Advertisement

| |

Home > Recipes > Recipe Navigation    
User Rating

81%

of people who tried this recipe like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 21 reviews
Print this Recipe

Maple Syrup Diet

Beyonce uses this to detox and cleanse her system.

Maple Syrup Diet Photo
Yield: 3.5 quarts

Ingredients

Before beginning the Maple Syrup Diet, learn more about it.

  • 3 Quarts of water
  • 1 Cup Lemon Juice (fresh if possible)
  • 1 Cup Grade B Maple Syrup (not maple flavored, but 100% real maple syrup)
  • 1 tsp. Cayenne pepper

Instructions

  1. Take a clean one-gallon jug and pour in all ingredients
  2. Shake it all up and drink 8-12 glasses a day, for about three days
  3. Do not eat any solid foods with this diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 4, 75 total comments)

Lydia bmob

Can I eat oats while on detox? Maple Syrup Detox Diet.

posted Jun 18th, 2013 3:58 pm


sara esposito

IM GOING TO TRY THE MAPLE SYRUP NEX T MONDAY, I WILL LET YOU KNOW HOW IT WORKED FOR ME.

posted Jun 9th, 2013 1:08 am


Loida

Should I use tea or water on the maple syrup diet? My girlfriend told me about this diet, so I'm doing the research and am gonna try it. Should I use green tea instead of water lost need a little help please thank you.

posted Mar 11th, 2013 3:45 pm


rhea

i been doing Zumba and Spin cycle for years and i feel like i'm just energized but haven't lost wt...but when my gf introduced me to Maple syrup diet, i lost 5 lbs in a week...so amazed that i will continue it till i reach my goal...

posted Feb 26th, 2012 4:42 am


juanita

will be starying the maple diet here preety soon. hope it works out for me. will keep yall posteed.

posted Nov 12th, 2011 5:02 pm



JulieDoesTheLemonDetox

Day 6 (Decided to extend it further but go easy on myself)
I'm so pleased with the results that I have decided to go just a bit longer. Made up the mix as usual for the day, took my vitamin supp & hair tablet.
Took the mix throughout the day, but now it's 22:17pm and I'm going to watch a film whilst eating weightwatchers cheese puffs (80 cal/ 1.9g fat/ 0.3g sat fat), and a low fat choc ice. It is saturday and my fella is having a golf weekend so on my own....it's just a little bit of comfort and I feel I deserve a treat. There is also a small amount of wine, enough for one glass, so may have that too.

posted Jun 25th, 2011 5:23 pm



JulieDoesTheLemonDetox

Day 5
It's morning. Just weighed myself. I've lost 2 more Ibs. Wow! So far I've lost 7 Ibs in 5 days and today isn't even over yet and what is strange is I do keep straying from the plan. The only day I didn't stray was Monday (Day 1). Today is friday and I've decided that i'm really, really going to make the effort to finish the week as I began and just stick to the drink and the laxative tea. I'm also going to go for an afternoon walk as it is lovely and sunny.
As for my skin that is just fab!!!! I'm really, really impressed with that. The pores have closed and it is really glowing not only on my face. This would really be a good detox before going on holiday to do for 3 to 5 days to get the skin looking brill.

QUICK TIP: Be really careful with your teeth. Each day you are drinking a sweet lemon juice drink full of acid, so acid erosion may occur. I bought a toothpaste that claims to harden and rebuild the enamel. Also after taking the drink just rinse the mouth with water.

posted Jun 24th, 2011 6:03 am



JulieDoesTheLemonDetox

Day 4
Started the day well, noticed my skin all over my body was slighly glowing, but couldn't go to the toilet yet felt I needed to. Had to resort to taking a laxative tablet as the tea obviously didn't work. Did so and had diahorrea 30mins later. Good job I was at home. Nevertheless I made my lemon drink and continued as normal. Did really well until about 8:30pm. I felt my stomach was soooo empty that I just needed alittle something. I had made a water-based healthy veg curry the other week and put in the freezer, so had "a small cupful" of that, just that (no bread). Going to have just a glass of water now and hit the sack. I've got an appointment tomorrow @1pm so thought I needed something proper to eat to sustain me for that. The period is taking it's toll too -but hey tomorrow is another day....

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 3:40 pm



JulieDoesTheLemonDetox

Day 3
It's morning, I've just weighed myself. I am 5 pounds lighter!!! I couldn't believe the scales so went to the local chemists and weighed myself on those with the very same result!!! I thought it wouldn't be that dramatic as I did stray yesterday with that bread and beans. The only draw back is that I have just come on. my period which was supposed to be next week not this, I wonder whether doing this has brought it on earlier. Also last night I was suffering from disrupted sleep with hot and cold sweats (could be from period) .Nevertheless I feel fine and will try not to stray again when my boyfriend gets home from work. My skin is looking better, it has a slight glow. I'm happy and feel I have energy. May extend to an extra day to compensate straying yesterday.

posted Jun 22nd, 2011 6:13 am



JulieDoesTheLemonDetox

Day 2
Woke up and noticed my skin looked just a little better, perhaps a bit tighter all over as I didn't really eat yesterday. Made my usual mix of drink for the day and was absolutely fine until around 6pm when my boyfriend returned from work. He was making himself a pizza. I felt a bit of a loose end and warmed up half a cup of baked beans (52 cal), and one slice of brown bread with butter (102 cal) just to sit down with him after his day at work, but wish I hadn't as I had a belt of diahorrea within 20mins. Feel ok now but will be avoiding the laxative drink tonight. I hate the taste of it anyway which is disappointing as the sachets smell lovely. All in all still a good day as I have energy and can see early on that the pitfall for me is when my boyfriend comes home and makes himself food, I wasn't even starving, it was more psychological. I need to leave the room like I did yesterday which worked, not stand around watching him cook! LOL.

posted Jun 21st, 2011 3:42 pm



JulieDoesTheLemonDetox

Day1 -
Found the plan ok. Decided to have the first drink hot to replace my morning cup of coffee. Took a multi-vitamin and my hair tablets (1. Biotin 2.5mg) and just got on with my day. Around 12pm I did get some stomach ache and needed to go to the toilet. Thank goodness I had lots of toilet roll! This continued for a couple of hours, nothing too dramatic, just the need to go more frequently and with more waste than usual, then my stomach did settle. I took it as a positive sign that the drink was cleaning my colon.
Continued to take the drink in sips, half glasses here and there and didn't feel hungry at all. My boyfriend got home around 6pm and it was hard watching him make his dinner. However, I just went into the next room and watched Wimbledon on TV. I'm now relaxing before bed. Just made myself a laxative tea as suggested and will just watch a bit of rubbish on TV before turning in.
Will weigh myself at the end of the week and possibly half way through on Wed.

Happy with the way today has gone. I've stuck to it. Just want to hit the sack and see what tomorrow brings.

posted Jun 20th, 2011 4:41 pm



JulieDoesTheLemonDetox

I've also recently quit smoking and gained a few extrra pounds as well as my skin looking a bit rubbish. My plan is to do the Lemon Detox for 5 days and then after that instead of returning to processed foods doing another 5 days of just fruit and vegetables (soups, salads, smoothies), then after that slowly introducing other food types like dairy (milk, low-fat cheese, yoghurt) and possibly white meat while increasing my exercise regime. I'm starting tomorrow and will record all results.
I've bought No2 Amber Maple Syrup. The difference between No1 and No2 is that No1 grade is the first of the season of the sap collected from the Maple Trees and No2 is later in the year. I get the impression that No1 is "lighter", and that No2 has a bit more substance as it comes later in the season and probably can provide the body with the vital nutrients it needs. I'm following the recipe but just adding a thumb nail size of fresh grated ginger to the daily mixure as well as the ceyanne pepper as I've read elsewhere you can do this. I like ginger alot and think it goes well with lemon. It also increases metabolism.
I'm also keeping a scrapbook/notebook of reasons why I am doing it, including goals and targets, photos of when I looked ok, before I started smoking and put on the extra pounds etc...this is because I'm planning for the eventuality that I may get tempted to eat something solid and I want to have something to remind me of why I am doing it in the first place and something to aim for.
I've also read that you can feel drained of energy and low so I've decided to plan my week around meditation, nothing too deep, just a few light mind calming exercises.
I'm lucky that I have the next 2 weeks off. I think this is important as if I get tired I'm at home and I can rest my body.

Target: Loose 1 stone in next 2 weeks
Improved Skin

I will update my progress J :-)

posted Jun 19th, 2011 9:20 am



Tammy Daskaleas

I have recently quit smoking and have gained ten pounds. I am thinking of trying this for a few days.

posted Jun 17th, 2011 12:21 pm


David Swain

This stuff is poison, i threw up sooooo many times on this diet and had to go to the ER (it was just minor fluid replacement), but despite that I still kept at because i thought it would achive my weight-loss goal of 315 to 170. Now im being told that the only reason I lost so much weight is because THIS BASCIALLY STARVES YOU!!! I was hungry all the time and it tastes terrible. It talks about removing toxins but the only toxins it removed was whatever I tried to eat. Honestly im just gonna stick with NutriSystem

posted Apr 25th, 2011 9:10 pm



Bonaventure Mbella

I am starting this diet tomorrow. I did hit the gym last week . was not happy wit the slow weight loss after working my ass off for 2hrs. I weigh 204lbs now. lost 3lbs in a week working out. I want to lose 15 to 20 lbs i 10 days. I intend to hit the gym thereafter to keep weight off and build muscle instead. So help me God!!!!!!!!

posted Feb 28th, 2011 10:28 pm


Shin007

Eva u already are cranky, n stupid, do us a fava keep ur opinions to urself, stupid git

posted Feb 25th, 2011 10:03 am


Eva

Lol...you people are sooooo stupid. Stop and think you people, did i gain this weight in 1 week or even 2....so why do you think taking ti off in such a short time is good for your body. The very minute you put anything to your lips after this diet you are going to blow up like humpy dumpty......sooorrryyy but its the truth. Cut down on the amount of food you put to your lips per day and walk for at least 30 mins. 3x per week.......its better for your health in the long run. This diet ('detrox') sounds like a colonoscopy prep. Why the heck would I want to spend my days on a toilet.....feeling weak and cranky......and god help y'all if you have to look at your spouse eat a burger/ cake/ or even salad......can you say cujo.

posted Feb 15th, 2011 11:18 pm


syleen

am on day 2 of this detox and i am noy starving at all,love it

posted Jan 8th, 2011 2:42 pm


Pat

I would love to try this. Everyone talks about drinking OJ. But I don't see anywhere where the information is for the last few days or what to eat during that time. Does anyone know of a good site where I can get more info on what to do and when exactly to drink OJ? Thanks so much

posted Dec 15th, 2010 11:11 am


Kiara

it was really hard at first but when i noticed how the pounds disappeared then i got motivated.... and for all those persons who want to try this start light workouts two days before your last day on the diet.

posted Sep 8th, 2010 2:00 pm



  1234
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 





Related Blog Posts

Related Recipes