Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Books Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 46 reviews

The Belly Fat Cure

Use the Carb Swap System to smash belly fat!

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Belly Fat Cure is a new book written by Jorge Cruise that promises to help you lose four to nine pounds every week with his Carb Swap System.

The Carb Swap System involves eliminating excess sugar and processed carbohydrates. With this plan, you eat a recommended 15 grams of sugar and 6 servings of carbs each day. Being able to lose four to nine pounds each week is definitely an inspirational goal for many that are trying to lose weight. Although you can lose this amount of weight, Cruise states that only two to three pounds will be from 100% belly fat. The rest of the weight comes from false belly fat, which is trapped waste matter.

The Belly Fat Cure talks in depth about the true reason that you are overweight. According to Cruise it’s because of the hidden sweeteners in food that deliver belly-fattening sugar and carb values to your diet.

The Belly Fat Cure also offers an eating guide that gives you smart and affordable food choices. There are more than 1,500 food options that are broken into categories specifically for carboholics, meat lovers, chicken and seafood fans, chocoholics, fast-food junkies and vegans. With the Belly Fat Cure, you don’t have any specific timing or scheduling around when you eat.

PRO
  • Includes several recipes
  • Foods for those that love meat, carbs, chocolate or seafood
  • Also includes foods for vegans
  • Will result in weight loss if followed correctly
  • Easy plan to follow
  • Encourages a nutritious way of eating
  • Author has written several other books on weight loss
  • There's a companion iPhone and iPad app called The Belly Fat Cure Sugar & Carb Counter
CON
  • Exercise not encouraged for losing weight
  • Focus on insulin instead of calories may be hard for some to grasp
  • Healthy rate of weight loss should be one to two pounds per week
DIET and NUTRITION

Through the Belly Fat Cure program, the focus is the patented Carb Swap System for losing weight. The Carb Swap System focuses on 15 grams of sugar per day and 6 servings of carbs. The Carb Swap System also helps eliminate those hidden sugars from your diet that are contributing to weight gain and difficulty losing weight. There are thorough lists of foods that you can eat while on the program, along with several recipes.

Here are some of the recipes that are included:

  • Breakfast: Zesty Quiche Lorraine
  • Lunch: Simple Swiss & Mushroom Burger
  • Dinner: Crispy Fish & Chips
  • Snack: Sweet Strawberry Smoothie
EXERCISE

Jorge Cruise does not encourage exercise for the purpose of losing weight, but for reducing stress, toning and staying strong. Exercise is not required to lose weight following the Belly Fat Cure program.

A couple of workouts that are recommended by Jorge Cruise include his program called 8 Minutes in the Morning and his advanced program called The 12-Second Sequence. Both of these exercise routines are available through books with the same titles.

Some of the exercises recommended in The Belly Fat Cure book are designed specifically to whittle down your midsection. Some of the recommendations given include:

  • Walking: get in a 20-minute power walk as often as possible
  • 8 Minute Ab Sculptor program: Toe reach, reverse crunch and other exercises
CONCLUSION

The Belly Fat Cure by well-known fitness guru, Jorge Cruise, is a book that will give you the results you’re looking for and help you lose weight at a consistent rate. The program does seem to be mainly for those looking to reduce belly fat rather than their overall weight. If belly fat has been a problem for you, this program might serve as a great guide to help with that.

There are several delicious recipes included no matter what type of eater you are. The book does include both an eating and exercise plan, although the exercise portion is completely optional. Getting rid of belly fat can be a great step towards improving your overall health.

Common Misspellings

belly fat cured, bellie fat cure, belly fats cure, belly fat cures, belly fat diet


Related Diets: Jorge Cruise 12-Second Sequence, Jorge Cruise 8 Minutes in the Morning, Flat Belly Diet for Men, Prevention's Flat Belly Diet, 3-Hour Diet at Home


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 4, 74 total comments)

pam

This is not only a diet its a way of eating well. Sugar cravings are gone - my husband who HAD high blood sugar and high cholesterol recieved great feedback from his last doctor visit. The doctor said, "what ever your doing.. keep it up". Love "relearning.. what a portion is, and a great way of actually getting good foods".

posted Oct 4th, 2010 9:01 pm


Sam Chase

Quite a revelation on the amount of sugar in one's diet. The carb part is generally well-known, but the 15/6 Sugar/Carb formula is very helpful. I lost about as much weight as Jorge Cruise said I would. I also liked the discussion of artificial sugars replacements likeSplenda and dropped them immediately. The substitute of Stevia and Truvia, costs about the same as Splenda, but it is a smart move.

posted Oct 1st, 2010 8:47 am


Teresa

I have been on The Belly Fat Cure for 2 weeks. I lost 8 pounds and have gained back 4. I do not know why.
It is making me watch more closely and keep track. Being over 50 I can gain so easily its not funny and all my friends are thin and its so frustrating.
I don't feel deprived at all and love the fooods.I know it is not a quick fix and will keep going cause I know its good for me. No hunger for sweets anymore. don't miss it at all.

posted Sep 17th, 2010 2:11 pm


just4afew

To Amysotis....
Hang in there and don't stop trying. My problem was my acid reflux meds. I tapered off and did finally lose 5 lbs. in a month and a half! Also, I didn't have that much to lose and hardly ever ate sugar. Stick with it for at least a couple of months. When you get 50+ it is REALLY hard to lose weight, so lose it while you are YOUNG!

posted Sep 10th, 2010 8:53 am


Gwen

I have been following this plan for about a month and have lost 16 lbs. It is a life style change. I also watch my fat, cholesterol, and salt intake with it. It is easy to follow but with any other weight loss plan you need to exercise. I feel wonderful on this program and my family has also adopted this way of life with me. This is not an overnight miracle diet and you have to be smart with your choices. I wish everyone luck!!!!

posted Sep 7th, 2010 2:34 pm


bonnie

I am very frustrated. Bought all the right food. Stayed under the 15 sugers and stayed at the 6 carbs and did not lose one pound my first week. Husband tells me that's because I didn't excercise. Not sure what I could have done wrong but I'm going to give it another week to see. If anyone knows a better idea on how to jump start this diet please help me!!!

posted Sep 5th, 2010 12:32 pm


laura

This is the easiest diet and yes it does work if you stick to it. It has to be a life change not a diet. Diets fall short a life change stays for ever.

posted Sep 3rd, 2010 6:23 pm


Pami Su

I just started the diet a couple of days ago and now we're going on vacation. If I eat a couple extra carbs in a day, will I gain weight?

posted Aug 24th, 2010 5:44 pm


Melizabeth

I have LOOSELY followed this and lost 6 lbs-menopausal weight that I couldn't seem to lose.I had been eating aspartame every day in my coffee, and was eating tons of fruits,dried fruits and sweets low in fat. Following this 15/6 plan is easy and having cream in my coffee in the morning is such a treat!NO CRAVINGS for the first time in 25 years, trying the Zone, Atkins, low fat low carb diets.Love it

posted Aug 21st, 2010 2:08 pm


Carol

I love, love, love this plan, since starting the plan 2/2010 to now 8/2010 I have lost 35 lbs. and 31 in. Once I found the best sugar replacement for me, I was off and running, the first 25 lbs came off with out exercise. I don't feel deprived and I have more energy and just feel better. Thank Jorge.
Did I mention how much I LOVE my new way of life. This is a plan I can stick with for life.

posted Aug 19th, 2010 8:09 am


amysotis

Even though I stuck to EVERY guidline of this diet, I didn't lose weight.

posted Aug 9th, 2010 10:55 am


houseofsuji

I have been on The Belly Fat Cure for one week and have lost 3 pounds. However, more than losing 3 pounds, I have gained tremendous knowledge as to the foods that I have been consuming that contain tremendous grams of sugar and carbohydrates. Since starting my diet plan, I do not crave the after-dinner treats that I consumed. Although many of the food items that Jorge suggests can only be bought at a specialty market or online and can be somewhat on the expensive side, I eat far less and am more fulfilled than eating food items that are full of sugar and mega carbs. So far, so good!

posted Jul 25th, 2010 7:09 pm


Karen

Can someone tell me if drinking Diet Coke (yes, I know it has aspartame, but I can't affort the choice he mentions), will hinder the fat loss process? It's my one downfall....I only have one can a day, but don't want to jeopordize my weight loss!

posted Jul 17th, 2010 10:03 am


Pearl

I looked like I was 5 months pregnant 6 months AFTER I gave birth. On this plan I lost 11 lbs in the first week and over 20 lbs in the first month (just in time for my 30th b-day!). I loosely follow the plan now and have slowly been losing more weight. I am less than me pre-pregnancy weight with my FIRST child!!! It's easy and still allows me a fast food burger (wrapped in lettuce and no ketchup!) and beer!

Side effects I wasn't expecting: my energy levels are higher, I no longer CRAVE sugar (several years ago I likened my sugar addiction to a heroin addiction and I don't think I'm far off in that assessment), and, oddly enough, when I strictly adhere to the diet a week before my period, my cramping is WAY less than if I was indulging in gobs of sugary treats.

I was nursing when I began the Belly Fat Cure and my milk production never faltered.

I thought the first week was hard and I had a headache for 2 weeks - and I am CONVINCED it was from sugar withdrawal. I was eating anywhere from 200-500g of sugar a day (scary, isn't it?).

I tried Weight Watchers after my first baby and it kinda worked but I couldn't stick with it. This is easy to follow.

posted Jul 16th, 2010 9:49 pm


Robert Benbrook

Well I needed to lose belly fat. Not happening with exercise. This plan makes sense to me. One week now and I lost one inch around the belly and went from 217 to 211 lbs. Also I am not having hunger pangs. The meals are satisfying and ite is interesting to see what the lables on food are good for. I need to lose three or four more inches off my waist to get to the reccommended waist for my height. We well see..........

posted Jul 14th, 2010 6:08 pm


Alison

When I eat high fructose corn syrup and artificial sweeteners (especially nutrasweet and splenda) I get obsessed with food. Figuring this out has been a major breakthrough for me as I have been fighting food addiction pretty much all my life. This book recognizes the bad in those artificial sweeteners and helps me to identify food/meal choices that are safe, as well as reducing sugars. I am so excited to try it!

posted Jul 4th, 2010 11:10 am


Charlotte

I'm on Day 5 and I can already see a change in my belly and I have lost 4 lbs. I did Atkins and lost 30 lbs, but when I went back on the diet it just didn't work. I tried South beach and every gimmick in between. This diet helps you realize just how much sugar is in all the foods we eat and how that is a result of all the belly fat in the world. The Belly Fat Cure is more of a lifestyle then a boring diet. My goal is to lose 30 lbs and get back to my comfortable weight. I have seen 3 people already get to their goal weight in less then 3 months
I have been recommending this diet to everyone.

posted Jun 18th, 2010 1:13 am


JACK GUENTHARD

What is the s/c value on Scotch and Vodka?

posted Jun 12th, 2010 2:55 pm


did it

LOST 36 lbs since Feb 15th!!!

It's May 28th now. LOVE IT!!!

The insight into insulin is the key!

did it!

posted May 28th, 2010 7:31 pm


Lilly

As a diabetic I am so pleased that I was introduced to this eating plan. It is an easy way for me to control sugar and a lot easier that the formula I was given to calculate my carb intake. I have been on the plan for 1 week now and have seen small changes. Week 1 was tough. My breakfast were cereal with soy milk and a banana. Shocker! when I found out how much sugar I was consuming. Now I make and egg or egg white omlette with spinach, mushroom, and cheese. Having this type of breakfast really controlls my appetite. I do have one question. What happens if I am not hungry at lunch time. Do I eat or do I wait until I feel hungry? I am not sure if the the 6 servings of carbs have to be consumed in the day. I know the sugars do not have to. Does anyone have the answer to this question

posted May 11th, 2010 4:26 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account