Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

45%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 48 reviews
The Belly Fat Cure

The Belly Fat Cure Review: Does it Work?

Use the Carb Swap System to smash belly fat!

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Belly Fat Cure is a weight loss plan claiming to offer 4 to 9 pounds of weight loss a week. It claims that the real reason people gain weight is due to a faulty combination of sugar and carbohydrates, and not excess calories.

There information about this diet is available in the official book which also has recipes and suggestions for eating. The diet describes how undereating and extreme dieting is not needed, and that this approach is backed by years of evolution. Our review experts have reviewed many kinds of weight loss diets, and the most effective was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It has an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning, metabolism boosting diet pill. Both contain natural ingredients without stimulants, artificial additives, fillers, binders, or colors. Learn more about why the 18Shake Diet was rated as the most effective for weight loss by clicking the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

The Belly Fat Cure Ingredients and Side Effects

The main idea of the diet is to limit sugar to 15 grams and carbohydrates to 120 grams a day. This is in order to lower insulin which is said to be the reason why hormones convert fat into fat cells.

It’s also said that the idea of excess calories and lack of exercise aren’t the reason why weight gain is likely. So the book introduces what’s known as the Carb Swap System. This leads to the 15/6 rule or 6 servings of complex carbohydrates and 15 grams of sugar. The creator mentions that our ancestors didn’t have access to the high amounts of sugar seen in our diets.

Our experts have created a list of the best diets for weight loss; click the link to read more.

The book also mentions:

“About 200 years ago, daily consumption of sugar was under 15 grams… Guess what you didn’t see much of then? Belly fat.”

This claim is not proven however as there is no evidence provided by the creator. There is also the idea that this diet will help target belly fat, though this spot reduction idea has been debunked with science. ExRx.net adds:

“Fat is lost through the day in a pattern dependent upon genetics, sex (hormones), and age. Overall body fat must be reduced to lose fat in any particular area”

This debunks one major claim made by the diet. There’s also no explanation why the exact 15 grams of sugar and 6 servings of carbohydrates is advised.  These numbers are specific without an explanation as to why they are beneficial.

The limit on sugar also extends to fruits, and it’s recommended to eat lower sugar foods such as berries. The issue with the 15 gram of sugar limit is that this is extremely low. One medium sizedbanana has around 14 grams of sugar, medium sized apple contains 19 grams of sugar, and a large orange has 17 grams of sugar. No proof is offered to show why this form of sugar in moderation would prevent weight loss.

The American Dietic Association has reviewed this plan:

“views on fruit and dairy lack s merit and may cause “nutrition deficiencies”… failure to list the calorie content of suggested meals or to advocate portion control”

This lack of important information can make it easier to overeat. The book claims that the most important thing for weight loss is not calorie counting, but this also has not been proven true. To see a comprehensive list of the best weight loss diets, click thelink here.

The website EatRightPro.com also mentions the lack of consideration this diet places on health:

“little regard to total fat, saturated fat, dietary cholesterol and sodium is, at the very least, irresponsible and at worst can be extremely harmful to one’s heart and overall health”

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

The Belly Fat Cure Quality of Ingredients

Many questionable suggestions are made without any proof. While limiting sugar and eating more complex carbohydrates is healthy, it’s not enough to promote weight loss.

There are debunked claims which are made such as the idea that belly fat can be treated directly, sugar from fruit must be reduced to 15 grams a day for weight loss, and that calorie counting is not needed for weight loss.

As far as the sugar limit on every form available including fruit, Authority Nutrition mentions:

“fruits are “real” foods. They are highly nutrition and so fulfilling”

“Eating Fruit Can Help You Lose Weight”

Due to the lack of quality information and proof, this diet has too many flaws to be considered a good diet. See which diet plans were rated as the best for weight loss via this link.

The Price and Quality of The Belly Fat Cure

The price depends on the quality of foods one chooses and the cost of the book. People have mentioned that the book suggests many specific brands that are either difficult to find, or can only be purchased online. These kinds of ingredients can be costly to keep purchasing.

There are many unproven claims made, and some users have noted how the recipes offered do not list the amount of calories and other nutrition facts. This makes it impossible to track one’s own individual needs for calories and other nutrients. When losing weight it’s important to have an idea of the calories one is getting, as activity level, sex, age, and weight loss desires play a role in determining total caloric intake.

Business of The Belly Fat Cure

The creator of this plan is Jorge Cruise, a celebrity fitness trainer. He has also promoted other diets for weight loss. Some people who have reviewed the creators diets mention how there is contradicting information

“check out his previous diet, which bashes low carb diets, when all thisnew diet of his is, a low carb diet!”

There were also complaints that the official website which features this book suppresses negative opinions:

“made a comment on their website, which they remove”

There are also questionable claims made about this diet which have not been proven to be true. The creator knowns about fitness, but he has no degree in nutrition to help show how he knows this would be an effective weight loss solution. For a list of the highest rated weight loss diets, click on the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of The Belly Fat Cure

The books Amazon.com page has 238 negative reviews. Here are some select quotes from users:

“found it difficult to count he sugars & carbs, and by mid-afternoon I had nearly “spent” my limit”

“This book is simply too restrictive to be a lifestyle”

“It’s full of information, which is VERY product specific”

“I have tried this diet for almost 4 days have not seen any loss of weight yet”

One major criticism of this diet is that the author makes suggestions for hard to find specific brands. Some have added how it feels as though the creator is paid to make these brand suggestions.

There were also issues with the recipes offered being impractical and featuring hard to find ingredients. The majority of people mentioned that there was very common sense information such as getting lean protein, complex carbohydrates, and limiting sugar. The advised limit for sugar and carbohydrates was difficult to sustain for people. Often within lunch time people had already passed the advised limit.

The most common complaint is that the information is too basic, and not effective enough to promote sustained weight loss. See which diet plans were rated as the best for weight loss by clicking the link here.

Conclusion - Does The Belly Fat Cure Work?

The Belly Fat Cure makes many suggestions which have not been proven true. Limiting sugar is important for overall health, but the limit of 15 grams a day is not specific anywhere is being the optimal number. This also makes it difficult to enjoy fruits even in moderation. There is no information about calorie counting and no nutritional information is offered for any of the recipes featured. No evidence exists either that one can target belly fat loss, as the spot reduction myth has been debunked. Another issue with the diet is that many users have complained that there isn’t enough information available to help promote sustained weight loss. Users often add how the information is basic, and that there are also claims made without evidence.

Our review experts have discovered that the most effective weight loss solution is the 18Shake Diet. It has a combined weight loss effect via its appetite suppressing meal replacement, and a fat burning metabolism booster. They help maximize weight loss without any added colors, fillers, stimulants binders, and artificial ingredients. Users have left positive testimonials on their official website declaring how effective it is.

The 18Shake Diet is also fully backed by an entire 30 day money back return policy. This guarantee is available to customers with no questions asked. Learn more about the 18Shake Diet by clicking the link here.

How Does The Belly Fat Cure Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • The Belly Fat Cure
  • 45 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 4, 78 total comments)

Ed

+

I have been on this program for about seven weeks. I needed to lose some weight and lower my blood pressure or my doctor was going to put me on BP medicine. As recommended, I only use Truvia instead of other sweeteners and have been drinking SOBE LifeWater (0 calarie product). I have gone from 214.2 to 203 lbs. Stick to 15 grams of sugar every day and you will see results. When you see the scale moving down, you will try harder. Do it for YOU!

posted Mar 8th, 2010 1:05 pm


Lori

I just bought the book today and watched the five classes on You Tube alone with some of the other videos and cannot understand how it wouldn't work. In my case, my belly is way out of proportion to the rest of my body and I eat tons of sugar and carbs...controlling these two substances has to produce results! I can't wait to see where I am at in three months!

posted Mar 6th, 2010 9:43 pm


Monica

+

I'm on this diet and I'm loving it! I just want to correct something: this diet is based in 15 grams of sugar and 6 SERVINGS(no grams) of carbs/day.
one serving of carbs can go from 5 to 20 grams. it means that you can have up to 120gr carbs/day.IT IS WORKING FOR ME SO FAR! I'M VERY HAPPY! TKS JORGE FOR ALL YOUR HARD WORK ON THAT.

posted Mar 4th, 2010 4:24 pm


Alejandra

+

Love it, sure some of the food is hard to find, but is your life worth the look? I lost about 15 lbs in one month, and my husband has lost 20 lbs. We carry our own sweetener to restaurants and order the unsweetened ice tea. Stopped using ketchup, and read labels at the store before we buy our groceries. It is simple to do once you have decided to shift your thinking about the way you eat. Like Jorge says in his book, you have to say and think "Instant health is my divine right,and I claim it now." Good Luck

posted Feb 27th, 2010 10:28 pm


krista d

-

I followed the 15 grams of sugar/6 servings of carbs rule for 6 weeks and did not lose a thing. I even excerised 3 times a week! The recommended foods and ingredients were hard to find, and expensive as well. I do not recommend this diet to anyone.

posted Feb 26th, 2010 2:26 pm



Maliyan Francis

+

Ive lost 24 lbs so far on the belly fat cure and im only in week 5(the2nd day) I loooved the idea of losing 10 lbs a week but i obviously havent been but the rate that im going right now is ok w/ me.On weight watchers I would be discouraged by this time and wouldve only lost about 10 lbs in 4 weeks....so this works for me and all my friends that are on it too

posted Feb 23rd, 2010 4:07 pm


judy

Not sure this works after 4 weeks lost 4 lbs. Not sure it is age, meds or just a bad metabolism. I am getting tired of the foods and the substitues, will probably go back to WW with less carbs ln the menu.

posted Feb 14th, 2010 12:02 pm


Roleba64

-

After 5 weeks on the plan I have lost 15.5 pounds...the majority in the first 2 weeks. While the diet helped me detox, the wieght loss slows and does not match with the estimates in the book. I am finding it harder to follow and to get enough calories. I have been at 1000 -1100 calories for the full 5 weeks - that is why I have lost weight, not the plan. And, my loss has slowed because I am in starvation mode. I am going back to Weight Watchers.

posted Feb 9th, 2010 7:11 pm


boo

-

i did this diet for 5 weeks and actually gained 4 pounds....not kidding!!! i really tried to follow it straight from the book and did not count calories and instead focused on the 15/6 rule. very discouraged!! oh well. for me it was too good to be true!

posted Feb 8th, 2010 4:28 pm


beansmom

+

My husband and I have been doing this plan for 4 days now and have each lost weight. I've lost 4 pounds and he's lost 5. It is super easy to follow and I haven't felt like I'm missing out on anything.

posted Feb 4th, 2010 4:15 pm


Andrea

Ive been on this diet for almost a month an lost 2 lbs. What is confusing to me is counting carbs not sure if I am doing it right. I serving is 5-20 carbs. but if im eating a lunch of 1 item being 7 carbs, another being 6 carbs and say 5 carbs do i count that as 1 car because in total it is under 20 or do i count seperately... just no sure why weight loss is not more than it has been for me. any tips?

posted Feb 3rd, 2010 1:17 pm


LHenry

I have been on this program for 6 days - have lost 5 LBS!!! I have tried all of the other plans - but have trouble with belly fat - this is the first program that is incredibly easy to follow - I am not starving - and I have seen results in my waistline!

posted Feb 1st, 2010 3:46 pm


Kathy

+

I am on Day 5 of the Belly Fat Cure. I absolutely love how simple and reasonable this program is! I did not weigh myself when I started; however, 21 days before starting I was 203 lbs. I continued to eat horribly as I have gotten in the habit of doing (Carl's Jr., McDonald's, Baker's, etc., etc.). However, after just 4 days of the BFC, I finally got up the courage to check my weight to give me an idea of where I have started this. I am so happy to say that my weight is 188 lbs -- almost 187!!! That is definitely from this week and not the weeks before!!!! I know I have thought my belly was getting smaller; however, I thought it was just wishful thinking! I have not been in the 180s in decades! I have tried every diet known to man and worked out with personal trainers, etc. over the past 25 years. I would lose weight and gain it back because I wasn't eating realistically. THIS is realistic eating! Thank you, Jorge, for coming up with a simple, healthy plan!!!

posted Jan 30th, 2010 11:52 am


Tina Mattimore

+

I have been on it for 6 days and find it easy to follow but I have not lost anything!! I am very discouraged and need help!!

posted Jan 30th, 2010 9:47 am


Mia

+

I did the diet for 1 week, and I really like it, but didn't loose any weight!

posted Jan 18th, 2010 2:04 pm


Sasha

It is recommended to consume no more than 15 grams of sugar per day and 6 servings of carbohydrates. One serving of carbs is considered between 5 to 20 grams. This article said 6 gram of carbs and that is incorrect. 15 grams of sugar, 6 SERVINGS of carbs.

posted Jan 18th, 2010 12:56 am


supermom

+

I have been following the sugar/carb recommendations in the book and I lost 5.5 pounds in 7 days! I can't believe it, I have tried all kinds of things. Weight Watchers worked for a while, but I felt obsessed about food all of the time. I was always counting points and planning what I would eat next. I felt like I was starving all of the time. I know it works for a lot of people, but not for me.
When I started this I was shocked by how much hidden sugar is in every day foods. It took a few days for me to get used to eating like this, but it's great. I just read labels, and I have a list of "belly good" foods in my kitchen that I keep adding to. I don't buy any of the specialty foods that are in the book, they are too expensive. It's really not hard to follow the plan, and I don't have crazy blood sugar swings so I am never starving and ready to binge. I would highly recommend this to everyone. It will be interesting to see if people can maintain the weight loss after they reach their goals. Hopefully this is the year I will reach mine!

posted Jan 13th, 2010 10:16 pm


lorin frazier

+

I agree 100% with Jorge. Do not go by
what a scale says.....and why have we
become a FAT society. SUGAR, is one of
the problems. If you cut out the sugar
eat the healthy foods (avacados being one of them),eat smaller portion sized
meals, include aerobic and strength
training in your life...there will be a new
you.NOTHING HAPPENS OVER NIGHT
WHAT YOU PUT INTO SOMETHING IS
WHAT YOU GET OUT OF IT. Good Luck

posted Jan 6th, 2010 12:25 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Belly Fat Cure is a new book written by Jorge Cruise that promises to help you lose four to nine pounds every week with his Carb Swap System.

The Carb Swap System involves eliminating excess sugar and processed carbohydrates. With this plan, you eat a recommended 15 grams of sugar and 6 servings of carbs each day. Being able to lose four to nine pounds each week is definitely an inspirational goal for many that are trying to lose weight. Although you can lose this amount of weight, Cruise states that only two to three pounds will be from 100% belly fat. The rest of the weight comes from false belly fat, which is trapped waste matter.

The Belly Fat Cure talks in depth about the true reason that you are overweight. According to Cruise it’s because of the hidden sweeteners in food that deliver belly-fattening sugar and carb values to your diet.

The Belly Fat Cure also offers an eating guide that gives you smart and affordable food choices. There are more than 1,500 food options that are broken into categories specifically for carboholics, meat lovers, chicken and seafood fans, chocoholics, fast-food junkies and vegans. With the Belly Fat Cure, you don’t have any specific timing or scheduling around when you eat.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Includes several recipes
  • Foods for those that love meat, carbs, chocolate or seafood
  • Also includes foods for vegans
  • Will result in weight loss if followed correctly
  • Easy plan to follow
  • Encourages a nutritious way of eating
  • Author has written several other books on weight loss
  • There's a companion iPhone and iPad app called The Belly Fat Cure Sugar & Carb Counter
CON
  • Exercise not encouraged for losing weight
  • Focus on insulin instead of calories may be hard for some to grasp
  • Healthy rate of weight loss should be one to two pounds per week
DIET and NUTRITION

Through the Belly Fat Cure program, the focus is the patented Carb Swap System for losing weight. The Carb Swap System focuses on 15 grams of sugar per day and 6 servings of carbs. The Carb Swap System also helps eliminate those hidden sugars from your diet that are contributing to weight gain and difficulty losing weight. There are thorough lists of foods that you can eat while on the program, along with several recipes.

Here are some of the recipes that are included:

  • Breakfast: Zesty Quiche Lorraine
  • Lunch: Simple Swiss & Mushroom Burger
  • Dinner: Crispy Fish & Chips
  • Snack: Sweet Strawberry Smoothie
EXERCISE

Jorge Cruise does not encourage exercise for the purpose of losing weight, but for reducing stress, toning and staying strong. Exercise is not required to lose weight following the Belly Fat Cure program.

A couple of workouts that are recommended by Jorge Cruise include his program called 8 Minutes in the Morning and his advanced program called The 12-Second Sequence. Both of these exercise routines are available through books with the same titles.

Some of the exercises recommended in The Belly Fat Cure book are designed specifically to whittle down your midsection. Some of the recommendations given include:

  • Walking: get in a 20-minute power walk as often as possible
  • 8 Minute Ab Sculptor program: Toe reach, reverse crunch and other exercises
CONCLUSION

The Belly Fat Cure by well-known fitness guru, Jorge Cruise, is a book that will give you the results you’re looking for and help you lose weight at a consistent rate. The program does seem to be mainly for those looking to reduce belly fat rather than their overall weight. If belly fat has been a problem for you, this program might serve as a great guide to help with that.

There are several delicious recipes included no matter what type of eater you are. The book does include both an eating and exercise plan, although the exercise portion is completely optional. Getting rid of belly fat can be a great step towards improving your overall health.

Common Misspellings

belly fat cured, bellie fat cure, belly fats cure, belly fat cures, belly fat diet

Related Diets: Jorge Cruise 12-Second Sequence, Jorge Cruise 8 Minutes in the Morning, Flat Belly Diet for Men, Prevention's Flat Belly Diet, 3-Hour Diet at Home

Whats better than
The Belly Fat Cure?