Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 77 reviews
The Dukan Diet

The Dukan Diet Review: Does it Work?

A French diet that has helped many A-list celebrities lose weight.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Dukan Diet is a weight loss diet based on a high protein, 4 staged food and lifestyle changes. There are specific foods allowed, and it’s said that the first 2 to 7 days between 4.4 to 6.6 pounds of weight loss is possible.

The official book has sold over 7 million copies, and an official website also offers support. With repeat use it’s said it can lead to sustained weight loss from 2 to 4 pounds each week. Reducing carbohydrates and fats is a major part of the diet especially in the beginning. In this review you’ll hear customer reviews, whether or not it’s safe and effective for weight loss, and many important considerations. A comprehensive top 10 list of the very best diet plans are available when you click here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

The Dukan Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The company does offer some pre-packaged foods, but they’re not necessary. Instead the plan focuses on customers cooking their own foods. The phases of the diet are:

Phase 1 “Attack”: You can eat as much protein as you’d like from 68 different kinds of animal protein. 

It’s said this phase will:

“increases the speed of weight loss while flushing out the excess water”

Between 6 to 8 cups of water are needed daily, as well as 1.5 tablespoons of oat bran for fiber to help reduce appetite, and to help with limiting the absorption of calories.

It’s also advised to introduce exercise, preferably in the morning. Also, the length of the diet depends on how much weight one wants to lose. The standards are listed as:

40 pounds or more: Talk to a physician and do it for around 7 days.

Between 15 to 30 pounds: 3-5 days.

10 pounds or less: 1-2 days.

The average time for most people is 2-5 days.

Phase 2 “Cruise”:  This phase is expected to promote 1 pound of weight loss every 3 days. One still has to eat the same kinds of protein, but there are small amounts of vegetables from 32 possible options.

This allows for an unlimited amount of 100 different food options, though no starchy or fatty vegetables are allowed such as avocado, potatoes, and corn. Much less restricting options are offered via the top 10 list of the best diet plans.

An additional half-tablespoon of oat bran is also needed each day.

Phase 3 “Consolidation”: This stage helps keep all the weight lost, by introducing 7 different suggested diet tips. Certain foods are allowed back in such as cheese, certain starchy foods, fruit, and bread.

2 “cheat” meals where you can eat foods not advised from the diet are allowed per week, though you do have to limit back to back binges.

For every pound lost, you have to add 5 days of this phase. So for people who have lost 30 pounds, 150 days are needed. You also get to eat the exact same foods allowed from the Attack and Cruise phases.

For the first half of the phase the following are required:

  • 1 serving of starchy foods each week.
  • 1.5 ounces of hard cheese.
  • 2 slices of whole grain bread.
  • A serving of fruit.

The second half of the phase requires:

  • 2 servings of fruit.
  • 2 servings of starchy foods each week.
  • 2 slices of whole grain bread.

2 tablespoons of oat bran are required daily alongside around 25 minutes of brisk walking. One day of the week one must go back to the Attack phase.

Phase 4 “Stabilization”: You can eat as you’d like 6 days out of the week, but with making sure the consolidation phase portion recommendations are followed. Once a week similar to the Attack phase, it’s necessary to eat only protein. This is required for the duration of one’s life.

Also, 3 tablespoons of oat bran are required each day. Adding exercise is also necessary.  An optional $1 a week coach is offered. You can find the top 10 diet plans by clicking on the link provided here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

The Dukan Diet Quality of Ingredients

The diet focuses on suggesting certain foods, so the overall quality depends on which one chooses. Though there are very specific allowances for foods. For the Attack phase one has to eat only protein.  This can be potentially unsafe, Web MD confirms:

“experts still do not know what the long-term effects are for your health and weight”

“no evidence that having one all-protein day, along with exercise, is enough to maintain your weight loss”

They also discuss the Dukan Diet by stating:

“doesn’t teach lifelong healthy eating habits.”

“could lead to a nutritionally inadequate diet”

They also add:

“the risks may outweigh the benefits”

This makes the Dukan Diet a potentially unhealthy diet plan which does not guarantee safe weight loss results.

The British Dietic Association which is Britain’s largest organization of nutrition and food experts named this the:

“Top Celebrity Diet to Avoid”

For 2010, 2011, and 2012 it was rated as the absolute worst diet to use. It’s also been in the top 5 list for years now. This is due to health concerns, and a lack of proven safe weight loss. The group also adds:

“Initial weight loss will be fluid”

This is because carbohydrates which are strictly forbidden for most of the diet help to promote water weight. Live Strong mentions that:

“It’s possible to lose as much as 20 pounds of body weight during one week, most of which is water”

Therefore, it’s likely most of the weight lost on this diet is strictly just water.

The creator of the diet Pierre Dukan also lost his medical register to practice as a doctor due to the promotion of his diet. This was seen as a violation of ethics, as he is using his medicine as a way to promote a business. Discover the top 10 diet plans by following the link here.

The Price and Quality of The Dukan Diet

Prices range depending on the kinds of groceries purchased. The website also offers online support for a total of $29.99 each month. This is optional and not required.

The diet is considered a crash diet since it requires extreme changes in diet. The major concern from health groups is that the Dukan Diet isn’t practical, proven safe, or helpful for promoting long lasting dietary advice.

It’s likely that the majority of weight lost will simply be water weight. The list featured here has the top 10 diet plans.

Business of The Dukan Diet

Diet Coaching Inc. owns the rights to the diet, and they can be contacted below:

Phone Number: (855) 385-2648

Email: contact@dukanbdiet.co.uk

There isn’t much information about the quality of the coaching. It’s also unknown if the coaching is provided by health professionals, or what kind of support they offer. To see the top 10 diet plans available now, click on the link featured here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of The Dukan Diet

Here are some customer opinions about the Dukan Diet:

“My blood pressure was really low, I had no energy at all and my doctor told me that the diet was very unhealthy”

“my hair began falling out and my fingernails broke in record time”

“This diet just isn’t healthy”

“This diet is so hard to follow”

Many people found it incredibly limiting and impossible to follow the Dukan Diet. Some were concerned as there were common issues such as low energy, headaches, brittle hair and nails, low blood pressure, mood swings, loss of focus, and other problems.

A major concern was that people were extremely bored of the diet, and that it was hard for many to keep eating the same kinds of foods, even when there are 100 options available.

The extreme carbohydrate loss also caused the majority of users to have no energy.

In some cases, people were hospitalized. Find the top 10 diet plans by clicking on the link provided here.

Conclusion - Does The Dukan Diet Work?

When making a decision on a diet plan like the Dukan Diet, it’s important to examine the science behind it, customer reviews, and what’s offered.  The required food allowances are considered extreme, as the beginning of the phase allows for only protein. Many users mention it promoted side effects, and that it was bland eating the same kinds of foods repeatedly. Health experts also add that this diet may be potentially unhealthy, and it’s unknown what kinds of long term effects it may promote. Furthermore, there’s a high risk for nutritional deficiencies.

The 2016 top rated diet plan of the year is known as the 18Shake Diet. It combines a metabolism boosting diet pill alongside a nutritionally balanced meal replacement. There are only natural ingredients, and no added colors, stimulants, fillers, or fillers. Many customers and health experts agree it’s a potent diet for sustained weight loss benefits. Users have lost weight by using the supplements offered that does not require extreme or potentially risky crash diet like meal planning. Visit the official website for the 18Shake Diet by clicking on this link.

A full 30 day money back guarantee is offered on both the meal replacement and metabolism booster. All purchases are offered risk free, with no questions asked. Information on the 18Shake Diet can be found by following the link featured here.

How Does The Dukan Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 5, 97 total comments)

Lorna

+

Started this diet today at 18stone. lets hope i can start getting rid of this.

So far i managed 2 boiled eggs for Bfast, Steamed chicken with black pepper for lunch with cottage cheese ( cant say im a grat fan of this!) for lunch.
as a PM snack - tuna with Greek Yoghurt ( fat free) and for dinner Steamed Chicken again and seafood sticks. with a few tbsp of greek yoghurt afterwards

so far there is not a great variety. however, tomorrow im attempting a DD chicken curry, and stroganoff on wednesday. tuna (egg white ) omlette tomorrow am. not sure about lunch yet. :)

posted Jan 7th, 2013 6:50 pm


Ilana

I have been on DD since May 4, 2011. I have lost 74 pounds on DD and 38 prior to DD. It took me 3.5 years to loose the 38 pounds on the "eat to live diet" and my blood sugars were insane. I lost the 74 pounds in 8 months on DD my blood sugars are normal as well as all my other blood work. I no longer need to take medicine for diabetes. I am in the consolidation phase part 1 (240 days so far) and will enter the 2nd phase of consolidation in 40 more days). I would say that this has become a lifestyle for me and I love how I feel. I am 65 and never dreamed after 35 years of trying to get the weight off that it would ever happen for me. I am thrilled, my doctors are thrilled and I thank Dr. Dukan everyday for bringing this diet to the USA

posted Dec 26th, 2012 10:54 pm


Emmy

It has been 15 days since I'm on this diet and I lost only 5.5lb. I stayed 5days on the attach and I'n on cruise phase for the last 10 days. I have missed a couple of walk-excercise otherwise doing it strictily. Seems slow, I don't know why?

posted Jul 15th, 2012 8:02 pm


Katrina

+

I am trying this diet right now, and so far it is successful. I have lost 11kg in 7 weeks without too much effort and never starving. I do have to take some extra vitamins as I can see my body react to reduced vitamin C intake. I also do quite hard work-outs 2-3 times a week, so that probably also helps. Anyway, this is the best diet I have ever tried, and I would suggest it to anyone who has tried losing weight but not succeeded before.

posted Jun 29th, 2012 9:03 am


Lynne

+

I love this diet

posted Jun 27th, 2012 8:25 am


gigi

+

The first diet that has worked for me in 15 years!!

posted Jun 24th, 2012 8:39 pm


jj alexander

+

Today I have been on the diet for 3 weeks and have lost 17 pounds. I am a 62 year old woman and for me the most difficult thing is preparing food for my husband who is NOT on the diet. There is a good range of food and it is not as difficult as I thought doing without fats and carbs. The results are impressive and I am very pleased!

posted Jun 9th, 2012 12:36 am


Sarah

+

I am mid dukan diet and... It is really working for me! I have been following it with ease, and have actually been eating a little bit more than I used to when I was trying to be 'healthy'. I have had no problems whatsoever. The attack phase was simple: I didn't feel tired at all and I'm extatic that I am halfway to my goal already! I really recommend it

posted Apr 8th, 2012 11:52 pm


sunnykjd

To be honest, this is the most effective diet I have ever been on...and I have tried almost all of them over the past 45 years! Call me the 'star' of yo-yo dieting! But, I have the feeling (I know) that this one is really changing my life. It certainly is saving me from undergoing a gastric bypass!
I signed up for Dukan's online coaching on Feb 21, weighing in at 119.8kg (264 lbs) for a height of only 155 cm (5ft. 1in). My Attack Phase lasted only 3 days, so it was very doable - not difficult at all. I was delighted when I saw that I had lost 3.8kg (8.4 lbs) already!
True - I was quite tired in the first week or two, but I kept going, switching to the Cruise Phase on Day 4, and now, just under 6 weeks since starting, I have lost a total of 11.4 kg (over 25 lbs) and I am feeling great - so full of energy! My blood glucose levels have fallen back into fully normal range after being pre-diabetic for years! Compliments are flowing in re how well I look!
To everyone saying that this is an unbalanced diet, if you follow it under medical supervision (check with your doctor first), sign up to the on-line programme (the daily reporting and feedback are really supportive and motivational), apply the principles properly (not necessary to use all the menus suggested - you can substitute your own), drink-drink-drink...water, of course (and/or tea, herbal teas, coffee, etc) to flush out the toxins, have the daily bran (porridge, pancakes, muffins, bread...recipes galore on Dukan website) for intestinal transit and take your daily exercise...then you will see how easy and effective it is! What could be so dangerous about the Dukan Diet, especially since in Phases 3 and 4, there is a gradual transition back to 'normal' eating - whatever you want - except for one Pure Protein day per week?
Frankly, I would rather press on with Dukan than undergo obesity surgery with all its irreversible short-term and, especially, longer-term risks which are only now being revealed!

posted Mar 31st, 2012 12:04 pm


Sima

Hi There
I have started this diet from today. Am hoping to lose at least 7 kgs by 12 days. Is that possible??

posted Mar 25th, 2012 10:37 pm


Ads

+

Hey All,

I started the Dukan about 9 days ago.
Needed 3 days to get properly into it, as I still used sugary ketchup and a spoon of oil. But then after 3 days I was fine to start the strict regime.Lost 2 kg up till now and I hope for more to melt, as I am now in the cruise phase.
I quite like it, as your body is forced to go back to the nutrition state instead of just feeding it with things I crave.
What is the most effective way to do the PV and PP days intervals?
I have planed to do 5 days of PV and 5 days of PP.
What did you gys to to achieve the most?

Thanks,
ADS

posted Feb 27th, 2012 12:38 am


drj

I modified a few things but overall I love this life change (I refuse to "diet:)

posted Feb 20th, 2012 6:55 pm


Trish

Two friends of mine did this diet; one suffered with kidney stones and had to go into hospital and the other suffered with chronic constipation and had to be treated for heamoroids. Aspartame is a chemical. Some people are happy to take it - even 'pregnant women' but I would prefer a natural sweetner like guava. After reading the book and researching the Ducan Diet I have decided to follow a healthy food regime which includes all food groups, like the Food Doctor Diet.

posted Feb 19th, 2012 3:21 pm


Luvs_Dukan

Call me insane or looney but on the first day that I tried it, the next day that I woke up, I lost 5 pounds!!!!! And then another 3 pounds on the day...I thought it was just water weight but then when I tried on some of my clothes that didn't fit me before, I was surprised that I could fit into them already!!! Before I started this diet, I was already a size 4...I couldn't be any happier now that I'm shrinking more. All my life, I've been into yo-yo dieting and went to my heaviest at size 8 at one point..That was horrendous for me!! THank God, I found this diet..My advice is to strictly stick to the plan and if you feel hungry or you're having some cravings for forbidden foods, drink some diet coke, water, and coffee w/o sugar and cream..It works!! I'm definitely recommending this diet to the ones that I care for :)

posted Feb 19th, 2012 12:26 am


Star

I started this diet a year ago and lost 30lbs in a month and a half. Unfortunately, I didn't make it to the 3rd phase because a friend of mine died suddenly and I said the heck with the diet. I'm re-starting the diet and am excited because I know that I will lose the weight again and this time, make it to the consolidation phase. The attack phase isn't much fun. Especially since I only eat seafood and eggs when it comes to meat. I'm on my 3rd day of the attack phase and to be honest, I haven't lost anything yet, BUT it's also that time of the month. I remembered from my last experience that the water weight will shed, so I'm not discouraged. I already feel the difference in my energy levels and feel confident that I will see the "hidden" results once my period ends. I'm so looking forward to eating vegetables again. Once you get to the cruise phase, the diet is pretty much a breeze. I was really motivated and would walk 45 minutes to an hour right as I began the diet. Then I was able to start running for 5-10 minutes sometimes, which was impressive to me since I really haven't ran for long periods of time since high school. Lol. I tried WeighNot and became very aggravated with it. I was seeing results, but having to weigh my meals, take pills, drink gagging beverages and counting my steps was just a pain. So I'm back for round two on Dukan and am positive I'll be satisfied with my results. I think you will be too.

posted Feb 16th, 2012 9:18 pm


Siobhan

+

I LOVE this diet already! I'm on day 5 and have lost around 3 kilos!!! I feel great, really energised and I'm never hungry! A hint would be stock up on good foods before you start- I bought so much roast chicken before starting and I'm glad I did because otherwise this diet would've been finished after day 1!

posted Feb 15th, 2012 9:08 am


Candice

+

I had lost 25# on Atkins last year, stabilized for 6 months - and then was stuck. So I signed up for the website coaching with Dukan.
They wanted my goal weight to be about 8# more than my insurance company wants, and more than I would have liked, but given my history (you fill out a detailed history) they feel it's a weight I could maintain easily. We'll see!

I was very skeptical about the short amount of time they felt I would reach my goal weight - about 6 weeks for 15#, and those last pounds are always the pits. But, I'm a week from Consolidation, and I'm only about a pound from my goal, so there you go.

Pros: Really works if you stick to it and do the exercises. And seems to work in the allotted time - a real surprise to me. Having been promised all kinds of things by lots of diets, having one that worked as predicted was a revelation. And I've tried LOTS of diets in the last 30 years.

Having to sign in and put in my weight and measurements every day has helped me stick to it. Knowing I need to get on the scale and get the tape measure out every morning helped me keep going, even though my weight and measurements went up and down almost every day.

You're rarely hungry - you can always have a boiled egg or a yogurt with Stevia if you're feeling peckish. And I found some of the flavored waters to be just the ticket to help out.

My doctor is delighted I've lost weight, and I was able to go off my B/P meds. She was impressed!

Cons: the recipes are totally worthless if you live in a small town not on one of the coasts (lots of seafood). And most of them are not what I'd eat anyway. They include a dessert with every meal, which is OK if you're hung up on desserts, but since I hardly ever eat desserts, I just skipped them.
The website will not take into account what foods you have available, - the menus appear to be canned - no surprise there.So plan on finding things you can make with the foods you have available. Took me a couple of weeks to get the hang of this. Be patient, and scour your stores for possibilities.

Will do nothing if you have a big pot-belly. I am now a very fit person if you don't look at me from the side. I've lost almost nothing on my belly- lost everywhere else. If you're looking to lose belly fat, this diet may not help much - but then none of them do.

Questions can be asked on the website, and the answers vary depending on who answered. I found some folks to be much better than others at answers.

On the whole, I'd say this is much better than the usual diet, and you're not hungry all the time. I'm hopeful that with the continued coaching (when you sign up, they take you through consolidation) I'll be able to stabilize at this weight and stay here.

posted Feb 8th, 2012 12:31 pm


Teresa

?

If you have a blip on phase 2 of the diet, can you restart Dukan Diet at anytime? dukan diet

posted Feb 7th, 2012 4:24 pm


megann

+

I started the diet Jan 29/2012. I have stuck to the restrictions of what I can and can not eat. I have done a minimum of 20 minute walk everyday. I am excited for my body to retrain how to eat. I am in my early 20's and I have about 40 pounds to loose in total. From the unreliable scale I have it says I have lost 3 pounds so far but I will be picking up a new scale this evening. Reading the reviews there are a mix of good and bad and I don't understand why people are bashing it saying it doesnt work and its no good. Not every diet is going to work for everyone. However I appreciate the feedback. If anyone has some recipes they would like to share that would be greatly appreciated!

posted Feb 1st, 2012 6:24 pm


kak

-

extremely unhealthy. I would never recommend this diet! Losing weight is a fact, but it destroys your organism.

posted Jan 18th, 2012 4:07 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: Book published in 2000 after over 20 years of research
  • Founder: Dr. Pierre Dukan
  • Headquarters: Paris, France
  • Accessibility: Book and online coaching
  • Diet Type: Low-glycemic index, high protein and low-carbohydrate
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Kate Middleton, Jennifer Lopez, Gisele Bundchen

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

BACKGROUND

The Dukan Diet is a French-based weight loss plan that was rumored to be followed by Kate Middleton, model Gisele Bundchen and Jennifer Lopez, following their pregnancies.

Created by Dr. Pierre Dukan, the diet is the number one weight loss plan in the UK attracting women of all shapes, sizes and ages to help them lose weight. It is also referred to as the "Je ne sais pas maigrir" ("I don't know how to lose weight") diet plan.

The plan is centered around eating protein-based meals in a four-cycled program. The four cycles are: Attack, Weight Loss, Stabilization and Cruise.

The Dukan Diet is a remastered version of the Protein-Sparing Modified Fast (PSMF), which is a high-protein diet that was created over three decades ago for obese individuals.

The Dukan Diet has been criticized for being a fad diet as well as a diet that may be dangerous because of its strict guidelines.

You can expect to lose three to five pounds per week while following it.

There is both a Dukan Diet website and book that lays out very clearly what the diet entails including what you can and can't eat, portion sizes and the length of time you should remain in each phase in relation to your weight loss goal.

A new English language edition of Dr. Dukan's book was released on April 19, 2011. It is called The Dukan Diet: 2 Steps to Lose the Weight, 2 Steps to Keep It Off Forever and claims to be "The Real Reason The French Stay Thin." There is also a companion cookbook.

PRO
  • Will result in weight loss
  • Can help to jump-start a sluggish metabolism
  • Includes a daily exercise plan

CON
  • Strict guidelines are likely to cause weight regain
  • May be dangerous for some who are at risk for electrolyte imbalances
  • Considered a fad diet
  • Likely to produce moodiness and lethargy especially during the first phase
DIET and NUTRITION

The Dukan Diet is comprised of four specific phases that cycle the kinds of protein and carbohydrates you consume. The reason for this cycling is to dip into fat stores for energy and trick the metabolism into an efficient fuel-burning machine.

Few starchy carbohydrates are allowed except for those in the form of low glycemic vegetables like lettuce, spinach, celery, cucumbers, bell peppers, tomatoes, radishes and broccoli. In addition, oat bran should be consumed each day. Its amount varies according to the phase of the diet you are in. Oat bran is also a staple ingredient in many of the Dukan Diet recipes.

Here is a breakdown of the four cycles:

  • Attack Phase: Only very lean veal, beef, chicken (skinless) and turkey (skinless), fish and shellfish, eggs, fat-free dairy products are allowed. Greek yogurt with 0 percent fat and plain yogurt are considered great choices for dairy. Tons of fresh water is also required. This phase should not be followed for longer than 10 days.

  • Cruise Phase: Alternating in five-day cycles, you cycle back and forth between eating protein and non-starchy vegetables and eating only protein. No butter or oil can be used and tons of fresh water is required. Follow this phase until your goal weight is attained.

  • Consolidation Phase: One serving of fruit, two slices of whole wheat bread and 1.5 ounces of cheese is allowed each day. Two times each week, you are allowed to eat two 5-ounce servings of starch, like potatoes, rice or another grain. Protein is also a mainstay. In addition, two times a week, you can eat a cheat meal including wine and dessert. But the day after these cheat meals, you can only consume protein. The Stabilization phase is done for the number of days that equals four days for every half-pound lost.

  • Stabilization: Normal eating is resumed with one day a week devoted to consuming only protein.

A quality vitamin and mineral supplement must also be taken in order to maintain proper nutrient intake. Spices, moderate amounts of diet soda, artificial sweeteners are allowed. No added sugars, fats, oils or sugary condiments are allowed.

EXERCISE

Walking is the form of exercise that is strongly encouraged within each phase. You are expected to walk 20 to 30 minutes a day, depending upon the phase you are in. The book also includes several strength-training exercises you can also incorporate into your daily routine.

Learn More
View About The Dukan Diet Slideshow
CONCLUSION

The Dukan Diet is a high protein weight loss plan that cycles you back and forth between a protein-based diet that allows for certain kinds, quantities and frequencies of carbohydrates.

The diet is a mega hit in the Europe as well as with some celebrities. And while it receives a few gold stars for its clear guidelines and its capacity to help you lose weight, it probably won't result in long-term weight loss and it may even cause health problems or at the very least, moodiness and dreams of bread, particularly during the Attack phase.

Common Misspellings

dukand diet, duken diet, ducan diet, duckan diet, ducking diet, duekan diet

Related Diets: Atkins Diet, High Protein Diet, The Cheater's Diet, Low-Carb Diet, The Cheat to Lose Diet, Crack the Fat Loss Code

Whats better than
The Dukan Diet?