Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

45%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 48 reviews
The Belly Fat Cure

The Belly Fat Cure Review: Does it Work?

Use the Carb Swap System to smash belly fat!

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Belly Fat Cure is a weight loss plan claiming to offer 4 to 9 pounds of weight loss a week. It claims that the real reason people gain weight is due to a faulty combination of sugar and carbohydrates, and not excess calories.

There information about this diet is available in the official book which also has recipes and suggestions for eating. The diet describes how undereating and extreme dieting is not needed, and that this approach is backed by years of evolution. Our review experts have reviewed many kinds of weight loss diets, and the most effective was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It has an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning, metabolism boosting diet pill. Both contain natural ingredients without stimulants, artificial additives, fillers, binders, or colors. Learn more about why the 18Shake Diet was rated as the most effective for weight loss by clicking the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

The Belly Fat Cure Ingredients and Side Effects

The main idea of the diet is to limit sugar to 15 grams and carbohydrates to 120 grams a day. This is in order to lower insulin which is said to be the reason why hormones convert fat into fat cells.

It’s also said that the idea of excess calories and lack of exercise aren’t the reason why weight gain is likely. So the book introduces what’s known as the Carb Swap System. This leads to the 15/6 rule or 6 servings of complex carbohydrates and 15 grams of sugar. The creator mentions that our ancestors didn’t have access to the high amounts of sugar seen in our diets.

Our experts have created a list of the best diets for weight loss; click the link to read more.

The book also mentions:

“About 200 years ago, daily consumption of sugar was under 15 grams… Guess what you didn’t see much of then? Belly fat.”

This claim is not proven however as there is no evidence provided by the creator. There is also the idea that this diet will help target belly fat, though this spot reduction idea has been debunked with science. ExRx.net adds:

“Fat is lost through the day in a pattern dependent upon genetics, sex (hormones), and age. Overall body fat must be reduced to lose fat in any particular area”

This debunks one major claim made by the diet. There’s also no explanation why the exact 15 grams of sugar and 6 servings of carbohydrates is advised.  These numbers are specific without an explanation as to why they are beneficial.

The limit on sugar also extends to fruits, and it’s recommended to eat lower sugar foods such as berries. The issue with the 15 gram of sugar limit is that this is extremely low. One medium sizedbanana has around 14 grams of sugar, medium sized apple contains 19 grams of sugar, and a large orange has 17 grams of sugar. No proof is offered to show why this form of sugar in moderation would prevent weight loss.

The American Dietic Association has reviewed this plan:

“views on fruit and dairy lack s merit and may cause “nutrition deficiencies”… failure to list the calorie content of suggested meals or to advocate portion control”

This lack of important information can make it easier to overeat. The book claims that the most important thing for weight loss is not calorie counting, but this also has not been proven true. To see a comprehensive list of the best weight loss diets, click thelink here.

The website EatRightPro.com also mentions the lack of consideration this diet places on health:

“little regard to total fat, saturated fat, dietary cholesterol and sodium is, at the very least, irresponsible and at worst can be extremely harmful to one’s heart and overall health”

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

The Belly Fat Cure Quality of Ingredients

Many questionable suggestions are made without any proof. While limiting sugar and eating more complex carbohydrates is healthy, it’s not enough to promote weight loss.

There are debunked claims which are made such as the idea that belly fat can be treated directly, sugar from fruit must be reduced to 15 grams a day for weight loss, and that calorie counting is not needed for weight loss.

As far as the sugar limit on every form available including fruit, Authority Nutrition mentions:

“fruits are “real” foods. They are highly nutrition and so fulfilling”

“Eating Fruit Can Help You Lose Weight”

Due to the lack of quality information and proof, this diet has too many flaws to be considered a good diet. See which diet plans were rated as the best for weight loss via this link.

The Price and Quality of The Belly Fat Cure

The price depends on the quality of foods one chooses and the cost of the book. People have mentioned that the book suggests many specific brands that are either difficult to find, or can only be purchased online. These kinds of ingredients can be costly to keep purchasing.

There are many unproven claims made, and some users have noted how the recipes offered do not list the amount of calories and other nutrition facts. This makes it impossible to track one’s own individual needs for calories and other nutrients. When losing weight it’s important to have an idea of the calories one is getting, as activity level, sex, age, and weight loss desires play a role in determining total caloric intake.

Business of The Belly Fat Cure

The creator of this plan is Jorge Cruise, a celebrity fitness trainer. He has also promoted other diets for weight loss. Some people who have reviewed the creators diets mention how there is contradicting information

“check out his previous diet, which bashes low carb diets, when all thisnew diet of his is, a low carb diet!”

There were also complaints that the official website which features this book suppresses negative opinions:

“made a comment on their website, which they remove”

There are also questionable claims made about this diet which have not been proven to be true. The creator knowns about fitness, but he has no degree in nutrition to help show how he knows this would be an effective weight loss solution. For a list of the highest rated weight loss diets, click on the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of The Belly Fat Cure

The books Amazon.com page has 238 negative reviews. Here are some select quotes from users:

“found it difficult to count he sugars & carbs, and by mid-afternoon I had nearly “spent” my limit”

“This book is simply too restrictive to be a lifestyle”

“It’s full of information, which is VERY product specific”

“I have tried this diet for almost 4 days have not seen any loss of weight yet”

One major criticism of this diet is that the author makes suggestions for hard to find specific brands. Some have added how it feels as though the creator is paid to make these brand suggestions.

There were also issues with the recipes offered being impractical and featuring hard to find ingredients. The majority of people mentioned that there was very common sense information such as getting lean protein, complex carbohydrates, and limiting sugar. The advised limit for sugar and carbohydrates was difficult to sustain for people. Often within lunch time people had already passed the advised limit.

The most common complaint is that the information is too basic, and not effective enough to promote sustained weight loss. See which diet plans were rated as the best for weight loss by clicking the link here.

Conclusion - Does The Belly Fat Cure Work?

The Belly Fat Cure makes many suggestions which have not been proven true. Limiting sugar is important for overall health, but the limit of 15 grams a day is not specific anywhere is being the optimal number. This also makes it difficult to enjoy fruits even in moderation. There is no information about calorie counting and no nutritional information is offered for any of the recipes featured. No evidence exists either that one can target belly fat loss, as the spot reduction myth has been debunked. Another issue with the diet is that many users have complained that there isn’t enough information available to help promote sustained weight loss. Users often add how the information is basic, and that there are also claims made without evidence.

Our review experts have discovered that the most effective weight loss solution is the 18Shake Diet. It has a combined weight loss effect via its appetite suppressing meal replacement, and a fat burning metabolism booster. They help maximize weight loss without any added colors, fillers, stimulants binders, and artificial ingredients. Users have left positive testimonials on their official website declaring how effective it is.

The 18Shake Diet is also fully backed by an entire 30 day money back return policy. This guarantee is available to customers with no questions asked. Learn more about the 18Shake Diet by clicking the link here.

How Does The Belly Fat Cure Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • The Belly Fat Cure
  • 45 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 4, 78 total comments)

Charlotte

+

I'm on Day 5 and I can already see a change in my belly and I have lost 4 lbs. I did Atkins and lost 30 lbs, but when I went back on the diet it just didn't work. I tried South beach and every gimmick in between. This diet helps you realize just how much sugar is in all the foods we eat and how that is a result of all the belly fat in the world. The Belly Fat Cure is more of a lifestyle then a boring diet. My goal is to lose 30 lbs and get back to my comfortable weight. I have seen 3 people already get to their goal weight in less then 3 months
I have been recommending this diet to everyone.

posted Jun 18th, 2010 1:13 am


JACK GUENTHARD

What is the s/c value on Scotch and Vodka?

posted Jun 12th, 2010 2:55 pm


did it

LOST 36 lbs since Feb 15th!!!

It's May 28th now. LOVE IT!!!

The insight into insulin is the key!

did it!

posted May 28th, 2010 7:31 pm


Lilly

+

As a diabetic I am so pleased that I was introduced to this eating plan. It is an easy way for me to control sugar and a lot easier that the formula I was given to calculate my carb intake. I have been on the plan for 1 week now and have seen small changes. Week 1 was tough. My breakfast were cereal with soy milk and a banana. Shocker! when I found out how much sugar I was consuming. Now I make and egg or egg white omlette with spinach, mushroom, and cheese. Having this type of breakfast really controlls my appetite. I do have one question. What happens if I am not hungry at lunch time. Do I eat or do I wait until I feel hungry? I am not sure if the the 6 servings of carbs have to be consumed in the day. I know the sugars do not have to. Does anyone have the answer to this question

posted May 11th, 2010 4:26 pm


jfleming

The "Swap" is 15 grams of sugar a day and 6 SERVINGS - not 6 Grams! of carbs a day! 20grams per serving of carbs per day, so 6 x 20 -- 120 grams of carbs a day, not 6. Please verify with Jorge Cruise book and you'll see...

posted May 10th, 2010 12:02 am


LauraG

This is less of a diet and more of a way of eating. I have adopted it and have lost 22 lbs (so far). I am 5'6'' and started at 172 lbs. I travel a LOT for work and it is easy to follow on the go. Please try this and learn more about insulin and its ties to storing fat. You will never go back to Weight Watchers.

posted May 1st, 2010 1:46 pm


julie

+

this diet works. I am on my second week and though I didn't lose as much weight as expected but I did lose some and also lost inches. but what was most important to me was that I lost my cravings which makes the diet easy to stick too. the recipes are also very good.

posted May 1st, 2010 2:24 am


connie livingston

+

lost 9 lbs in first two weeks

posted Apr 28th, 2010 7:22 pm


Stewee

+

I started this diet a week ago and lost a surprising 6 lbs and 2 inches around my mid-section. I have given up a million times trying to lose weight. This diet makes it easy, and I don't get discouraged. I highly recommend this book/diet!

posted Apr 20th, 2010 12:47 pm


Shelly

+

I have been on this plan for one week and have dropped 8lbs like that! I am what is considered morbidly obese and i according to the book should be dropping 10-14lbs per week .. I must admit I cheated just a lil bit but still i have to make this manageable for me.. and so far i love it! it wasn't that big of change for me and the results are awesome ... nothing has ever worked this well for me!

posted Apr 17th, 2010 12:37 am


Morgan

I am vegetarian not vegan and Jorge's suggestions are to use a lot of meat substitutes which are often not appealing to vegetarians. I do enjoy veggie burgers but the others..ugh! So I can see why the diet would work but I can't figure out what to eat as so much of the protein is meat or fish.

posted Apr 11th, 2010 3:43 pm


Maui Gal

+

I particularly have tried many diets and in my opinion, I think this diet REFINES low carb n' low sugar diets which through experience eating foods high in processed carbs and sugar just packs on the pounds! The way I perceive it is he streamlined it and made it easy, tells you what you should have instead of what you can't have which is what most diets tell you and allows you to teach yourself how to make better choices without feeling deprived like most other diets do. You can still have potato chips - eat those that are considered better....you can still have ice cream, but one with no highly processed sugars - the list goes on!

For those who stated that they 'DON'T' like it or have gained instead of lost, I have to assume that you must've been doing something wrong.

A diet low in carbs and sugar will get you results! Why? Because I lost approximately 70lbs myself before getting a hold of this book and that's how I lost it along with 5 days a week of exercise!

Hold yourself accountable people! Don't blame the author or the book! It is a TOOL for you to use and if used properly results will occur. Our bodies were not made to eat HIGH quantities of MAN MADE FOODS! If you drink a soda, that's OVER the sugar consumption for this Belly Fat Cure lifestyle of eating - just that ONE SODA! Think about it! No one can blame anyone but themselves for 'things that don't work.' No one has total control over your actions but you. So stop blaming, whining and figure it out!

For those of you who have had success with low carb n' low sugar diets, you will LOVE this book!

posted Apr 7th, 2010 8:08 pm


Michael Tuke

+

I can already see a difference after one week. I am not focusing at all on the weight loss, just the shape of my belly, it has decreased. Like someone else has said, you cannot believe how much sugar is in everything. One thing is for sure we all consume way too much sugar according to all the experts which can lead to the belly fat and other issues you cannot visually see on the outside. I am sticking with it !

posted Apr 5th, 2010 9:48 pm


Audy

It's 6 servings of carbs a day not 6 grams for anyone who is confused. 6-20 grams of carbs is one serving.

posted Apr 5th, 2010 4:05 pm


alyssa

+

I love it!!!!! I am on day 5 and I am down 3 and a half pounds! It is a healthy diet...I feel better than ever. I think this diet is a keeper.

posted Apr 3rd, 2010 2:13 pm


Robo

I've been on this diet for three weeks and have lost five lbs - and my jeans feel noticeably looser around the waist. The book clues you in to how much sugar is hiding in foods - I think you'll be shocked like I was. When you cut sugar out of your diet, your appetite naturally declines. I eat much less than I did before starting the diet, but don't feel famished like I did with WW, or feel like I'm constantly thinking about food, also like I did on WW.

As for the cost: Mr. Cruise despises all synthetic forms of sweetener and only recommends natural sweeteners. Which is all fine and dandy, except the products made with natural sweeteners tend to be SUPER expensive. While I like the diet, I can't afford Zevia soda and the like. So I'm sticking with the diet - and eating the sugar-free alternatives made with Splenda and aspartame (heresy!). Easy on the waistline - and easier on the budget.

posted Mar 23rd, 2010 4:49 pm


Jeanette Lynch

+

This has helped me lose those last difficult pounds that are just so hard to get rid of. The sugar limitation also has other positive benefits as well. It's easy to fill up on protein, but I really miss being able to have a piece of fruit. A banana would totally blow the diet. So, think of it as short term only--to get rid of troubling lbs. It works!

posted Mar 16th, 2010 3:11 pm


dietdiva23

I'm about to start this diet. Do I need to begin with one of Jorge's "One Week Menu" from his book or can I just do my own thing as long as I do 15/6? I'm confused by his book. Please help somebody? thank you.

posted Mar 13th, 2010 3:42 pm


canadagirl

+

This diet it definitely a good way to start a new way of thinking about food and what you're eating, Ive been on it for about a week and havent lost any inches yet, but do feel smaller in many areas and definitely have a smaller appetite! My sister has also lost 7 pounds within the first week......just keep at it and stick to it and you will see results

posted Mar 10th, 2010 10:42 pm


LauraHelen

Some people mentioned ingredients that were hard-to-find or expensive. The nice part about this program is that you don't have to get anything special. If you choose to though, Stevia is in almost every store now and is no more expensive (cheaper where I am) than splenda/sweet-n-low. He recommends certain products, but you don't have to use them. If you follow the s/c counts in the back of the book, choose lean meats and fresh ingredients, and read the nutrition labels, you can follow this easily and for not a lot of money!!

posted Mar 9th, 2010 12:43 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Belly Fat Cure is a new book written by Jorge Cruise that promises to help you lose four to nine pounds every week with his Carb Swap System.

The Carb Swap System involves eliminating excess sugar and processed carbohydrates. With this plan, you eat a recommended 15 grams of sugar and 6 servings of carbs each day. Being able to lose four to nine pounds each week is definitely an inspirational goal for many that are trying to lose weight. Although you can lose this amount of weight, Cruise states that only two to three pounds will be from 100% belly fat. The rest of the weight comes from false belly fat, which is trapped waste matter.

The Belly Fat Cure talks in depth about the true reason that you are overweight. According to Cruise it’s because of the hidden sweeteners in food that deliver belly-fattening sugar and carb values to your diet.

The Belly Fat Cure also offers an eating guide that gives you smart and affordable food choices. There are more than 1,500 food options that are broken into categories specifically for carboholics, meat lovers, chicken and seafood fans, chocoholics, fast-food junkies and vegans. With the Belly Fat Cure, you don’t have any specific timing or scheduling around when you eat.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Includes several recipes
  • Foods for those that love meat, carbs, chocolate or seafood
  • Also includes foods for vegans
  • Will result in weight loss if followed correctly
  • Easy plan to follow
  • Encourages a nutritious way of eating
  • Author has written several other books on weight loss
  • There's a companion iPhone and iPad app called The Belly Fat Cure Sugar & Carb Counter
CON
  • Exercise not encouraged for losing weight
  • Focus on insulin instead of calories may be hard for some to grasp
  • Healthy rate of weight loss should be one to two pounds per week
DIET and NUTRITION

Through the Belly Fat Cure program, the focus is the patented Carb Swap System for losing weight. The Carb Swap System focuses on 15 grams of sugar per day and 6 servings of carbs. The Carb Swap System also helps eliminate those hidden sugars from your diet that are contributing to weight gain and difficulty losing weight. There are thorough lists of foods that you can eat while on the program, along with several recipes.

Here are some of the recipes that are included:

  • Breakfast: Zesty Quiche Lorraine
  • Lunch: Simple Swiss & Mushroom Burger
  • Dinner: Crispy Fish & Chips
  • Snack: Sweet Strawberry Smoothie
EXERCISE

Jorge Cruise does not encourage exercise for the purpose of losing weight, but for reducing stress, toning and staying strong. Exercise is not required to lose weight following the Belly Fat Cure program.

A couple of workouts that are recommended by Jorge Cruise include his program called 8 Minutes in the Morning and his advanced program called The 12-Second Sequence. Both of these exercise routines are available through books with the same titles.

Some of the exercises recommended in The Belly Fat Cure book are designed specifically to whittle down your midsection. Some of the recommendations given include:

  • Walking: get in a 20-minute power walk as often as possible
  • 8 Minute Ab Sculptor program: Toe reach, reverse crunch and other exercises
CONCLUSION

The Belly Fat Cure by well-known fitness guru, Jorge Cruise, is a book that will give you the results you’re looking for and help you lose weight at a consistent rate. The program does seem to be mainly for those looking to reduce belly fat rather than their overall weight. If belly fat has been a problem for you, this program might serve as a great guide to help with that.

There are several delicious recipes included no matter what type of eater you are. The book does include both an eating and exercise plan, although the exercise portion is completely optional. Getting rid of belly fat can be a great step towards improving your overall health.

Common Misspellings

belly fat cured, bellie fat cure, belly fats cure, belly fat cures, belly fat diet

Related Diets: Jorge Cruise 12-Second Sequence, Jorge Cruise 8 Minutes in the Morning, Flat Belly Diet for Men, Prevention's Flat Belly Diet, 3-Hour Diet at Home

Whats better than
The Belly Fat Cure?