| |

Home > Recipes > Recipe Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this recipe like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 111 reviews
Print this Recipe

Sacred Heart Diet Soup

The soup recipe for the popular weight loss diet.



  • 1 or 2 cans of stewed tomatoes
  • 3 large green onions
  • 1 large can of beef broth (no fat)
  • 1 pkg. Lipton Soup mix (chicken noodle)
  • 1 bunch of celery
  • 2 cans green beans
  • 2 lbs. Carrots
  • 2 Green Peppers
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Curry
  • Worcestershire and/or hot sauce
Learn more about the Sacred Heart Diet with this review.


  1. Season with salt, pepper, curry, Worcestershire and/or hot sauce- all ingredients to desired taste
  2. Cut veggies in small to medium pieces
  3. Cover with water
  4. Boil fast for 10 minutes
  5. Reduce to simmer and continue to cook until vegetables are tender.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 12, 227 total comments)


On day 3 and lost nothing! Actually gained 2lbs. on day 2. I am going to stick it out and see if anything changes but have been sticking to it 100%! My husband on the other hand lost 9 lbs. already and is also on day 3. He has about 50lbs. to lose total and I would like to lose 20lbs.

posted Jun 21st, 2015 5:35 pm


I am on the diet, although I have followed a different recipe. My father is a nutritionist and he has done this diet 3 times a year for my whole life and always loses 17-20 lbs. The beef broth and green beans as well as chicken noodle soup mix might be the reasons people are not losing as much weight as they should. Also drinking the skim milk as much as every day of the diet when I was only allowed to have this on day 4. All of the other days though I did have black coffee, unsweetened tea, fruit juiced and lots of water. The diet is also called a cabbage soup diet, and this recipe includes no cabbage, which by the way is supposedly a superfood and I think aids the detox and cleanse much better.
I used organic tomato juice, water, fresh tomatoes which i first broiled, regular yellow onions, celery, carrots, and one package of onion soup mix, and one head of green cabbage. I had lost 6 pounds by day 3, which is amazing because I do not normally have an easy time losing weight. I recommend adding in the cabbage and taking out the beef broth, green beans, and green pepper.

posted Apr 1st, 2015 6:49 pm


Done this diet and lost 9 pounds in 5 days i cheat on the last 2 days ,i love this diet

posted Feb 17th, 2015 2:27 pm


I love this diet i am on day 4th already lost 6 pounds without starving myself ,doing light cardio exercise
Totally recommend ,iam doing also the dukan diet as the weigh got stock iam doing this one to help me out love it

posted Feb 5th, 2015 2:11 pm

Michelle K.

Ok. I've followed the actual diet a couple times over the past few years and lost an average of 7 lbs. It was easy for me and I did it as more of a detox after the holidays or if I had eaten too many carbs or fried foods. Now I eat it in place of a salad before a meal. One can only eat so many salads. So if I eat a bowl of soup before my regular meal, I eat less of the regular meal. I recommend this as either a diet for weight loss or as a detox/reset for your body.

posted Dec 8th, 2014 11:19 pm


The first time I tried this diet, I ate massive quantities of fruit on the first day and massive quantities of the soup. I gained weight the first day. Then, by the end of the second day, I was sick of the soup and tired of veggies. Day two was so difficult that, after eating the baked potato, I just kept on eating. It was too difficult.

The second time I tried this diet, I ate water based fruits and limited the amount of soup each day, to ensure I didn't get so sick of it that it made me want to hurl. I knew that the second day was going to be a doozy, so I purchased veggies that I really enjoyed and limited my intake of them, so I didn't get sick of them. And, I purchased the biggest baked potato I could get for dinner, knowing I'd be hungry enough to eat a whole cow standing in a field. I discovered that I needed to accept that Day 2 is the worst day on the diet.

The bananas and skim milk day is the best, as your body appears to crave whatever is in the bananas to the point where it's like having a mouth orgasm with each bite.

I have done this diet many times and have only gotten to the brown rice day a couple of times. It is very difficult to keep on track.

But, every time I've been on this diet, even the first time, I lose weight. While I've never lost 10 pounds, I have managed to lose five or so. Which is significant for a diet.

Despite what you read, the weight did not come back for me. It stayed off until I reverted back to my bad eating habits, which is the same for any diet.

I recommend this diet, only I would like to stress that Day 2 is very difficult. Be prepared for it. And, although the soup is delicious, remember you will be eating it for a week. Don't overdo it the first day or you won't make it to the last.

posted Mar 7th, 2014 7:06 pm


I wanted to know how much soup you have to eat each day on the Sacred Heart diet? This is my 3rd day on the diet and it's going pretty well. As of this morning I have lost 3 pounds. I had two bowls the first day but only one bowl on the second and third day. Is it true that the more soup you eat the more weight you lose?

posted May 13th, 2013 1:04 am


Breakdown of the sacred heart diet meal plan? My self and a co-worker are thinking of trying this diet plan. Can someone explain to me the break down or how you are breaking down the meal plan as far as breakfast, lunch and diner and maybe snacks?

posted Apr 12th, 2013 5:52 pm

Michelle Rawlings

im starting second week i lost 10lbs but only followed it for 4 days 3 off and havent gained any weight back!
Can i expect to lose on my second week ? 23st 6lb started 24st 2lb

posted Apr 6th, 2013 9:33 pm


I did this diet the first week of january 2013. I lost a total of 14 pounds, and didn't gain it back. exercising on this diet definitely helps the weight come off. going to start the 7 day diet once again, preparing for the summer!

posted Mar 11th, 2013 2:43 am

dina marie

I'm starting day 4 and have lost 5lbs so far. I find this diet very easy and feel great. I have not cheated at all and am excited to see the total amount lost.

posted Jan 28th, 2013 9:22 pm


Doing it for the 2nd time now. When I first tried it I was 201lbs. After completing the week I was down to 193lbs. I've gained a little weight back (fluctuating between 195 and 196 but have kept 5lbs off regardless). I'm on the end of day 2 now, and I'm down to 194 again. You don't have to make radical changes after finishing the diet, just eat lots of veggies (I get salads with grilled steak or chicken instead of pasta or sandwiches when I eat out now), avoid fried foods and extra calories like mayo or oil in the things you eat. And exercise at least a few times a week (remember something is better than nothing, even a short jog, walk or 50 pushups before bed is better than nothing at all).

posted Jul 4th, 2012 2:04 am


I'm on day four! and ohh boyy has it been hard for me!! the first day at night time, I felt a terrible desperation to eat bread or candy! I'm sure it was a withdrawl lol.. it was truly aweful! since then though, the cravings have not been too bad, I've lost almost 5 lbs and surprisingly I have a ton of energy! who knew?!! the dificult part for me though, has been resisting the temptation, I work in an office were junk food circulates almost all the time, and my husband and 4 year old eating delicious foods every night has not been very helpfull... never than less.. I'm proud to say I have not broken the diet and so far I have follow it to the "T" ;). let just hope I can keep it up for the rest of the week lol!! Good look to everyone! Remember that eating healthy is not just to look good, it's also to keep our bodies healthy and our mind happy :).

posted Jun 7th, 2012 5:58 pm


Finished day 3. Getting to add fruit back in was nice. Overall still feels limiting and we both wanted meat. I am now down 2 lbs and my daughter is down 3.5 lbs total. Were excited to begin banana and milk day. We both are craving milk. We ran out of homemade soup and bought progresso light soup. We stuck to any soups that were 100 or less calories per serving. Plenty to choose from. We read from others that they did this with no harm to the overall results. I like that they add a few more grams of protein to our diet overall and end up being less sodium too. We will limit ourselves to two cans per day of the soups. So far that's more than enough as we each had one can yesterday.

posted Jun 5th, 2012 4:10 pm


Day 2 done. I'm down 1.5lbs total Daughter is down 3 total. Veggie only day was hard! We are so grateful to have fruit back today. The potato was great to look forward too, otherwise I think we both would have cried all day. We went and got our nails done and watched a movie trying to keep our minds off food and it really helped.

posted Jun 4th, 2012 3:36 pm


Finished up day 1. Not too bad. Down .5 lb. Daughter is down 2.5 lbs. Pureeing the soup is much better. I expect a little more loss tomorrow as my stomach is quite bloated today. I'll update again tomorrow.

posted Jun 4th, 2012 6:34 am


Starting this with my daughter today. Making the soup right this minute. I am 136.5. I am not overweight but am supporting my daughter and I like the way I look better at 128. My daughter is starting out at 177 this morning. I noticed it didn't work for a few people and I'm wondering how much juice and/milk you had each day? The instructions weren't clear on the drinks so we are going to limit ourselves to 1 cup of 100% juice OR 1 cup skim milk each day. Except of course milk and banana day. I will update tomorrow AM with our weigh in and how we did with the eating.

posted Jun 2nd, 2012 5:11 pm


i am on day 3 and i have lost 7 pounds already ,i am very happy

posted May 10th, 2012 1:53 pm


How many calories is this diet? I wanted to also do the HCG diet and its a 500 calorie intake a day.

posted Apr 4th, 2012 7:02 pm

Bobbi York

What do you eat on the Sacred Heart Diet? I would like to know each day as what to eat. I am needing to loose 40 lbs for my BMI. Scared Heart Soup Diet ...and what to eat each day with the soup.

posted Jan 20th, 2012 7:41 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account


Related Blog Posts

Related Recipes