Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

71%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 152 reviews
Ideal Protein

Ideal Protein Review: Does it Work?

Eliminating carbs and lowering calories offers three pounds off per week.

Top Rated Diet Shakes of 2016
What is it?

Ideal Protein is a weight loss meal replacement made to be used alongside a comprehensive diet and lifestyle change. These shakes are available in 3 flavors that include vanilla, chocolate, and strawberry.

It’s a low carbohydrate drink that’s meant to trigger faster weight loss results than the competition. The makers of the shake claim that all forms of carbohydrates prevent the fat burning process, that’s why each shake offers around 18 grams of protein, and roughly 6 grams of net carbohydrates. There’s also a low 110 calories, alongside an average of 4 grams of sugar. Is this this meal replacement truly an effective weight loss solution? What have customers experienced with this shake? You’ll learn everything needed to make an informed decision on Ideal Protein in this full review. To see what the top 10 shakes are, you can click here.

Do You Know the Best Diet Shakes of 2016?

Ideal Protein Ingredients and Side Effects

Here are the ingredients to their chocolate flavor:

Milk Protein Concentrate

Cocoa Powder Processed with Alkali

Skim Milk

Whey Protein Isolate

Natural and Artificial Flavor

Sugar

Salt

Carrageenan

Sodium Caseinate

Sea Salt

Xanthan Gum

Sucralose

Acesulfame Potassium

Silicon Dioxide

 

Milk Protein Concentrate: Typically made from skim milk, this processed form of milk protein is spray dried and added as a cheaper alternative to other protein sources.

This ingredient is now largely imported from different countries. According to the Food and Water Watch organization, there’s a lack of safety from imported milk protein concentrate:

“hard to imagine how regulatory agencies manage to keep track”

“MPC’S are largely unregulated”

They also mention that similar kinds of protein were imported from China, and that they contained contaminated dairy which was added to baby formula. It contained high levels of melamine, which is known to cause liver damage and other side effects.

This ingredient is added to help make the protein content seem much more than it truly is.

Cocoa Powder Processed with Alkali: A treated form of crushed cocoa bean which when alkalized reduces much of the antioxidants.

Due to the natural stimulants found within, it may produce unwanted side effects that include:

  • Rapid heart rate.
  • Insomnia.
  • Restlessness.

This ingredient can contain levels of caffeine, and due to the way it’s processed; it’s not as nutrient rich as pure cocoa powder.

Sugar: Simple carbohydrate with no nutritional value, it’s only added to provide a pleasant taste to foods.

It can be extracted from many different foods such as sugar beet and sugar cane.

In its unrefined form it may produce several unwanted side effects:

  • Increased risk of cardiovascular disease.
  • Increased risk for obesity.
  • Addiction that can lead to mood swings and flu like symptoms.
  • Tooth decay.

A study published in the New England Journal of Medicine adds:

“sugar is associated with (being) overweight, possibly because liquid sugars do not lead to a sense of satiety”

So it’s possible to eat lots of sugar and still not be satisfied.

Carrageenan: A thickener and stabilizer found in many processed foods.

Juntendo University performed a study by giving this ingredient to mice. The findings revealed toxic effects:

“carrageenan is carcinogenic to the colorectum of the rat”

This study showed an increase in tumors in once health rats.  Another study was also performed on rats, this time by the Laboratoire de Securite des Aliments:

“promotes the growth of aberrant crypt foci in the rat colon”

This means it created abnormalities in the colon and rectum. This can potentially lead to cancer.  Therefore, both studies confirmed cancerous side effects.

Xanthan Gum: Thickener made from a mixture of a sugar and bacteria.  It can be extracted from common allergens like wheat, corn, and soy. It may also lead to unwanted side effects that include:

  • Loose and frequent stools.
  • Diarrhea.
  • Bloating, nausea, gas, and stomach problems.

Sucralose: Artificial sweetener that’s commonly sold as its bran d name Splenda. It’s up to 1,000 times sweeter than sucrose.

Studies have shown it can lead to potential side effects. One study by the Hachinohe National College of Technology showed that sucralose:

“induced DNA damage in gastrointestinal organs”

Another study by the Journal of Toxicology and Environmental Health adds how it:

“exerted numerous adverse effects”

“Alters Gut Microflora and Increases Intestinal P-Glycoprotein and Cytochrome P-450

The effect on reducing gut bacteria may cause damage to the immune system. Also, P-Glycoprotein is only released by the body when a potential toxin might cause damage. So according to this study, the body treats sucralose as a toxic ingredient.

You can discover the best shake brands for weight loss by clicking here.

Acesulfame Potassium: Artificial sweetener that is calorie-free and around 200 times sweeter than sucrose.

Studies have shown it to potentially cause side effects.

One such study was added to a journal in the Hormone and Metabolic Research Journal:

“can also induce insulin secretion”

So though it’s intended to not have an effect on blood sugar, it still causes an increase which can make hunger reduction harder.

Another study by PLOS One found:

“could affect cognitive functions, potentially via altering neuro-metabolic functions”

So it can be eaten in large amounts and not effect hunger levels, this can potentially increase the risk for obesity.

Ideal Protein Quality Of Ingredients

Finding the ingredients to this shake was difficult, and after discovering what was added it became clear why.

There are artificial sweeteners, artificial flavors, potentially damaging thickeners, and many cheap forms of protein.

Though there’s a lot of protein provided with the chocolate having 18 grams, it’s made up of milk protein concentrate and sodium caseinate. Both of these are poor in comparison to the unknown quantities of whey protein, which is also added to this shake.

They also fail to mention what the amino acid content is. When choosing a protein rich shake it’s important to know if there’s a well-balanced amount of amino acids, since it’s what gives the body nourishment to function properly. The quality of ingredients is very poor for the price paid.

They also fail to properly describe what makes their meal replacements stand out. Many of the ingredients are common to other standard shakes. There’s nothing unique in this shake that would make it stand out from the competition. For shakes in the top 10 list click here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven meal replacement such as 18Shake for better results.

The Price and Quality of Ideal Protein

You’re not allowed the opportunity to buy the meal replacements on their own, so you have to pay for overall weight loss support from one of their diet centers. This includes paying for pre-packaged meals which can be extremely costly.

There are also different diet phases which range in cost. Here’s what some customers have experienced in terms of price:

“$85.00 per week; or $500 for Phase 1”

“$60.00 per week; or $120 for Phase 2”

“$30.00 per week; or $60 for Phase 3”

“Around $700 for 10 weeks; or average $70 per week”

So the price for this can vary depending on what one’s individual demands are. It’s fairly expensive for what you’re getting.

The meal replacements offered are not very good quality, since they’re full of artificial ingredients and cheap protein. There’s not enough here to satisfy as a proper meal replacement. Many of the ingredients have been shown in clinical studies to lead to metabolism disorders and weight gain.

There are cheap processed ingredients that make up the bulk of these shakes. For alternative brands that made the top 10 list click here.

Business of Ideal Protein

The Ideal Protein brand is owned by Laboratoires C.O.P. INC. They can be reached through the following contact detail.

Phone Number: (819) 772-4447

Address: 60 Jean-Proulx

                   Gatineau Qc J8Z 1W1

Email: cainfo@idealprotein.com

There’s no outstanding complaints filed against the company, though information about their customer service support is nonexistent.

No information is available about whether or not they offer a money back return policy.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results with meal replacement shakes diet our experts recommend to use it at least 5 months. Save your money buying a few bags of meal replacement product.

Customer Opinions of Ideal Protein

Reviews on this are scattered online. Here’s what a few customers have experienced:

“it’s not real food”

“They all lost weight and then they gained it back, plus more”

“way too hard for me”

“I had very little energy”

People who tried this meal replacement often complained that it left them without energy, and that they couldn’t think straight due to the low carbohydrate and lack of appetite suppression.

Conclusion - Does Ideal Protein Work?

Ideal Protein has an interesting website that claims to offer the ideal weight loss solution. Though before you decide on whether or not this is right for you, it’s important to look at the quality of their meal replacements. Their shakes are loaded with artificial sugars, mostly cheap protein sources, and they make it hard to know anything about what these shakes have to offer.

The better solution would be an all-natural, filler free, and nutritionally well-rounded shake. The 2016 best meal replacement is out in the form of 18Shake.

This shake is fully explained in detail as to what benefits it has to offer. Customers have also left testimonials showing how effective their weight loss effects were. Best of all, this shake has high quality whey protein, good fiber for appetite suppression, and you can read the full amino acid profile, of which there’s a lot of.

118Shake is even supported by a full 30 day money back guarantee. To learn more about 18 shake click here.

How Does Ideal Protein Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Good Taste


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 8, 149 total comments)

redmaj

I am the wife of an IP dieter of 3 days . Rapjr-what foods did you eat? My husband seems to have LOW energy in just 3 days. He is a tall man 6'2, needs to lose 20-25 lbs. He is doing good so far, but with the low energy I'm not sure he can be sustained on only the IP meals, so wondering what you are eating OFF the IP diet and still losing weight. Thanks!!

posted Sep 25th, 2016 7:12 am


Mama G

-

Overview of Ideal Protein:
It does work. The only reason I did this program is because I saw 3 men turn from “football, husky bodies” into basketball lean, healthy bodies.”

Pros:
you eat LOTS more veggies and salad than you probably normally would in your regular habits.
If you like a no-brainer (I don’t have to think about major meal planning) then this may work for you.
You drink at least 64 oz of water everyday.
There are aprrox 78 packaged food to choose from.**
Ketosis is a real scientific process the body does when given the “right” foods for the process.
Meet with a IP Coach each week until weight is lost and transitioned back to “real” eating.

Cons:
EXPENSIVE. $300 start up, then you buy $70-$90 of the IP foods/supplements each week, plus all the veggies ~4-6cups/day and fresh protein ~8oz/day.
**If you are lactose intolerant or have a dairy allergy there are less than 20 items that don’t contain dairy/whey. Most products use soy or milk derived protein sources. I wish I had known this before I signed the dotted line.
The ‘coaching’ videos are vague and, in my opinion useless. I believe they keep the videos that way to “protect’ their formulas/research.
Forget exercise :( I’ve lost SO MUCH muscle strength in the past 4 wks :( Boo!

Be sure to read the ingredients & nutrition labels (when they are listed). Even their fancy salt has sugar added to it. Yeah I know sugar in the salt?! What?!

I am losing weight, but am thankful I only have 20lbs overall to lose. I won’t be doing IP again. May 2016.

posted May 12th, 2016 11:03 pm


Mary

+

I really like the IP diet so far. It's only been 5 days but I am not hungry at all. I have been on many diets over the years, including the medi weight loss one which is quite similar to the IP except half the price. That was the only diet that I lost over 20 lbs.

posted May 6th, 2016 4:52 pm


Lynne H

+

I just passed my 3rd week mark on IP diet. It has been hard, but I'm committed to it and have found ways to make it more manageable for myself. I just turned 53, weighed 237 at my first weight in, and I'm insulin resistant which makes this a must for me. Being on the verge of being full blown diabetic I knew I had to do something. This is working for me. It is hard at times, but when you stop and think about it, it's just teaching you to eat correctly so you can be healthy. I have lost 12 pounds in the 3 weeks I've been on it. Yes it is a little pricey on the food, but once you are past Phase 2 that cost will drop.
If you are having a hard time, do a little research on eating all natural, go to the website for "The Truth About Cancer" it all ties together. Some of the information I heard on their docu series tied right in with what IP is teaching you about eating right.
If the lunches are too bland, try eating half of your night time protein at lunch each day along with the IP protein (I usually incorporate the Sea Salt Crips or a pudding), then eat the other half of your 8 oz portion at night with your 2 cups of veggies. Yes you will still be hungry, drink water. It took many years for your body to get used to your eating habits, it's going to take a while for it to get used to not having so much food in it. Good luck.

posted May 3rd, 2016 2:44 pm


Britney

+

I am a 21 year old college student. This January I hit the biggest I have ever been at 224. I was devastated, before I had tried slim fast, Jenny Craig, beach body and weight watchers. Non of them had worked for me. I started ideal protein, and 3 months later, I have lost 42 lbs. I feel great and I have never been this small. I'm at my half way mark. The support and constant heath monitoring makes this the only diet that I will ever recommend to anyone. It is more pricey than others and takes alot of time. There is no fruit and some of the pre-packaged food lacks in taste, but once you find things you like, it is easy to stick with.

I grew up in a house where every night was fast food. I am learning to cook healthier meals, and to think about what I'm puting in my body. Look up recipes and ask your advisor if you have any questions. This is a great diet and I have had nothing but success.

posted Apr 29th, 2016 6:40 am


Malinda

+

The diet concept makes sense and produces results. I've been on a similar diet with a competitor and had great success. But the high cost of the Ideal Protein food makes this program unsustainable. My monthly food bill is three times higher than it normally is ($1000.00 per month!!). I will not be able to complete this diet to my conclusion simply because it costs way too much. I'll put in the 16 weeks I've already paid for then move on. Hopefully this program will help me get close to my goal before I'm forced to leave.

posted Apr 25th, 2016 8:22 pm


Trudy

+

I am just finishing my second week on the IP diet. My coach, who is also a friend and,neighbour, lost 132#. She looks amazing!! I am diabetic, type 2 and was having a difficult time getting my readings out of the double digits and for the past almost 2 weeks, I haven't had a double digit reading at all. My doctor will be amazed when he sees me in 3 months as he was threatening more diabetic pills or needle. Oh, I lost 5# the first week 😊

posted Apr 24th, 2016 12:51 am


Mario Mancheno

+

I have lost 20 lbs in 5 weeks, ideal protein protocol diet really works!
I love eating, but I'm over 50 year old and I want to look good and be alive to see my grandkids .

posted Apr 9th, 2016 12:44 pm


Mike

+

Amazing program! Lost 45 lbs and have kept it off for five years now. Really gave me an understanding of weight management and life style. Highly recommend this program!

posted Mar 23rd, 2016 6:27 pm


Rapjr

My wife and I started together thru our doctor. After two weeks, I realized the meals were bland, not fulfilling and too dang expensive for both of us. With some research, I was able to calculate my needs, plan meals and do my own version. My wife stick to IP. I lost 7 lbs on IP over two weeks. Then I lost 11lbs on my versions first week- and was definitely more fulfilled than on IP. I went from 225lbs to 170lbs in 4 months, Bp dropped from 140/95 on meds to 115/69, off meds. IP and similar low carb/sugar lifestyle is definitely not for everyone! It's hard to stay resolute, honestly. I've gained most back over three years, but I'm in my forties and travel for work....so, I started again, March 9, 2016 and have lost 17lbs already. Bp today @ doctor was 118/82...No meds. SUGAR, Dunkin donuts flavor coffee and Pepsi are my nemesis! So overall IP is awesome for loss, if you can stick to it.

posted Mar 22nd, 2016 1:19 am


Deana

+

I've been on this diet for 10 weeks now, lost 38.2 pounds, and have never been on a diet in my 40+ years of dieting that has this low amount of caloric intake that I've NOT cheated on. This diet is easy, I have an abundance of energy, feel awesome, and think I can actually see this diet all the way through to the end.

posted Mar 6th, 2016 6:46 pm


Dee

?

What is the average daily sodium intake and recommendation on phase one of the IPD? What is the average amount of sodium intake on phase one of the diet? What is the recommended amount?. Told to use salt generously and bought the salt supplement.

posted Feb 18th, 2016 5:04 pm


Heidi

?

How much will it cost per month and how many prepackaged meals a day will I eat? ideal protein diet with meal packets

posted Feb 6th, 2016 3:15 pm


Juan De Jesus

This is the best diet I've ever been. I've lost 35 pounds in less than two months. Now discipline is the main factor in anything that you get into. My muscles pain went away and I can say that I'm a new person today.

posted Feb 3rd, 2016 2:57 pm


maria

+

This is "The Diet", never been able to get rid of cellulite before and now I have. I'm a healthy and loving it!

posted Jan 26th, 2016 7:22 pm


Marie Conroy

+

Just completed my first week on IP and lost 5 pounds. First couple of days were rough. I felt very tired and weak but passed by day 4. Never really hungry. The shakes, bars and snacks are ok. The soups and other meals are gross, I just can't choke them down so struggling a bit with what to eat for lunches. I have 30lbs to go which I hope I can achieve by end of April. Can't imagine eating these packaged foods for much longer than that.

posted Jan 22nd, 2016 5:44 pm


Nancy B.

+

Great diet & so easy to follow. Weight loss is as they indicate as long as the person is dedicated and committed to follow it. Lose weight gradually almost every week until getting to the amt. of weight loss desired. Like all diets, it you're not committed, it won't work. The way it's monitored weekly with their nutritionist is exceptional. 2 other family members went on it and lost weight quickly & maintained the weight loss after. It's a life style change if you're committed. The food during and after is wonderful. Even my husband eats veggies now! Baked califllower and brocoli, jicama. He lost 18#'s just eating what I made for dinner and wasn't on the diet. We both benefited. Final Phase 4 maintenance isn't difficult to stay on. Best diet I've ever been on.

posted Jan 21st, 2016 1:56 pm


Nancy B.

+

Great diet & so easy to follow. Weight loss is as they indicate as long as the person is dedicated and committed to follow it. Lose weight gradually almost every week until getting to the amt. of weight loss desired. Like all diets, it you're not committed, it won't work. The way it's monitored weekly with their nutritionist is exceptional. 2 other family members went on it and lost weight quickly & maintained the weight loss after. It's a life style change if you're committed. The food during and after is wonderful. Even my husband eats veggies now! Baked califllower and brocoli, jicama. He lost 18#'s just eating what I made for dinner and wasn't on the diet. We both benefited. Final Phase 4 maintenance isn't difficult to stay on. Best diet I've ever been on.

posted Jan 21st, 2016 1:56 pm


Nancy Birthman

-

I was on Ideal Protein Diet twice! First time I lost 83# went through the four phases. Once off it I craved sugar so badly gained most of the weight back. Tried again, got so sick of the diet food I stopped. Have gained all weight back plus 13# more. It seems all the reviews I've read about I.P diet does not have anyone that has been off the diet very long, and does not use any of I.P. Food once off! And it is so expensive, I can't believe I spent that much money!

posted Jan 21st, 2016 12:28 pm


Julie thomas

?

flyingjthomas@gmail.com I have been on ip protine it worked great lost fast went off gained 20 back decided to go. On it again first week 3 pounds next two weeks nothing have done every thing right measured water what's going on I want to cry is this not for me please help

posted Jan 17th, 2016 7:29 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method is a diet program that offers rapid weight loss while sparing lean muscle mass. This program focuses primarily on fat loss and naturally suppresses your appetite. Ideal Protein manufactures and distributes products to health professionals and you must sign up with a center to enroll in the program. The program was medically designed and developed over 25 years ago by Dr. Tran Tien Chanh in France. There are four different phases which help stabilize the pancreas and blood sugar levels. While on this program you will teach your body to live off its own fat reserves. You will also learn that simple carbohydrates can prevent weight loss. Ideal protein is not a high protein diet.

You will be restricting sugars both simple and complex until your weight loss goal is reached. This program takes on the belief that the body cannot burn fat as long as sugar is being consumed. While on the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method, you will eat foods high in protein which will help your body burn fat reserves instead of muscle. Education is a top priority of the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method. You will learn why you gain weight and how to lose it properly.

Do You Know the Best Diet Shakes of 2016?

PRO
  • Lose weight quickly
  • Weight loss is stored fat rather than muscle mass
  • Program teaches you why you gain weight and how to lose it
  • Program is medically designed
  • Eliminates sugar so the body can burn fat
  • Several food products to choose from
  • Program is administered through professionals
  • Receive one on one service and professional support
CON
  • Eliminating sugar and carbs may be difficult for some to maintain for long periods
  • Must enter name, email address and phone number to search for a center
  • Cost information is not readily available
  • There may not be a center in your area
  • Program involves you eating prepackaged food which may leave you hungry
  • Diet can involve some unpleasant side effects while the body adjusts
  • You may suffer health problems if the supplements are not taken
  • Exercise not recommended
  • Calorie count is between 1,000-1,100 calories per day
DIET and NUTRITION

While on the Ideal Protein plan, you will be taking some required supplements and eating prepackaged meals that the company manufactures. There is no sugar allowed as long as you are on the program. This program can be very strict to stick to, especially for those that may be used to eating carbohydrates or sugar. You must follow the plan precisely so no cheating is allowed. There are a lot of foods that are not allowed, and it is easy to see how you can drop fairly large amounts of weight each week. The eating plan is designed to help your body burn stored fat and allow your organs to function properly. Below is a list of the foods that are not allowed in phases one and two:

  • Pasta, rice, potatoes, legumes, breads or carbohydrates
  • Rooted vegetables of any kind including beets and carrots
  • Sweet peas or corn
  • Fruit or fruit juice
  • Cheese or other dairy
  • Nuts
  • Soda (diet or regular)
  • Alcohol
EXERCISE

Exercise is actually not recommended during the first three weeks of the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method. The reason for this is because your calorie intake will only be about 900 per day. The first three weeks of the program you will be teaching your body to dip into its fat stores for energy. If you exercise, you may burn too many calories and your body will start to burn off muscle as well. If you feel that you have to exercise during the first three weeks, it is recommended that you do it lightly rather than at full intensity.

CONCLUSION

The Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method is basically a low-calorie, low-carb diet. This program places you on a restrictive calorie count each day, and it also requires that you eat packaged meals. With no wiggle room and such strict rules, many dieters will not be able to stick to the program. For those that can, the low calorie portion of the diet alone is bound to cause weight loss. Many people have claimed that the Ideal Protein program has worked for them. If you have the discipline and can afford the program, it may be a solution for you as well.

Common Misspellings

Idea protein weight loss method, ideal weights loss method, ideal wait loss method, ideal weit loss method, idée weight loss method

Related Diets: Atkins Diet, Atkins Advantage, Sugar Busters!

Whats better than
Ideal Protein?