Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

45%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 48 reviews
The Belly Fat Cure

The Belly Fat Cure Review: Does it Work?

Use the Carb Swap System to smash belly fat!

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Belly Fat Cure is a weight loss plan claiming to offer 4 to 9 pounds of weight loss a week. It claims that the real reason people gain weight is due to a faulty combination of sugar and carbohydrates, and not excess calories.

There information about this diet is available in the official book which also has recipes and suggestions for eating. The diet describes how undereating and extreme dieting is not needed, and that this approach is backed by years of evolution. Our review experts have reviewed many kinds of weight loss diets, and the most effective was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It has an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning, metabolism boosting diet pill. Both contain natural ingredients without stimulants, artificial additives, fillers, binders, or colors. Learn more about why the 18Shake Diet was rated as the most effective for weight loss by clicking the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

The Belly Fat Cure Ingredients and Side Effects

The main idea of the diet is to limit sugar to 15 grams and carbohydrates to 120 grams a day. This is in order to lower insulin which is said to be the reason why hormones convert fat into fat cells.

It’s also said that the idea of excess calories and lack of exercise aren’t the reason why weight gain is likely. So the book introduces what’s known as the Carb Swap System. This leads to the 15/6 rule or 6 servings of complex carbohydrates and 15 grams of sugar. The creator mentions that our ancestors didn’t have access to the high amounts of sugar seen in our diets.

Our experts have created a list of the best diets for weight loss; click the link to read more.

The book also mentions:

“About 200 years ago, daily consumption of sugar was under 15 grams… Guess what you didn’t see much of then? Belly fat.”

This claim is not proven however as there is no evidence provided by the creator. There is also the idea that this diet will help target belly fat, though this spot reduction idea has been debunked with science. ExRx.net adds:

“Fat is lost through the day in a pattern dependent upon genetics, sex (hormones), and age. Overall body fat must be reduced to lose fat in any particular area”

This debunks one major claim made by the diet. There’s also no explanation why the exact 15 grams of sugar and 6 servings of carbohydrates is advised.  These numbers are specific without an explanation as to why they are beneficial.

The limit on sugar also extends to fruits, and it’s recommended to eat lower sugar foods such as berries. The issue with the 15 gram of sugar limit is that this is extremely low. One medium sizedbanana has around 14 grams of sugar, medium sized apple contains 19 grams of sugar, and a large orange has 17 grams of sugar. No proof is offered to show why this form of sugar in moderation would prevent weight loss.

The American Dietic Association has reviewed this plan:

“views on fruit and dairy lack s merit and may cause “nutrition deficiencies”… failure to list the calorie content of suggested meals or to advocate portion control”

This lack of important information can make it easier to overeat. The book claims that the most important thing for weight loss is not calorie counting, but this also has not been proven true. To see a comprehensive list of the best weight loss diets, click thelink here.

The website EatRightPro.com also mentions the lack of consideration this diet places on health:

“little regard to total fat, saturated fat, dietary cholesterol and sodium is, at the very least, irresponsible and at worst can be extremely harmful to one’s heart and overall health”

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

The Belly Fat Cure Quality of Ingredients

Many questionable suggestions are made without any proof. While limiting sugar and eating more complex carbohydrates is healthy, it’s not enough to promote weight loss.

There are debunked claims which are made such as the idea that belly fat can be treated directly, sugar from fruit must be reduced to 15 grams a day for weight loss, and that calorie counting is not needed for weight loss.

As far as the sugar limit on every form available including fruit, Authority Nutrition mentions:

“fruits are “real” foods. They are highly nutrition and so fulfilling”

“Eating Fruit Can Help You Lose Weight”

Due to the lack of quality information and proof, this diet has too many flaws to be considered a good diet. See which diet plans were rated as the best for weight loss via this link.

The Price and Quality of The Belly Fat Cure

The price depends on the quality of foods one chooses and the cost of the book. People have mentioned that the book suggests many specific brands that are either difficult to find, or can only be purchased online. These kinds of ingredients can be costly to keep purchasing.

There are many unproven claims made, and some users have noted how the recipes offered do not list the amount of calories and other nutrition facts. This makes it impossible to track one’s own individual needs for calories and other nutrients. When losing weight it’s important to have an idea of the calories one is getting, as activity level, sex, age, and weight loss desires play a role in determining total caloric intake.

Business of The Belly Fat Cure

The creator of this plan is Jorge Cruise, a celebrity fitness trainer. He has also promoted other diets for weight loss. Some people who have reviewed the creators diets mention how there is contradicting information

“check out his previous diet, which bashes low carb diets, when all thisnew diet of his is, a low carb diet!”

There were also complaints that the official website which features this book suppresses negative opinions:

“made a comment on their website, which they remove”

There are also questionable claims made about this diet which have not been proven to be true. The creator knowns about fitness, but he has no degree in nutrition to help show how he knows this would be an effective weight loss solution. For a list of the highest rated weight loss diets, click on the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of The Belly Fat Cure

The books Amazon.com page has 238 negative reviews. Here are some select quotes from users:

“found it difficult to count he sugars & carbs, and by mid-afternoon I had nearly “spent” my limit”

“This book is simply too restrictive to be a lifestyle”

“It’s full of information, which is VERY product specific”

“I have tried this diet for almost 4 days have not seen any loss of weight yet”

One major criticism of this diet is that the author makes suggestions for hard to find specific brands. Some have added how it feels as though the creator is paid to make these brand suggestions.

There were also issues with the recipes offered being impractical and featuring hard to find ingredients. The majority of people mentioned that there was very common sense information such as getting lean protein, complex carbohydrates, and limiting sugar. The advised limit for sugar and carbohydrates was difficult to sustain for people. Often within lunch time people had already passed the advised limit.

The most common complaint is that the information is too basic, and not effective enough to promote sustained weight loss. See which diet plans were rated as the best for weight loss by clicking the link here.

Conclusion - Does The Belly Fat Cure Work?

The Belly Fat Cure makes many suggestions which have not been proven true. Limiting sugar is important for overall health, but the limit of 15 grams a day is not specific anywhere is being the optimal number. This also makes it difficult to enjoy fruits even in moderation. There is no information about calorie counting and no nutritional information is offered for any of the recipes featured. No evidence exists either that one can target belly fat loss, as the spot reduction myth has been debunked. Another issue with the diet is that many users have complained that there isn’t enough information available to help promote sustained weight loss. Users often add how the information is basic, and that there are also claims made without evidence.

Our review experts have discovered that the most effective weight loss solution is the 18Shake Diet. It has a combined weight loss effect via its appetite suppressing meal replacement, and a fat burning metabolism booster. They help maximize weight loss without any added colors, fillers, stimulants binders, and artificial ingredients. Users have left positive testimonials on their official website declaring how effective it is.

The 18Shake Diet is also fully backed by an entire 30 day money back return policy. This guarantee is available to customers with no questions asked. Learn more about the 18Shake Diet by clicking the link here.

How Does The Belly Fat Cure Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • The Belly Fat Cure
  • 45 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 4, 78 total comments)

Edwina

I started Jan. 10th, 2011 and have lost 29 1/2 pounds as of today. Very easy to follow and I am losing all over as well as in the belly.

posted Feb 18th, 2011 3:02 pm


Tina

Do I have to follow a full day's menu? Can I switch like brekfast (carb lover) snack (quick and easy) ect...??

posted Feb 2nd, 2011 9:05 pm


Stephanie

Just started today, but already loving this plan. I did Atkins before and lost almost 30-35 pounds, Tried it again and lost 5 but couldn't loose any nore. I like the science behind this and it def is a life style change that I will incorporate. Along w/ excersing i am sure this will work! Good luck to everybody! :()

posted Jan 10th, 2011 10:42 pm


Janice

+

I am simply AMAZED!!! I have been struggling with my weight for years, trying different kinds of diets and failing. But, by chance I was in the bookstore looking for Asian Slim Secrets, when I ran across this book..it just grabbed my attention. I am happy to say that I have lost 7 pounds in 6 days!! That has never happened to me EVER! My husband takes great care of his body and he's is so proud that I have found something that I can stick too. I don't feel hungry and I have plenty of energy to boot. I started in at 244 and I'm 237...the scale does'nt lie. Thank the Lord for Jorge and the simplification of his program. I'm confident I will hit my goal weight for the first time EVER!!

posted Oct 29th, 2010 11:17 pm


pam

+

This is not only a diet its a way of eating well. Sugar cravings are gone - my husband who HAD high blood sugar and high cholesterol recieved great feedback from his last doctor visit. The doctor said, "what ever your doing.. keep it up". Love "relearning.. what a portion is, and a great way of actually getting good foods".

posted Oct 4th, 2010 9:01 pm


Sam Chase

+

Quite a revelation on the amount of sugar in one's diet. The carb part is generally well-known, but the 15/6 Sugar/Carb formula is very helpful. I lost about as much weight as Jorge Cruise said I would. I also liked the discussion of artificial sugars replacements likeSplenda and dropped them immediately. The substitute of Stevia and Truvia, costs about the same as Splenda, but it is a smart move.

posted Oct 1st, 2010 8:47 am


Teresa

I have been on The Belly Fat Cure for 2 weeks. I lost 8 pounds and have gained back 4. I do not know why.
It is making me watch more closely and keep track. Being over 50 I can gain so easily its not funny and all my friends are thin and its so frustrating.
I don't feel deprived at all and love the fooods.I know it is not a quick fix and will keep going cause I know its good for me. No hunger for sweets anymore. don't miss it at all.

posted Sep 17th, 2010 2:11 pm


just4afew

To Amysotis....
Hang in there and don't stop trying. My problem was my acid reflux meds. I tapered off and did finally lose 5 lbs. in a month and a half! Also, I didn't have that much to lose and hardly ever ate sugar. Stick with it for at least a couple of months. When you get 50+ it is REALLY hard to lose weight, so lose it while you are YOUNG!

posted Sep 10th, 2010 8:53 am


Gwen

+

I have been following this plan for about a month and have lost 16 lbs. It is a life style change. I also watch my fat, cholesterol, and salt intake with it. It is easy to follow but with any other weight loss plan you need to exercise. I feel wonderful on this program and my family has also adopted this way of life with me. This is not an overnight miracle diet and you have to be smart with your choices. I wish everyone luck!!!!

posted Sep 7th, 2010 2:34 pm


bonnie

+

I am very frustrated. Bought all the right food. Stayed under the 15 sugers and stayed at the 6 carbs and did not lose one pound my first week. Husband tells me that's because I didn't excercise. Not sure what I could have done wrong but I'm going to give it another week to see. If anyone knows a better idea on how to jump start this diet please help me!!!

posted Sep 5th, 2010 12:32 pm


laura

+

This is the easiest diet and yes it does work if you stick to it. It has to be a life change not a diet. Diets fall short a life change stays for ever.

posted Sep 3rd, 2010 6:23 pm


Pami Su

I just started the diet a couple of days ago and now we're going on vacation. If I eat a couple extra carbs in a day, will I gain weight?

posted Aug 24th, 2010 5:44 pm


Melizabeth

+

I have LOOSELY followed this and lost 6 lbs-menopausal weight that I couldn't seem to lose.I had been eating aspartame every day in my coffee, and was eating tons of fruits,dried fruits and sweets low in fat. Following this 15/6 plan is easy and having cream in my coffee in the morning is such a treat!NO CRAVINGS for the first time in 25 years, trying the Zone, Atkins, low fat low carb diets.Love it

posted Aug 21st, 2010 2:08 pm


Carol

+

I love, love, love this plan, since starting the plan 2/2010 to now 8/2010 I have lost 35 lbs. and 31 in. Once I found the best sugar replacement for me, I was off and running, the first 25 lbs came off with out exercise. I don't feel deprived and I have more energy and just feel better. Thank Jorge.
Did I mention how much I LOVE my new way of life. This is a plan I can stick with for life.

posted Aug 19th, 2010 8:09 am


amysotis

-

Even though I stuck to EVERY guidline of this diet, I didn't lose weight.

posted Aug 9th, 2010 10:55 am


houseofsuji

+

I have been on The Belly Fat Cure for one week and have lost 3 pounds. However, more than losing 3 pounds, I have gained tremendous knowledge as to the foods that I have been consuming that contain tremendous grams of sugar and carbohydrates. Since starting my diet plan, I do not crave the after-dinner treats that I consumed. Although many of the food items that Jorge suggests can only be bought at a specialty market or online and can be somewhat on the expensive side, I eat far less and am more fulfilled than eating food items that are full of sugar and mega carbs. So far, so good!

posted Jul 25th, 2010 7:09 pm


Karen

Can someone tell me if drinking Diet Coke (yes, I know it has aspartame, but I can't affort the choice he mentions), will hinder the fat loss process? It's my one downfall....I only have one can a day, but don't want to jeopordize my weight loss!

posted Jul 17th, 2010 10:03 am


Pearl

+

I looked like I was 5 months pregnant 6 months AFTER I gave birth. On this plan I lost 11 lbs in the first week and over 20 lbs in the first month (just in time for my 30th b-day!). I loosely follow the plan now and have slowly been losing more weight. I am less than me pre-pregnancy weight with my FIRST child!!! It's easy and still allows me a fast food burger (wrapped in lettuce and no ketchup!) and beer!

Side effects I wasn't expecting: my energy levels are higher, I no longer CRAVE sugar (several years ago I likened my sugar addiction to a heroin addiction and I don't think I'm far off in that assessment), and, oddly enough, when I strictly adhere to the diet a week before my period, my cramping is WAY less than if I was indulging in gobs of sugary treats.

I was nursing when I began the Belly Fat Cure and my milk production never faltered.

I thought the first week was hard and I had a headache for 2 weeks - and I am CONVINCED it was from sugar withdrawal. I was eating anywhere from 200-500g of sugar a day (scary, isn't it?).

I tried Weight Watchers after my first baby and it kinda worked but I couldn't stick with it. This is easy to follow.

posted Jul 16th, 2010 9:49 pm


Robert Benbrook

+

Well I needed to lose belly fat. Not happening with exercise. This plan makes sense to me. One week now and I lost one inch around the belly and went from 217 to 211 lbs. Also I am not having hunger pangs. The meals are satisfying and ite is interesting to see what the lables on food are good for. I need to lose three or four more inches off my waist to get to the reccommended waist for my height. We well see..........

posted Jul 14th, 2010 6:08 pm


Alison

+

When I eat high fructose corn syrup and artificial sweeteners (especially nutrasweet and splenda) I get obsessed with food. Figuring this out has been a major breakthrough for me as I have been fighting food addiction pretty much all my life. This book recognizes the bad in those artificial sweeteners and helps me to identify food/meal choices that are safe, as well as reducing sugars. I am so excited to try it!

posted Jul 4th, 2010 11:10 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Belly Fat Cure is a new book written by Jorge Cruise that promises to help you lose four to nine pounds every week with his Carb Swap System.

The Carb Swap System involves eliminating excess sugar and processed carbohydrates. With this plan, you eat a recommended 15 grams of sugar and 6 servings of carbs each day. Being able to lose four to nine pounds each week is definitely an inspirational goal for many that are trying to lose weight. Although you can lose this amount of weight, Cruise states that only two to three pounds will be from 100% belly fat. The rest of the weight comes from false belly fat, which is trapped waste matter.

The Belly Fat Cure talks in depth about the true reason that you are overweight. According to Cruise it’s because of the hidden sweeteners in food that deliver belly-fattening sugar and carb values to your diet.

The Belly Fat Cure also offers an eating guide that gives you smart and affordable food choices. There are more than 1,500 food options that are broken into categories specifically for carboholics, meat lovers, chicken and seafood fans, chocoholics, fast-food junkies and vegans. With the Belly Fat Cure, you don’t have any specific timing or scheduling around when you eat.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Includes several recipes
  • Foods for those that love meat, carbs, chocolate or seafood
  • Also includes foods for vegans
  • Will result in weight loss if followed correctly
  • Easy plan to follow
  • Encourages a nutritious way of eating
  • Author has written several other books on weight loss
  • There's a companion iPhone and iPad app called The Belly Fat Cure Sugar & Carb Counter
CON
  • Exercise not encouraged for losing weight
  • Focus on insulin instead of calories may be hard for some to grasp
  • Healthy rate of weight loss should be one to two pounds per week
DIET and NUTRITION

Through the Belly Fat Cure program, the focus is the patented Carb Swap System for losing weight. The Carb Swap System focuses on 15 grams of sugar per day and 6 servings of carbs. The Carb Swap System also helps eliminate those hidden sugars from your diet that are contributing to weight gain and difficulty losing weight. There are thorough lists of foods that you can eat while on the program, along with several recipes.

Here are some of the recipes that are included:

  • Breakfast: Zesty Quiche Lorraine
  • Lunch: Simple Swiss & Mushroom Burger
  • Dinner: Crispy Fish & Chips
  • Snack: Sweet Strawberry Smoothie
EXERCISE

Jorge Cruise does not encourage exercise for the purpose of losing weight, but for reducing stress, toning and staying strong. Exercise is not required to lose weight following the Belly Fat Cure program.

A couple of workouts that are recommended by Jorge Cruise include his program called 8 Minutes in the Morning and his advanced program called The 12-Second Sequence. Both of these exercise routines are available through books with the same titles.

Some of the exercises recommended in The Belly Fat Cure book are designed specifically to whittle down your midsection. Some of the recommendations given include:

  • Walking: get in a 20-minute power walk as often as possible
  • 8 Minute Ab Sculptor program: Toe reach, reverse crunch and other exercises
CONCLUSION

The Belly Fat Cure by well-known fitness guru, Jorge Cruise, is a book that will give you the results you’re looking for and help you lose weight at a consistent rate. The program does seem to be mainly for those looking to reduce belly fat rather than their overall weight. If belly fat has been a problem for you, this program might serve as a great guide to help with that.

There are several delicious recipes included no matter what type of eater you are. The book does include both an eating and exercise plan, although the exercise portion is completely optional. Getting rid of belly fat can be a great step towards improving your overall health.

Common Misspellings

belly fat cured, bellie fat cure, belly fats cure, belly fat cures, belly fat diet

Related Diets: Jorge Cruise 12-Second Sequence, Jorge Cruise 8 Minutes in the Morning, Flat Belly Diet for Men, Prevention's Flat Belly Diet, 3-Hour Diet at Home

Whats better than
The Belly Fat Cure?