Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

47%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 412 reviews

Acai

An organic super food from Brazil packing a healthy dose of nutrients.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Product: A natural berry that grows in the Amazon rain forest
  • Accessibility: Online and some retailers in pill form
  • Diet Type: Dietary supplement
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Just the mention of a product coming from the Amazon has the overtones of possessing mysterious health benefits. Acai (pronounced ah-sigh-ee) is the high-energy berry of a special Amazon palm tree. Its nutritional benefits are so powerful, Dr. Nicholas Perricone lists it as one of his top 10 Super Foods at Oprah's Web site.

Studies have shown that the Acai berry is one of the more nutritious and powerful foods on the planet. Harvested in the rainforests of Brazil, Acai tastes like a mix of berries and chocolate. Hidden within its purple pigment is what makes it the perfect energy fruit. Acai is packed full of antioxidants, amino acids and essential fatty acids. You probably won't find it in your local supermarket, but you may have better luck at health food stores, or from the many products springing up online.

The benefits of Acai are purported to be good for detoxing and maintaining optimal health for balancing your pH level. Proper pH balance is vital to our immune health and for disease prevention and correction. Other benefits you'll enjoy:

  • Acai has a high concentration of antioxidants that combat premature aging. It has 10 times the antioxidants that red grapes have, and as much as 30 times the anthocyanins of red wine. Anthocyanins may have antioxidant effects, possibly fighting cancer, diabetes, and bacterial infections, to name a few.
  • Healthy monounsaturated fats, dietary fiber and phytosterols together help promote cardiovascular and digestive health.
  • An amino acid complex in conjunction with valuable trace minerals, help with muscular health.

PRO
  • Research concludes that there appear to be significant benefits to Acai
  • On Dr. Perricone's list of Super Foods
  • Natural ingredients have disease-fighting qualities
  • Increases energy
  • Offers antioxidants and amino acids
  • Good source of fiber
  • Organic products available
  • Many juices and other products available in major grocers
CON
  • Like other exotic products, Acai can be pricey
  • Many imposters
INGREDIENTS

Each Acai product will vary in its ingredients. Be sure to look for Acai products that are all-natural, and do not include a long list of other ingredients. Acai in its purest form is most effective.

Acai comes in many forms, including the whole berry, juices, powders, capsules and pills, food items and more.

EXERCISE

Like any weight loss product, you should commit to a consistent exercise regimen. Be sure to look for Acai products that support a balanced and active lifestyle.

CONCLUSION

Exotic health foods, like the Acai berry, can provide untapped health benefits, if you can afford it. For whatever reason, these organic products are often on the steep side. But what else is more important than your health? If you can find room in your budget, a product like Acai is worth exploring.

Common Misspellings

Asai, Akai, Ackai, Acia, Acai Berry, Acaiberry, Acai Deit


Related Diets: Acai Berry Blast, Acai Berry Boom, Acai Berry Power 500, Acai Berry Supreme, Acai Berry Wonder, Acai Burn for Men, Acai Green Tea Fusion, Acai Slim, Acai-aSlim, Extreme Acai Berry, Extreme Acai Pom, MonaVie, Vital Acai, Viva Acai, Acai Easy Drink Pack, Acai Roots, Sambazon Acai


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 11 of 27, 538 total comments)

pelon

no mames. this is a great product. i tried fucothin before but was to expensive. this seemed to work out great

posted Mar 19th, 2009 10:07 pm


yaya

one word this suck

posted Mar 19th, 2009 4:53 pm


Jo Vantrease

I have been taking this pill for almost a month and I have not lost any weight. I cut down on my eating. I exercise. I take them just like it said on the directions. I have not lost any weight at all. It does not work.

posted Mar 18th, 2009 5:12 pm


frank

You can buy 2 bottles of it at Puritan Pride for 15.00.don't be a sucker!

posted Mar 17th, 2009 2:14 pm


Staci

I actually found some Acai supplements at Wal Mart. They were around $8. I added them to my current diet and I have lost 4lbs in the past week. I feel like they do actually help control my appeite.

posted Mar 17th, 2009 9:34 am


Tiffanie

I wrote earlier, I was one who got a surprise debit of $79.95 without my permission. I just want to let everyone else who is in my boat know that if you call 877-271-4199, they will refund your money. I called today after noticing the withdrawl and after a 5 minute phone call I was promised all my money will be returned to my account. I am so happy that they solved my problem for me!

posted Mar 16th, 2009 3:06 pm


Tiffanie

OMG. I got the free trial as well and today I noticed they took $80 out of my bank account. This is such a scam and I can't believe a company would do such a thing. I wish I would have read this before. I am calling their 1-800 number, and if anyone else has any suggestions on how to get my $80 back, I would really appreciate the help. Money is tight enough for me right now, I'm basically living paycheck to paycheck and I can't afford a random $80 to disappear from my account. PLEASE HELP!!!

posted Mar 16th, 2009 9:08 am


kim

I've been on the acai berry for two weeks and have lost 9 pds which I mainly attribute to me changing what I eat and how much and how often. This is no "miracle" cure for weight loss and I most likely will not buy anymore. If you are interested though....I bought mine on ebay and paid around $20.00. I do have alittle more energy but again I haven't noticed any real significant change.

posted Mar 12th, 2009 10:25 pm


April

I tried the 30 day free trial and paid for the shipping and just noticed that they charged another $85 to my bank account. I am very upset and disappointed. I have filed a complaint and put a stop payment from any future charges. Very disappointing!!!

posted Mar 11th, 2009 10:17 pm


Tony

Okay, I've tried the Acai-Berry. I heard it was all the rage; that it was on Oprah and on CNN and I've seen it in pop-ups, on Myspace, Facebook and everywhere else. It was next to impossible to get more after my first 2 bottles ran out. I ordered online and the company said they were backed-up, even the vitamin stores I went to were all out. I became so frustrated and annoyed that the Acai Berry was so unavailable that I just stopped trying. In powder-form it is readily available, but I really liked it in pill-form; it was no mess, no fuss and easy to remember to take. Now did I see any results...? I am aware that the acai-berries have anti-oxidants, which are fabled to enhance cellular health and possibly slow down aging, but do they help with weight loss? I would first like to point out that the acai-berries DO NOT, and I repeat, DO NOT, give you a 6-pack. You will see these ads everywhere, promising that via the acai-berries, a 6-pack will be achieved. It's impossible. First of all, a 6-pack cannot be achieved by just anyone, and those who can come close to it will tell you that they've almost losing their lives working out hard enough to get even close to one. It may help with weight-loss, but even I cannot say for sure. I think it may have given me some energy, but not a significant amount; I would say a barely perceptive amount. This fruit is not a miracle-maker, it's a supplement, and like most supplements they do not work alone. You also hear everywhere "...in conjunction with diet & exercise." I swear, this is absolutely true. If you keep eating McDonald's hamburgers and fries, chocolate, ice-cream, candy, etc., you will be over-weight, regardless if you take the acai-berry or any other supplement that promises weight-loss no matter what. There is no such thing as a miracle weight-loss-inducing pill or powder. You HAVE TO get your eating habbits under control, period. I realize that is hard pill to swallow, but it has much more than just a few kernels of truth to it. Listen, I think the acai-berry is probably very beneficial for your body and for cellular regeneration and health, but alone it cannot cure America's obesity problem. I think the acai-berry, like any supplement and in conjunction with good eating habbits and exercise, will definitely assist with weight-loss and a healthier you! Will it make a large difference? No - I personally don't think so. But I believe it can give a push and a very slight edge to losing the fat and your mid-section. I think it can help, but not LARGER THAN LIFE-wise, like you will see advertised everywhere. Please do not get caught up in the false excitement of the acai-berry and other supplements. Of course, feel free to try any and all of them, but please use your judgment and be safe. The cliché statement of "my body is my temple" will always be good to remember. Don't get suckered in people!

posted Mar 11th, 2009 6:54 pm


eddie

this is such a rip off man i can probably lose the weight better by doing exercise instead of taking your sick diet pills

posted Mar 11th, 2009 11:27 am


erin

the product was good at first.. i did the sample bottle for 30 days. everything was well and i was going to order more... i just got my bank statement and it shows me that the product went ahead and charged me 80$ WITHOUT my consent. which i am not happy about. i will NEVER use this product agian. i want my money back. all i asked for was the FREEE trial!

posted Mar 9th, 2009 9:23 pm


uneamie

Reviews of products are great.....the problem is you just never know is people who are for a product are just simply trying to push the product for their own hidden benefits. It is hard to believe that some here lost 8 lbs in one week yet others never lose an ounce. So who is telling the truth? Do I have to always buy the product to find our for myself?

posted Mar 8th, 2009 12:32 pm


pamela

all i can say about acai berry is that it is wonderful! i took it to supplement my current diet and i've already lost 12 lbs in 17 days! i know some people are skeptical but i highly reccomend this product to anyone, plus its all natural!

this site is currently having a deal, you only pay $6.95 to try it out, its great but its only for a limited time. heres the link:

posted Mar 6th, 2009 5:09 pm


Natalie

I was dumb enough to order from this company and I lost $85.00 because I didn't call and cancel early enough!! It said a two week trial and then you can call and cancel it. Well it took a week to get and I called a week after that to cancel and they said they couldn't take the charges off!! I was soo mad!! They said in the fine print that it's two weeks from the order date, not the date you receive it!!!

posted Mar 6th, 2009 11:31 am


candice

This product sucks!!!!!!! Never gain will i ever use it.. im sick of these scammers out here lookin for a buck.. Give me a break people and sell some that actually works

posted Mar 5th, 2009 5:31 pm


Peri Clark

I signed up for one of the free trial offers and didn't they ended up charging me for 3 separate orders... Needless to say it was an unpleasant big hassle to get it all fixed. It took 3 months!!! I really did like the Acai Cleanse stuff as it I did loose weight. I just did some searching and found a site that apparently trys the different programs and reviews them. I ended up signing up again about a month ago and the company I used actually called me to offer a flat fee month to month program instead of auto billing me. I hope, for those who want to use try the different acai diets, you can find something that works for you.

- Peri

posted Mar 3rd, 2009 11:14 pm


lillers

ive been on the pill for a couple days now. i feel more alert and able to sleep. but heard from the customer service rep that sold it to me that it does not aid in weight loss.

posted Mar 3rd, 2009 9:05 pm


Vicki

I too got messed up in the free trial offer. I read the terms to the auto program. I received my free offer and then cancelled in plenty of time to stop any future auto shipments. Got charged in January and February. I was told to report my card stolen and a new one reissued. What a pain!! If anyone wants to try this product, I'd recommend going to GNC or a local health food store. Product works the same and is MUCH more reasonable cost wise. I love this stuff, and would only purchase through a store now.

posted Mar 2nd, 2009 5:34 pm


Matt

There are a lot of scams out there, and if you are one of the poor people that got scammed, why not do your part to put them out of business?

My suggestion: Google "Acai diet" - when the results come up, start clicking on the ad ("Sponsored Links") results in the right hand column. I'll click on each ad about 10-15 times.

Why do this? Google ads can cost advertisers a lot of money. If everyone starts clicking on their ads (but obviously not buying anything), the scammer is going to have one HUGE Google ad bill.

Have fun!

posted Mar 2nd, 2009 8:28 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account