Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

47%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 412 reviews

Acai

An organic super food from Brazil packing a healthy dose of nutrients.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Product: A natural berry that grows in the Amazon rain forest
  • Accessibility: Online and some retailers in pill form
  • Diet Type: Dietary supplement
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Just the mention of a product coming from the Amazon has the overtones of possessing mysterious health benefits. Acai (pronounced ah-sigh-ee) is the high-energy berry of a special Amazon palm tree. Its nutritional benefits are so powerful, Dr. Nicholas Perricone lists it as one of his top 10 Super Foods at Oprah's Web site.

Studies have shown that the Acai berry is one of the more nutritious and powerful foods on the planet. Harvested in the rainforests of Brazil, Acai tastes like a mix of berries and chocolate. Hidden within its purple pigment is what makes it the perfect energy fruit. Acai is packed full of antioxidants, amino acids and essential fatty acids. You probably won't find it in your local supermarket, but you may have better luck at health food stores, or from the many products springing up online.

The benefits of Acai are purported to be good for detoxing and maintaining optimal health for balancing your pH level. Proper pH balance is vital to our immune health and for disease prevention and correction. Other benefits you'll enjoy:

  • Acai has a high concentration of antioxidants that combat premature aging. It has 10 times the antioxidants that red grapes have, and as much as 30 times the anthocyanins of red wine. Anthocyanins may have antioxidant effects, possibly fighting cancer, diabetes, and bacterial infections, to name a few.
  • Healthy monounsaturated fats, dietary fiber and phytosterols together help promote cardiovascular and digestive health.
  • An amino acid complex in conjunction with valuable trace minerals, help with muscular health.

PRO
  • Research concludes that there appear to be significant benefits to Acai
  • On Dr. Perricone's list of Super Foods
  • Natural ingredients have disease-fighting qualities
  • Increases energy
  • Offers antioxidants and amino acids
  • Good source of fiber
  • Organic products available
  • Many juices and other products available in major grocers
CON
  • Like other exotic products, Acai can be pricey
  • Many imposters
INGREDIENTS

Each Acai product will vary in its ingredients. Be sure to look for Acai products that are all-natural, and do not include a long list of other ingredients. Acai in its purest form is most effective.

Acai comes in many forms, including the whole berry, juices, powders, capsules and pills, food items and more.

EXERCISE

Like any weight loss product, you should commit to a consistent exercise regimen. Be sure to look for Acai products that support a balanced and active lifestyle.

CONCLUSION

Exotic health foods, like the Acai berry, can provide untapped health benefits, if you can afford it. For whatever reason, these organic products are often on the steep side. But what else is more important than your health? If you can find room in your budget, a product like Acai is worth exploring.

Common Misspellings

Asai, Akai, Ackai, Acia, Acai Berry, Acaiberry, Acai Deit


Related Diets: Acai Berry Blast, Acai Berry Boom, Acai Berry Power 500, Acai Berry Supreme, Acai Berry Wonder, Acai Burn for Men, Acai Green Tea Fusion, Acai Slim, Acai-aSlim, Extreme Acai Berry, Extreme Acai Pom, MonaVie, Vital Acai, Viva Acai, Acai Easy Drink Pack, Acai Roots, Sambazon Acai


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 27, 538 total comments)

Tasha

Acaci can be purchased in pure form and I'm sure it has better benefits than some.

Check out this site...
http://acaiberrysite.com/store/

posted Feb 5th, 2010 4:57 pm


Jenny

I was very scared to order mine over the internet, but I found a some at Costco for only $18.00. Today was my first day so I am still waiting for the results. There is enough in the bottle for four months 250 capsules twice a day.

posted Feb 5th, 2010 2:14 am


Paige

I would like to know what time of day you should take these acai berry supplements, and how many meals should be eaten. Also, what kind of meals should i consume?
:)

posted Feb 3rd, 2010 4:41 pm


Kim

I did the cleanse, bought at walmart for about $10,,worked great, lost about 5 lbs. I just started the acai diet today, I think you definatly have to exercise or keep busy after taking it, or you'll feel a bit jittery. I think it's a good product, but I wouldn't get the free trial offer,,have seen many people getting charged b/c of hidden cost etc.

posted Feb 1st, 2010 9:03 pm


amberc14

i bought nature's bounty acai for $10 at cvs and i took one pill in the morning before breakfast and one before lunch or dinner. At first it makes you sick so dont leave the house your gonna need a bathroom. Start taking it on a weekend, so you get used to it. But this pill doesnt work very long. I lost 15 pounds while i was dieting. It only works for about a month or so then you don't see any results.

posted Jan 31st, 2010 10:57 am


Marilyn

I just started the Acai trim Diet aid for $10.00 from walmart starting today. Was leary of the ongoing shipping,on these frree deals on internet. This supplement is made byNatures organics. It says it super concentrated, 5:1 extract of concentrated acai and green tea 1900 oracs, approx.45% so 500mg of acai every 2 tabs taken once or twice a day. I'll let you know in a week if its helped me lose weight. I've lost 10 pounds on my own in 2 weeks by exercise ans cutting at least 250 cals a day w-my 30 min. of cardio 2-4 times weekly. Anyone else had results with this exact product?

posted Jan 31st, 2010 3:05 am


Jenna

I haven't use the pill yet but I canceled my subscription and they still charged me 160? WTF? It was suppose to be a free trial, don't give them your credit card or bank information. had to call the bank and told them my card got stolen.

posted Jan 8th, 2010 8:42 pm


domi

SCAM!!!!!!!!!
i ordered it from the internet...After i was charged 160$ (and of course couldn't get my money back) I just called my bank about stolen card. this way this "company" didn't have aces to my account anymore (otherwise i'm sure they would steal a lot more).

DO NOT EVER GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD INFO!!!!

posted Jan 6th, 2010 9:29 pm


Katie

I was very interested and about the free trial for the acai berry so continued through the form however when it came to paying it said that it had been unsuccesful, i am very releived now after reading the aboive reveiws, however i am very worried that it may still go out my bank account, can anyone help?

posted Dec 29th, 2009 9:48 am


heather m

umm yeah. for all of you that say it's a scam... it's not jeeze! you have to READ the fine print before you pay for shipping. I just ordered my 14 day trail after I read all the details about canceling before day 14 hits. I called the number and spoke to a lady there who was extremely nice and helpful. then again, i probably ordered from a different website. the number they gave me was 954-237-2690. all you have to do is call press 2 and 2 again to speak to someone. c'mon people... take the time of day to read before you buy something online

posted Dec 22nd, 2009 12:51 pm


Jeff

You can buy acai trim at wal mart for like $12 and its all natural. DO NOT EVER GO THROUGH ACAI BURN, they have a lot of hidden things in their subscription and charge you 80 dollars twice a month some times more. I have been taking the acai trim for about 3 weeks now and im definitely more awake,responsive, feel better and lost 15 lbs, but the weight loss like stated above needs to have exercise involved you cant just take the pills and eat crap and not do anything. It does live up to the hype about it. So if you do want the best versions out there go to your local wal mart or gnc, both being inexpensive and work.

posted Dec 17th, 2009 1:01 pm


Ryan

I have an all natural weight loss product that I sell. My dad has lost over 70 pounds on it and many other have lost as well. You can check out my website for more details.

posted Dec 10th, 2009 4:52 pm


Kat

My bad, my sister told them that she read it made you feel tired all day, not full. And then the person came back with sniping that she was lying and she never read any reviews.

posted Dec 8th, 2009 12:17 pm


Kat

My sister partially filled out the form on their website for the acai berry diet. She never hit submit. But then she read bad reviews on it and closed the page. She then got a phone call from someone from the acai berry diet website and asked her why she didn't complete the form. So evidently they use their systems to either hack into users computers or watch their website when people enter data, I'm not sure. If you put in your information and never hit submit, they will get your information. Not sure if that is legal. But ok. So my sister says she heard bad reviews so she decided not to try it. The lady snapped back "You're lying" and said it's all natural and she's lying about reading reviews. My sister was being nice and said that that's what she read and she read it doesn't make you lose weight. Once again the lady continued snapping back with "you're lying" over and over again. My sister then said, "Well maybe I can research it more and call back and maybe give it a try." And the lady on the phone said "Never mind, just forget about it." And hung up on her.

I don't know about you, but I wouldn't support a company that hires workers like this.

posted Dec 8th, 2009 11:49 am


Richard Theriault

I liked the product, but the 14 day trial period is misleading, since the trial period starts the day the order is placed and on the day we receive it.
It took me 25 days to receive the order.
The 14 day trial was already over, at +$93.00 shippng included is a ripp off. I was automaticly placed on auto ship, and I did not even recive the second shipment as of this day Nov 4 2009. Original order June 6 2009

posted Dec 4th, 2009 3:28 pm


RJ

I am taking the Acai berry for about 15 days. It does taste horrible but is worth the benefits. Iā??ve very good experience with Acai Berry. After, trying this I have more energy and feel ā??betterā? inside. Also, Iā??ve dropped a few pounds.

posted Dec 4th, 2009 2:10 am


mariah

actually idk if the sites kind works but i got mine from walgreens and i have no lie lost already 7 pnds and i ve only bn takin it for 4 days i started takin just the acai and then like 2 days ago i started taking the cleanse and i c the results already in my stomach idk maybe it only works on certain people depending on their metabolism but its workin so far .......

posted Nov 23rd, 2009 11:12 pm


hotstuff

Alysha...learn how to spell

posted Nov 19th, 2009 4:27 pm


bec

rip offs i want my money back now you's ow me $94.63 and i havent recieved nor do i want to recieve any thing as this is just all crap i want my money back thanks!its called stealing from the poor!

posted Nov 17th, 2009 5:45 pm


michelle

do not order this product online it is a scam. they have completly drained my account. its like they have passed out my card number and im now negitive hundreds of dollars. ill never get it all back. i was just suposed to pay $2.75 for shiping and handeling. DO NOT FALL FOR IT LIKE I DID!

posted Nov 12th, 2009 8:41 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account