Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

100%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 75 reviews

Nutri Mirror

Online Food Diary and Exercise Behavior

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

NutriMirror is an online food diary that is an absolutely free service that allows you to keep precise track of your health and weight loss goals. NutriMirror is not a diet but rather an internet-based system for managing the behaviors that affect your health. It encourages you to be held accountable for your actions so that you can achieve a healthy weight and nutritional balance.

After completing a brief user profile, you receive an overview of certain important health markers like your BMI and your basal metabolic rate. Once you have created a user profile you can then begin logging your daily food and exercise have access to NutriMirror’s food and exercise diaries. After each entry, you receive a NutriMirror Reflection which is a synopsis of how well or not-so-well you are adhering to your health goals.

PRO
  • Encourages personal accountability for meeting your weight loss goals
  • Studies show that keeping a food diary improves diet outcome
  • NutriMirror reports point out shortcomings in your diet and exercise habits
  • Free
CON
  • Does not include a customized diet or exercise plan
DIET and NUTRITION

NutriMirror can be used in conjunction with any diet plan. Each day, you log what you ate and how much ate in your food diary and NutriMirror gives you an immediate report of how your food stacks up against what you should be eating. You receive a breakdown of calories, fat grams, vitamins, minerals, fiber and carbohydrates after entering in a snack or a meal.

It also highlights what nutrients you are keeping in your target range and which ones are out of your target range. For instance, if you already consumed enough saturated fat for the day once you entered your lunch information, then the number of fat grams will be shown in red, alerting you to pay attention to your saturated fat intake for the rest of the day.

EXERCISE

NutriMirror does not formulate an exercise program for you but it computes and reports the impact of all your elective exercises on your calorie balance via the Exercise Log. After selecting the type of exercise, the duration and intensity, your Exercise Log will give you a synopsis of how many calories your burned. You can also set weekly exercise goals and view a detailed report that tracks how well you have adhered to these goals.

CONCLUSION

NutriMirror is an online tool that allows you to track your own diet and fitness progress for free. It was created in light of research that shows individuals who keep consistent and daily food diaries have a higher success rate in meeting their weight loss goals and maintaining them over the long-term. NutriMirror is an excellent and comprehensive program that promotes personal accountability for how your behaviors impact your level of health.

Common Misspellings

Nutri Mirror, Nutra Mirror, NutriMiror, Nutri Miror, NutriMirror Food diary, NutraMirror


Related Diets: Spark People


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 5, 93 total comments)

Barry

The Nutrimirror home page includes a two week overview of your nutrient and calorie balance that is very helpful in spotting and managing trends.

posted Mar 10th, 2010 2:02 pm


Jacqui

I have used the site for 6 months, and with the help of the trackers and information readily available, I have lost 45 lbs. Cannot suggest this site highly enough!!!!! It is wonderful. I love the fact that you can put in your recipies and find out what you really are putting into your body. Fabulous site.

posted Mar 10th, 2010 1:54 pm


Sylvia

Healthy eating promotes healthy weight. This program thas taught me how to balance the foods I love. There is no deprival with this program. You customize your own eating program.

posted Mar 10th, 2010 1:31 pm


Rachel

I've been using Nutrimirror daily since February 2009. It's phenomenal. The red/green charts make it so easy to see immediately how you're doing. It's a balanced approach, encouraging healthy eating. I've lost over 20 lbs on NM, and maintained that loss for over 6 months now.

The fact that it "does not include a customized diet or exercise plan" as shown in the article as a Con, in fact I would consider a Pro. This site allows you to be you - to eat foods you've always eaten, and to exercise however you'd like or not at all. But if you do exercise and make good choices with your food, you immediately get positive feedback - good scores on your nutrients, and more calories to consume while still meeting your goal.

And finally, it tells you once and for all, if you're getting the right nutrients in your diet through your food, or whether you should be taking a multivitamin daily.

It's impossible to say enough and do the website justice. I recommend everyone to give it a try and see.

posted Mar 10th, 2010 1:26 pm


Sylvia

Healthy eating promotes healthy weight. That is what NutriMirror has done for me. It is not a diet, it is about balancing the foods you love.

posted Mar 10th, 2010 1:25 pm


WitchDaddy

Simply the best tool for people serious about achieving health as opposed to a quick fix diet. Can you loose weight using the website? YES - but the creators understand that weight problems are often the symptom of poor eating and exercise habits... by working on improved eating and activity level, users quickly find their weight issues resolve naturally. Wonderful site (and some of the most supportive people you will find anywhere) and did I meantion its cost? FREE. Highly recommended!

posted Mar 10th, 2010 1:10 pm


Don

I have tried all the fab diets..lose a few then gain it back...I have been logging what I eat, and changing what I eat, and have lost 26 pounds so far...and feel healthier than I have in years...The feed back and family like atmosphere will keep you motivated...

posted Mar 10th, 2010 1:06 pm


Cindy

I've been using NutriMirror since January 09. And so far, I've lost 42 pounds. I've used every kind of weight loss plan known to man and this one is the only one that really makes sense and truly the only one that has given me the results I wanted and needed. And the 'CON' listed here I do not agree with. I don't want anyone telling me I should eat this and not that. My life is full of every kind of delicious food choice there is. And I wouldn't, and won't live my life restricting my diet any longer. And as far as exercise, as long as you're committed to just moving every day, that's one the most important decisions you can make for yourself. I highly recommend this website, not only for the nutritional feedback it provides, but also for the on-line supportive community it brings with it.

posted Mar 10th, 2010 1:05 pm


SCL

Over the last 2-3 years I watched my weight increase and reach unhealthy levels. I hired a personal trainer, took weight loss pills and didn't get results. I joined Nutrimirror in Dec 09, and in 10 weeks I lost 14lbs, reduced my BMI by almost 2%, and went down 2 dress sizes. I found the food logs easy to use even for ethnic (Asian, Latino) foods, and with the feedback from the personalized analyses, I modified my eating habits - I'm much better at managing not only what I eat but also how much I eat. Nutrimirror''s approach can help build sustainable weight management.

posted Mar 6th, 2010 12:57 pm


Karyn

I forgot to say - I don't consider the fact that there is no diet or exercise plan to be a CON! Just the opposite - I am the one in charge, and this tool continues to teach me how to manage my own nutrition without having to stick to a rigid, impersonal plan. "No diet or exercise plan" should be a PRO!!

posted Feb 28th, 2010 7:08 am


Karyn

Nutrimirror is fantastic. I have been a member since July 09 and have lost 61 pounds, more than my original goal. The feedback is personal and motivating; if I see red, I know I have not reached balance yet. I will be able to maintain my weight loss with this tool. The other users are supportive, knowledgeable, and very helpful. I highly recommend NM to anyone who will listen!

posted Feb 28th, 2010 7:07 am


catherine nelson

one word - awesome!

posted Oct 7th, 2009 4:16 am


Lori

I have been using NM since April 09 and have lost 31 lbs. The site is easy to use and the community is very supportive.

posted Sep 16th, 2009 9:17 pm


betty patterson

i don't have one

posted Aug 29th, 2009 6:33 pm


Barbi

I've been using this site since April and have lost 30 lbs. The hardest part is the honesty. I didn't like what I saw in my NutriMirror when I first started but have learned not to attribute it to personal failure. I was just uneducated. Knowledge is power

posted Aug 26th, 2009 12:18 pm


Rebecca

I love this Diet Review. I've tried everything--nothing has worked, but keeping track like this is wonderful. Lost 1 lb. first week.

posted Aug 24th, 2009 3:13 pm


Danielle

Best thing out there and it really is absolutely free without trying to sell you anything; no diet gimmicks this is the real thing!

posted Jun 24th, 2009 8:31 am


Dinoshark

Love this website. It is based on real feedback. I have already made positive changes in my life motivated by this website and I have only been a member for about a week. You HAVE to check it out.

posted Apr 1st, 2009 5:59 pm


Kelly

Wonderful site for people looking to make a long term change

posted Mar 20th, 2009 3:36 pm


Jennifer

Love

posted Feb 3rd, 2009 6:35 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account