Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Books Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 45 reviews

The Belly Fat Cure

Use the Carb Swap System to smash belly fat!

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Belly Fat Cure is a new book written by Jorge Cruise that promises to help you lose four to nine pounds every week with his Carb Swap System.

The Carb Swap System involves eliminating excess sugar and processed carbohydrates. With this plan, you eat a recommended 15 grams of sugar and 6 servings of carbs each day. Being able to lose four to nine pounds each week is definitely an inspirational goal for many that are trying to lose weight. Although you can lose this amount of weight, Cruise states that only two to three pounds will be from 100% belly fat. The rest of the weight comes from false belly fat, which is trapped waste matter.

The Belly Fat Cure talks in depth about the true reason that you are overweight. According to Cruise it’s because of the hidden sweeteners in food that deliver belly-fattening sugar and carb values to your diet.

The Belly Fat Cure also offers an eating guide that gives you smart and affordable food choices. There are more than 1,500 food options that are broken into categories specifically for carboholics, meat lovers, chicken and seafood fans, chocoholics, fast-food junkies and vegans. With the Belly Fat Cure, you don’t have any specific timing or scheduling around when you eat.

PRO
  • Includes several recipes
  • Foods for those that love meat, carbs, chocolate or seafood
  • Also includes foods for vegans
  • Will result in weight loss if followed correctly
  • Easy plan to follow
  • Encourages a nutritious way of eating
  • Author has written several other books on weight loss
  • There's a companion iPhone and iPad app called The Belly Fat Cure Sugar & Carb Counter
CON
  • Exercise not encouraged for losing weight
  • Focus on insulin instead of calories may be hard for some to grasp
  • Healthy rate of weight loss should be one to two pounds per week
DIET and NUTRITION

Through the Belly Fat Cure program, the focus is the patented Carb Swap System for losing weight. The Carb Swap System focuses on 15 grams of sugar per day and 6 servings of carbs. The Carb Swap System also helps eliminate those hidden sugars from your diet that are contributing to weight gain and difficulty losing weight. There are thorough lists of foods that you can eat while on the program, along with several recipes.

Here are some of the recipes that are included:

  • Breakfast: Zesty Quiche Lorraine
  • Lunch: Simple Swiss & Mushroom Burger
  • Dinner: Crispy Fish & Chips
  • Snack: Sweet Strawberry Smoothie
EXERCISE

Jorge Cruise does not encourage exercise for the purpose of losing weight, but for reducing stress, toning and staying strong. Exercise is not required to lose weight following the Belly Fat Cure program.

A couple of workouts that are recommended by Jorge Cruise include his program called 8 Minutes in the Morning and his advanced program called The 12-Second Sequence. Both of these exercise routines are available through books with the same titles.

Some of the exercises recommended in The Belly Fat Cure book are designed specifically to whittle down your midsection. Some of the recommendations given include:

  • Walking: get in a 20-minute power walk as often as possible
  • 8 Minute Ab Sculptor program: Toe reach, reverse crunch and other exercises
CONCLUSION

The Belly Fat Cure by well-known fitness guru, Jorge Cruise, is a book that will give you the results you’re looking for and help you lose weight at a consistent rate. The program does seem to be mainly for those looking to reduce belly fat rather than their overall weight. If belly fat has been a problem for you, this program might serve as a great guide to help with that.

There are several delicious recipes included no matter what type of eater you are. The book does include both an eating and exercise plan, although the exercise portion is completely optional. Getting rid of belly fat can be a great step towards improving your overall health.

Common Misspellings

belly fat cured, bellie fat cure, belly fats cure, belly fat cures, belly fat diet


Related Diets: Jorge Cruise 12-Second Sequence, Jorge Cruise 8 Minutes in the Morning, Flat Belly Diet for Men, Prevention's Flat Belly Diet, 3-Hour Diet at Home


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 4, 73 total comments)

LauraG

This is less of a diet and more of a way of eating. I have adopted it and have lost 22 lbs (so far). I am 5'6'' and started at 172 lbs. I travel a LOT for work and it is easy to follow on the go. Please try this and learn more about insulin and its ties to storing fat. You will never go back to Weight Watchers.

posted May 1st, 2010 1:46 pm


julie

this diet works. I am on my second week and though I didn't lose as much weight as expected but I did lose some and also lost inches. but what was most important to me was that I lost my cravings which makes the diet easy to stick too. the recipes are also very good.

posted May 1st, 2010 2:24 am


connie livingston

lost 9 lbs in first two weeks

posted Apr 28th, 2010 7:22 pm


Stewee

I started this diet a week ago and lost a surprising 6 lbs and 2 inches around my mid-section. I have given up a million times trying to lose weight. This diet makes it easy, and I don't get discouraged. I highly recommend this book/diet!

posted Apr 20th, 2010 12:47 pm


Shelly

I have been on this plan for one week and have dropped 8lbs like that! I am what is considered morbidly obese and i according to the book should be dropping 10-14lbs per week .. I must admit I cheated just a lil bit but still i have to make this manageable for me.. and so far i love it! it wasn't that big of change for me and the results are awesome ... nothing has ever worked this well for me!

posted Apr 17th, 2010 12:37 am


Morgan

I am vegetarian not vegan and Jorge's suggestions are to use a lot of meat substitutes which are often not appealing to vegetarians. I do enjoy veggie burgers but the others..ugh! So I can see why the diet would work but I can't figure out what to eat as so much of the protein is meat or fish.

posted Apr 11th, 2010 3:43 pm


Maui Gal

I particularly have tried many diets and in my opinion, I think this diet REFINES low carb n' low sugar diets which through experience eating foods high in processed carbs and sugar just packs on the pounds! The way I perceive it is he streamlined it and made it easy, tells you what you should have instead of what you can't have which is what most diets tell you and allows you to teach yourself how to make better choices without feeling deprived like most other diets do. You can still have potato chips - eat those that are considered better....you can still have ice cream, but one with no highly processed sugars - the list goes on!

For those who stated that they 'DON'T' like it or have gained instead of lost, I have to assume that you must've been doing something wrong.

A diet low in carbs and sugar will get you results! Why? Because I lost approximately 70lbs myself before getting a hold of this book and that's how I lost it along with 5 days a week of exercise!

Hold yourself accountable people! Don't blame the author or the book! It is a TOOL for you to use and if used properly results will occur. Our bodies were not made to eat HIGH quantities of MAN MADE FOODS! If you drink a soda, that's OVER the sugar consumption for this Belly Fat Cure lifestyle of eating - just that ONE SODA! Think about it! No one can blame anyone but themselves for 'things that don't work.' No one has total control over your actions but you. So stop blaming, whining and figure it out!

For those of you who have had success with low carb n' low sugar diets, you will LOVE this book!

posted Apr 7th, 2010 8:08 pm


Michael Tuke

I can already see a difference after one week. I am not focusing at all on the weight loss, just the shape of my belly, it has decreased. Like someone else has said, you cannot believe how much sugar is in everything. One thing is for sure we all consume way too much sugar according to all the experts which can lead to the belly fat and other issues you cannot visually see on the outside. I am sticking with it !

posted Apr 5th, 2010 9:48 pm


Audy

It's 6 servings of carbs a day not 6 grams for anyone who is confused. 6-20 grams of carbs is one serving.

posted Apr 5th, 2010 4:05 pm


alyssa

I love it!!!!! I am on day 5 and I am down 3 and a half pounds! It is a healthy diet...I feel better than ever. I think this diet is a keeper.

posted Apr 3rd, 2010 2:13 pm


Robo

I've been on this diet for three weeks and have lost five lbs - and my jeans feel noticeably looser around the waist. The book clues you in to how much sugar is hiding in foods - I think you'll be shocked like I was. When you cut sugar out of your diet, your appetite naturally declines. I eat much less than I did before starting the diet, but don't feel famished like I did with WW, or feel like I'm constantly thinking about food, also like I did on WW.

As for the cost: Mr. Cruise despises all synthetic forms of sweetener and only recommends natural sweeteners. Which is all fine and dandy, except the products made with natural sweeteners tend to be SUPER expensive. While I like the diet, I can't afford Zevia soda and the like. So I'm sticking with the diet - and eating the sugar-free alternatives made with Splenda and aspartame (heresy!). Easy on the waistline - and easier on the budget.

posted Mar 23rd, 2010 4:49 pm


Jeanette Lynch

This has helped me lose those last difficult pounds that are just so hard to get rid of. The sugar limitation also has other positive benefits as well. It's easy to fill up on protein, but I really miss being able to have a piece of fruit. A banana would totally blow the diet. So, think of it as short term only--to get rid of troubling lbs. It works!

posted Mar 16th, 2010 3:11 pm


dietdiva23

I'm about to start this diet. Do I need to begin with one of Jorge's "One Week Menu" from his book or can I just do my own thing as long as I do 15/6? I'm confused by his book. Please help somebody? thank you.

posted Mar 13th, 2010 3:42 pm


canadagirl

This diet it definitely a good way to start a new way of thinking about food and what you're eating, Ive been on it for about a week and havent lost any inches yet, but do feel smaller in many areas and definitely have a smaller appetite! My sister has also lost 7 pounds within the first week......just keep at it and stick to it and you will see results

posted Mar 10th, 2010 10:42 pm


LauraHelen

Some people mentioned ingredients that were hard-to-find or expensive. The nice part about this program is that you don't have to get anything special. If you choose to though, Stevia is in almost every store now and is no more expensive (cheaper where I am) than splenda/sweet-n-low. He recommends certain products, but you don't have to use them. If you follow the s/c counts in the back of the book, choose lean meats and fresh ingredients, and read the nutrition labels, you can follow this easily and for not a lot of money!!

posted Mar 9th, 2010 12:43 pm


Ed

I have been on this program for about seven weeks. I needed to lose some weight and lower my blood pressure or my doctor was going to put me on BP medicine. As recommended, I only use Truvia instead of other sweeteners and have been drinking SOBE LifeWater (0 calarie product). I have gone from 214.2 to 203 lbs. Stick to 15 grams of sugar every day and you will see results. When you see the scale moving down, you will try harder. Do it for YOU!

posted Mar 8th, 2010 1:05 pm


Lori

I just bought the book today and watched the five classes on You Tube alone with some of the other videos and cannot understand how it wouldn't work. In my case, my belly is way out of proportion to the rest of my body and I eat tons of sugar and carbs...controlling these two substances has to produce results! I can't wait to see where I am at in three months!

posted Mar 6th, 2010 9:43 pm


Monica

I'm on this diet and I'm loving it! I just want to correct something: this diet is based in 15 grams of sugar and 6 SERVINGS(no grams) of carbs/day.
one serving of carbs can go from 5 to 20 grams. it means that you can have up to 120gr carbs/day.IT IS WORKING FOR ME SO FAR! I'M VERY HAPPY! TKS JORGE FOR ALL YOUR HARD WORK ON THAT.

posted Mar 4th, 2010 4:24 pm


Alejandra

Love it, sure some of the food is hard to find, but is your life worth the look? I lost about 15 lbs in one month, and my husband has lost 20 lbs. We carry our own sweetener to restaurants and order the unsweetened ice tea. Stopped using ketchup, and read labels at the store before we buy our groceries. It is simple to do once you have decided to shift your thinking about the way you eat. Like Jorge says in his book, you have to say and think "Instant health is my divine right,and I claim it now." Good Luck

posted Feb 27th, 2010 10:28 pm


krista d

I followed the 15 grams of sugar/6 servings of carbs rule for 6 weeks and did not lose a thing. I even excerised 3 times a week! The recommended foods and ingredients were hard to find, and expensive as well. I do not recommend this diet to anyone.

posted Feb 26th, 2010 2:26 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account