Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

100%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 75 reviews

Nutri Mirror

Online Food Diary and Exercise Behavior

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

NutriMirror is an online food diary that is an absolutely free service that allows you to keep precise track of your health and weight loss goals. NutriMirror is not a diet but rather an internet-based system for managing the behaviors that affect your health. It encourages you to be held accountable for your actions so that you can achieve a healthy weight and nutritional balance.

After completing a brief user profile, you receive an overview of certain important health markers like your BMI and your basal metabolic rate. Once you have created a user profile you can then begin logging your daily food and exercise have access to NutriMirror’s food and exercise diaries. After each entry, you receive a NutriMirror Reflection which is a synopsis of how well or not-so-well you are adhering to your health goals.

PRO
  • Encourages personal accountability for meeting your weight loss goals
  • Studies show that keeping a food diary improves diet outcome
  • NutriMirror reports point out shortcomings in your diet and exercise habits
  • Free
CON
  • Does not include a customized diet or exercise plan
DIET and NUTRITION

NutriMirror can be used in conjunction with any diet plan. Each day, you log what you ate and how much ate in your food diary and NutriMirror gives you an immediate report of how your food stacks up against what you should be eating. You receive a breakdown of calories, fat grams, vitamins, minerals, fiber and carbohydrates after entering in a snack or a meal.

It also highlights what nutrients you are keeping in your target range and which ones are out of your target range. For instance, if you already consumed enough saturated fat for the day once you entered your lunch information, then the number of fat grams will be shown in red, alerting you to pay attention to your saturated fat intake for the rest of the day.

EXERCISE

NutriMirror does not formulate an exercise program for you but it computes and reports the impact of all your elective exercises on your calorie balance via the Exercise Log. After selecting the type of exercise, the duration and intensity, your Exercise Log will give you a synopsis of how many calories your burned. You can also set weekly exercise goals and view a detailed report that tracks how well you have adhered to these goals.

CONCLUSION

NutriMirror is an online tool that allows you to track your own diet and fitness progress for free. It was created in light of research that shows individuals who keep consistent and daily food diaries have a higher success rate in meeting their weight loss goals and maintaining them over the long-term. NutriMirror is an excellent and comprehensive program that promotes personal accountability for how your behaviors impact your level of health.

Common Misspellings

Nutri Mirror, Nutra Mirror, NutriMiror, Nutri Miror, NutriMirror Food diary, NutraMirror


Related Diets: Spark People


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 5, 93 total comments)

JCSteele

I joined NM on May 15 09 and met my original goal this week. I have decided to lose another 7 pounds. I am no longer overweight but I want to have some wiggle room. I plan to use NutriMirror for the rest of my life. The site and the Rays and their staff are awesome.

posted Mar 12th, 2010 1:34 pm


Claire

I've been using Nutrimirror for about a month. This site is a great tool for improving your health through nutrition. I tried prescription iron supplements without much success. I like this site because I can see how much iron I'm getting from food. It has made me a participant in my own health! And I've lost a few pounds. Also, Funny and supportive staff and members!

posted Mar 12th, 2010 11:38 am


sulahian

This is not a diet. Diets suck. They make you fat. This ingenious absolutely free site (a gift to our world from one family) is a tool that helps you learn what you need to know about food and about yourself so that you can make the important decisions that will save your life. I found this site in August of 2008 and have lost 105 pounds...slow and smart. I have no reason to think those pounds will be back, since I didn't lose them using a gimmick or depriving myself. Sure, I feel wonderful now that I'm lighter, but I felt great immediately upon taking control of my eating. My life had changed by week 2. The changes were taking place in my understanding of nutrition and therefore I was able to renovate my relationship with food. If you're tired of the diet industry making money off your poor health and then making it even worse, check out NutriMirror. It's the real deal.

posted Mar 12th, 2010 5:22 am


Pamela

I joined in Sept 2009 after decades of dieting. I have learned that the key to a healthy weight lies in meeting your bodies nutritional needs and Nutri Mirror is just the tool to make that happen. Thanks to this site and it's many users, I am finally learning to cook healthy, nutritional meals that my whole family enjoys. I have lost 22 pounds so far and feel better than I have in years.

posted Mar 11th, 2010 10:01 pm


LauraR

The journal room people are also very good at supporting each other. This is way better than I ever expected to find.

posted Mar 11th, 2010 6:02 pm



Julie Morton

I have tried many different ways to lose weight and this is the only one that I feel good about. I know I am balanced, I know that I am getting enough to eat and I know I am healthy. I dont recommend any other but NutriMirror. I am very happy to be part of NM family and I will be for life.

posted Mar 11th, 2010 5:26 pm


susan f

I think NutriMirror is mis-labeled as a "diet." It is a tool for restructuring your life by bringing your healthy habits to the forefront and helping you choose to avoid your weaker habits. The lack of prescribed exercise plan makes it work for everyone, even those who cannot exercise could still benefit from the NutriMirror analysis and guidance.

I already was working out in the gym 5 days a week, with minimal weight loss for over a year before I found NutriMirror. Now 6 months later I am down about 20 lbs. That is a real accomplishment for me, and proof that the method works.

I've tried other programs before, and like this better than any of the others. It's something that I can use to keep calorie counts, nutrition information and a whole-picture look at my health in one place, all easily accessible.

These guys have started a quiet revolution in weight management through sane, controlled eating with the goal on healthy choices to establish a lifelong pattern of new behavior.

Just what the doctor ordered. :-)

posted Mar 11th, 2010 5:13 pm


Becca

I have been using NM since August of 2008 and I have lost and kept off 68 pounds since starting. Very wonderful tool and the community is like family!

posted Mar 11th, 2010 5:08 pm


Kristine

this is the best nutritional site around and people worldwide use it. being able to see what you are eating and balancing it is amazing. the health benefits that come from proper nutrition are amazing. this is not a diet site! it's a wonderful tool to help you improve your health all around. strength, endurance, weight loss, energy, it all starts with balance. this is an awesome site and extremely user friendly! i recommend it to everyone!

posted Mar 11th, 2010 1:57 pm


B Nicholas

This site is the best of the best. Never...ever...ever have I succeeded with getting healthy (especially getting to a healthy weight) as I have with this site. I'm in better shape now, at 60, than I've been since I was 30. Unbelievably accurate, insightful, supportive, encouraging AND free!! Love it :-)

posted Mar 11th, 2010 1:50 pm


susan

I posted a longer comment but it does not seem to be showing up...hopefully it will. I want to add that I see under CON it says "Does not include a customized diet or exercise plan". Well...I have to say that this is not a CON but should be in the PLUS category. Nutrimirror empowers you to take control of achieving your OWN balance. Who wants a menu prescribed by someone else when you can eat foods you already like? If you want recipe ideas, or ideas of foods to up your fiber, calcium, etc. all you have to do is post a question to the journal room and you'll get all SORTS of answers. These replies will include everything from recipes, to the user's own personal experience, to lists of foods to try. I'm not interested in someone else's diet plan that restricts me in any way - what I want is the knowledge of how to fix the foods I already love in ways that balance my nutrition and health. THIS is what Nutrimirror does for me. Too many people are looking for an easy fix to weight loss and health issues via a pill or a special menu that will do this or that...but this just keeps you dependent on external factors and sets you up for failure. Nutrimirror is amazing and I plan to always be a part of it.

posted Mar 11th, 2010 1:37 pm


susan

Nutrimirror is absolutely amazing. I found the site in March of 2009 because I had started to put on a little weight after years of being able to eat whatever I want without noticing. I was hooked immediately and those extra few pounds fell off within weeks and I have been able to keep them off. Nutrimirror is not a diet or any kind of "out there" fad that makes you deprive yourself of anything. It is simply a tool that allows you to see exactly what you eat - which foods give you the nutrition you need and which ones don't. It is a tool for self-empowerment that puts your health under your total control and helps you to be able to live well in a balanced way so that you can still eat the foods you love. The journal room is filled with supportive and loving people who are eager to see one another thrive and there is a wealth of information being shared in there. It's an amazing place, run by amazing people who genuinely care for the members, and when you have people like that in charge - people who sincerely want to see others reach their full potential, there is nothing that can't be done.

posted Mar 11th, 2010 1:27 pm


Steve M

For anyone who struggles with weight or eating right, and has gone through any number of "diets" only to wind up back where they started, look no further than NutriMirror.

It is such a useful tool that helps you to undo bad eating behavior and learn good eating behavior through the easy/interactive nature of the site. My favorite part is not only the features listed in the review, but the ability to quickly look up (one click) the types of foods that will help you hit the right balance of nutrients for the day. this avoids getting "bored" eating the same foods all the time.

The really other huge thing is the community. NutriMirror is made up of the most wonderful people who are so supportive of each other and creative with ideas on food. Need encouragement? Post a note and you'll be flooded with goodwill.

I can honestly say - as someone who couldn't resist candy/cookies/ice cream and who ate way too much pasta in one sitting, that I've learned how to introduce healthier foods in my diet and manageable exercise. The result? I've lost over 30 pounds in 4 months and it hasn't felt like a struggle or sacrifice. What's more is, I've altered the way I eat - something I never thought I'd do.

Sorry for the long review but if you really want to eat right and stay fit but not be on a fad diet - Nutrimirror is ABSOLUTELy for you.

posted Mar 11th, 2010 1:26 pm


WM

I have been on NutriMirror for 6 months now, and I have been amazed at the ingenious way that this site is put together. I have never felt better in my life! I have lost weight, and gained a great group of people who support healthy living! I cannot recommend this site more!

posted Mar 11th, 2010 1:16 pm


bahtime

In August of 2009 I googled food journal and stumbled across the NitriMirror site. I was a roro dieter with some past success stories but always gained the weight and more back. I first want to say that if youâ??re looking for a DIET, then the site is not for you! If youâ??re looking for a long committed life style change to better health, then I encourage you to visit NutriMirror today!
I started at a weight of 148 and in a tight size 12. My husband, whom at that time was recovering from a stroke and weighting in at 188 and in a 34 reg. Today I weigh 115 and in a size 2. My husband weighs in at 148 and is in a 32 slim and the best part is that he is off the blood pressure meds and two of his other meds have been cut in half the dosage. We are off the couch and walking every day. I have started running with my 4 mile walks and have already done my first 10K. I would never have attempted anything like this if it wasnâ??t for the support of all the NutriMirror members and staff. You are not just a member, but treated like a friend when you join. Some of us have met our goals with our weight, but we encourage that new person to get control of their lives and stop letting the wrong food choices control them. If a person logs or even writes down their food intake, faithfully, everyday, it is a proven fact that they will lose weight from doing so. Turn back to the old time food pyramid, the fruits and vegetables, dairy, wheat. Stop choosing that fast food drive thru! I cannot say enough praises for finding NutriMirror that day in August, and my husband and I are better, healthier people because we did. I have NO Cons about NutriMirror.

posted Mar 11th, 2010 11:12 am


Betty

In August of 2009 I googled food journal and stumbled across the NitriMirror site. I was a roro dieter with some past success stories but always gained the weight and more back. I first want to say that if youâ??re looking for a DIET, then the site is not for you! If youâ??re looking for a long committed life style change to better health, then I encourage you to visit NutriMirror today!
I started at a weight of 148 and in a tight size 12. My husband, whom at that time was recovering from a stroke and weighting in at 188 and in a 34 reg. Today I weigh 115 and in a size 2. My husband weighs in at 148 and is in a 32 slim and the best part is that he is off the blood pressure meds and two of his other meds have been cut in half the dosage. We are off the couch and walking every day. I have started running with my 4 mile walks and have already done my first 10K. I would never have attempted anything like this if it wasnâ??t for the support of all the NutriMirror members and staff. You are not just a member, but treated like a friend when you join. Some of us have met our goals with our weight, but we encourage that new person to get control of their lives and stop letting the wrong food choices control them. If a person logs or even writes down their food intake, faithfully, everyday, it is a proven fact that they will lose weight from doing so. Turn back to the old time food pyramid, the fruits and vegetables, dairy, wheat. Stop choosing that fast food drive thru! I cannot say enough praises for finding NutriMirror that day in August, and my husband and I are better, healthier people because we did. I have NO Cons about NutriMirror.

posted Mar 11th, 2010 11:05 am


MEW

I have been used the NutriMirror program between June - Dec 2009. I lost 45 pounds. I was able to keep it off during the holidays, a January cruise, and 2 weeks of house guests even though I was not using the program because it taught me to be more aware of my eating. Now I am back on it again to loose more weight. I have tried everything else and this is the best.

posted Mar 11th, 2010 9:47 am


Garcia

I've been a member of Nutrimirror (NM) since August 2009. So far I have lost 36 lbs using this fantastic tool! I've greatly improved the way I eat and have 'met' some wonderful, caring people who use the site. I can't say enough good things about this site, the people who use it and the people who run it. It's so much more than just an online food log! It's a community of caring people and I thank God for the day I stumbled across it!
PROS: EVERYTHING
CONS: NONE!!!

posted Mar 11th, 2010 7:18 am


MK O'Connor

NutriMirror is THE most guilt-free, easy to use and useful tool in this diet-crazy world (virtual AND real).
First of all, IT IS NOT A DIET !!! It is a TOOL available for you to use. You use it to LEARN your eating patterns, SEE where you're eating unhealthily and TRACK your progress.
The public forum also provides almost instant feedback, TONS of useful information, camaraderie and accountability.
The only GUILT felt is YOUR own. No high pressure sales pitches, no hidden agendas to sell products -- just you, your truthfulness and a HUGE database from which to chose & log your daily consumption.
NutriMirror puts YOU in the driver's seat and makes YOU the star of YOUR OWN weight release program. FIVE REEEEEEEEELY BIG STARS !!!!

posted Mar 11th, 2010 7:00 am


footballmom2

I have been a nurtimirror member since the end of Jan 2010. I have lost about 13lbs so far but I have gained the knowledge of a lifetime. Its not a diet its a tool to educate us on healthy eating. The wt loss is a added bonus. The journal room is awsome and everyone is very supportive and there is always an answer for any questions you may have. We also share recipes and new foods.

posted Mar 11th, 2010 2:09 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account