Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

47%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 412 reviews

Acai

An organic super food from Brazil packing a healthy dose of nutrients.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Product: A natural berry that grows in the Amazon rain forest
  • Accessibility: Online and some retailers in pill form
  • Diet Type: Dietary supplement
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Just the mention of a product coming from the Amazon has the overtones of possessing mysterious health benefits. Acai (pronounced ah-sigh-ee) is the high-energy berry of a special Amazon palm tree. Its nutritional benefits are so powerful, Dr. Nicholas Perricone lists it as one of his top 10 Super Foods at Oprah's Web site.

Studies have shown that the Acai berry is one of the more nutritious and powerful foods on the planet. Harvested in the rainforests of Brazil, Acai tastes like a mix of berries and chocolate. Hidden within its purple pigment is what makes it the perfect energy fruit. Acai is packed full of antioxidants, amino acids and essential fatty acids. You probably won't find it in your local supermarket, but you may have better luck at health food stores, or from the many products springing up online.

The benefits of Acai are purported to be good for detoxing and maintaining optimal health for balancing your pH level. Proper pH balance is vital to our immune health and for disease prevention and correction. Other benefits you'll enjoy:

  • Acai has a high concentration of antioxidants that combat premature aging. It has 10 times the antioxidants that red grapes have, and as much as 30 times the anthocyanins of red wine. Anthocyanins may have antioxidant effects, possibly fighting cancer, diabetes, and bacterial infections, to name a few.
  • Healthy monounsaturated fats, dietary fiber and phytosterols together help promote cardiovascular and digestive health.
  • An amino acid complex in conjunction with valuable trace minerals, help with muscular health.

PRO
  • Research concludes that there appear to be significant benefits to Acai
  • On Dr. Perricone's list of Super Foods
  • Natural ingredients have disease-fighting qualities
  • Increases energy
  • Offers antioxidants and amino acids
  • Good source of fiber
  • Organic products available
  • Many juices and other products available in major grocers
CON
  • Like other exotic products, Acai can be pricey
  • Many imposters
INGREDIENTS

Each Acai product will vary in its ingredients. Be sure to look for Acai products that are all-natural, and do not include a long list of other ingredients. Acai in its purest form is most effective.

Acai comes in many forms, including the whole berry, juices, powders, capsules and pills, food items and more.

EXERCISE

Like any weight loss product, you should commit to a consistent exercise regimen. Be sure to look for Acai products that support a balanced and active lifestyle.

CONCLUSION

Exotic health foods, like the Acai berry, can provide untapped health benefits, if you can afford it. For whatever reason, these organic products are often on the steep side. But what else is more important than your health? If you can find room in your budget, a product like Acai is worth exploring.

Common Misspellings

Asai, Akai, Ackai, Acia, Acai Berry, Acaiberry, Acai Deit


Related Diets: Acai Berry Blast, Acai Berry Boom, Acai Berry Power 500, Acai Berry Supreme, Acai Berry Wonder, Acai Burn for Men, Acai Green Tea Fusion, Acai Slim, Acai-aSlim, Extreme Acai Berry, Extreme Acai Pom, MonaVie, Vital Acai, Viva Acai, Acai Easy Drink Pack, Acai Roots, Sambazon Acai


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 14 of 27, 538 total comments)

Ashlee

I would say about 95% of you people are *****. Especially you people who are trying to cancel through this review website. Its very entertaining for me. Haha.."PLEASE CANCEL, I CANT AFFORD IT!"...haha, idiots. NEWS FLASH, if you have to put your debit/credit card number in ITS NOT FREE. Wow. Learn how to read and quit lying saying you couldnt get ahold of them. I have to call these people everyday because customers file disputes on things THEY SIGNED UP FOR!

posted Jan 22nd, 2009 11:20 pm


Kathy

I also tried to cancel , before the 14 day trial was even over my card was charged.
I called to get my money back and the told me that in the fine print of the order, the trial starts the day you order it! So, if you dare to order it, make sure you cancel within 19 or so days of order, whether you have recieved it or not, to garauntee you do not get charged again!!!!!

posted Jan 22nd, 2009 8:55 am


sandy

Having trouble getting through?? I just called 866-279-6513 to cancel insider secrets and had no problem getting through. Called 800-989-5907 fro the e-book thing and got through too. just have to wait and see if I am charged anyway. will look for alternaTIVES at the GNC or health stores. online buying can be very scarey.

posted Jan 21st, 2009 2:19 pm


Liv

I could not get a hold of any one to cancel ,so I got the phone off my bank statement. I called and spoke with someone and hopefully got it cancelled. Good luck... :) It did not work for me...

posted Jan 20th, 2009 11:08 am


Sharron

I got taken also. I did try to cancel. I tried on-line, telephone, writing...no results. so I cancelled by credit card! Oh, I have not lost weight nor noticed any energy increase.

posted Jan 18th, 2009 10:48 am


Sara

hey guys..
Total Cleanse-Acai berry ,, are they really good for Diet ? any straight reply please.

posted Jan 17th, 2009 3:40 pm


Kayla

Helpful hint: You can get this stuff at a store! It's a great product, so I just recommend going into a store, such as GNC or something to get it.

posted Jan 16th, 2009 2:36 pm


Monae

Wow crazy thing happened to me. I was really hype on this diet and was seriously close to ordering this scam. I never did and this morning my boyfriend gave me a bottle of pure acai. They sent the package to our house by mistake. So I guess I'm getting my free trial on someone else's expense. I hope it works, even just energy wise would be a blessing. I have a really active 4 month old. Enough said? lol

posted Jan 16th, 2009 2:24 pm


Eugene Ostreicher

The internet marketing of this product is one major scam. I would hope that Oprah would alert her fans that they should not buy this product in this manner. So far, we are into these people for $200 and had had to cancel our debit card to stop their charges.

posted Jan 15th, 2009 7:36 pm


Pam

I can't believe Oprah would recommend such a huge SCAM!!! I hope everyone thinks twice before going by "What Oprah says" Not only did they charge the shipping fee but they also charged my credit card twice....$160.00 total. I did read the fine print and NO WHERE did they state these charges...Plain and simple this is a scam. Hurry now and call your credit card companies and tell them your account has been comprimised. My credit card company immediately changed my account. When I tried to call to cancel and refund in less than 14 days all I got was a full voice mail box!! By the look of these reviews, obviously I am not the first nor will I be the last to get scammed by this. No such thing as Risk-Free, so PLEASE DO NOT DO THIS!!! Sorry Oprah, BAD ENDORSEMENT!

posted Jan 15th, 2009 1:54 pm


sandi

Can't tell that it's done a thing except cause lots of charges to my credit card. I called to cancel both the Colon Cleanse and the Acai Berry and had long waiting periods until I got through to a rep. They promised I wouldn't be charged anymore. We'll see. I'll call my credit card and report it if I do and will send back any further shipments if they don't stop.

posted Jan 15th, 2009 1:58 am


Sheri

I bought it online and too felt scammed. I paid $80 for a "free" sample that ended up giving me an itchy red rash. Then they wouldn't let me return it because between the time it took them to ship it and the time that it took to get the rash, I apparently missed the chance to return it. That little tidbit is hiding in the small print at the bottom. Even sadder is the fact that I didn't lose a single pound or gain an ounce of vitality from the junk. It's a scam! And an expensive one to boot.

posted Jan 13th, 2009 8:29 pm


erin

it was ggggreat!!

posted Jan 13th, 2009 5:49 pm


rbrunnr

Don't buy. They scam you with charges you aren't aware you're getting into. Read their 'Terms' at bottom of their web page to see extras you'll be charged for. File complaints with:
Director
Division of Consumer Protection
Department of Commerce
160 East 300 South
Box 146704
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6704
801-530-6601
Fax: 801-530-6001
E-mail: consumerprotection@utah.gov
Web site: www.consumerprotection.utah.gov

posted Jan 13th, 2009 5:23 pm


normag

After all I read. Sounds SCARRY!!!!!!!

posted Jan 12th, 2009 4:40 pm


linda

im note sure if i like it or not, just not sure what to think, esp. with all these reviews. i dont take kindly to being lied to. if it dont work i plan to sue you and your company for doing folks like me wrong. its totally wrong..u should be ashamed of your self and company. people trusted you, i think everyone should sue you for lying to us all.

posted Jan 10th, 2009 12:40 pm


keith

Sambazon 32 oz organic acai is on sale at Publix for around $6.50 -- it's 1.50 off. Great stuff. And Jamba Juice has the acai Rio (acai sorbet with granola and banana slices). for $4.78. Works for me!

posted Jan 10th, 2009 10:20 am


Heather

DO NOT ORDER THIS! THEY CHARGED $65 TO MY ACCOUNT BEFORE THE TRIAL PERIOD WAS OVER. I WAS TOLD THEY WOULD DEPOSIT THAT BACK INTO MY ACCOUNT AND THEY DIDNT

posted Jan 10th, 2009 9:50 am


anna

wooow do not order this crap!!!! its the worst thing u could ever get, it does not work at all and the scam you like crazy, they rip u off!!!

posted Jan 7th, 2009 4:57 pm


vickie harr

please cancel my order. i donot want it . please credit my account with 4.95. everyone i talk to said it dont work . and do not bill my account anymore.

posted Jan 7th, 2009 3:10 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account