Advertisement

| |

Home > Videos > Diets In Review Video Navigation    
User Rating

100%

of people who tried this Video like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 5 reviews

Courtney's Summer Challenge: Week 9

Take the time to do something for someone else this week.

Courtney's Summer Challenge is sponsored by Wholly Guacamole

Welcome to week 9 of Courtney's Summer Challenge! You guys rocked the step ups this week, and now this week Courtney's asking that you "step up" for someone else with the Pay It Forward challenge.

We've spent the past two months working to better ourselves, and now Courtney wants us to take some time each day this week to help someone else who needs it. She reminds that the options are endless. Whether you buy someone lunch, give them a sounding board, or give them some much needed encouragement, the smallest of kind gestures never go unnoticed.

Week 9 Prize: DIR T-Shirt and free Wholly Guacamole!

Participate in the challenge by posting below. Tell us how you're paying it forward, what their reactions are, and how helping others is inspiring you to do better for yourself.

Special thanks to James at SerfBliss.com for inspiring this week's challenge.

Sign-up for weekly updates for Courtney's Summer Challenge

Visit this link to get all of the details and archive of each week's challenge: Courtney's Summer Challenge

Flag this Video Flag this Video



> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 18 total comments)

MysteryKnits

Today we had a family garage sale. One little boy wanted this really stuffed tiger that my cousin had for sale. His mom told him no, because she was buy him books was great. But he really wanted that tiger. He came up to my husband and asked if he could "hold it" just incase he was able to talk his mom into letting him have it. She said still said no. After she paid and was walking away her son had gone ahead of her. I asked her if it was alright if I gave him the the tiger. She said yes. So when I handed him the tiger I told him he could have the tiger but he had to do something nice for someone else today. He was very happy. And hopefully he will keep it going and "Pay It Forward".

posted Aug 20th, 2011 3:50 pm


userfile
yellowstarkiss

Earlier in the week I decided to pay a visit to a neighborhood friend. I felt like I needed to say hi. I took over some treats‚?¶.homemade raspberry freezer jam and some taffy. I stopped by, but she wasn‚??t home. I gave the goodies to her husband. I received a message saying that she loved the token, especially the taffy. She said it reminded her of her college days. She and her roommate would go on walks and afterwards would treat themselves to a piece of taffy. She told me that my little token lifted her spirits and brought back the memories she needed to feel complete that day. She asked me how did I know? Of courses, I didn‚??t know! This made me feel all giddy inside. When you pay it forward not only is it benefiting the receiver, but the giver as well. It isn‚??t difficult to do something nice for someone. It benefits the mind, body, and soul. It gave me an inner high knowing that I was able to bring a smile and brighten someone‚??s day.

posted Aug 20th, 2011 10:03 am



Jenn Johnson

my resolution for 2011 was to pay it forward - so far this year I have held coupon class each month to teach others how to be frugal for their families. It feels good to pay it forward - on the weightloss - sharing your story seems to inspire lots of others ;)

posted Aug 18th, 2011 5:24 pm



Amanda Reed

It's amazing how much we can change someone's whole day with just a few minutes of encouragement and a smile.

posted Aug 18th, 2011 3:10 pm


michelle9961

Hey Courtney, i'm on Jillians Michaels.com for her diet and excersize plan, and i just felt like i wanted to tell you, That is one place i feel like i can pay my knowledge forward. when ever i see someone on there that has a problem that i have gone thru my self before i give a suggestion and i have gotten some really nice feed back for that. The Season 11BL really touched me in ways that i havent been touched before and i see that most if not all of you are doing more and more to help others. I felt like it was my turn to ggive back what i know and i'm gering up to go back to school for nutrician. watching you on here doing the summer challenge has been amazing, i havent done everything, but i have tryed. with the meal plans and excersize that jillian has me on it's been a challenge enought to stay focused. But Yes i do in every way i can to pay it forward each day i'm at the gym. i'm seeing some ppl looking at me in a different way now that i have been going more.
My Light is ON!
God Bless
Michelle

posted Aug 18th, 2011 12:15 am



Nancy Collins

I surprised a friend with a blt pasta salad for her dinner.

posted Aug 16th, 2011 12:38 pm


Lillian Phelps

Sunday, I gave a lady behind me a coupon for 20% off her baby car seat. I am sure that it was a substantial amount because they are not cheap!
On vacation at Disneyworld, I always give away any unused and good FastPasses too!

posted Aug 16th, 2011 11:57 am


kristi h

I was grocery shopping and there was a girl in front of me with 2 kids using her WIC checks to purchase the food. She ran out of enough money on her WIC checks and was going to have to put food back I handed the cashier the money to pay for the rest of her groceries. It felt so good especially when the little boy said Thank you. It actually brought a tear to my eye.

posted Aug 16th, 2011 11:54 am



Nicolette Work

I just entered our local High School into a contest to win $10,000 to get them healthy...I think every school could use this! My daughter don't even go there any more but I thought it would be nice for the community & the kids that can't afford to go workout at the local community center!

posted Aug 16th, 2011 11:45 am


jeannine m

This week I have given back a Ipad2 I found in the bathroom at our mall, giving a brand new toddler bed to a friend in need and donating school supllies

posted Aug 16th, 2011 8:50 am


Meg Gazaway

This is something I really like to do!! And this week I am excited to put it to action EVERYDAY! Paying it forward really makes you a happy, healthier person all the way around.

Thanks for the reminder! Let's get out there and makes some hearts happy!

posted Aug 15th, 2011 8:00 pm


MaryButterfly

Great challenge this week, Courtney!! So far this week, I have donated some money to a group from my church. They left on a pilgrimage to Madrid, Spain to see our Holy Father, Pope Benedict, XVI!! I also gave some extra goodies to one of my special ed. students today. He's a sweetheart and I couldn't deny him a bit of kindness!

posted Aug 15th, 2011 7:02 pm


userfile
Stephenie Rigel

This week I went through my all of my clothes...it was a special day for me becuase not only did I want to but I had to 'downsize' since losing almost 70 lbs! I am a 'shop o holic' so I have tons of great stuff I want to pay it forward! I am sendning 1 box of clothes to BL Alume Ken Coleman's 'Pay it Forward' fitness group, 1 box will go to our local Women's shelter and one box I would gladley love to send to a fellow Diets In Review peer! (Sizes 3x & 2x) Today I purchased and donated food for our local animal shelter. ( I love Animals!)Something I have always done and still do is everytime I am at a store, I always leave 2 pennies face up in the choin return slot...I hope the next person in line will find those pennies feel like its their 'lucky day'! My neighbor recently lost his wife, we have him over for dinner every Sunday...this week he'll get a bouquet of fresh flowers from our garden too! I love this challange because everyone wins! Thanks Courtney! :)

posted Aug 15th, 2011 6:37 pm



Brandi

I love the magazine idea!

My Pay It Forward is already underway today. A friend lost her father this weekend. I have my soon-to-be-famous (haha) stacked green chili chicken enchiladas and a homemade pan of brownies to take to her this evening. A little bit healthy, a little bit "who cares." Sometimes it takes both.

I also gave two moms all of my 6mo-12mo size clothes since my daughter outgrew hers.

posted Aug 15th, 2011 3:27 pm


Emily

We like to pay the toll for whoever is driving behind us on the highway!

posted Aug 15th, 2011 1:17 pm


userfile
nicole62999

One thing I like to do to pay it forward is once I am done reading my health magazines, I give them to someone who is trying to get healthy also. I like for them to get as much info as they can. I also do this with any new emails or research that I come across. Another thing I am working on is training to do 5K's in my area for any kind of charity. I do not want to do a 5K or anyother activity unless someone other than myself will benefit from it. Love paying it forward!!!!

posted Aug 15th, 2011 12:49 pm



Nancy Collins

Courtney this is a perfect challenge for this week. I was just talking about this very thing with a friend this morning. This morning I helped an elderly neighbor with her graden. I have plans to take a basket of goodies to a friend who's contract wasn't renewed for this year. I have a gift card that I am going to put in a friends door. I'm going to go with a friend to her cancer treatment. That's what I have for the first four days. Again, this is a great challenge.

posted Aug 15th, 2011 12:48 pm



Courtney Crozier

so excited about this one!!!!!! :) can't wait to hear what you are all doing for others this week!

posted Aug 15th, 2011 12:32 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 





Featured Blog Posts

Featured Recipes