Advertisement

| |

Home > Recipes > Recipe Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this recipe like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 102 reviews
Print this Recipe

Sacred Heart Diet Soup

The soup recipe for the popular weight loss diet.

Yield:

Ingredients

  • 1 or 2 cans of stewed tomatoes
  • 3 large green onions
  • 1 large can of beef broth (no fat)
  • 1 pkg. Lipton Soup mix (chicken noodle)
  • 1 bunch of celery
  • 2 cans green beans
  • 2 lbs. Carrots
  • 2 Green Peppers
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Curry
  • Worcestershire and/or hot sauce
Learn more about the Sacred Heart Diet with this review.

Instructions

  1. Season with salt, pepper, curry, Worcestershire and/or hot sauce- all ingredients to desired taste
  2. Cut veggies in small to medium pieces
  3. Cover with water
  4. Boil fast for 10 minutes
  5. Reduce to simmer and continue to cook until vegetables are tender.


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 12, 222 total comments)

WeightGoingDown

The first time I tried this diet, I ate massive quantities of fruit on the first day and massive quantities of the soup. I gained weight the first day. Then, by the end of the second day, I was sick of the soup and tired of veggies. Day two was so difficult that, after eating the baked potato, I just kept on eating. It was too difficult.

The second time I tried this diet, I ate water based fruits and limited the amount of soup each day, to ensure I didn't get so sick of it that it made me want to hurl. I knew that the second day was going to be a doozy, so I purchased veggies that I really enjoyed and limited my intake of them, so I didn't get sick of them. And, I purchased the biggest baked potato I could get for dinner, knowing I'd be hungry enough to eat a whole cow standing in a field. I discovered that I needed to accept that Day 2 is the worst day on the diet.

The bananas and skim milk day is the best, as your body appears to crave whatever is in the bananas to the point where it's like having a mouth orgasm with each bite.

I have done this diet many times and have only gotten to the brown rice day a couple of times. It is very difficult to keep on track.

But, every time I've been on this diet, even the first time, I lose weight. While I've never lost 10 pounds, I have managed to lose five or so. Which is significant for a diet.

Despite what you read, the weight did not come back for me. It stayed off until I reverted back to my bad eating habits, which is the same for any diet.

I recommend this diet, only I would like to stress that Day 2 is very difficult. Be prepared for it. And, although the soup is delicious, remember you will be eating it for a week. Don't overdo it the first day or you won't make it to the last.

posted Mar 7th, 2014 7:06 pm


katwood

I wanted to know how much soup you have to eat each day on the Sacred Heart diet? This is my 3rd day on the diet and it's going pretty well. As of this morning I have lost 3 pounds. I had two bowls the first day but only one bowl on the second and third day. Is it true that the more soup you eat the more weight you lose?

posted May 13th, 2013 1:04 am


Tina

Breakdown of the sacred heart diet meal plan? My self and a co-worker are thinking of trying this diet plan. Can someone explain to me the break down or how you are breaking down the meal plan as far as breakfast, lunch and diner and maybe snacks?

posted Apr 12th, 2013 5:52 pm


Michelle Rawlings

im starting second week i lost 10lbs but only followed it for 4 days 3 off and havent gained any weight back!
Can i expect to lose on my second week ? 23st 6lb started 24st 2lb

posted Apr 6th, 2013 9:33 pm


jas

I did this diet the first week of january 2013. I lost a total of 14 pounds, and didn't gain it back. exercising on this diet definitely helps the weight come off. going to start the 7 day diet once again, preparing for the summer!

posted Mar 11th, 2013 2:43 am


dina marie

I'm starting day 4 and have lost 5lbs so far. I find this diet very easy and feel great. I have not cheated at all and am excited to see the total amount lost.

posted Jan 28th, 2013 9:22 pm


Colin

Doing it for the 2nd time now. When I first tried it I was 201lbs. After completing the week I was down to 193lbs. I've gained a little weight back (fluctuating between 195 and 196 but have kept 5lbs off regardless). I'm on the end of day 2 now, and I'm down to 194 again. You don't have to make radical changes after finishing the diet, just eat lots of veggies (I get salads with grilled steak or chicken instead of pasta or sandwiches when I eat out now), avoid fried foods and extra calories like mayo or oil in the things you eat. And exercise at least a few times a week (remember something is better than nothing, even a short jog, walk or 50 pushups before bed is better than nothing at all).

posted Jul 4th, 2012 2:04 am


Carla

I'm on day four! and ohh boyy has it been hard for me!! the first day at night time, I felt a terrible desperation to eat bread or candy! I'm sure it was a withdrawl lol.. it was truly aweful! since then though, the cravings have not been too bad, I've lost almost 5 lbs and surprisingly I have a ton of energy! who knew?!! the dificult part for me though, has been resisting the temptation, I work in an office were junk food circulates almost all the time, and my husband and 4 year old eating delicious foods every night has not been very helpfull... never than less.. I'm proud to say I have not broken the diet and so far I have follow it to the "T" ;). let just hope I can keep it up for the rest of the week lol!! Good look to everyone! Remember that eating healthy is not just to look good, it's also to keep our bodies healthy and our mind happy :).

posted Jun 7th, 2012 5:58 pm


jenopher

Finished day 3. Getting to add fruit back in was nice. Overall still feels limiting and we both wanted meat. I am now down 2 lbs and my daughter is down 3.5 lbs total. Were excited to begin banana and milk day. We both are craving milk. We ran out of homemade soup and bought progresso light soup. We stuck to any soups that were 100 or less calories per serving. Plenty to choose from. We read from others that they did this with no harm to the overall results. I like that they add a few more grams of protein to our diet overall and end up being less sodium too. We will limit ourselves to two cans per day of the soups. So far that's more than enough as we each had one can yesterday.

posted Jun 5th, 2012 4:10 pm


jenopher

Day 2 done. I'm down 1.5lbs total Daughter is down 3 total. Veggie only day was hard! We are so grateful to have fruit back today. The potato was great to look forward too, otherwise I think we both would have cried all day. We went and got our nails done and watched a movie trying to keep our minds off food and it really helped.

posted Jun 4th, 2012 3:36 pm


jenopher

Finished up day 1. Not too bad. Down .5 lb. Daughter is down 2.5 lbs. Pureeing the soup is much better. I expect a little more loss tomorrow as my stomach is quite bloated today. I'll update again tomorrow.

posted Jun 4th, 2012 6:34 am


Jenopher

Starting this with my daughter today. Making the soup right this minute. I am 136.5. I am not overweight but am supporting my daughter and I like the way I look better at 128. My daughter is starting out at 177 this morning. I noticed it didn't work for a few people and I'm wondering how much juice and/milk you had each day? The instructions weren't clear on the drinks so we are going to limit ourselves to 1 cup of 100% juice OR 1 cup skim milk each day. Except of course milk and banana day. I will update tomorrow AM with our weigh in and how we did with the eating.

posted Jun 2nd, 2012 5:11 pm


SAMI

i am on day 3 and i have lost 7 pounds already ,i am very happy

posted May 10th, 2012 1:53 pm


scgrl

How many calories is this diet? I wanted to also do the HCG diet and its a 500 calorie intake a day.

posted Apr 4th, 2012 7:02 pm


Bobbi York

What do you eat on the Sacred Heart Diet? I would like to know each day as what to eat. I am needing to loose 40 lbs for my BMI. Scared Heart Soup Diet ...and what to eat each day with the soup.

posted Jan 20th, 2012 7:41 pm


Bridget

Must tomatoes go in the Sacred Hearth Diet soup? Can you omit the tomatoes?, I am allergic to tomatoes and made two pots of the soup one with diced tomatoes and one without.

posted Jan 15th, 2012 9:21 pm


Natasha

How many servings is the Sacred Heart diet soup? will it last through the week?

posted Jan 10th, 2012 12:09 am


elizabeth daniels

I have done this soup diet before and as stated in previous reviews by the others here, the soup does work. I've lost 8 pounds before on this diet in one week. By the first week you sort of get tired of soup but you just have to ask yourself, " how bad do i want it". Im making another batch tonight. Good luck!

posted Jan 8th, 2012 12:21 am


sboles

Do you drain the water off of the stewed tomatoes and green beans? Sacred Heart Medical diet recipe

posted Nov 26th, 2011 8:10 pm


J West

I started on 10-10-11 and i have lost 5.2 lb so far excited to loose more. I also puree' my soup and it is much better to eat.

posted Oct 12th, 2011 3:48 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 





Related Blog Posts

Related Recipes