Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

73%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 93 reviews

Dr. Siegal's Cookie Diet

It's the cookie diet that everyone is raving about.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1975
  • Founder: Dr. Sanford Siegal
  • Headquarters: Miami, Florida
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Cookie diet, low-calorie
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Eat your cookies and lose weight? Sounds like a diet dream come true. Dr. Siegal's Cookie Diet plan is a program that helps you to lose weight while munching on his low-fat and protein-filled cookies, which are also specially-formulated to suppress appetite via its secret recipe of key ingredients.

For more than 30 years, Dr. Siegal has been preparing, baking and distributing these cookie snacks to help people manage their weight loss goals. He still continues to personally mixes every batch of his proprietary protein formula in his private bakery near his Miami medical clinic.

Here is how The Cookie Diet works:

You eat six of these specially-formulated cookies during the day in addition to one meal eaten at the end of the day. A typical day is comprised of about 800 calories and 70 grams of carbohydrates. You can also eat the cookies in conjunction with another diet.

In April of 2011, Dr. Siegal's announced a new weight loss plan, called Dr. Siegal's Plan 10X. The New Plan 10X cookies are 60 calories apiece, and one or two should be eaten every two hours, up to 9 cookies per day at set times. The classic plan is also still available.

In addition to cookies,Dr. Siegal also has a line of shakes and soups. By following this very low-calorie diet plan you can expect to lose up to 15 pounds in one month. Dr. Siegel’s cookies are available for purchase online, through professional resellers, drug stores, doctors or at one of Dr. Siegel’s retail store locations.

Denise Richards, Jennifer Hudson, Snooki, and Kelly Clarkson have all lost weight on Dr. Siegal's Cookie Diet.

Interview with Dr. Sanford Siegal

Trouble viewing? Click here to watch our interview with Dr. Sanford Siegal.

PRO
  • Idea of eating a cookie might prevent diet binges
  • Cookies contain satiating protein and amino acids
  • May help to suppress hunger
  • Many people have had success with losing weight following this plan
  • Contains an organized and structured eating plan
  • Complementary cookbook available
CON
  • No clear exercise guidelines are given
  • Very low-calorie diet plan
  • Dr. Siegel’s Cookie Diet may not be a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Meal-replacement diets rarely result in sustained weight loss
DIET and NUTRITION

On The Cookie Diet, you will eat six cookies throughout the day in addition to one meal at the end of the day. That meal should include six ounces of lean white meat protein and one cup of vegetables.

The diet 1000-1200 calories a day. Each cookie contains 90 calories and each dinner should contain no more than 500 calories. If you're looking for meal ideas that complement the diet, then look no further than The Cookie Doctor Cookbook, which offers 120 recipes that don't exceed 500 calories.

In addition, you should consume eight glasses of liquid a day (ideally water). Coffee and tea are allowed on this diet. There are five varieties of Dr. Siegal's cookies that you can choose from: chocolate, oatmeal raisin, coconut, banana, and blueberry.

Dr. Siegal’s shake mixes offer an alternative to his cookies and contain the same hunger-controlling amino acid protein blend. They come in chocolate, vanilla, strawberry, crème brulee, and pina colada flavors.

While the ingredients are all-natural, and the ingredients label full of things you'd recognize or be able to pronounce, there is some concern with a few inclusions. For one, the first ingredient is sugar, with 9 grams in a serving. Next, the cookies are almost completely void of the dietary fiber, with less than a gram per serving, a necessity in satiation. However, in our interview with Dr. Seigal, he sites a "particular mix of proteins" as being key to keeping users feeling full. Finally, it should be noted that the cookies are relatively low in sodium, with no more than 200 milligrams per serving.

EXERCISE

Dr. Siegal claims that if you eat his 1,000-calorie a day cookie diet than you can effectively lose weight while doing very little or no aerobic exercise. But he does encourage exercise for weight loss maintenance.

CONCLUSION

On the face of it, the idea of a "Cookie Diet" sounds a bit bizarre but enticing. Dr. Siegel’s Cookies are on par to meal replacement shakes that pack nutrition in a quantity-controlled product. Critics feel that the diet is too restrictive and too low in calories despite the thousands of people who have had success in losing weight on Dr. Siegel’s Cookie Diet. Since the plan is so rigid, speak with your doctor if you are interested in following this diet.

Common Misspellings

Dr Siegal's Cookie Deit, Cooke Diet, Dr Segal's Cookie Diet, Cookei Diet, Cookie Deit, diet cookies, doctor cookie diet, the cookie diet


Related Diets: Dr. Siegal's Plan 10X Cookie Diet, Hollywood Cookie Diet, Slim-Fast, Smart for Life, Soypal Cookie Diet, The Cookie Doctor Cookbook, Genisoy, Glenny's, Vitalicious


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 10, 186 total comments)

Happy

I recently gained 20 pounds and could NOT stop eating so I decided to try this diet and I have lost 6 pounds in 5 days. I am not hungry at all and can't even finish all 6 cookies. I used to get home and binge and now the thought of eating what I used to eat makes me sick. I ordered another box cause I am determined to loose the full 20 pounds

posted Nov 3rd, 2009 8:49 pm


Michelle

I have used the cookie diet for one week now and I lost 6 pounds. It is so convient. Once I reach my goal, I will just have to remember to stick to small protions throughout the day which is what this diet helps you to do.

posted Nov 2nd, 2009 1:48 pm


Ray Margiano, PhD

A cookie diet represents everything that has become wrong with how American society views health. There is no effort required, no serious commitment to improve health or actual lifestyle changes involved in eating cookies ?? this is a money-making venture cashing in on our laziness and plastering over the fact that 60+% of Americans are obese ?? or soon will be.

posted Oct 30th, 2009 4:47 pm


Bonnie

BEWARE! Just another diet scam. Took over a week to get my order. They offer no type of refund if unsatisfied. So glad I only paid for 1 weeks worth, instead of the month supply they try to get you to buy.

posted Oct 26th, 2009 4:20 pm


Karin

These do not taste like cookies. It took everything I had to choke them down. The wt loss comes from not eating anything because you don't want to eat these crap biscuts. They do taste better after being microwaved, but not by much.

posted Oct 25th, 2009 11:31 pm


kryspigurl

i am starting the diet tomorrow, i am 5'4 and almost 160 lbs and can not believe i have gotten down to this weight. i know exactly what i need to do to keep it off, its just actually getting the weight off first thats the problem, i have tried pills, cutting portions all of it. i will post week by week and let you know of what is happening. i am hopeful because of the positive reviews. and to all of you who have lost weight ur an inspiration!

posted Oct 22nd, 2009 3:52 pm


sharonstephens

Can I eat at lunch and then eat the cookies at dinner?

posted Oct 22nd, 2009 9:41 am


lovehats

I agree with whoever goes for Dr. Siegal's cookies the rest is poor advertisements tricks.
So I ordered them and I am all for it.
Disregard the rest of comments which are trying to talk to you out of it. There are facts to prove Dr Siegal's are the best.

posted Oct 20th, 2009 5:19 pm


Terri

This is nothing more than a starvation diet, it has been studied and losing weight this quickly on a 1,000 calorie a day plan will not stay off, follow these people and ultimately they will all have put weight back on bc this is not a lifestyle change which teaches someone to eat real food only less and modification of recipes! It shows all it takes is clever marketing to part a fool and their money! I wonder if anyone realizes that you could eat a 1,000 calories or less of pizza, tacos, fried chicken, or sandwiches and still lose weight.

posted Oct 17th, 2009 11:53 am


Nate

Really?!?
I see the niche for sure.

People that want a quick fix temporary diet, want to eat sweets and lose weight. Basically "have their cake and eat it too?"

This "diet" is not a lifestyle change folks. The lifestyle change ensures you keep weight off. Learn portion control and you won't have to hop from cookie diet to lemonade fasting to cabbage soup diets.

Ever wonder why most people who win the lottery end up broke again? They have bad money handling skills despite the huge advantage they are given aka...seemingly more money than they can spend.

Its the same as someone who loses weight on something like this. Its temporary because the food control issue isn't resolved. Basically you don't know how to "budget" your calories and end up broke...and back where you started.

The habit that needs to be broken is the one that got you to this point...portion control. Its not about tricking yourself into losing weight by giving yourself treats...but changing your outlook on food and realizing that you don't need as much as you think.

Take the steps to measure food for a while, track calories and you'll see how much you are overeating, then learn to eat within a reasonable calorie budget. There is no easy way about this. It takes work at first but gets easier. Once you learn what portions are correct for you, you'll find the consistency of eating correctly allows you to keep weight off and even lose weight at will.

No more "ok I'm starting tomorrow" lines, it will just be a small adjustment you make and you're off and running.

This cookie remedy is just a temporary band aid to our nation's growing problem of overeating. While I see it as a method of tricking our sweet addicted population into eating low calorie, I don't see it as a viable life changing solution.

posted Oct 16th, 2009 3:02 pm


Slaarwalhz

My mother saw this on TV decided we should try it since we have 8 months until my wedding. I am 5'4'' and 210 lbs. She is 5'6'' and 190 lbs. So hopefully we will have these by monday. I am going to a steak house saturday as a food going away present! hah! I hope this works. The taste doesnt scare me, the negative health effects worry me! i have to keep reading!

posted Oct 16th, 2009 12:28 pm


Pat

Evening before beginning my "cookie diet." Of course, I have to wait for a Monday (would prefer that it be the 1st of the month as well, but....) Hopefully, it won't be as awful as some comments make it sound. Have a son getting married in 5 1/2 months so am very motivated!

posted Oct 4th, 2009 7:29 pm


msmiami

I started 4 days ago and lost 4lbs so far. My mom lost 6lbs. in 3 days. My best friend did this diet a long time ago and lost A LOT of weight, so I know it works. She is still to this day, 8 years later, smaller than before she started the diet, baby and all. I highly Recommend this diet. Her advice to me was DONT CHEAT AT ALL! She told me she lost 40lbs. in 2 months. I am a believer. I will post again at 2 weeks and 4 weeks.

posted Aug 5th, 2009 12:45 am


lisa garner

I just order Dr Seigal products i will let you know how it goes

posted Jul 26th, 2009 6:09 pm


Bronwin

Dear dr.Segal

My name is Bronwin and Im from South Africa. I've seen your product on tv and woulod love to try it, its however not available in SA but please do make contact on how I could get this product.Thanx

posted Jul 14th, 2009 10:24 am


MK

First - I am not in any way affiliated with Smart for Life. I was on Smart for Life for 6 weeks and lost 20 pounds but was getting a bit tired of the same old flavours. When I heard about Dr. Siegal's other flavours I was very excited - and now I'm equally disappointed!! They are flavourless compared to Smart for Life but worse - I am a vegetarian and did not realise that these cookies have BEEF in them!! I did read the ingredients list for the SfL cookies but never thought to check these!! And, like the other post stated, no refunds so I'm stuck with them!! I bought SfL from Costco so I know if there was a problem with them I would have been able to return them - no questions asked. All in all - I'll eat my 5 weeks of Dr. Siegal's cookies - but I'll be going back to Smart for Life for any additional weight loss and for maintenance.

posted Jul 7th, 2009 1:02 pm


Sforr1

Banana cookies suck unless warmed up in microwave and sprayed with Smart balance spray butter. Chocolate cookies excellent. Been using the Smart For Life Diet cookies instead, and they are awesome! They are also less expensive when ordered through Costco. Lost 25 pounds in 3 months, and didn't totally give up alcohol as suggested. Still feel like I am taking care of my cookie cravings and getting my chocolate fix. Love it! But wouldn't do Dr. Seigal's cookies over the Smart for Life diet cookies if I had to choose. Dr. Seigal charges WAY too much for shipping as well. Good luck!

posted Jul 5th, 2009 11:33 pm


Silvio

I have been on the diet since April and have lost 42 lbs. It works. Regarding the negative postings, A lot of them look suspiciously like ads to pitch the Smart for Life Products. Treat them that way ignore the BS.

posted Jun 24th, 2009 9:29 pm


Marisol

I ordered 3 weeks of Dr. Siegel's cookies; after 1 month and 1 week, I had lost a total of 17 lbs. Originally I weighed 149 lbs and went down to 132 lbs.
To be honest, the cookies are fairly bland tasting, but if you really stick to this diet and watch your total calorie intake, this diet really works! I have kept the weight off now for 6 months.
The cookies are great because I carried them in my purse and when I was driving anywhere and got hungry, I just ate a cookie as oppose to pulling into a fast-food drive-thru.

posted Jun 4th, 2009 4:12 pm


mel

Keep it up guys. This diet works! just think about the results.

posted Jun 3rd, 2009 12:08 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account