Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

47%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 412 reviews

Acai

An organic super food from Brazil packing a healthy dose of nutrients.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Product: A natural berry that grows in the Amazon rain forest
  • Accessibility: Online and some retailers in pill form
  • Diet Type: Dietary supplement
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Just the mention of a product coming from the Amazon has the overtones of possessing mysterious health benefits. Acai (pronounced ah-sigh-ee) is the high-energy berry of a special Amazon palm tree. Its nutritional benefits are so powerful, Dr. Nicholas Perricone lists it as one of his top 10 Super Foods at Oprah's Web site.

Studies have shown that the Acai berry is one of the more nutritious and powerful foods on the planet. Harvested in the rainforests of Brazil, Acai tastes like a mix of berries and chocolate. Hidden within its purple pigment is what makes it the perfect energy fruit. Acai is packed full of antioxidants, amino acids and essential fatty acids. You probably won't find it in your local supermarket, but you may have better luck at health food stores, or from the many products springing up online.

The benefits of Acai are purported to be good for detoxing and maintaining optimal health for balancing your pH level. Proper pH balance is vital to our immune health and for disease prevention and correction. Other benefits you'll enjoy:

  • Acai has a high concentration of antioxidants that combat premature aging. It has 10 times the antioxidants that red grapes have, and as much as 30 times the anthocyanins of red wine. Anthocyanins may have antioxidant effects, possibly fighting cancer, diabetes, and bacterial infections, to name a few.
  • Healthy monounsaturated fats, dietary fiber and phytosterols together help promote cardiovascular and digestive health.
  • An amino acid complex in conjunction with valuable trace minerals, help with muscular health.

PRO
  • Research concludes that there appear to be significant benefits to Acai
  • On Dr. Perricone's list of Super Foods
  • Natural ingredients have disease-fighting qualities
  • Increases energy
  • Offers antioxidants and amino acids
  • Good source of fiber
  • Organic products available
  • Many juices and other products available in major grocers
CON
  • Like other exotic products, Acai can be pricey
  • Many imposters
INGREDIENTS

Each Acai product will vary in its ingredients. Be sure to look for Acai products that are all-natural, and do not include a long list of other ingredients. Acai in its purest form is most effective.

Acai comes in many forms, including the whole berry, juices, powders, capsules and pills, food items and more.

EXERCISE

Like any weight loss product, you should commit to a consistent exercise regimen. Be sure to look for Acai products that support a balanced and active lifestyle.

CONCLUSION

Exotic health foods, like the Acai berry, can provide untapped health benefits, if you can afford it. For whatever reason, these organic products are often on the steep side. But what else is more important than your health? If you can find room in your budget, a product like Acai is worth exploring.

Common Misspellings

Asai, Akai, Ackai, Acia, Acai Berry, Acaiberry, Acai Deit


Related Diets: Acai Berry Blast, Acai Berry Boom, Acai Berry Power 500, Acai Berry Supreme, Acai Berry Wonder, Acai Burn for Men, Acai Green Tea Fusion, Acai Slim, Acai-aSlim, Extreme Acai Berry, Extreme Acai Pom, MonaVie, Vital Acai, Viva Acai, Acai Easy Drink Pack, Acai Roots, Sambazon Acai


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 13 of 27, 538 total comments)

yolanda knighting

i would like to cancel my order.

posted Feb 6th, 2009 12:04 pm


ashley

they do have it in the u.s. i found it in the GNC stores or you could check Vitamin World. But i'm scared to try it. most people don't like it from reading this.

posted Feb 5th, 2009 10:01 pm


Perla

After reading all the reviews I cancelled it right away. I called 1-800-983-7968 and the rep cancelled it along with 2 other subscribtions. I receieved my confirmation #s and asked for email confirmations as well. I'm going to try it. Hope it works.

posted Feb 5th, 2009 11:53 am


jennifer

When it comes to ordering items off the internet I TOO have learned the hard way through vista print and a company called passport to fun. So now when I want to order things off the internet even if it is pizza from pizza hut I use a prepaid debit card. It will only charge what you have on it and not a penny more. Try this next time and you will be able to avoid racking up unwanted bills. GOOD LUCK!!

posted Feb 4th, 2009 9:30 am


JoAnna Smart

I am so tired of seeing these advertisements, with the exact same, old, lame testimonials!! Huge scam. I tried it. It did not work for me at all. I enjoy the overall "healthy" feeling of doing something good for my body, but seriously, I regret wasting my money.

posted Feb 3rd, 2009 9:48 am


Amy

For the people who have bought Acai supplements at GNC or any healthfood store, has any one lost weight?

posted Feb 1st, 2009 3:37 pm


TJ Harmon

You cannot cancel order 5 minutes after you finally get to read the fine print. They need to make it where you can read it, not just have it clicked for you..then buy it then get to read the 78.81 after 14 day free trial. WHAT A JOKE!!!, Never again.

posted Feb 1st, 2009 2:45 pm


Ginny

I sent for the "FreeSample" for the price of shipping and handling. I broke out something fierce. It might be fine for some people but not me. Then I get another bottle in the mail with a bill $94.57. I called to tell them I hadn't ordered it. I was told it was in the "fine print". I have to agree with Elyse. It is a scam. If it is so popular with so many people, why do they have to push it on to us that don't want it. I threw the package the bottle came in so I have a no address to send them back. Sounds as though that is a big head ache anyway. The gal assured me I have been canceled. It cost me dearly to get the worst rash I have ever had in my life.

posted Jan 31st, 2009 4:08 pm


Elizabeth

All of you who are complaining about what a rip off acai berry is.... well guess what, you bought them in an advertisement with your credit card. It might even have been actual acai berry. Just buy it at a store. Even Walmart has it and it is less than ten dollars.

posted Jan 30th, 2009 10:47 pm


Elyse

This product is just a crappy scam. I ordered the product under the "free trial" whcih says to give you the first 30 days. I was on it for 10 days and followed with diet an exercise and got nothing.

Then about 14 days later was charged $59.59 from the berry company, $4.95 from a different company and $9.95 from another company that I had no idea about, which was NOT in the fine print.

I called the company and they said to mail it back, with insurance and a tracking number. I mailed it back almost 3 weeks ago and have not received my refund. I called again and they said that "it must have got lost in the mail" and until they receive it it will be 10-14 days for me to see my refund.

For all this trouble, it wasn't worth the pounds I gained.

posted Jan 29th, 2009 8:38 pm


mrvitamin

I can't give you a totally complete analysis on this product to you ,but I can tell you my energy level has definitely increased for me, as my wife! I skipped the ad's about getting "free acai berry"--what a scam that is! BUT, you can buy the products at Vitacost.com for about $11 a bottle, should last you up to 3 months! 1 1/2 months if you take 2 pills a day!--that's something looking into!

posted Jan 29th, 2009 3:33 pm


poop head

I love it be-cas it taste like urine and I drink pee I love to drink piss! Im just a lil piss drinker haha! yay 4 me I LOVE URINE AND PISS. :) so do any of you drink piss?

posted Jan 29th, 2009 2:03 pm


christy

hay I went to walmart and bought an all natural cleanse and then I bought Acai from another site i take 1000 mg a day. I started it a week and a half ago and i am already down a pant size (from a 16 to a 14) so don't give up you guys may want to use the colon cleanse when you are just chillaxing at home and make sure you eat healthy so you don't get the bg's avoid greasey food or over processed food. if you are serious about it u can do it.

posted Jan 26th, 2009 7:27 pm


anonymous

i thought this website was to has reviews about if the acai berry works or not. all these people are just saying how they got ripped off and are losing money! stop whining people, you should of bought it at walmart for $7!

posted Jan 26th, 2009 4:40 pm


Laura Robbins

I took acaiberry and powerflush as directed for 7days straight & didnt shed a pound. It took 7 days to get to me, then I took them for 7 days and bam! my trial period was over and they expect you to mail the unused portions back within that 14 days or you'll be charged 59.00. so it's really a 7 day trial period, not 14 day. RIP OFF!!!

posted Jan 26th, 2009 10:36 am


Jen

If I do the free trial,all of them say if you don't like it in 14 days you have to return the unused portion otherwise you'll be charged. So, my question is, how are you trying them for 30 days w/o returning, especially if you're trying all 3. I just don't want to start something I'm not too sure about.

posted Jan 25th, 2009 9:54 pm


Tameka

IF YOU WOULD ALL TAKE A MOMENT TO REALLY RESEARCH THIS YOU WOULD FIND THAT OPRAH IS NOT AFFLIATED WITH THIS PRODUCT. AS A MATTER OF FACT SHE HAS HER LAWYERS LOOKING INTO ANY MISREPRESENTATIONS, SHE ONLY HAD THE MAN ON HER SHOW! BUT BE SMART AND GO TO GNC TO GET THIS!

posted Jan 24th, 2009 2:05 pm


bill

poopies all over the place since taking it. I have to keep diapers at work now. Plus the festering blisters and anal fisures. I'm out $300 on credit card cause they keep sending it.

posted Jan 24th, 2009 11:39 am


donna

does this stuff make you poop alot?? how does it "flush" the toxins?? i dont get it...

posted Jan 23rd, 2009 12:54 pm


Shelly Williams

I received my acai and called the day i got it to cancel and they did just that.I even received an email and conf# stating the cancelation,so until they try to charge my card i am happy with how things were handled.

posted Jan 23rd, 2009 9:05 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account