Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

29%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 53 reviews
Jenny Craig

Jenny Craig Review (UPDATED 2017): Don't Buy Before You Read This!

Top Rated Diets of 2017
What is it?

Jenny Craig is a weight loss program that offers consultations, prepacked foods, and motivation to support users. It’s claimed to be an all-encompassing weight loss solution that can promote real change.

It’s claimed to be effective in reducing up to 2 pounds of weight loss a week. A standard diet plan will limit calories from 1,200 to 2,300 calories depending on height, gender, and weight loss goals. There’s also a version for people with type 2 diabetes. In reviewing weight loss diets our experts found the 18Shake diet to be the most effective. It has an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning diet pill. When combined they optimize weight loss without the use of stimulants, preservatives, or fillers. Learn more information about the 18Shake Diet when you visit the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2017?

Jenny Craig Ingredients and Side Effects

Here are some select ingredients used in the prepackaged foods:

Enriched Flour

Corn Syrup

Soybean Oil

Dextrose

Guar Gum

Carrageenan

Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein

Caramel Color

Sugar

Modified Food Starch

Corn Syrup: This extracted food syrup is taken from corn and is used as cheapsweetener in foods. There are concerns that this sweetener can increase the risk for obesity. Dr.Mary Hyman also lists the dangers:

“it is a major causer of heart disease, obesity, cancer, dementia, liverfailure, tooth decay, and more”

This ingredient is also only added to provide a sweet taste to foods, it has no nutritional or weight loss value. It’s known as one of the cheapest available sweeteners.

Carrageenan: Thickener and binder which is extracted from red edible seaweed.  A clinical study by the Cornucopia group adds:

“New Studies Reinforce Link to Inflammation Cancer, and Diabetes”

This additive is often added to processed foods as an inexpensive way to gel ingredients together.

Guar Gum: This fiber extract is taken from the guar plant. It’s often added as a cheap thickener and binder which also has laxative like effects.

Possible side effects can include:

• Increased risk for chocking and blockages, gas, and loose stools.

         • Indigestion, diarrhea, and nausea.

Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein: This gluten source is added to foods to provide a unique taste as well as protein.

Modified Food Starch: This chemically altered from of starch is often added to increase viscosity and to create a certain texture.

Our experts have created a best of list of the top ranked weight loss diets which are made available here.

The full Jenny Craig package has over 100 different kinds of low calorie foods, consultations available in person, on the internet or on the phone, and personal consultations.

It’s advised to choose 5 different menu items and to select a snack of one’s choosing. This is intended to make it easy to eat foods without worrying about calorie counting as each meal is delivered.

It’s claimed that this is a way to lose weight up to 3 times more than if one were to do it on their own. A clinical study into weight loss diets reviewed Jenny Craig and found it:

“resulted in at least 4.9% greater weight loss at 12 months than control/education and counseling”

So a person weighing 200 pounds would lose on average of 9.8 pounds in a year. While this does show it’s possible to lose weight, any kind of reduced calorie plan will likely result in the same kinds of results.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Jenny Craig Quality of Ingredients

There are many cheap additives that have been shown to potentially increase the risk for obesity and other issues. These additives are only added as substitutes for more wholesome ingredients, and they’re of the included to stabilize or help the foods preserve longer.

These kinds of ingredients are often found in heavily processed foods. This makes the Jenny Craig meals a very poor offering. There is also additional support offered by this plan through counseling, but since one is meant to eat 5 of these meals, one has to continually eat processed and potentially harmful foods.

It’s also unknown if the counselors have any background in nutrition or weight loss. The website claims that counselors include former Jenny Craig dieters. It seems unlikely that they would have any certification to help give out nutritional advice.

 A list of the highest rated diets for weight loss is made available in the link here.

The Price and Quality of Jenny Craig

An initial $99 enrollment fee and a $19.99 charge for 3 consultationsis one available price. For weeklong consultations it’s $39.99 a month without the enrollment fee.

For the full experience there is a charge for pre-packaged foods which can average $15 to $23 depending on the meals.

As you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Jenny Craig” section, there are issues with an auto enrollment plan. This is a way for companies to automatically charge one’s credit cards without prior notice.

Due to the lack of quality ingredients and the expensive price, it’s a poor weight loss solution. Web MD has reviewedJenny Craig and concluded:

“The downside is that it is expensive. The cost of the food is in addition to the cost of the program, about $100 per week, and this may be hard for some people to maintain”

The price is the biggest issue with this plan which prevents it from being a quality diet. One has to spend a lot of money for meals which contain ingredients that are often added to TV dinners and heavily processed foods. For a list of the highest rated weight loss diets, click on the link here.

Business of Jenny Craig

The name of the company is also Jenny Craig, Inc. and their contact information is listed as:

Address: 5770 Fleet Street

                   Carlsbad, California 92008

Phone Number: (866) 706-4042

Email: PR@jennycraig.com

There are 17 complaints on their Better Business Bureau website. Here are some quotes from those who had issues:

“I have called them probably 5-7 times, still no refund”

“I will never do business with this company again”

“don’t feel like they were forthcoming in telling me that this monthly fee could go until the end of time”

“I was continued to be billed 14.99 a month after the 12 month period”

People didn’t appreciate the customer service and there were also complaints about hidden fees. Customers have also complained about being unable to cancel their subscriptions even after repeatedly trying to call customer service. Some complained that they were charged hidden fees without due notice.

For a comprehensive list of the top ranked weight loss diets, click the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Jenny Craig

Here are some reviews from users of the Jenny Craig system

“not sure how I feel about how highly processed and high sodium the supplied food items are”

“I had the worst blood sugar crash”

“I was shocked at the prices”

“Their services are a rip-off! I wasted $800 with no results!”

Many people had have issues with the Jenny Craig system. People said that it was greatly overpriced, and the quality of support is poor. There were constant issues with a lack of quality customer service, as well as people who found the pre-packaged foods to be unappetizing.

A major issue was with people who read the nutrition facts. There was worry that the provided foods had high amounts of cheap processed additives. Those who understood what these ingredients can do had issues with paying such a high price for what they could find elsewhere for cheaper.

Click thelink here for a list of the very best weight loss diets.

Conclusion - Does Jenny Craig Work?

Jenny Craig offers low calorie prepackaged foods as well as counseling for people tolose weight. While reducing calories will help with weight loss, it’s important to consider cost. Many users say that they would not commit to this plan again due to the many hidden fees and auto renewal contracts. There were issues people had as well with the quality of food. People found many of the items unappetizing, and they were concerned with the heavy sue of artificial additives. Overall, customers were not satisfied with the Jenny Craig system. Users found that the foods would not be a long-term solution for weight loss, as the foods can become repetitive.

Our review experts have analyzed many kinds of diets, and the most effective weight loss solution was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It has an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning diet pill. Customers have left positive testimonials and reviews on the company’s official website. People say the meal replacement is easy to mix, tastes great, and alleviates appetite for hours. The diet pill has benefits through increasing metabolism and burning fat without the use of stimulants or artificial ingredients.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by an entire 30 day money back guarantee. This allows returns for the entire 30 day period with no questions asked. For more information about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet click the link here.

How Does Jenny Craig Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Jenny Craig
  • 29 /100
  • .
  • .


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 7, 123 total comments)

Monica in San Antonio

+

I've been on Jenny Craig since 9/13/08 and have lost 35 lbs. so far (it's 1/3/09). I've got 28 more to go. I love my consultant, Cinnamon. I've been on the program before but this is the 1st time of stuck with it since I had my baby...uuuh 6 years ago. It worked for me in the past during my pre-baby years too. Sticking with the menu is not a problem for me. Keeping motivated to work out, having a great counselor, and getting on a menu that fits your budget is all it takes to succeed like I have. These 3 things are very important. I have never been pressured to purchase anthing I don't want. If you ever find you're not compatible with your consultant, just ask for another. You ARE the customer, remember. I enjoy the program. If it's not for you, don't bash it like I've read in some reviews. Just do something different that works for you! Good Luck!

posted Jan 3rd, 2009 10:09 pm


Mary

+

Jenny Craig is one of the only weight loss programs that IS actually proven to work. Published results from prestigious medical journals like Obesityâ??s April 2007 report (http://www.jennycraig.com/assets/documents/corporate/RandomizedTrial_1yr.pdf) or this article by the Cooper Institute (http://www.jennycraig.com/assets/documents/corporate/IJOFinleyRetrospectivesArticle.pdf) go a lot further than ad hoc skeptics throwing stones. If that still isnâ??t enough for you, go to www.jennycraig.com/successstories and read for yourself. Real people, celebrities, you name itâ??Jenny Craig gets proven results with its nutritionally sound program and support from a consultant. Thereâ??s also plenty of online support at the Jenny Craig forums, as well as on other diet forums in the external blogosphere. Jenny Craig encourages lifestyle changes, rather than a diet, that its users can live with for greater health.

posted Nov 12th, 2008 5:29 pm


lynnbenn

+

Love it, been doing it for 2 weeks and I've only lost 4 pounds but I have lost inches! I am back in my old jeans already. The food is good and you get to eat alot throughout the day. yes it cost money but it is worth it to me. You can't expect it to be free? People who work there are nutritionist, I think someone has to pay there salary. I doubt that JC is a big conspiracy to take your money. Bottom line, your paying for a nutritionist, counselor and really good food that will result in weight loss.If you could learn to lose weight on your own then you'd be skinny!

posted Nov 5th, 2008 11:45 pm


Kristin

+

Jenny Craig saved my life--it is amazing!!

posted Nov 5th, 2008 4:51 pm


M.T.

+

I began Jenny in Nov 07' and lost 20 lbs by late Jan. I was on and off the next few months but was maintaining. By May 08' I was off and trying to do it on my own. Needless to say, I gained it all back and find myself 3 lbs heavier than I was the first time! But...I know where I went wrong. I started Jenny again and in my first week I have lost 3 lbs so far. I think this time I will lose the weight, reach goal, and keep it off. My mistakes last time was not speaking with my counselor once I began to lose, there were times when i would just pick up my food and leave w/o weighing in or sitting down for a few minutes to speak with my her. Another mistake was not transitioning slowly into the cooking foods on my own phase. And another mistake was being satisfied with just losing some and not pushing to reach my ultimate goal. I was hearing how great I looked and looking at old and new pictures and I started to feel like I looked fine compared to a few months before so i could have just this one dessert which led to many desserts until I woke up one day and realized I was almost popping out of my clothes! I lost the weight so easy and fast the first time but I took that for granted so i know the program definitely works for me. I am happy I am refocused.I renewed my rewards program and was able to pick up where I left off with 30% off the food. i spend an ave of 85-100 a week and that's a good price for losing weight. I've been doing cardio everyday or at least 5 days a week. This works the best for me combined with a 1500 cal intake. I plan to go to 1200 when I am halfway and increase my activity so that I don't hit a plateau which I never did the last time. This plan is so easy and convenient for someone who works a lot or has a busy schedule. for those who say the food is expensive you have to weigh the pros and cons. It's less time consuming if you don't have a family you have to cook for and if you usually buy your lunch and breakfast outside when you're at work it comes to about the same price without the hassle of trying to figure what a portion size would be or counting calories. I say i you don't have a family and you work a lot, usually buy your meals outside, and hate counting calories and portion sizes,don't mind microwaved food(but this food actually tastes good) you will like the program and won't regret it.

posted Oct 30th, 2008 9:54 am


tiana

+

why is everyone coming down on anne bartee Maybe shes on to something I had an appointment to at j/c but after reading the blogs I decided to take anne advice so many people say they have been off and on the program which has me very sceptical if it works the why do you have to go back???? I have never had a weight problem until now (just had a baby 5 weeks ago) but I think im going to take invest in a personal trainer instead of j/c

posted Oct 29th, 2008 3:13 pm


Rachael Riley

-

I DI D THE JENNY CRAIG PGM FOR 10 WEEKS & REALLY DIDN'T LOSE MUCH WEIGHT.
THE FOOD IS PRETTY GOOD. I DIDN'T GET TOO HUNGRY ON THE DIET.

MY PROBLEM WITH THE WHOLE JENNY CRAIG FARCE/FRAUD IS THE AMOUNT OF EXERCISE THAT THE PROGRAM REQUIRES. I PAID FOR THE PLAN & THE FOOD & BOUGHT THE BERTINELLI BOOK,

NO ONE EVER TOLD ME THAT THE PROGRAM REQUIRES THAT YOU HAD TO WALK FIVE MILES EVERY DAY - EVERY DAY! MY DOCTOR TOLD ME THAT THAT WAS AN EXESSIVE UNREASONABLE AMOUNT OF EXERCISE. I TOLD THE JC PEOPLE THAT I JUST GOT OUT OF A KNEE BRACE . &THEY NEVER MENTIONED THE 5 MILE WALK (a high impact activity).
I DIDN'T FIND OUT ABOUT THE FIVE MILE REQUIREMENT UNTIL I WEIGHED IN & HAD LOST NO WEIGHT. THEN THE COUNSELOR ASKED IF I HAD BEEN WALKING 5 MILES A DAY. THAT WAS THE FIRST I EVER HEARD OF IT. I AM NOT IGNORANT I KNEW THAT ANY RELIABLE DIET WOULD REQUIRE EXERCISE. BUT THAT AMOUNT IS EXCESSIVE & NEAR IMPOSSIBLE TO DO - EVERYDAY!!!!!!!!!

I WALKED AS MUCH AS I COULD EACH WEEK AND USED MY ELIPTICAL AS DIRECTED BY MY ORTHEPEDIC PHYSICIAN (WORKED UP TO 2 HRS A DAY - AND EVEN THEN I WAS TOLD TO TAKE A DAY OR TWO OFF EACH WEEK).

I DID ALL THAT EXERCISE - EXERCISE THAT THEY DON'T MENTION WHEN THEY WERE GETTING MY MONEY.
I AM VERY UPSET ABOUT THE RESULTS I GOT ON THIS PROGRAM.
IN THE END I OVEREXERCISED & FOLLOWED THEIR MEAL PLAN & DIDN'T LOSE THE WEIGHT THEY SAID I WOULD.

HEY - IF YOU DON'T WORK OR HAVE ANYTHING ELSE TO DO BUT WALK ALL DAY & YOU LIVE SOMEWHERE WITH PERFECT WEATHER -IT'S A GREAT PLAN.
REALLY 5 MILES A DAY? YOU DON'T NEED JENNY CRAIG IF IF YOU ARE WORKING OUT THAT MUCH EVERYDAY OF THE WEEK?

posted Oct 21st, 2008 10:07 pm


pam

-

I have a neighbor who joined JC & lost 22 lbs in 3 months. She looks great. Here's my problem with JC & Weight watchers and all those 'lose weight' places.... Most people know what it really requires to lose weight & get in shape- DIET & EXERCISE . I feel that JC takes advantage of people that have an issue that goes deeper than 'poor menu choices' ...this issue is compulsive overeating. I would recommend finding and Overeaters Anonymous meeting. They're free and the strength & support you get from people 'who get it' is invaluable!

posted Oct 16th, 2008 9:37 am


Krista Nicolls

+

LOVE it! I have lost over 70 pounds and because of my consultants suggestions, I work out at the gym 3-5 times per week with a personal trainer and just ran my first 5K!

posted Oct 12th, 2008 7:38 pm


i love you Jenny

Jenny Craig is My Hero. anne bartee is a fag. you don't diss my jenny. she is my lover. i lost 20 pounds and now i weigh 68 pounds. thanks jenny i love you.

posted Sep 26th, 2008 10:01 am


priscilla thompson

my husban and I had the for life program where we only paid for meals we were in the springfeild pa branch

posted Aug 19th, 2008 9:06 am


Caolyn Irwin

My daughter has lost 93 pounds on the Jenny Craig diet. She looks great and has more energy than she ever has. She is 32 years old and the mother of two. It has taken her on year and she is very near her goal. She has tried many other diets but this is the only one that has worked for her. Her husband has been a real encouragement for her and we are all really proud of her.

posted Aug 14th, 2008 10:04 am


jessie

Whoa anne bartee..who are you to talk? Jenny Craig has wonderful one on one support, menu planning, pre-packaged food to help support portion control and to teach what a simple portion is, weekly consultations to keep you motivated and fresh every week, they help when you've hit a plateau and can't seem to get that last ten lbs, they have structure and help keep you accountable, they teach you how to dine out and still lose weight, and also to help you plan out any social event or gathering. Maybe you should go in for a free consultation. I'm so glad that you are managing your weight so well. Let me also let you in on something that you obviously do not already know. The "Jenny Craig" doesn't even own "Jenny Craig" anymore. Nestle does. You asked someone why they needed to be on here if Jenny Craig is working so well for them, but I should ask you why you are on here if you do not NEED Jenny Craig or weightloss support? The reason why we are here is to help others ALSO see success with the Jenny Craig program because we want to see it work well for others. You are an ignorant person and weight loss is not something that is easy and keeping it off is even harder so do not judge others. You're very rude. Congrats to everyone else who has lost weight and is losing weight now. No matter what program you are doing, it isn't easy, so props to all of you that are trying...YOU CAN do it. Good Luck!

posted Aug 6th, 2008 9:54 am


Jesa W

Tried Jenny -- badddddd. In six weeks, I met with 4 different people; my 20 minutes was spent catching each one up with where I was at and what the last counselor had said/had me do. I had the same 2 menu plans for six weeks; sometimes the same plan from one week to the next, depending on who I met with. The food is not practical if you have no access to a microwave. And much of what I had tasted like cardboard -- or like it had been frozen, defrosted and then re-frozen. I received no help on eating issues -- like over-stressed -- just told to read the books and we'll talk about it next week -- of course, next week didn't happen because of a different counselor. Three of the counsellors had never had weight problems & knew next to nothing about nutrition or physiology. When I called the 800 # to see if I could transfer to them and out of the local office (Longview W), I never received an answer back. Same with requesting the local manager to call. Money down the drain. They did contact me to renew my membership!

posted Jul 17th, 2008 10:45 pm


Laura Morgan

Please quit using Valerie B. as a spoke person. Even my Mom, who is 79 Y/O, connects theVan Halan party girl divorcee with your program. Who is using who here? My mom asks who cares if Valerie loses weight or not! She said that she is sick of seeing Valerie on TV promoting several different things at one time. Getting divorced (who cares), Promoting a book (on what I may ask)? and usingJenny Craig, which obviouslly didn't help Kirsty (that everyone loves I may add) for somekind of developement. Let's face it...Valerie B is not that interesting!!! Laura

posted Jul 14th, 2008 11:09 pm


Stacy

I love JC b/c it is behavior modifaction & portion control. I feel really healthy & it works. I have been on JC for 10 weeks so far & lost 25 lbs. It really is amazing. I love my councelor. She's amazing. I like the 1 on 1. I feel it's indivualized & the food is good. I also go out on my own 1-2x a week to a restuarant (real food) & I still lose weight. For me, I like JC b/c I eat healthy but I need portion control.

posted Jul 6th, 2008 11:01 am


anne bartee

yep.. the fools really believe .. and they keep old jennys kitty full of cash,, get with it fatty,, cut your portions down and stay within 1,200 to 1,500 calories a day and your fat backend will get thin.. stupid weak people follow winners ,, thats why old jenny is worth 360 million yo ho ho

posted Jun 30th, 2008 4:44 pm


lezlie

on and off JC for 10 years. Very expensive and since I have family I'm not buying them JC too. Did lose 40 lbs,but did 2-3 hour workout and ran 6 miles a day. Looked really good but the attempt to eat REAL food vs. JC and knee injury(Torn ACL plus meniscus)made it all come back. Medifast is getting the weight off and my doctor off my back who keeps telling me to lose it. At 5'8 170 I don't look as whale-like as the 200 lbs. plus pt.'s but I'm trying. JC may work for some but not others-like kirstie alley.

posted Jun 23rd, 2008 10:03 am


Jamie

Leigh-Ann If it worked then why do you need to come back here for??? I know why. It's because JC has you believing without their help you can't do it. I am telling you now you can. Read my last post. If you have this need to pay all this money why not take the $500 a month and donate it to a good cause like cancer treatment centers for children. Stay on a 1200 calorie food plan. You will master this problem put the faith in yuorself not in a scam. JC puppet syndrom will ware off soon,

posted Jun 16th, 2008 9:08 am


Jamie

This program really is a scam it's all about money not about weight lose and learning knew behavior/eating habits. Cut down on buying things from JC. Then you will very quickly see just how much JC cares. They will drop you so fast you won't see straight, The Celebrities (you know who you are) that are helping to decieve millions SHAME ON YOU! You should be held accountable for your part in this enabling and manipulating scam program. People listen don't be fooled by this crap. Sit down create your own daily food menu at 1200 calories each day. Make the menu for the next day every night and force yourself to stick to what you have written down for the menu. It's not going to be easy but soon you will see progress. Start a buddy system with friends and create a daily walking route and walk with your friends. Don't allow JC and her Goon's to manipulate you into believing they care about you as a person. They care only about the money your paying and that's it. This belief that you must buy thier food in order for you to lose weight is hog wash. Stay on a 1,200 a day calorie plan that YOU create and prepare. You will start seeing the pounds drop in time. Run from JC fast while you still have the ablity to think for yourself and not under their enabling spell to creat a needy person so you feel you must keep paying your hard earned money on a scam.

posted Jun 16th, 2008 9:08 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTSQUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1983
  • Founder: Jenny and Sid Craig
  • Headquarters: Carlsbad, California
  • Stock Symbol: NESN
  • Accessibility: Online, Centers
  • Diet Type: Prepackaged Meals, Portion Control, Low-Calorie, Low-Fat
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Valerie Bertinelli, Jason Alexander, Sarah Rue, Carrie Fisher

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2017?

BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND

With more than 600 centers around the globe and thousands of female followers, Jenny Craig has established itself as a leader in the weight-loss industry since 1983.

The Jenny Craig approach is built on three tenets: food, body and mind. The food element focuses on healthy eating and portion control and also teaches you how to eat the foods you love in moderation, the body element focuses on exercise and overcoming barriers to being physically active. The mind element focuses on positive thinking and getting the support you need to reach your weight loss goals.

The program is most known for its pre-packaged and portion-controlled meals. But Jenny Craig sets itself apart from other meal-delivery diets because as you reach your goal weight, you work closely with Jenny Craig counselors to learn about portion control, healthy cooking and eating at home or while dining out.

With over 2,500 consultants, you have access to one-on-one support in person, online or over the phone to help you eat right, exercise, change habits and overcome obstacles that keep you from your goals.

After an in-depth interview with a Jenny Craig representative, you are given a personalized meal and fitness plan. The two basic programs are the In-Person Support and Jenny Direct programs. With the former, you attend weekly meetings, consultations and food pick-up at your local Jenny Craig center and the latter gives you the same support over the phone and delivers food to your door.

In addition, there are five Jenny Craig plans under the Standard program: Jenny Craig for Women, Jenny Craig for Men, Jenny Craig for Teens, Jenny Craig for Spouses and Jenny Craig for Seniors.

Famous Jenny Craig Spokeswomen include Kirstie Alley, Valerie Bertinelli, Phylicia Rashad, Queen Latifah, Nicole Sullivan and Sara Rue.

Other Jenny Craig plans include:

Jenny Craig at Home: A plan that allows you to complete the Jenny Craig plan from the privacy of your own home.

Jenny Direct: The Jenny Craig program delivered straight to your door.

Jenny Craig for Men: The Jenny Craig plan specifically designed to meet the nutritional needs of men who want to lose weight.

Jenny Craig Silver: The Jenny Craig plan for older adults who want to improve their health.

JENNY CRAIG VIDEOSJENNY CRAIG VIDEOS

Jenny Craig YouTube Channel

Consumer Reports Jenny Craig vs. NutriSystem Taste Test

Flashmob Surprises Jenny Craig Celebrities

PROPRO
  • Features a one-on-one relationship with counselor
  • Menu includes a wide-variety of foods
  • Program has a long history and is a trusted brand in weight loss programs
  • Prepackaged foods offer convenience
  • No food groups are off limits
  • Named #2 in the Best Commercial Diets by US News, 2011
CONCON
  • May be a challenge to transition from the company's prepackaged meals to "real" food
  • Low-calorie diet may be too strict
  • Weekly in-person meetings can sometimes be inconvenient
  • Financial responsibility of prepacked meals may not be a long-term healthy eating solution
USER REVIEWSUSER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

The food is great! Ediets is disgusting. Portions are small but your stomach does shrink so you don't really need more. Not all foods were wonderful but some I would eat even when not dieting. The food seems expensive but at the end of 6 weeks, I had actually saved money. I ate less, enjoyed my meals, and lost weight. - Katrina 1/9/11

I tried the program for a few weeks and was disappointed in the lack of support from the counselors. They didnt seem to have any "real" training. They said I could tell them things I dont like and they would make sure they werent included in the foods I bought (I hate raisins and mushrooms). They assured me nothing I bought had those 2 things in them, but lots actually did. They obviously didnt know their product. Way too expensive also. - Sandy 11/29/10

I've maintained my weight loss, fluctuating about 7 pounds, but still well below my goal weight for a year today! Great program, great food and awesome consultants. - Nina 7/12/10

Easiest diet I ever followed. Where I have always fallen off the wagon before is when I get stressed and am too busy to cook or just don't feel like it. With Jenny when I am stressed I just make a point of following the plan even better at those times. I don't do meals on my own, I just eat the Jenny food and know that way I am on track. - Carol Ann 1/17/10

I lost about 40 pounds on Jenny Craig and, with the exception of playing with 5 pounds here and there, have kept it off. I like that they first teach you portion control through their meals and then gradually reintroduce store-bought food into your diet. The one-on-one interaction with a counselor also helped keep me on track and did not allow me to hide in the back of a meeting. - A.C. 12/29/09

DIET and NUTRITIONDIET and NUTRITION

The program's success is in the Jenny Craig food, which offers convenience with portioned and calorie-controlled pre-packaged meals. The Jenny Craig plan has a daily caloric intake of 1,200-1,300 and contains 50% to 60% carbohydrate, 20% to 25% protein, and 20% to 25% fat.

Dieters eat 6 times a day, which includes 3 meals and 3 snacks.

Meals are either picked up at Jenny Craig centers or delivered straight to your door. There are four different menu options with Jenny Craig. You can customize your own meals, order pre-planned meals, enjoy an all-vegetarian menu or select a menu specifically designed for adolescents.

Eating on the Jenny Craig program can be easy because most of your meal is provided for you. Jenny Craig foods are paired with your own grocery foods like fruits, vegetables, low-fat dairy, whole grains and heart-healthy fats. Low glycemic veggies can eaten in limitless portions. Although the meals are prepackaged, the makeup of the foods you eat will set you up for how you should eat to maintain a balanced diet.

Jenny Craig uses the Volumetrics® approach which encourages consuming low-calorie, nutrient dense foods high in water, fiber and protein to help dieters feel fuller longer.

A dining out guide is also included so that you can eat out without sabotaging your weight loss goals. No foods are off limits on the Jenny Craig program. You work with a counselor to learn how to safely incorporate your favorite foods into your healthy eating plan.

In 2015, Jenny Craig's packaging was redesigned to help members make more informed nutrition decisions and encourage members to get creative with their meals and make their own unique recipes.

EXERCISEEXERCISE

On Jenny Craig you are given a personalized activity and motivational plan to get you moving more. When you meet with your consultant in the Jenny Craig office, they will help you personalize your fitness plan. This can also be done online for those that are doing the at-home delivery program. You will work to develop an approach to fitness that starts where you are now and builds on that. You will also be identifying personal barriers to your physical activity so that you can work to remove those and stay focused on the benefits of exercise.

Consultants work with members to achieve 10,000 steps a day through habit change and intentional exercise.

The Jenny Craig activity plan centers around three kinds of activities. The first are natural activities like house cleaning, shopping and gardening. Next are planned activities such as doing cardio at the gym or taking a yoga or aerobics class. Last are playful activities like taking a dance class or playing football with your kids.

Over time you gradually increase your activity through these three elements and you learn how to incorporate more movement into your day.

Your planned exercises will include a combination of cardio, resistance and stretching activities. The Jenny Craig program strongly recommends exercise while on the program so that you can have an established habit to maintain your weight loss after you’ve reached your goal weight. Some of the outlined planned exercise options as well as the playful options are listed below:

  • Weightlifting
  • Walking
  • Yoga
  • Kickboxing
  • Aerobic Dance
  • Dancing
  • Bicycling
  • Playing Basketball
  • Playing Tag with the Kids
JENNY CRAIG FAQJENNY CRAIG FAQ

Common questions asked about the Jenny Craig program by our community. Click to see the full answer.

Is the Jenny Craig food frozen or freeze-dried? - Celia 6/18/11

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

With its focus on food, body and mind, Jenny Craig is a well-rounded weight loss program that offers the training and support you need to achieve your weight loss goals. Its varied programs and pre-packaged meals and snacks offers the convenience of healthy eating in combination with a personalized plan that fits your lifestyle.

While most pre-packaged meal weight loss programs don't provide you with any information on how to prepare and eat healthy meals on your own, Jenny Craig offers support that educates you on healthy cooking and eating.

See the Official Jenny Craig Web Site

JENNY CRAIG SLIDESHOWSJENNY CRAIG SLIDESHOWS

View About Jenny Craig Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Jenny Craig

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

JENNY CRAIG RESOURCESJENNY CRAIG RESOURCES

Jenny Craig on Facebook

Jenny Craig on Twitter

Jenny Craig on IMDB

Jenny Craig Good Morning America Statement

Jenny Craig at Wikipedia

Jenny Craig Contact InformationJenny Craig Contact Information
Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

JennyCraig, Jenny Criag, Jennie Craig, Jenny Craig deit, Jenny Craig diet, Jennie Craig diet, Jennie Craig deit, jennycraig.com

Whats better than
Jenny Craig?