Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

29%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 53 reviews
Jenny Craig

Jenny Craig Diet Review: Does it Work?

With its small army of celeb success stories, Jenny Craig shows off its effectiveness.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Jenny Craig is a weight loss program that offers consultations, prepacked foods, and motivation to support users. It’s claimed to be an all-encompassing weight loss solution that can promote real change.

It’s claimed to be effective in reducing up to 2 pounds of weight loss a week. A standard diet plan will limit calories from 1,200 to 2,300 calories depending on height, gender, and weight loss goals. There’s also a version for people with type 2 diabetes. In reviewing weight loss diets our experts found the 18Shake diet to be the most effective. It has an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning diet pill. When combined they optimize weight loss without the use of stimulants, preservatives, or fillers. Learn more information about the 18Shake Diet when you visit the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Jenny Craig Ingredients and Side Effects

Here are some select ingredients used in the prepackaged foods:

Enriched Flour

Corn Syrup

Soybean Oil

Dextrose

Guar Gum

Carrageenan

Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein

Caramel Color

Sugar

Modified Food Starch

Corn Syrup: This extracted food syrup is taken from corn and is used as cheapsweetener in foods. There are concerns that this sweetener can increase the risk for obesity. Dr.Mary Hyman also lists the dangers:

“it is a major causer of heart disease, obesity, cancer, dementia, liverfailure, tooth decay, and more”

This ingredient is also only added to provide a sweet taste to foods, it has no nutritional or weight loss value. It’s known as one of the cheapest available sweeteners.

Carrageenan: Thickener and binder which is extracted from red edible seaweed.  A clinical study by the Cornucopia group adds:

“New Studies Reinforce Link to Inflammation Cancer, and Diabetes”

This additive is often added to processed foods as an inexpensive way to gel ingredients together.

Guar Gum: This fiber extract is taken from the guar plant. It’s often added as a cheap thickener and binder which also has laxative like effects.

Possible side effects can include:

• Increased risk for chocking and blockages, gas, and loose stools.

         • Indigestion, diarrhea, and nausea.

Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein: This gluten source is added to foods to provide a unique taste as well as protein.

Modified Food Starch: This chemically altered from of starch is often added to increase viscosity and to create a certain texture.

Our experts have created a best of list of the top ranked weight loss diets which are made available here.

The full Jenny Craig package has over 100 different kinds of low calorie foods, consultations available in person, on the internet or on the phone, and personal consultations.

It’s advised to choose 5 different menu items and to select a snack of one’s choosing. This is intended to make it easy to eat foods without worrying about calorie counting as each meal is delivered.

It’s claimed that this is a way to lose weight up to 3 times more than if one were to do it on their own. A clinical study into weight loss diets reviewed Jenny Craig and found it:

“resulted in at least 4.9% greater weight loss at 12 months than control/education and counseling”

So a person weighing 200 pounds would lose on average of 9.8 pounds in a year. While this does show it’s possible to lose weight, any kind of reduced calorie plan will likely result in the same kinds of results.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Jenny Craig Quality of Ingredients

There are many cheap additives that have been shown to potentially increase the risk for obesity and other issues. These additives are only added as substitutes for more wholesome ingredients, and they’re of the included to stabilize or help the foods preserve longer.

These kinds of ingredients are often found in heavily processed foods. This makes the Jenny Craig meals a very poor offering. There is also additional support offered by this plan through counseling, but since one is meant to eat 5 of these meals, one has to continually eat processed and potentially harmful foods.

It’s also unknown if the counselors have any background in nutrition or weight loss. The website claims that counselors include former Jenny Craig dieters. It seems unlikely that they would have any certification to help give out nutritional advice.

 A list of the highest rated diets for weight loss is made available in the link here.

The Price and Quality of Jenny Craig

An initial $99 enrollment fee and a $19.99 charge for 3 consultationsis one available price. For weeklong consultations it’s $39.99 a month without the enrollment fee.

For the full experience there is a charge for pre-packaged foods which can average $15 to $23 depending on the meals.

As you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Jenny Craig” section, there are issues with an auto enrollment plan. This is a way for companies to automatically charge one’s credit cards without prior notice.

Due to the lack of quality ingredients and the expensive price, it’s a poor weight loss solution. Web MD has reviewedJenny Craig and concluded:

“The downside is that it is expensive. The cost of the food is in addition to the cost of the program, about $100 per week, and this may be hard for some people to maintain”

The price is the biggest issue with this plan which prevents it from being a quality diet. One has to spend a lot of money for meals which contain ingredients that are often added to TV dinners and heavily processed foods. For a list of the highest rated weight loss diets, click on the link here.

Business of Jenny Craig

The name of the company is also Jenny Craig, Inc. and their contact information is listed as:

Address: 5770 Fleet Street

                   Carlsbad, California 92008

Phone Number: (866) 706-4042

Email: PR@jennycraig.com

There are 17 complaints on their Better Business Bureau website. Here are some quotes from those who had issues:

“I have called them probably 5-7 times, still no refund”

“I will never do business with this company again”

“don’t feel like they were forthcoming in telling me that this monthly fee could go until the end of time”

“I was continued to be billed 14.99 a month after the 12 month period”

People didn’t appreciate the customer service and there were also complaints about hidden fees. Customers have also complained about being unable to cancel their subscriptions even after repeatedly trying to call customer service. Some complained that they were charged hidden fees without due notice.

For a comprehensive list of the top ranked weight loss diets, click the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Jenny Craig

Here are some reviews from users of the Jenny Craig system

“not sure how I feel about how highly processed and high sodium the supplied food items are”

“I had the worst blood sugar crash”

“I was shocked at the prices”

“Their services are a rip-off! I wasted $800 with no results!”

Many people had have issues with the Jenny Craig system. People said that it was greatly overpriced, and the quality of support is poor. There were constant issues with a lack of quality customer service, as well as people who found the pre-packaged foods to be unappetizing.

A major issue was with people who read the nutrition facts. There was worry that the provided foods had high amounts of cheap processed additives. Those who understood what these ingredients can do had issues with paying such a high price for what they could find elsewhere for cheaper.

Click thelink here for a list of the very best weight loss diets.

Conclusion - Does Jenny Craig Work?

Jenny Craig offers low calorie prepackaged foods as well as counseling for people tolose weight. While reducing calories will help with weight loss, it’s important to consider cost. Many users say that they would not commit to this plan again due to the many hidden fees and auto renewal contracts. There were issues people had as well with the quality of food. People found many of the items unappetizing, and they were concerned with the heavy sue of artificial additives. Overall, customers were not satisfied with the Jenny Craig system. Users found that the foods would not be a long-term solution for weight loss, as the foods can become repetitive.

Our review experts have analyzed many kinds of diets, and the most effective weight loss solution was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It has an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning diet pill. Customers have left positive testimonials and reviews on the company’s official website. People say the meal replacement is easy to mix, tastes great, and alleviates appetite for hours. The diet pill has benefits through increasing metabolism and burning fat without the use of stimulants or artificial ingredients.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by an entire 30 day money back guarantee. This allows returns for the entire 30 day period with no questions asked. For more information about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet click the link here.

How Does Jenny Craig Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Jenny Craig
  • 29 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 6, 115 total comments)

megan

I started Jenny two weeks ago and am down 5.8 pounds. I like it even though it is expensive. I would recommend it to anyone!

posted Mar 21st, 2008 3:13 pm


maria northey

I highlt recommend jenny craig

posted Mar 18th, 2008 9:01 am


maria

I only just started the jenny craig diiet and find the food is very nice .The snacks are great as well . would recommend this to anyone who have a weight problem.I

posted Mar 17th, 2008 11:04 pm


Linda

I started JC 2 weeks ago-have lost 9 lbs! I think the food so far has been really good and a great variety. The snacks are great!

posted Mar 7th, 2008 9:05 am


Amanda

I have been on Jenny for about 3 months now and am happy with the results. I have let myself indulge outside of Jenny, but found the plan the rest of the week is enough to continue to lose each week. I have lost 25 pounds and am happy with the food choices. I am a picky eater, and was happy that many things that came with sauces, etc. were seperate. Plus, you can pull off items if you don't like them. I would recommend this to ANYONE! I am finally at the point that people notice the weight loss. I have tried many other things and having the meals already prepared and portioned is the best for me. I have a long road ahead, but feel confident I will stick with this plan. This is the first time in my life, that I have EVER felt that way.

posted Mar 7th, 2008 9:05 am


sarar

I get Medifast delivered to my apt right now and find it much easier then going to the store and buying jenny craig. Does jenny craig offer a home delivery or is it just nutrisystem and medifast? has anyone tried any of the other ones. The food is good at medifast for home delivery etc

posted Mar 2nd, 2008 6:39 am


Doug Thomas

Started Jenny Craig 2 weeks ago and have already lost 10 lbs. The food is great, much better than nutrisystem!

posted Mar 2nd, 2008 6:35 am


Anonymous

I have been on J.C. for 14 months. I've lost 41 pounds, but now I have been plateauing for 2-1/2 months. I can't understand it, and nobody has any answers for me!


Anonymous

I've been on JC for a month now and have not lost any weight,but sure have payed alot for nothing. How much longer does it take to lose the weight?


Anonymous

this is the worst diet in the world all the food taste horrible


Nancy B.

I am looking to interview someone who has had success with Jenny Craig for a weight loss book I am writing. E-mail me at kennedy5961@aol.com if you want to hear more about it. Thanks for considering this.


Shawn

As a women who works two jobs, I find the Jenny Craig system really works for me. On other diet programs I obsessed over my food, weighing and measuring to make sure that I got every last ounce. On JC I just don't worry about it. I'm learning to eat to live instead of live to eat. I declined to purchase the vitamens and other non-food products and my counselor has not pressured me about it.


Anonymous

1st time 75lbs and anything that I liked food wise tked off the roster. 2 counselor's that time. I hit long "roadblocks" but worked through. And by the way kept it off for almost 10yrs. 2nd time 55lbs. The food gets old, somethings don't taste too great, find what you do like. I took control each time. Hey we got this way, don't whine tke control we can, that is what they teach. Years ago there were classes 2xwk you had to show up for and books of "homework lessons" people did not like that system JC changed to they way it is today due to that. To make the price better after you get some weight off drop to 5 days or only do self stable foods they are less costly. Then the few things that are frozen you like won't break the bank. My bills ran $75-85 week. The the market. Eat your veggies and such. It works not every part is perfect and wonderful my counselors shake their heads at me I would still eat candy ,ice cream and eat out sushi. But I also told on myself, I never felt badly, and I either stayed the same or lost weight. Be honest. It is what you make it! Take control. (And BTW I have tried WW NS JC foods and system is better. I am more honest and eat better with this than the others.)


Virginia

Are you kidding me? I started out going to the local center. I was pushed from the beginning to buy their food which, I knew was part of the program so in the beginning I understood. However I was also pushed to buy capsules and anti-oxidents and my counselor, over and over suggested I buy the cookbook which I had already bought. So much for remembering "me"! I kept a menu journal vigilantly and yet it was never looked at once. I was kept waiting at the center while the office manager (mycounselor for that day) unloaded a truck of food!!!! each time I went they were at least 20 minutes late with my appt. I lost 17 lbs and then hit a roadblock -- I couldn't stomach any more of their food. Most of their food is more of what I call "West Coast" recipes. Nothing that resembles anything that I grew up with from Philadelphia. Everything tasted over-spiced or heavily "herbed". And have you checked out the list of ingredients on the back of the packages???? Are you telling me that's healthier than a plain meal that I cook at home? What is all that stuff anyway? Then I switched to Jenny Direct -- only to find that my counselor didn't call me for 4 weeks over the holidays! Isn't that her responsibility in an effort to keep me on track?? Also I called in the other day to talk to the counselor in an effort to get back on track. The first question I was asked is what food I wanted to order!!! No pressure there - not!!!! I told the counselor I had plenty of food and needed to get back in the game. But there a few things I needed to replace to make complete meals. placed an order the other day in an effort to get back on track only to find that the cost of my food was around $40 - (only a few items that I needed) while the cost of shipping was $70!!!!!! Are you kidding me???? This is a big rip-off just like any other fad diet. Oh and did I mention that the first representative I talked to when I switched to Direct automatically increased my membership without telling me? And the shipping on that order was $85!!!! Unbelievable! My suggestion is make an appointment with a real, certified nutritionist. Learn how many fat grams and carbohydrates a day you should consume. Then learn to cut your portions. Oh! And, really -- Valerie Bertinelli?? I would like to know how much she was paid -- and she was PAID -- to lose weight. Hmmm would that make a difference? If Jenny paid me instead of me getting rocked???


Anonymous

i love it i have been on it for 2 months and it has been great to me. if you want to lose weight JC is what you should get.


Anonymous

tastes good


Anonymous

I Love Jenny! The program has helped me learn many elements in portion control, working out and having healthier foods. My consultant is great! She has motivated me every step of the way! Thanks Darcy!!


Heather in Napa

Thank you so much for the nicest post C.N. I've enjoyed the chance to meet with you weekly and help you reach each of your goals. When another client of mine told me to go look at this page and look for your post I started to cry this is why I'm here. This program has helped me lose 240 pounds as well as keep it off now for 7 years. This program may not work for all of you out there but something will I promise. Don't give up on your goals. Happy New year and good luck to all of you.


Anonymous

I tried and am still trying Jenny Craig. It is working for me! I love the food, my consultant is amazing. I have never been pressured into buying anything that I did not need. It can get a bit pricey, but really, how much is it worth to you to be able to lose weight. Portion control is the biggest thing that I am learning!


Pro-Dieter

Well I have to say that for me, a full time mom & wife and a business owner, Jenny Craig just makes sense. The meals are DELICIOUS! I have yet to eat something that is tasteless. I've tried everything short of surgery and Jenny Craig's food keeps me satisfied and full. I never starve like other diets and what's insane is that I get to eat Pizza & Chocolate!! My 2 indulgences. I am learning to eat to live and not live to eat. I highly recommend trying it. Just try the 8 week program to start. You really will not regret it!



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1983
  • Founder: Jenny and Sid Craig
  • Headquarters: Carlsbad, California
  • Stock Symbol: NESN
  • Accessibility: Online, Centers
  • Diet Type: Prepackaged Meals, Portion Control, Low-Calorie, Low-Fat
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Valerie Bertinelli, Jason Alexander, Sarah Rue, Carrie Fisher

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

BACKGROUND

With more than 600 centers around the globe and thousands of female followers, Jenny Craig has established itself as a leader in the weight-loss industry since 1983.

The Jenny Craig approach is built on three tenets: food, body and mind. The food element focuses on healthy eating and portion control and also teaches you how to eat the foods you love in moderation, the body element focuses on exercise and overcoming barriers to being physically active. The mind element focuses on positive thinking and getting the support you need to reach your weight loss goals.

The program is most known for its pre-packaged and portion-controlled meals. But Jenny Craig sets itself apart from other meal-delivery diets because as you reach your goal weight, you work closely with Jenny Craig counselors to learn about portion control, healthy cooking and eating at home or while dining out.

With over 2,500 consultants, you have access to one-on-one support in person, online or over the phone to help you eat right, exercise, change habits and overcome obstacles that keep you from your goals.

After an in-depth interview with a Jenny Craig representative, you are given a personalized meal and fitness plan. The two basic programs are the In-Person Support and Jenny Direct programs. With the former, you attend weekly meetings, consultations and food pick-up at your local Jenny Craig center and the latter gives you the same support over the phone and delivers food to your door.

In addition, there are five Jenny Craig plans under the Standard program: Jenny Craig for Women, Jenny Craig for Men, Jenny Craig for Teens, Jenny Craig for Spouses and Jenny Craig for Seniors.

Famous Jenny Craig Spokeswomen include Kirstie Alley, Valerie Bertinelli, Phylicia Rashad, Queen Latifah, Nicole Sullivan and Sara Rue.

Other Jenny Craig plans include:

Jenny Craig at Home: A plan that allows you to complete the Jenny Craig plan from the privacy of your own home.

Jenny Direct: The Jenny Craig program delivered straight to your door.

Jenny Craig for Men: The Jenny Craig plan specifically designed to meet the nutritional needs of men who want to lose weight.

Jenny Craig Silver: The Jenny Craig plan for older adults who want to improve their health.

JENNY CRAIG VIDEOS

Jenny Craig YouTube Channel

Consumer Reports Jenny Craig vs. NutriSystem Taste Test

Flashmob Surprises Jenny Craig Celebrities

PRO
  • Features a one-on-one relationship with counselor
  • Menu includes a wide-variety of foods
  • Program has a long history and is a trusted brand in weight loss programs
  • Prepackaged foods offer convenience
  • No food groups are off limits
  • Named #2 in the Best Commercial Diets by US News, 2011
CON
  • May be a challenge to transition from the company's prepackaged meals to "real" food
  • Low-calorie diet may be too strict
  • Weekly in-person meetings can sometimes be inconvenient
  • Financial responsibility of prepacked meals may not be a long-term healthy eating solution
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

The food is great! Ediets is disgusting. Portions are small but your stomach does shrink so you don't really need more. Not all foods were wonderful but some I would eat even when not dieting. The food seems expensive but at the end of 6 weeks, I had actually saved money. I ate less, enjoyed my meals, and lost weight. - Katrina 1/9/11

I tried the program for a few weeks and was disappointed in the lack of support from the counselors. They didnt seem to have any "real" training. They said I could tell them things I dont like and they would make sure they werent included in the foods I bought (I hate raisins and mushrooms). They assured me nothing I bought had those 2 things in them, but lots actually did. They obviously didnt know their product. Way too expensive also. - Sandy 11/29/10

I've maintained my weight loss, fluctuating about 7 pounds, but still well below my goal weight for a year today! Great program, great food and awesome consultants. - Nina 7/12/10

Easiest diet I ever followed. Where I have always fallen off the wagon before is when I get stressed and am too busy to cook or just don't feel like it. With Jenny when I am stressed I just make a point of following the plan even better at those times. I don't do meals on my own, I just eat the Jenny food and know that way I am on track. - Carol Ann 1/17/10

I lost about 40 pounds on Jenny Craig and, with the exception of playing with 5 pounds here and there, have kept it off. I like that they first teach you portion control through their meals and then gradually reintroduce store-bought food into your diet. The one-on-one interaction with a counselor also helped keep me on track and did not allow me to hide in the back of a meeting. - A.C. 12/29/09

DIET and NUTRITION

The program's success is in the Jenny Craig food, which offers convenience with portioned and calorie-controlled pre-packaged meals. The Jenny Craig plan has a daily caloric intake of 1,200-1,300 and contains 50% to 60% carbohydrate, 20% to 25% protein, and 20% to 25% fat.

Dieters eat 6 times a day, which includes 3 meals and 3 snacks.

Meals are either picked up at Jenny Craig centers or delivered straight to your door. There are four different menu options with Jenny Craig. You can customize your own meals, order pre-planned meals, enjoy an all-vegetarian menu or select a menu specifically designed for adolescents.

Eating on the Jenny Craig program can be easy because most of your meal is provided for you. Jenny Craig foods are paired with your own grocery foods like fruits, vegetables, low-fat dairy, whole grains and heart-healthy fats. Low glycemic veggies can eaten in limitless portions. Although the meals are prepackaged, the makeup of the foods you eat will set you up for how you should eat to maintain a balanced diet.

Jenny Craig uses the Volumetrics® approach which encourages consuming low-calorie, nutrient dense foods high in water, fiber and protein to help dieters feel fuller longer.

A dining out guide is also included so that you can eat out without sabotaging your weight loss goals. No foods are off limits on the Jenny Craig program. You work with a counselor to learn how to safely incorporate your favorite foods into your healthy eating plan.

In 2015, Jenny Craig's packaging was redesigned to help members make more informed nutrition decisions and encourage members to get creative with their meals and make their own unique recipes.

EXERCISE

On Jenny Craig you are given a personalized activity and motivational plan to get you moving more. When you meet with your consultant in the Jenny Craig office, they will help you personalize your fitness plan. This can also be done online for those that are doing the at-home delivery program. You will work to develop an approach to fitness that starts where you are now and builds on that. You will also be identifying personal barriers to your physical activity so that you can work to remove those and stay focused on the benefits of exercise.

Consultants work with members to achieve 10,000 steps a day through habit change and intentional exercise.

The Jenny Craig activity plan centers around three kinds of activities. The first are natural activities like house cleaning, shopping and gardening. Next are planned activities such as doing cardio at the gym or taking a yoga or aerobics class. Last are playful activities like taking a dance class or playing football with your kids.

Over time you gradually increase your activity through these three elements and you learn how to incorporate more movement into your day.

Your planned exercises will include a combination of cardio, resistance and stretching activities. The Jenny Craig program strongly recommends exercise while on the program so that you can have an established habit to maintain your weight loss after you’ve reached your goal weight. Some of the outlined planned exercise options as well as the playful options are listed below:

  • Weightlifting
  • Walking
  • Yoga
  • Kickboxing
  • Aerobic Dance
  • Dancing
  • Bicycling
  • Playing Basketball
  • Playing Tag with the Kids
JENNY CRAIG FAQ

Common questions asked about the Jenny Craig program by our community. Click to see the full answer.

Is the Jenny Craig food frozen or freeze-dried? - Celia 6/18/11

CONCLUSION

With its focus on food, body and mind, Jenny Craig is a well-rounded weight loss program that offers the training and support you need to achieve your weight loss goals. Its varied programs and pre-packaged meals and snacks offers the convenience of healthy eating in combination with a personalized plan that fits your lifestyle.

While most pre-packaged meal weight loss programs don't provide you with any information on how to prepare and eat healthy meals on your own, Jenny Craig offers support that educates you on healthy cooking and eating.

See the Official Jenny Craig Web Site

JENNY CRAIG SLIDESHOWS

View About Jenny Craig Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Jenny Craig

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

JENNY CRAIG RESOURCES

Jenny Craig on Facebook

Jenny Craig on Twitter

Jenny Craig on IMDB

Jenny Craig Good Morning America Statement

Jenny Craig at Wikipedia

Jenny Craig Contact Information
Common Misspellings

JennyCraig, Jenny Criag, Jennie Craig, Jenny Craig deit, Jenny Craig diet, Jennie Craig diet, Jennie Craig deit, jennycraig.com

Related Diets: Nutrisystem, Volumetrics, Weight Watchers, Weight Watchers Online for Men, Jen4Men, Jenny Craig at Home, Jenny Craig for Men, Jenny Direct, Valerie Bertinelli: Losing It

Whats better than
Jenny Craig?