Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

47%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 412 reviews

Acai

An organic super food from Brazil packing a healthy dose of nutrients.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Product: A natural berry that grows in the Amazon rain forest
  • Accessibility: Online and some retailers in pill form
  • Diet Type: Dietary supplement
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Just the mention of a product coming from the Amazon has the overtones of possessing mysterious health benefits. Acai (pronounced ah-sigh-ee) is the high-energy berry of a special Amazon palm tree. Its nutritional benefits are so powerful, Dr. Nicholas Perricone lists it as one of his top 10 Super Foods at Oprah's Web site.

Studies have shown that the Acai berry is one of the more nutritious and powerful foods on the planet. Harvested in the rainforests of Brazil, Acai tastes like a mix of berries and chocolate. Hidden within its purple pigment is what makes it the perfect energy fruit. Acai is packed full of antioxidants, amino acids and essential fatty acids. You probably won't find it in your local supermarket, but you may have better luck at health food stores, or from the many products springing up online.

The benefits of Acai are purported to be good for detoxing and maintaining optimal health for balancing your pH level. Proper pH balance is vital to our immune health and for disease prevention and correction. Other benefits you'll enjoy:

  • Acai has a high concentration of antioxidants that combat premature aging. It has 10 times the antioxidants that red grapes have, and as much as 30 times the anthocyanins of red wine. Anthocyanins may have antioxidant effects, possibly fighting cancer, diabetes, and bacterial infections, to name a few.
  • Healthy monounsaturated fats, dietary fiber and phytosterols together help promote cardiovascular and digestive health.
  • An amino acid complex in conjunction with valuable trace minerals, help with muscular health.

PRO
  • Research concludes that there appear to be significant benefits to Acai
  • On Dr. Perricone's list of Super Foods
  • Natural ingredients have disease-fighting qualities
  • Increases energy
  • Offers antioxidants and amino acids
  • Good source of fiber
  • Organic products available
  • Many juices and other products available in major grocers
CON
  • Like other exotic products, Acai can be pricey
  • Many imposters
INGREDIENTS

Each Acai product will vary in its ingredients. Be sure to look for Acai products that are all-natural, and do not include a long list of other ingredients. Acai in its purest form is most effective.

Acai comes in many forms, including the whole berry, juices, powders, capsules and pills, food items and more.

EXERCISE

Like any weight loss product, you should commit to a consistent exercise regimen. Be sure to look for Acai products that support a balanced and active lifestyle.

CONCLUSION

Exotic health foods, like the Acai berry, can provide untapped health benefits, if you can afford it. For whatever reason, these organic products are often on the steep side. But what else is more important than your health? If you can find room in your budget, a product like Acai is worth exploring.

Common Misspellings

Asai, Akai, Ackai, Acia, Acai Berry, Acaiberry, Acai Deit


Related Diets: Acai Berry Blast, Acai Berry Boom, Acai Berry Power 500, Acai Berry Supreme, Acai Berry Wonder, Acai Burn for Men, Acai Green Tea Fusion, Acai Slim, Acai-aSlim, Extreme Acai Berry, Extreme Acai Pom, MonaVie, Vital Acai, Viva Acai, Acai Easy Drink Pack, Acai Roots, Sambazon Acai


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 7 of 27, 538 total comments)

suzet watkin

i was feeling very tired so i dicided to take a week vacation from my job i went to walmart and i saw this acai berry punch so i read it and i bought it drank it for one week and i feel like a brand new person

posted Sep 20th, 2009 2:49 pm


brenda

well i have been using the acai cleanse for about three days and i dont see a difference in anything it seems that i am still the same way

posted Sep 20th, 2009 12:56 am


marsha billups

I JUST STARTED 2 DAYS ACAIBERRY DIET, AT WALGREENS 2 FOR $9.99 and you can get a $3.00 off coupon. IT HAS AN ENZYMES THAT REALLY HELPS YOUR DIGESTION SYSTEM AND IF YOU EXCERISE YOU CAN FEEL YOUR METABOLISM GETTING GOING. So I STRONGLY RECOMMENDED THAT YOU TRY THIS SPECFIC PRODUCT AND BUY IT FROM THE STORE AND NOT WITH YOUR CREDIT CARD

posted Sep 11th, 2009 8:50 pm


belle

Available in health stores in Australia. I've just bought some from It's a heck of a lot cheaper, you buy what you want and if you live overseas the exchange rate is totally in your favour.

posted Sep 10th, 2009 12:48 am


belle

Thank you so much for this feedback. I just filled out an order form including my visa details. As I ticked the "have you read the conditions" box I decided to do so. Obviously I didn't go through with it but am concerned they may have my credit card details regardless.

posted Sep 10th, 2009 12:17 am


david renouf

would you send me your address . Thank You.

posted Sep 7th, 2009 10:28 pm


tifannie

i hate this
i craped my brains out for a week!

it was horrible.
i sware i used 12 rolls of t.p. in a week!

posted Aug 28th, 2009 3:12 pm


Sara

I haven't tried either the Acai berry detox yet, or the colon cleanser but I did get sucked into the free trials as well. After I purchased them I came by some reviews and then went back and read the small print. If you don't return the bottles in 15 days they charge you $85.00. After reading this I canceled my visa card and only got charged for the shipping. But like everyone else said don't bother trying to call them it doesn't work!

posted Aug 24th, 2009 10:59 pm


Kath

ACAI is GREAT! I (current age 56) and my father (current age 79) started using it December 2006 to boost our immune systems. I ordered online the capsule with dry ingredients and some with liquid gel capsules. After 3 months, my father was able to lift his right arm to the left side of his face! He has not been able to do since a light stroke in 2000! AMAZING! I had not idea Acai would help this! In 2008, I used 3 bottles of Monavie- EXPENSIVE. Monavie worked okay-but I was not impressed. It was also inconvenient for me with the traveling I do. Then Wal-Mart began carrying the Acai gel capsules which we tried. We have stayed with the Wal-Mart Gel Capsules!! These work just as well as the expensive supplements. Easy to use and easy to take if you travel and they do work!

Currently, we are also trying Resveratrol, an excellent anti-inflammatory supplement. A lot of research is being done on this single product by scientists for cancer prevention. I actually work at a place where some of the research is being conducted. You can search online for actual studies by research scientists of supplements you take or before you considering purchacing supplements.

I am currently using MaritzMayer Super ResV 1200 that I found at a Health Store. This has a combination of ingredients which has greatly help my body. I do not get as stiff and sore from exercise, yard work, etc. I have more energy,skin looks younger, and my muscles are firmer! I have purchased the single ingredient resveratrol for a friend of mine who has cancer and provided him with information. My family and I are trying the single ingredient and also the combination ingredients resveratrol to see which works best for our individual needs.

posted Aug 21st, 2009 7:37 am


angie

i dont believe any of these websites, they are all too common with pictures of before and after which are easily photoshopped...Just because you name drop a few celebrities...people flock to purchase this worthless junk...i dont expect to see this on your website as i am sure your picking an choosing the comments made by your friends to boost your "stay at home" business....Shame on you for name dropping, just because you talk about Rachel Ray, Dr, Oz and Dr. Perricone doesnt mean a thing....and if you havent looked lately, the internet is crawling with "my weight loss journey's" that they're all promoting acai and colon cleanse.....

And the following is a direct quote from the attorneys from Harpo...

Consumers should be aware that neither Oprah Winfrey nor Dr. Oz are associated with nor do they endorse any açaí berry product, company or online solicitation of such products, including MonaVie juice products. Attorneys for Harpo are pursuing companies that claim such an affiliation.

Neither Oprah nor Dr. Oz are associated with nor do they endorse any specific resveratrol product, company or online solicitation of such products. Any companies that misrepresent their affiliation are making false claims. Harpo attorneys are pursuing companies that claim such an affiliation.

posted Aug 20th, 2009 3:42 pm


lin

Starting in May 2009, I returned the product with the RGA# and cancellation to a Draper Utah address.
When I called to check on the refund status, low and behold, I was speaking to a customer service rep in Mumbai. In the subsequent 10 calls, I was given a receipt number and the refund date of 07/19/09. Of course, it was never creditted.
I called today to check on the status and surprise! the phone number 1-866-951-1393 no longer services the ACAI X3 product.
I was given the number 1-866-687-2709, which is an answering machine for a distribution company that is not associated with company that I ordered the "free" sample from.
So I just lost $88.00 to fraud. I plan pursuing the refund but am unsure at this point how.

posted Aug 20th, 2009 1:24 pm


Frank

Get your free trial of the ONLY ACAI product which will really help you lose weight! TRY IT FREE HERE!

posted Aug 20th, 2009 11:49 am


beth

It was supposed to be free. not only did they charged me full price they kept charging me for two months. not once did i get this product in the mail. This company is a rip off. DON'T TRUST WHAT THEY SAY.

posted Aug 20th, 2009 1:20 am


Krista Hart

Acai berry is a SCAM!!!! Please don't waste your money on this. The most effective way of losing wieght is exercise and eating right. My appetite didn't decrease and my energy didn't increase with acai. I was very disappointed with this product!

posted Aug 19th, 2009 1:38 pm


Danielle G

I just got the stuff today at Walgreens and it was only $8.46 and it was buy one get one free. Cheaper then having to deal with oredering online. Thought I should share. My friends and I are trying it just started so don't know how it works yet.

posted Aug 18th, 2009 2:38 pm


kristy

I heard about everyone else story and decided to cancel mine a day after I ordered the free trial but I will never try this again.....So thinks for the warning

posted Aug 14th, 2009 7:52 pm


Trish

There is no such thing as FREE. If you like it and decide to try it you are charged for the so called "Free" trial. You are also enrolled in Live Lean with a $25 monthly fee ... did not learn about this until I received my credit card statement. Live Lean claims to have emailed me info with my user name and password. I received nothing but it was not up for discussion. RIP OFF!!!!!!!!

posted Aug 14th, 2009 1:28 pm


annette

I have hasd the same issue as many of you. I ordered the free trail and got charged shipping charges which I expected. Package came via mail and I ended up also paying Customs on it of $25.00. then only to discover they charged my credit card $132.80 at the end of the month. Tried emailing them and of course they don't receive email. Finally got thru on the not Toll free number to the UK. God only knows how much that will cost. They agreed to cancel immediately but I am not taking any chances Will be cancelling credit card so that it doesn't happen again.

Also i took the pills(2 pills a day) I followed diet Mainly fruits and Vegetables with low amount of meats. And guess what No weight loss. Not even 1/2 lb. I had major constipation as well as major pains in stomach. Stopped taking pills and no more pain.
Tried to find side effects on internet of the acaiberry and the are saying there are none expect wight loss. Don't find that to be true. They really need to update their info.

posted Aug 13th, 2009 2:43 pm


kristy

the aciaberry is a scam i dont care what you people say they charge your credit card multiple times in one month of 87.13 this has got to be a crime!!!! and this is america huh

posted Aug 11th, 2009 8:07 pm


MARIE

THIS PRODUCT IS NOT A SCAM! SOME OF THE PEOPLE ARE NOT ABLE TO READ TERMS AND CONDITIONS,SOME ARE NOT AWARE OF THEIR TRIAL PERIOD, IF YOU WILL JUST READ BEFORE SIGNING WITH THE PRODUCT YOU WILL REFRAIN FROM SAYING THAT THIS PRODUCT IS NOT A SCAM!! ANYWAY IT'S EFFECTIVE.

posted Aug 9th, 2009 12:17 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account