often not achieved.

Common Misspellings

Akvar, Akavare, Akavar 50/20, Akavar 2050


Related Diets: Actipril, Green Tea


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 34, 677 total comments)

Mina

I bought my bottle of 90 capsules at Ross Dress For Less. It's a retail store for those who don't know, and it was 6 or 7 dollars. The only problem is that Ross gets it's merchandise randomly, so it could be at one store and not another or it could just come in every now and then. Don't worry Ross doesn't sell knock off items. Everything is new. The just make a deal with the manufacturers. Trust me, i work there.
Oh and does anyone know how many I'm suppose to take a day? It just says 2 before main meals. So does that mean 2 before breakfast, lunch and dinner?

posted Sep 28th, 2010 7:47 pm


laura

I've actually tried these pills, it does give you energy and reduce your hunger, but i also used them with exercise, but no dieting. I didn't gain the wheight back when i stopped taking them either. i would recommend these to some people, but only if you are willing to do a lil work yourself.

posted Sep 22nd, 2010 3:51 am


Chloe

I'm really excited about these pills! I only want to lose a few pounds. Then i'll be too small! Lol OBVIOUSLY you DO lose weight. Yes, I agree that you should not just eat whatever you want but I think the point that the company is making is that you dont have to starve yourself like how most diets do it! For a person who eats a whole bunch, it is VERY HARD to cut back on everything just like that. Im assuming this pill makes you want to eat less therefore also allowing you to lose the weight needed. To the person about the lawsuit, get over it! Lawsuits are ridiculous complaints that should be OUTLAWED!!! I effin HATE lawsuits they are so stupid! People complaining about the most ridiculous things! You know these pills have probably helped someone who was overweight and needed that boost of self esteem in their life and Frickin idiots who complain are sueing them for what!? False Advertisement!? Oh Puuuleeeaasee! Who DOESNT have false advertisement to sell their product! We live in such an ungrateful world that has to complain about everything! and i'll be the first to say im guilty! Anyway, I'm really excited to start these unhealthy pills! just kidding! :)

posted Sep 16th, 2010 8:00 pm


Laurie Baker

I like Akavar very much. It is the only deit pill that has worked for me. On Akavar I lost over 10 pounds and was on my way to my goal of losing a total of 30 pounds,(but I had to stop buying it due to my budget). I was able to cut down on what I ate, because I wasn't as hungry as I used to be when I used other products. But the Wal-Mart that I shop at stop selling it. An I haven't been able to find it elsewhere. Could you help me find another store that I can it at. Thank You.

posted Sep 9th, 2010 12:58 am


fany lemart

I've got Akavar in sale like an experience without big expectations ) I'm from Europe came back from US ( when I've got at least 10 - 12 pounds ) 2 weeks ago. I ate icecream and other fat stuff even last weekend. Started go spinning and low carb on Tuesday with taking Akavar. When I look to the mirror now after 4 days of working out with Akavar I can't belive how fast it was. I haven't weight myself but I look much slimmer. It realy works, I know my body and my lost was never been so fast like now even when I excercised.

posted Aug 7th, 2010 1:46 am


Brandi

I used akavar diet pills for over a year. In the first 6 months I lost 25 pds. It says it works without diet and exercise which is true! I don't do diets and I don't have time to exercise so I opted for this miracle. My friends and family even noticed the loss. When they asked how I told them about this product. My selling point was not on the weightless alone it was also the fact that it gives you the energy without the jitteriness. I have recently had to stop taking them for I can no longer find them in stores and since I have quit taking them I have gained about 10 pds back Wichita I'm not enthused about but maybe if I would have exercised with it that would not be an issue. So akavar does have it's pros and cons but for the most part I'm sold!!!! Just please make them available again......

posted Aug 5th, 2010 2:17 pm


tara

i just purchased akavar and it is saying take 1 a day but i hear take 2 from friends? Whats the best way and time to take it for the best results? Thanks

posted Jul 27th, 2010 9:43 am


Rahwezzie

does any1 know where can i get a bottle? its like they stopped selling it.

posted Jul 14th, 2010 12:40 pm


tena

does anyone know where i can get a bottle..??

posted Jul 14th, 2010 12:05 pm


lala

i was nervous to start taking akavar but i think it truly has helped. however i dont thin i have allowed myself to truly see if it can work to its fullest because i smoke weed everyday which increases my appetite. i just ordred another bottle, and recently i have not been getting the munchies. i hope that this time around it will truly work. i dont really get bad side effects from it except for occasional chest pain.

posted Jun 27th, 2010 7:25 pm


Kelly

I would love to tell ya that this product does work....and you have to be dedicated to it...all these people who say i took it for a day, week, month, and it didn't work don't have dedication...because believe me it does. Yeah, i was frustrated in the 1st month i only lost 7pds. but i stayed dedicated to...i took akavar for a year/// I am 5"3. I weighed in @ 191pds. before starting akavar and I read numerous articles about it and asked the dr. especially a Pharmacists who I totally trust and gave me the go ahead I now weigh 120pds. I would like to say thanks akavar..and for me having the dedication and belief that I would get the weight off..Just take a vitamin w/product. Not every product if for everyone..lol...

posted Jun 17th, 2010 10:05 am


Kim

i've taken akavar in the past, and i LOVED it. i had NO appetite whatsoever on the pills, i had tonnes of energy, and it didnt upset my stomach or give me headaches (i have irritable bowel syndrom, and am hyper-sensitive to caffeine).

WHAT PEOPLE NEED TO REALISE****
is that not all diet pills work for everyone! you cannot say a product does or does not work. just whether it worked for you! if your sensitive to it decrease the dose til your body adjusts. try it for a minimum of 1 month (how else can you say it does or doesnt do its job?). and then get back to us!
also, its been a year since i stopped using akavar 20/50, and i weigh 10 lbs less now than i did while taking it. my appetite never increased when istopped, and my energy levels never dropped.
these products do not work for everyone!!****
as well, if you want lasting weight loss, you need to make a lifestyle change. you will regain the weight if youre still eating more than 1800 - 2200 calories a day (depending on sex and stature) and you are not exercising. these products are meant to AID in weightloss, not be the sole reason for it. i think akavar used in combination with a HEALTHY DIET and EXERCISE, when taken properly, could lead to a healthy, happy customer.

posted Jun 11th, 2010 8:10 am


Steph

To those below who think the positive comments are only from the company, I bought akavar awhile ago based on the reviews on this site and this is the only diet pill that has made a difference for me.

It helps keep me regular, which is difficult because of a intolerance to some foods, it gives me energy, and it truly supresses my appetite. I lost weight without working out just because I was less hungry. Now I take it as well as working out. I've taken it for most of my weight loss. I've lost almost 25 pounds from when I originally posted here.

This is how it worked for me, other diet pills have worked for others that have not worked for me, so I do not expect this to work for everyone.

Try it, and if you like it, use it. That's all there is to it.

posted Jun 8th, 2010 10:34 pm


Mike S

I have taken akavar off and on for a few weeks. At first I felt a little naseus but now I feel fine. I don't take the recommended dose, which is 2 pills 15 minutes before each meal. Instead I take 2 pills before having a bowl of high fiber cereal and a glass of v8 fusion juice. I am a multimedia designer and spend 6 to 8 hours per day at my computer. This dietary supplement gives me a little more energy so that I can work out a little during breaks from my work. I haven't lost much weight but that is due to my diet. I agree with other who say that in order to have a healthy and fit body one must eat right and exercise. My hope is that I can take akavar for a few more weeks and boost my metabolism. Also, I didn't pay full price for the product. It was on sale for 75% off.

posted Jun 3rd, 2010 8:50 am


Kristin

First off, any diet supplement that says it will help you lose weight with little or no effort on your part, other than buying their product, should be a warning. The ONLY way to lose weight, is to eat a sensible diet and exercise. The only thing that gets thin when you take the lazy, pill popping route, is your wallet. Get off of your fat butt, move around and start eating 5 small low fat/low calorie meals a day.

I tried Akavar and noticed not one change in my appetite, but did notice a huge headache and nausea. I was eating well and drinking enough water. This stuff made me feel like I had just downed two pots of crystal meth laced coffee. I stuck with the sensible diet and started working out, and what do you know; I lost weight. I have one cheat meal a week. The diet supplement industry is not going to get fat off of me anymore. If you want to lose weight, you have to actually put forth something called "effort". Us Americans have gotten so darn lazy, spoiled and such gluttons. We supersize everything, don't eat anything plant based, don't exercise and cry when we are diagnosed with Diabetes or Cancer. Wake up!

posted May 28th, 2010 2:30 pm


Donna Welland

I started this on Monday and as of today, I went from 176.6 to 172.2 which for me is a tremendous loss, because like I said, I do believe my metabolism has slowed down over the last 5 years.

posted May 7th, 2010 4:58 pm



Desirea Ratcliff

I love Akavar i strted taking the pill tuesday i lost 7 pounds so far thisweek.

posted May 7th, 2010 9:11 am


funnyhaha71

Akavar 20/50 is being sued in a class-action suit for false advertising. Akavar claims to have performed clinical research studies but lied about that. You can read an interesting email exchange between a doctor and the company that makes Akavar. They blatantly lied to the doc about the "clinical trials" and gave then gave the doc studies that were unrelated to their product.ÔĽŅ You can Google "Akavar 20/50 lawsuit" for info about the lawsuit.

posted May 5th, 2010 8:27 pm


funnyhaha71

I suspect that the company that makes Akavar 20/50 is responsible for the positive comments in this thread.

The makers of Akavar 20/50 are engaged in a class-action lawsuit filed against them for false advertising. The suit was filed in November 9, 2007. You can learn more about the lawsuit at: http://www.sfmslaw.com/class-action-lawsuits/cases

The magazine Skeptical Inquirer had an excellent recount of an exchange between a doctor and the company that makes Akavar. The doctor simply wanted to read the 2 articles that Akavar advertises as proof that their product works. You may read the article here: http://www.csicop.org/si/show/we_couldnt_say_it_in

Some interesting points from the article:

"I really hit the jackpot when I noticed an ad for a weight-loss product called Akavar 20/50. It made the usual claims: eat all you want and still lose weight. But it had the best advertising slogan ever: ‚??We couldn‚??t say it in print if it wasn‚??t true!‚?Ě'

"The ad describes research results on Akavar as ‚??staggering.‚?Ě It claims to have published scientific research showing that twenty-three out of twenty-four patients .... "

"I searched PubMed for anything in either of those journals that might even remotely be considered studies of Akavar and couldn‚??t find anything. I wrote the company‚??s customer service representative and asked for more information. That led to the following surreal e-mail exchange over the next month and a half."

The email exchange gets wild; it would be hilarious if it weren't dealing with a supplement consumed by people wanting a pill!

What the doctor wanted:

"Let‚??s make this really simple:

1. Are there two published studies?

2. If so, please provide me with the information I will need to locate and read those studies: Name of author(s), title of article, name of journal, volume, page number and date of publication."

The legal departments reply after 6 weeks:

"We have received your request to provide you with all studies relating to our Akavar 20/50 product. Due to the confidential nature of these studies, we cannot release these studies without a signed Non-Disclosure Agreement. Our standard Non-Disclosure Agreement is enclosed. Pleases [sic] review and sign the Agreement. Upon receipt of the signed Non-Disclosure Agreement, we will happily provide you the information you requested. . . . [This was accompanied by a complicated, multi-page legal document.]"

The doctor's final email which was never replied to:

"ou did not provide the titles of the studies, but I easily found them. I can see why you didn‚??t provide the titles, and I can see why I didn‚??t find them when I looked before, because it is obvious that they were not studies of Akavar 20/50.The Lieberman study is titled ‚??Effects of caffeine, sleep loss, and stress on cognitive performance and mood during U.S. Navy SEAL training. Sea-Air-Land.‚?Ě The Andersen study is ‚??Weight loss and delayed gastric emptying following a South American herbal preparation in overweight patients.‚?Ě The herbal preparation was a mixture of yerba mate, guarana, and damiana. The patients initially lost a few pounds, but those who took the active drug for 12 months ‚??maintained‚?Ě their weight during that period. The abstract of the study does not say that the study participants were instructed not to alter their eating habits. And the numbers of patients do not correspond to either of the studies described in your ads.

Your ad says, ‚??this is scientific fact, documented by published medical findings.‚?Ě Are you now admitting that there are no published clinical studies of Akavar 20/50 and that the statements in your ads are false?"

Akavar is still claiming to have performed clinical trials on it's product. From their website:

"While the published clinical trial using the active Ak√§var-20/50 compound resulted in significant weight loss WITHOUT diet and exercise,adding a sensible diet and exercise program to your weight-loss regimen should only enhance Ak√§var-20/50√Ę‚?¨‚?Ęs incredible weight-loss power."

This is not in the small print:

"Clinical trial shows success: That‚??s right. While no diet pill can possibly work for everyone (that‚??s why there‚??s a money-back guarantee), the peer-reviewed clinical trial revealed that virtually everyone in the study who used Ak√§var-20/50‚??s active compound (23 out of 24 participants, to be exact) lost a significant amount of weight."

http://www.akavar2050.com/akavar-2050-3.html

I haven't taken Akavar 20/50 nor will I take something that is so deceptively marketed and unresearched. I am not part of the lawsuit, nor do I know anyone at Skeptical Inquirer or anyone associated with the lawsuit. I am just a scientist who came across the Skeptical Inquirer and thought it wise to share this info. I am also not someone that is anti-medication or supplements. I use both daily. If you are using Akavar 20/50, you might want to research what you are ingesting.

Truly, if it is too good to be true, the it is. Say no to false advertising and pseudoscience.

posted May 5th, 2010 8:23 pm


Donna Welland

This is my second full day on Akavar 20/50 and I am weighing in at 173.2 which is a major difference. My appetite is huge. I usually have pasta with sauce for breakfast but I haven't had that inclination during the last 2 days. I am going to start taking a multi vitamin such in case. I will post again in a couple of day. so far so good

posted May 5th, 2010 1:24 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account