Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

96%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 92 reviews

Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred

The Biggest Loser trainer's new exercise DVD promises rapid weight loss

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2008
  • Founder: Jillian Michaels
  • Headquarters: Los Angeles, California
  • Career Highlights: Biggest Loser, The Doctors
  • Accessibility: Fitness DVD
  • Diet Type: Fitness
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Get started by saving with these Jillian Michaels coupons
jillian michaels 468
BACKGROUND

Fitness Guru and NBC’s Biggest Loser trainer, Jillian Michaels, has a repertoire of exercise DVDs, books and vitamins to help you get in shape and stay fit. Her latest DVD, Jillian Michaels: 30-Day Shred, includes three separate workouts designed to give your body the strength, form and power it dreams of having. The DVD, when done according to Michaels’ plan, is supposed to help you lose up to 20 pounds in 30 days. Jillian makes clear that this is not for substantial weight loss- but to help those looking to ditch those last 10-20 pounds through high-intensity exercise.

PRO
  • Exercise is a key component to losing weight and maintaining weight loss
  • Jillian Michaels is a well-known and well-respected authority on fitness for safe and effective weight loss
  • Following Jillian Michaels: 30-Day Shred is much less expensive than paying for a gym membership
  • A healthy way to lose those final pounds

CON
  • Jillian Michaels: 30-Day Shred promise to lose “up to 20 pounds” is no guarantee
  • Exercise must also be followed in conjunction with a low-calorie eating plan in order to lose weight successfully
DIET and NUTRITION

Jillian Michaels: 30-Day Shred does not include any specific dietary information. Even though diet is a key component to any weight-loss plan it is therefore strongly recommended to combine this DVD with one of Michaels’ eating plans or another effective dieting program that seeks to establish long-term healthy eating behaviors.

You can use 30-Day Shred along with Jillian's online weight loss program, which provides detailed guidance for nutritious eating. Joining the Jillian Michaels program online provides members with information to identify the right foods for your body type, custom calorie plan and more than 100 recipes that are both healthy and delicious.

EXERCISE

Jillian Michaels: 30-Day Shred includes three 20-minute workouts that get progressively more challenging as you go through them. Each workout begins with a brief warm-up session and concludes with brief cool-down session. Each of the three workouts is created with Michaels’ signature 3-2-1 Strength/Cardio/Ab training circuit in which three minutes of strength work, 2 minutes of cardiovascular work and 1 minute of abdominal work is performed.

CONCLUSION

It is no question that Jillian Michaels knows what she is talking about when it comes to fitness given her tough workouts, her unflinching motivation and her expert knowledge of physical fitness. If you've been craving those intense Biggest Loser workouts, now is your chance to do it. Her DVD, Jillian Michaels: 30-Day Shred, combines all of Michaels’ trademark qualities including her exclusive signature 3-2-1 Strength/Cardio/Ab training circuit.

Although the DVD promises to help you lose up to 20 pounds in 30 days, there is no guarantee that this amount of weight loss will occur. By performing the workouts on most days of the week, you will increase your cardiovascular stamina, strength and flexibility. In order to lose weight, a sound diet plan should also be followed in conjunction to the performing the workouts in 30-Day Shred.

In just thirty minutes, Michaels packs in a powerful workout that combines the core components of any successful exercise routine.

Common Misspellings

Jilian Michaels, Jillian Michael’s, thirty-day shred, 30-day shread, Jillian DVD, shred diet, 30 day shred diet

Learn More About Jillian Michaels

View About Jillian Michaels Slideshow


Related Diets: Bob Harper: Are You Ready!, Jillian Michaels, Jillian Michaels: Making the Cut, The Biggest Loser At Home Program, Jillian Michaels Meal Plan, Kim Lyons: Your Body, Your Life, Jillian Michaels Fitness Ultimatum , Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown, Work Out with Jackie Warner


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 8, 146 total comments)

Karen

I totally LOVE this workout! I am only on day 3 of level 1 and have already lost 2.5 pounds! Okay, so I know that most of that weight is water and bloat reduction, but who cares? My jeans are sliding on with ease and my muffin top is going bye-bye.

I am already in very good shape -- walk 20-30 miles per week, lift weights 3x per week (heavy weights for a gal -- 15 pound dumbbells for bicep curls, 20 pound dumbbells for chest flyes) and this workout is REALLY challenging me!

Since I already do lots of squats and lunges, fortunately I haven't experienced too much pain after the workouts. I can see how this would just about KILL someone whose legs are not used to those exercises.

I have been stuck at 10 pounds from my goal weight forever (now it's only 7.5!!) and this workout was exactly what I needed to shake things up. I will post a follow up review in 27 days at the end and let you all know if I'm still as thrilled with the workout.

I can tell you one thing -- I wake up now and CAN'T WAIT to go down and kick some butt with Jillian's tape -- something I have never wanted to do before. I have always been a reluctant exerciser. This tape has truly invigorated me and makes me feel empowered!

posted Jul 26th, 2010 5:24 pm


Glenda

Try weight watchers. It's sensible but you can still eat whatever you want as long as you control the portions. Good luck

posted Jul 15th, 2010 9:28 pm


Elizabeth

Hi! does anyone recommend a diet to do with the 30-day shred?

posted Jul 3rd, 2010 6:29 pm


Josh w

Starting level 3 today. The levels were kicking my butt and still are. Noticed they are a bit easier with controlled beathing. I hate you Jillian for making me hurt so bad but I love you for making me feel so good

posted Jul 3rd, 2010 7:48 am


Ebonee

i just started this work out and im wondering if i do step 1,2, and 3 in the same or do i go on to another step as i progress?

posted Jun 8th, 2010 2:00 pm


Cynthia

I am 5'3 and weighed 158 pounds. I am on day 12 of the work out and weigh 152!!! i lost a half inch of my waist after day 8. I feel a lot better. its an amazing work out. Although i did take a week off from doing it (long story) but i am so happy! I actually lost 2 pounds in 3 days. She is magical. haha. And my diet has not been all that great either. lol

posted Jun 4th, 2010 5:54 pm


Tracey

I'm heading into day 5 of the 30 Day Shred. I tried started in a few months ago, and thought to myself, this is crazy, NOONE can do this for 30 days straight, (what I meant was that I couldn't do that). However, I decided to challenge myself again and see. After the first day, I was SORE everywhere. I almost didn't do it on the second day, but then I did and I'm SOOOO glad I did. I've realized that even if my body is sore, it still CAN do the workouts, and you don't even die from it!! LOL I haven't charted my weight loss, and I just took my measurements yesterday. I'm carrying about 50 extra pounds and am finding the jumping jacks and jump rope parts the hardest. I am seeing improvements and my body feels much tighter from the inside, if that makes any sense. I'm looking forward to completing this challenge and benefiting from the rewards and results.

posted Jun 4th, 2010 7:08 am


Isis

I just finished my 30 Day shred on Sunday (Mother's Day).



My results were ok.....When I started I weighed 207 and limited my calories to 1200-1500 daily. I worried because I started to gain weight. I gained 4 pounds by week 3 and then started to lose on week 4 and I am at 208 now.


I got really frustrated with the scale so I stopped worrying about my weight and starting watching my measurements. I took before and after pictures and I am glad that I did because the results are more visible then going by the scale and measurements. I could see a big difference in my back and arms. There is not much of an ab work out so don't expect a lot there. I did lose 2 inches in my waist and 2 inches in my hips and 1 inch in each of my biceps and 1 inch in each thigh. My son saw the before and after of my back and he said...."hey, you are losing your layers!? (my rolls).


I think this work out is more for those who are already in shape, it's more for toning then for losing weight. It did prepare me for a longer and tougher work out. (I start slim in 6 tomorrow). In the beginning (on level one) I couldn't even do 30 seconds of jumping jacks and by level 3 was doing jumping jacks with weights. I did struggle with my knees for the first 3 weeks because of the up and down and type of exercises they were doing. I stuck with it every day and didn't give into the pain and by week 4 my knees where fine. I think Level 2 is the toughest level. I am happy that I made it 30 days straight of working out....that's big for me. Good luck to everyone starting the shred! Regardless of the results at the end of 30 Days...you can celebrate the fact you were able to commit to working out for 30 days straight. That's huge in itself.


posted May 10th, 2010 1:22 pm


Amanda

I just started this program yesterday. I have high hopes! I am tracking my progress on a blog. Check it out at http://moongetsfit.blogspot.com/

posted May 6th, 2010 4:55 pm


Jacquie

I finally found something that is working. It gave me results that made me realize I REALLY can do this. I did Level 1 for the 1st week (6 out of 7 days) and lost 3 lbs, Level 2 (6/7 again) and lost 3 and 1/2. I might not make the 20lbs in 30 days - but I am TOTALLY thrilled with these results - I'm feeling better and have more energy, and am now starting Level 3 and really becoming serious about how I eat. The last 9 days I plan to alternate the levels three each to finish my 30 days - and I am excited to move onto her other excercise videos. Thank you Jillian for being dedicated to this cause - I love watching you on Biggest Loser - and now love seeing you every morning in my home to help me on my journey!

posted Mar 19th, 2010 11:20 am


josh

My name is Josh I am 19 years old. I started the 30 day shred on February 22, 2010 and I am now on level 2. It is a great workout. I have lost 11.8 pounds although it wasnt all the workout you have to diet some. I am just cutting back and drinking WATER only. but there is many ways to approach it. it is an amazing workout. It does hurt my knees and shins though.

posted Mar 6th, 2010 12:07 pm


Amy

I'm a former exercise junkie turned food/internet junkie after baby # 2, lol. My "baby" is now a 2 year old toddler and I'm still holding most of the weight from the pregnancy. This DVD has helped kickstart me into action. I am following a diet plan in combination with the shred. 5 days into the diet and three days into the DVD I have lost 6lbs, sure it's likely water and soda weight but my body feels good- I enjoy the slight ache in my muscles because it means I worked them! I plan to spend 6 days on each level and rest on day 7.
I have exactly 20lbs left to lose for my ideal weight & I think I'll make it happen with this program. I did watch a few minutes of level 2 this morning while I was sprawled on the florr catching my breath.. I;m scared, lol but in a good way!!

posted Feb 17th, 2010 1:38 pm


Danielle

I'm on day 12, level 2 and loving it! I'm 15, and I decided I need to change because right now, my jean size is 16. My goal is to fit into a size 8 sometime this year. Jillian is amazing at pushing you and encouraging you, and I'm literally panting and screaming by the time level two is over. I feel completely out of it, and normally I have a headache-But my mom says thats because I don't drink enough water. Anyways, this is so worth it though. With my diet (Low carb) and Jillians 30 day shred, I have lost 8 inches off of my waist, and I've lost around 6 pounds! I am so thankful for this workout. If you don't have it, I highly suggest you get it :)

posted Feb 12th, 2010 1:43 pm


SHANI

I COMPLETED DAY ONE OF THE 30 DAY SHRED. I DREADED IT BECAUSE I AM 170 LBS 5'7" TALL BUT HAVE BAD KNEES AND HAVE A REALLY HARD TIME WITH JUMPING JAXS AND ANTHING THAT HAS TO DO WITH MY KNEES. I AM DETERMINED TO STICK WITH IT. TAKING MEASUREMENTS WAS NOT SOMETHING I THOUGHT OF BUT IT WOULD BE A GOOD WAS OF KEEPING TRACT OF ANY SUCCESS I MAY HAVE. ANY SUGGESTIONS FOR ME ?? WHAT KEEPS EVERYONE GOING ??

posted Feb 8th, 2010 2:45 pm


Christie

This DVD is one awesome work out. I was looking to drop from a size 20 to a size 12 over time. I found it very hard to do the complete work out in the beginning but was doing it no problem before the end of the first week. Along with eating sensibly, I have dropped a ton of weight. I dropped a full size in less than two weeks. I like this work out because there are three different versions, plus modifications for each version, giving you the potential of nine work outs. It's definitely not easy, but you only get out of it what you put into it. I would recommend it to everyone!

posted Feb 1st, 2010 3:11 pm


ivana

i love her, this dvd iss amazing

posted Jan 31st, 2010 5:05 pm


heidi

Ruby, I have to same problem you are experiencing when I start to exercise-the clothes start getting tighter. I believe it's due to the muscles holding more water. My advice, just stick with it. Eventually, your body (and mine) will regulate. BTW, I'm on D4L1 and loving it.

posted Jan 31st, 2010 1:52 am


Ruby

I'm on day 14, level 2 for 4 days now. It's an amazing workout. I'm literally sweating in drips at the end. I also mix it in with some more cardio on an elliptical and a healthy vegan diet.
the weird thing?! i've gained weight and though my muscles have toned to explain it, my clothes are tighter!!
i love her workout. but though i feel healthy, its not working out. and its back to the endless feeling of not knowing how to lose weight again...

posted Jan 25th, 2010 12:29 pm


vicki

I'll be 41years old in a few days, I quit smoking a year ago, I needed to lose 20 pounds, I never worked out before in my life, gyms wanted too much money, the 30 day shread is my first workout ever, I have lost 7 pounds in 2 weeks!

posted Jan 20th, 2010 3:21 am


Megan- loveshates.wordpress.com

30 Day Shred is no guarentee for weight loss but you do gain muscle. I recommend it, but Jillian doesn't do the entire workout...

posted Jan 18th, 2010 3:42 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account