Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

47%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 412 reviews

Acai

An organic super food from Brazil packing a healthy dose of nutrients.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Product: A natural berry that grows in the Amazon rain forest
  • Accessibility: Online and some retailers in pill form
  • Diet Type: Dietary supplement
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Just the mention of a product coming from the Amazon has the overtones of possessing mysterious health benefits. Acai (pronounced ah-sigh-ee) is the high-energy berry of a special Amazon palm tree. Its nutritional benefits are so powerful, Dr. Nicholas Perricone lists it as one of his top 10 Super Foods at Oprah's Web site.

Studies have shown that the Acai berry is one of the more nutritious and powerful foods on the planet. Harvested in the rainforests of Brazil, Acai tastes like a mix of berries and chocolate. Hidden within its purple pigment is what makes it the perfect energy fruit. Acai is packed full of antioxidants, amino acids and essential fatty acids. You probably won't find it in your local supermarket, but you may have better luck at health food stores, or from the many products springing up online.

The benefits of Acai are purported to be good for detoxing and maintaining optimal health for balancing your pH level. Proper pH balance is vital to our immune health and for disease prevention and correction. Other benefits you'll enjoy:

  • Acai has a high concentration of antioxidants that combat premature aging. It has 10 times the antioxidants that red grapes have, and as much as 30 times the anthocyanins of red wine. Anthocyanins may have antioxidant effects, possibly fighting cancer, diabetes, and bacterial infections, to name a few.
  • Healthy monounsaturated fats, dietary fiber and phytosterols together help promote cardiovascular and digestive health.
  • An amino acid complex in conjunction with valuable trace minerals, help with muscular health.

PRO
  • Research concludes that there appear to be significant benefits to Acai
  • On Dr. Perricone's list of Super Foods
  • Natural ingredients have disease-fighting qualities
  • Increases energy
  • Offers antioxidants and amino acids
  • Good source of fiber
  • Organic products available
  • Many juices and other products available in major grocers
CON
  • Like other exotic products, Acai can be pricey
  • Many imposters
INGREDIENTS

Each Acai product will vary in its ingredients. Be sure to look for Acai products that are all-natural, and do not include a long list of other ingredients. Acai in its purest form is most effective.

Acai comes in many forms, including the whole berry, juices, powders, capsules and pills, food items and more.

EXERCISE

Like any weight loss product, you should commit to a consistent exercise regimen. Be sure to look for Acai products that support a balanced and active lifestyle.

CONCLUSION

Exotic health foods, like the Acai berry, can provide untapped health benefits, if you can afford it. For whatever reason, these organic products are often on the steep side. But what else is more important than your health? If you can find room in your budget, a product like Acai is worth exploring.

Common Misspellings

Asai, Akai, Ackai, Acia, Acai Berry, Acaiberry, Acai Deit


Related Diets: Acai Berry Blast, Acai Berry Boom, Acai Berry Power 500, Acai Berry Supreme, Acai Berry Wonder, Acai Burn for Men, Acai Green Tea Fusion, Acai Slim, Acai-aSlim, Extreme Acai Berry, Extreme Acai Pom, MonaVie, Vital Acai, Viva Acai, Acai Easy Drink Pack, Acai Roots, Sambazon Acai


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 27, 538 total comments)

USA

swwet commenting here,

posted Aug 25th, 2010 10:29 am


sabra

wow i almost just orderd the 1.95 thing im glad i looked this up first!

posted Aug 11th, 2010 1:03 am


MB

I purchased the acaitrim brazilian diet aid at Sam's club, two bottles of 30 pills, for $11.95. So far I have had great results. Not hungry, not jittery. It's working well with a low-carb/low-fat diet and excersise plan. Losing the weight and feeling good.

posted Aug 10th, 2010 7:35 pm


Matthew

I ordered my free trial offer of AcaiOptimum and AdvancedColon online. Its the same web site that al the links go to that say free. It took over 3 weeks to arrive and my credit card was charged $99.96 for each product and the deal was to get your $99.96 back in the form of a rebate. The company charges your credit card two times and rebates for one charge so you end up paying for the "free" product anyway. All the links say "free" and all the advertisments imply that they let you try it free but it IS NOT free!!!
BEWARE!

posted Aug 3rd, 2010 2:11 pm


SHEELA

I tried Acai berry that i brought at health option and i'm intaking it 2x a day. The result was great my 1 pc of warts at the back neck were gone and i maintain my diet i love the acai berry

posted Jul 15th, 2010 4:30 am


makara

its a scam, it doesnt work and i ended up paying hundreds for it even when i already paid $3 for the trial. dont buy it its just another bad pill to pile in your system.

posted Jun 24th, 2010 8:30 pm


KETTY

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. I BOUGHT THE ACAI-TRIM AND CLEANSE PRODUCT FOR SUPPOSEDLY $1.95 EACH AND SEVEN DAYS LATER I GOT A BILL ON MY CREDIT CARD FOR $101.51. THIS PEOPLE HAVE MISLEADING ADVERTISING AND THE PRODUCT IS NOT EVEN FDA APPROVED. I AM VERY SKEPTICAL TO USED IT. I RATHER NOT USE IT AT ALL. I WILL DO A LITTLE MORE RESEARCH ON THE PRODUCT. I FEEL TOTALLY RIP OFF BECAUSE I DIDN'T BUY A PRODUCT FOR $100.00 AND THEY STOLE MY MONEY ON MY FACE WITHOUT ME BEING ABLE TO DO ANYTHING =(

posted Jun 12th, 2010 11:02 pm


Jenny

DO NOT BUY Acai Weight Loss and the Cleanse! It's not $2.95! After that first charge, you will be billed $79.95 every month. I immediately called the customer service number provided in my confirmation email a few hours after placing the order and reading these scam reviews online. The customer service took almost half an hour trying to find my order and kept telling me that I didn't place an order with them. I even gave them the order numbers in my confirmation email and all other information they asked for but still they had no such order in their system. The order had already showed up as a charge on my credit card! It was only after I pointed that fact out, she miraculously found my order! I had to cancel my "membership" and when I asked for a refund, she said it's along the terms and conditions of "shipping and handling." Oh Come On! I told her nothing was shipped or handled and had to demand a refund! SCAM SCAM SCAM! I don't even know if she, the customer service rep, cleaned up this mess I got myself into! Guess I'll have to check my credit card statement everyday....

I hope this will save someone from doing what I did. I agree with those previous....I'm going to GNC.

posted Jun 8th, 2010 9:08 am


RunLolaRun

Why is it that no one on this board can spell, punctuate or form a complete sentence? Instead of worrying about your weight, maybe you should go back to school.

posted May 27th, 2010 2:00 am


Le

I had purchased this product along with a colon cleans online for the 10 day trial. On the 6th day I did not receive so I called and canceled my subscription and they gave me 14 more days and resent the products. I received in 3 days. In 6 days I lost 6 lbs! I was shocked and very skeptical as well when I didn't receive them in the beginning, thinking it was a scam but I am very happy with the results. Now my dilemma is whether to cancel and try to find the real thing elsewhere for a lower price or don't chance it and be happy with what I have.

posted May 25th, 2010 1:17 pm


HOpe

I hated this product! I caused me pain and head ache! They Steal Peoples Money! Do not Order this product! You will regret it!

posted May 23rd, 2010 12:05 am


pw413

The best Acai berry product out there can be found at www.monavie.com. Check it out. Somewhat pricey but the product is 100% Acai berry and guaranteed. Very good, reputable company. You have to be a distributor to get the product (a one-time $39 fee) but its definitely worth it.

posted May 19th, 2010 12:49 pm


jingjing

Today I checked my accooount balance, I was charged $62.90 from my debet card. I didn't order anything from this website on May 3rd, how come 800-604-1742 charge me ? I have to call them.

posted May 7th, 2010 10:01 pm


Miss Sophia

DO NOT CALL 800 604 1742 Acai-Trim Scam! The not-so-free-trial offer ruined this product for me. I ordered the product on 4/26 for only $2.95. It arrived on 5/1 and I was looking forward to results but I was charged $58.90 on 5/4. I called to ask why and was told had I bothered to read the terms and conditions I would have known the trial lasts only 10 days. OK I said. What 10 days are you referring to as I am still within my 10 day trial thank you, refund my money and cancel my "subscription." I was told I ordered the product on a different day and blah blah blah they would only refund $20. I had my debit account open and argued the point of sale but it was very obviously a scam. DO NOT CALL 800 604 1742 Acai-Trim

posted May 5th, 2010 5:12 pm


sharon

this web site is a scam i try to cancel my order and the nums. 1866-421-6554 &1888-985-1159 eirther one said it was not taken calls &the other said that i didnot place a order andrefused tostop my order but thay have all ready took the moneyoff my debitcard and will probaly try to take even more

posted May 3rd, 2010 3:48 pm


Lauren

This is not a weight loss pill, it just helps so you have more energy to excersise and lose the weight. Also if you dont use a colon cleaser too, it might not work, cuz a dirty colon usually adds a few inches to your stomach area. So if it doesnt work, usually its cuz your not putting effort into it or your not doing everything you need to.

posted May 1st, 2010 6:03 pm


basamgymnast

Don't do it. I ordered this and after the free trial I cancelled it. The next month they sent me (2) bottles, and when I called them out on it they said "sorry" we will credit your card within 5 business days. Day 4 and no credit yet. Liars

posted Apr 29th, 2010 9:16 am


JJ

Definitely do NOT sign up for the free trial offer listed on consumer7news.com. They are scammers! They claim you will only be charged less than $5 for the free trial, but then they charge $158!! I canceled immediately and I'll be going to my local CVS instead. Wish I had found this site before I signed up for the un *free* trial.

posted Apr 28th, 2010 5:30 pm


paula

purchased at walmart, and it does work , acaitrim brazilian diet aid

posted Apr 28th, 2010 5:25 pm


Lexus

I saw the reveiw from the channel 7 lady and decided to give acai berry and colon clense together a try. But right under her reveiw was the price which was 1 something down and some money a month also for each product. So I went to my local GNC store because I didnt feel like I should have to spend large amounts of money to loose weight. So I picked up an acai berry dietary supplment and a colon cleanser and have been taking it for a week now. I lost four pounds! I stomach is very trimmed, I can fit into my size 5 jeans again, I have plenty of energy and my appetite is gone. Sometimes I have to make myself eat because I dont think about food as much anymore. Hope this helps! Good Luck!

posted Apr 26th, 2010 12:05 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account