Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 77 reviews
The Dukan Diet

The Dukan Diet Review: Does it Work?

A French diet that has helped many A-list celebrities lose weight.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Dukan Diet is a weight loss diet based on a high protein, 4 staged food and lifestyle changes. There are specific foods allowed, and it’s said that the first 2 to 7 days between 4.4 to 6.6 pounds of weight loss is possible.

The official book has sold over 7 million copies, and an official website also offers support. With repeat use it’s said it can lead to sustained weight loss from 2 to 4 pounds each week. Reducing carbohydrates and fats is a major part of the diet especially in the beginning. In this review you’ll hear customer reviews, whether or not it’s safe and effective for weight loss, and many important considerations. A comprehensive top 10 list of the very best diet plans are available when you click here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

The Dukan Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The company does offer some pre-packaged foods, but they’re not necessary. Instead the plan focuses on customers cooking their own foods. The phases of the diet are:

Phase 1 “Attack”: You can eat as much protein as you’d like from 68 different kinds of animal protein. 

It’s said this phase will:

“increases the speed of weight loss while flushing out the excess water”

Between 6 to 8 cups of water are needed daily, as well as 1.5 tablespoons of oat bran for fiber to help reduce appetite, and to help with limiting the absorption of calories.

It’s also advised to introduce exercise, preferably in the morning. Also, the length of the diet depends on how much weight one wants to lose. The standards are listed as:

40 pounds or more: Talk to a physician and do it for around 7 days.

Between 15 to 30 pounds: 3-5 days.

10 pounds or less: 1-2 days.

The average time for most people is 2-5 days.

Phase 2 “Cruise”:  This phase is expected to promote 1 pound of weight loss every 3 days. One still has to eat the same kinds of protein, but there are small amounts of vegetables from 32 possible options.

This allows for an unlimited amount of 100 different food options, though no starchy or fatty vegetables are allowed such as avocado, potatoes, and corn. Much less restricting options are offered via the top 10 list of the best diet plans.

An additional half-tablespoon of oat bran is also needed each day.

Phase 3 “Consolidation”: This stage helps keep all the weight lost, by introducing 7 different suggested diet tips. Certain foods are allowed back in such as cheese, certain starchy foods, fruit, and bread.

2 “cheat” meals where you can eat foods not advised from the diet are allowed per week, though you do have to limit back to back binges.

For every pound lost, you have to add 5 days of this phase. So for people who have lost 30 pounds, 150 days are needed. You also get to eat the exact same foods allowed from the Attack and Cruise phases.

For the first half of the phase the following are required:

  • 1 serving of starchy foods each week.
  • 1.5 ounces of hard cheese.
  • 2 slices of whole grain bread.
  • A serving of fruit.

The second half of the phase requires:

  • 2 servings of fruit.
  • 2 servings of starchy foods each week.
  • 2 slices of whole grain bread.

2 tablespoons of oat bran are required daily alongside around 25 minutes of brisk walking. One day of the week one must go back to the Attack phase.

Phase 4 “Stabilization”: You can eat as you’d like 6 days out of the week, but with making sure the consolidation phase portion recommendations are followed. Once a week similar to the Attack phase, it’s necessary to eat only protein. This is required for the duration of one’s life.

Also, 3 tablespoons of oat bran are required each day. Adding exercise is also necessary.  An optional $1 a week coach is offered. You can find the top 10 diet plans by clicking on the link provided here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

The Dukan Diet Quality of Ingredients

The diet focuses on suggesting certain foods, so the overall quality depends on which one chooses. Though there are very specific allowances for foods. For the Attack phase one has to eat only protein.  This can be potentially unsafe, Web MD confirms:

“experts still do not know what the long-term effects are for your health and weight”

“no evidence that having one all-protein day, along with exercise, is enough to maintain your weight loss”

They also discuss the Dukan Diet by stating:

“doesn’t teach lifelong healthy eating habits.”

“could lead to a nutritionally inadequate diet”

They also add:

“the risks may outweigh the benefits”

This makes the Dukan Diet a potentially unhealthy diet plan which does not guarantee safe weight loss results.

The British Dietic Association which is Britain’s largest organization of nutrition and food experts named this the:

“Top Celebrity Diet to Avoid”

For 2010, 2011, and 2012 it was rated as the absolute worst diet to use. It’s also been in the top 5 list for years now. This is due to health concerns, and a lack of proven safe weight loss. The group also adds:

“Initial weight loss will be fluid”

This is because carbohydrates which are strictly forbidden for most of the diet help to promote water weight. Live Strong mentions that:

“It’s possible to lose as much as 20 pounds of body weight during one week, most of which is water”

Therefore, it’s likely most of the weight lost on this diet is strictly just water.

The creator of the diet Pierre Dukan also lost his medical register to practice as a doctor due to the promotion of his diet. This was seen as a violation of ethics, as he is using his medicine as a way to promote a business. Discover the top 10 diet plans by following the link here.

The Price and Quality of The Dukan Diet

Prices range depending on the kinds of groceries purchased. The website also offers online support for a total of $29.99 each month. This is optional and not required.

The diet is considered a crash diet since it requires extreme changes in diet. The major concern from health groups is that the Dukan Diet isn’t practical, proven safe, or helpful for promoting long lasting dietary advice.

It’s likely that the majority of weight lost will simply be water weight. The list featured here has the top 10 diet plans.

Business of The Dukan Diet

Diet Coaching Inc. owns the rights to the diet, and they can be contacted below:

Phone Number: (855) 385-2648

Email: contact@dukanbdiet.co.uk

There isn’t much information about the quality of the coaching. It’s also unknown if the coaching is provided by health professionals, or what kind of support they offer. To see the top 10 diet plans available now, click on the link featured here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of The Dukan Diet

Here are some customer opinions about the Dukan Diet:

“My blood pressure was really low, I had no energy at all and my doctor told me that the diet was very unhealthy”

“my hair began falling out and my fingernails broke in record time”

“This diet just isn’t healthy”

“This diet is so hard to follow”

Many people found it incredibly limiting and impossible to follow the Dukan Diet. Some were concerned as there were common issues such as low energy, headaches, brittle hair and nails, low blood pressure, mood swings, loss of focus, and other problems.

A major concern was that people were extremely bored of the diet, and that it was hard for many to keep eating the same kinds of foods, even when there are 100 options available.

The extreme carbohydrate loss also caused the majority of users to have no energy.

In some cases, people were hospitalized. Find the top 10 diet plans by clicking on the link provided here.

Conclusion - Does The Dukan Diet Work?

When making a decision on a diet plan like the Dukan Diet, it’s important to examine the science behind it, customer reviews, and what’s offered.  The required food allowances are considered extreme, as the beginning of the phase allows for only protein. Many users mention it promoted side effects, and that it was bland eating the same kinds of foods repeatedly. Health experts also add that this diet may be potentially unhealthy, and it’s unknown what kinds of long term effects it may promote. Furthermore, there’s a high risk for nutritional deficiencies.

The 2016 top rated diet plan of the year is known as the 18Shake Diet. It combines a metabolism boosting diet pill alongside a nutritionally balanced meal replacement. There are only natural ingredients, and no added colors, stimulants, fillers, or fillers. Many customers and health experts agree it’s a potent diet for sustained weight loss benefits. Users have lost weight by using the supplements offered that does not require extreme or potentially risky crash diet like meal planning. Visit the official website for the 18Shake Diet by clicking on this link.

A full 30 day money back guarantee is offered on both the meal replacement and metabolism booster. All purchases are offered risk free, with no questions asked. Information on the 18Shake Diet can be found by following the link featured here.

How Does The Dukan Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 5, 97 total comments)

Emily Gloups


I did a quiz this morning and it made me realized I seriously needed to pay more attention to what I eat (and also start exercising more). I researched a lot of diets and this one looks very promising to me! I will give it a try next week! #motivation #diet #health

PS: if you want to have a look at the quiz, check it out below. It's nothing like rocket science, but it made me think. Maybe it will inspire other people too :-)

posted Mar 4th, 2016 4:05 am



PRO: can eat as much as you want (of allowed foods)
CON: stage 4 will need more than just a weekly protein-only day, watch yourself carefully, can't be your old self on the other 6 days.
OVERALL: best diet ever, easy if you're a big eater, works like a charm

posted Jan 19th, 2016 6:43 am



I started DD in 2012 and lost over 40 pounds. I \'m happy to say that I have not gained the weight back -- I attribute some of that to having a personal max weight threshold that I try to stay 5 pounds under. If I gain that five pounds, I immediately revert back to the DD attack phase foods for two days and go back to eating protein and the appropriate veggies and drinking lots of water (key to success). I know this way of eating doesn't work for every body, but it works for my body and my lifestyle --- best to all!

posted Jan 9th, 2016 5:56 pm


I started Dukan Diet on November 10, 2015 I have already lost 11 pounds. I feel great! I would definitely recommend this diet. You see fast results.

posted Dec 5th, 2015 9:23 pm


I've been on the Dukan for a month now.
Excerise daily.
I am not cheating but have only lost 7 pounds!!
What to do!
I'm very frustrated.

posted Dec 4th, 2015 12:51 pm


Unbelievable success with this program. I have been a yo-yo dieter for years - exercised till I dropped when I was young. Did phen-phen, Weight Watchers, Adkins, TOPS, all of them. I have lost 105 pounds. It took me 14 months. I have maintained for 6 months - which means I have been committed for 20 months. I have never felt better. I am 60 years old, have lost my cravings, am never hungry and feel like I am 40 again. So glad one of my friends told me about the program!!!

posted Oct 28th, 2015 12:51 am


lost 18 pounds in 2 month,didnt keep up with consolidation phase and end up gaining weight back...
First phase Attack was somewhat boring (limmited food alllowed),but it helped me with carb addiction:) I actually dont have crazy cravings anymore.My energy level actually was high,I didnt need coffee or carbs to start my day.I didnt finish my diet,because I didnt plan well my meals. I am doing Dukan again...:)This time I am excited about new receipies to try out,have calendar with all dates when I can eat what..SO,should do better this time! Overall,this is MY diet! It worked the best for me. It requires some effort,buy,hey,it worth it!

posted Sep 14th, 2015 9:20 pm



I started the Dukan Diet July 23, 2014 - to date I've lost 77 pounds. I started at 231pounds and I'm 154 pounds. Still going with phase 2 until I reach 145 pounds. This is the only diet that has worked for me. A very close friend of mine who has known me for 30 years said he couldn't believe it. Every other diet I would lose 15 pounds and that was it. It didn't matter how long I stayed on it and followed it. I've found this diet to be easy to follow and I've never felt hungry. Thank you Dr. Dukan.

posted Jun 16th, 2015 10:47 pm



The only diet I ever lost any weight on. I am 67 and have tried every diet possible. This one really kicks you into weight loss right away. Can be a bit hard to follow when travelling and when you have no control over what is served. You need to carry a stash with you. The gradual transition back into normal eating patterns is essential to follow.

posted May 30th, 2015 11:45 pm



Went on the Dukan on Sept. 22 at 212 pounds...78 days later I met my goal and weighed in at 179.6. It's an amazing process...and all it took was putting on a medium t-shirt and a pair of 34 waist jeans to make me realize for sure I won['t gain it back. It's March 30th and I'm still at 180...I do Monday and Tuesday as protein days to make certain I stay on track. What a great program...

posted Apr 1st, 2015 5:12 am



I tried this a couple of years ago and lost about 30 pounds in about 5 months. The only problem I had was that I didn't do well in the Consolidation phase...I was just tired of the strict diet. I have now gained that weight back+ 5 pounds. With that said, I am trying it again as it really is so effective and this time I am exercising...I did not last time. So I am hopeful that I can exist to the stabilization phase. I am a foodie and miss my carbs, but I also need to lose weight for my health so I am much more committed this time. I have tried other diets and none work as effectively as this one for me.

posted Mar 31st, 2015 7:04 pm



Worked marvels for me, I lost over 20 kgs without starving! Highly recommend it, but the no 1 success factor is to stick to the rules, and drink a lot of water!

posted Mar 6th, 2015 11:32 am

Kim Olsson


This diet is a miracle. I've lost 30kgs and I have been on the stabilisation phase for 2 years now. My health is excellent and I have truckloads of energy. Sadly, most reviewers of this diet usually haven't read and/or understood the diet before writing the review.

posted Nov 26th, 2014 2:30 am



Can't say enough about the Dukan Diet. I lost 33 lbs. in 45 days and feel great. Knee pain gone. Only issues I have is loss of muscle and loose skin, but I'm assured will return to normal.

posted Jul 19th, 2013 12:11 pm

Nuchjaree Saneyha


Hello, I have started this diet for 5 days already. I found that I love it because it helps me lose weights even it looks not easy to follow or control accroding to the rules. I have lost 3+Kg. in 5 days and feel fun to cook what the diet suggests doing. Tomorrow I am going to start my first day Cruise Pahase with Meats and Vegetables. That is great and I am looking forward to it :) Thanks

posted May 17th, 2013 5:39 pm



Kidney stones are a side effect of this diet if you don't drink enough water, so is constipation. You need to drink at least 2 litres of water a day and if you skip your daily exercise it won't work that well for you.
I am on this diet since January ( 4 months now) and I never felt better. I had constipation problems as well, but I had 1 extra spoon of oat bran( which is advised when you are constipated) and everything works out fine. My job is to walk around for 4-8 hours, so I consider this my daily exercise. IT is working wonders, so far I managed to lose 21 kg which is a big achievement for me. It is true I am using cod liver oil supplements for my joints because otherwise I would crush of painful joints, but other than that it's perfect. I don't have bad breath at all, I can see a lot of changes in my skin, my hair looks shinier than ever. Even now I crave fatty food, but when I feel the smell of it, it makes me feel sick. I am baking cakes and making desserts for my husband every other day and even if I crave having them, somehow my mind slips away to other things and go on without eating them.
Dukan Diet is like every diet, it works with some people and it doesn't with others. But in the long run. even with all the tiredness and moodiness it's all worth it!!!

posted Apr 20th, 2013 6:47 pm


So much of that is inaccurate. You are giving out wrong info to people.

posted Mar 24th, 2013 7:57 pm



This diet is awesome. I was sceptical at first cos I had tried so many diets before and it never worked. Today is 7 days since I started and I have already lost 3 Kg and am never hungry. So motivated now cant wait for the next phase.Good Luck to anyone that has just started . Remember nothing tastes as good as thin feels.

posted Mar 21st, 2013 6:12 pm



The Dukan Diet is fantastic. I lost 30+ kgs and have been in stablization for over 12 months. The other stages were reasonably easy for me and I did not feel like I was missing out on anything because the weight was coming off so well for most of the time and the online support was really helpful. I am finding that now though I do have some issues with not being able to eat carbs without gaining weight rapidly, but I am so happy to have lost the weight I never thought I would lose after many years of trying. It is the longest I have kept my weight down for many many years and am hopeful that my body will adjust happily, eventually.

posted Mar 19th, 2013 9:40 am


I have been in the Attack Phase for 5 days, and have not lost any weight. Anyone out there who tales medication that has resulted in weight gain-and tried this diet and weight loss still won't happen?

posted Feb 15th, 2013 4:34 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account


QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: Book published in 2000 after over 20 years of research
  • Founder: Dr. Pierre Dukan
  • Headquarters: Paris, France
  • Accessibility: Book and online coaching
  • Diet Type: Low-glycemic index, high protein and low-carbohydrate
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Kate Middleton, Jennifer Lopez, Gisele Bundchen

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?


The Dukan Diet is a French-based weight loss plan that was rumored to be followed by Kate Middleton, model Gisele Bundchen and Jennifer Lopez, following their pregnancies.

Created by Dr. Pierre Dukan, the diet is the number one weight loss plan in the UK attracting women of all shapes, sizes and ages to help them lose weight. It is also referred to as the "Je ne sais pas maigrir" ("I don't know how to lose weight") diet plan.

The plan is centered around eating protein-based meals in a four-cycled program. The four cycles are: Attack, Weight Loss, Stabilization and Cruise.

The Dukan Diet is a remastered version of the Protein-Sparing Modified Fast (PSMF), which is a high-protein diet that was created over three decades ago for obese individuals.

The Dukan Diet has been criticized for being a fad diet as well as a diet that may be dangerous because of its strict guidelines.

You can expect to lose three to five pounds per week while following it.

There is both a Dukan Diet website and book that lays out very clearly what the diet entails including what you can and can't eat, portion sizes and the length of time you should remain in each phase in relation to your weight loss goal.

A new English language edition of Dr. Dukan's book was released on April 19, 2011. It is called The Dukan Diet: 2 Steps to Lose the Weight, 2 Steps to Keep It Off Forever and claims to be "The Real Reason The French Stay Thin." There is also a companion cookbook.

  • Will result in weight loss
  • Can help to jump-start a sluggish metabolism
  • Includes a daily exercise plan

  • Strict guidelines are likely to cause weight regain
  • May be dangerous for some who are at risk for electrolyte imbalances
  • Considered a fad diet
  • Likely to produce moodiness and lethargy especially during the first phase

The Dukan Diet is comprised of four specific phases that cycle the kinds of protein and carbohydrates you consume. The reason for this cycling is to dip into fat stores for energy and trick the metabolism into an efficient fuel-burning machine.

Few starchy carbohydrates are allowed except for those in the form of low glycemic vegetables like lettuce, spinach, celery, cucumbers, bell peppers, tomatoes, radishes and broccoli. In addition, oat bran should be consumed each day. Its amount varies according to the phase of the diet you are in. Oat bran is also a staple ingredient in many of the Dukan Diet recipes.

Here is a breakdown of the four cycles:

  • Attack Phase: Only very lean veal, beef, chicken (skinless) and turkey (skinless), fish and shellfish, eggs, fat-free dairy products are allowed. Greek yogurt with 0 percent fat and plain yogurt are considered great choices for dairy. Tons of fresh water is also required. This phase should not be followed for longer than 10 days.

  • Cruise Phase: Alternating in five-day cycles, you cycle back and forth between eating protein and non-starchy vegetables and eating only protein. No butter or oil can be used and tons of fresh water is required. Follow this phase until your goal weight is attained.

  • Consolidation Phase: One serving of fruit, two slices of whole wheat bread and 1.5 ounces of cheese is allowed each day. Two times each week, you are allowed to eat two 5-ounce servings of starch, like potatoes, rice or another grain. Protein is also a mainstay. In addition, two times a week, you can eat a cheat meal including wine and dessert. But the day after these cheat meals, you can only consume protein. The Stabilization phase is done for the number of days that equals four days for every half-pound lost.

  • Stabilization: Normal eating is resumed with one day a week devoted to consuming only protein.

A quality vitamin and mineral supplement must also be taken in order to maintain proper nutrient intake. Spices, moderate amounts of diet soda, artificial sweeteners are allowed. No added sugars, fats, oils or sugary condiments are allowed.


Walking is the form of exercise that is strongly encouraged within each phase. You are expected to walk 20 to 30 minutes a day, depending upon the phase you are in. The book also includes several strength-training exercises you can also incorporate into your daily routine.

Learn More
View About The Dukan Diet Slideshow

The Dukan Diet is a high protein weight loss plan that cycles you back and forth between a protein-based diet that allows for certain kinds, quantities and frequencies of carbohydrates.

The diet is a mega hit in the Europe as well as with some celebrities. And while it receives a few gold stars for its clear guidelines and its capacity to help you lose weight, it probably won't result in long-term weight loss and it may even cause health problems or at the very least, moodiness and dreams of bread, particularly during the Attack phase.

Common Misspellings

dukand diet, duken diet, ducan diet, duckan diet, ducking diet, duekan diet

Related Diets: Atkins Diet, High Protein Diet, The Cheater's Diet, Low-Carb Diet, The Cheat to Lose Diet, Crack the Fat Loss Code

Whats better than
The Dukan Diet?