Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

87%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 142 reviews

Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method

Eliminating carbs and lowering calories offers three pounds off per week.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method is a diet program that offers rapid weight loss while sparing lean muscle mass. This program focuses primarily on fat loss and naturally suppresses your appetite. Ideal Protein manufactures and distributes products to health professionals and you must sign up with a center to enroll in the program. The program was medically designed and developed over 25 years ago by Dr. Tran Tien Chanh in France. There are four different phases which help stabilize the pancreas and blood sugar levels. While on this program you will teach your body to live off its own fat reserves. You will also learn that simple carbohydrates can prevent weight loss. Ideal protein is not a high protein diet.

You will be restricting sugars both simple and complex until your weight loss goal is reached. This program takes on the belief that the body cannot burn fat as long as sugar is being consumed. While on the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method, you will eat foods high in protein which will help your body burn fat reserves instead of muscle. Education is a top priority of the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method. You will learn why you gain weight and how to lose it properly.

PRO
  • Lose weight quickly
  • Weight loss is stored fat rather than muscle mass
  • Program teaches you why you gain weight and how to lose it
  • Program is medically designed
  • Eliminates sugar so the body can burn fat
  • Several food products to choose from
  • Program is administered through professionals
  • Receive one on one service and professional support
CON
  • Eliminating sugar and carbs may be difficult for some to maintain for long periods
  • Must enter name, email address and phone number to search for a center
  • Cost information is not readily available
  • There may not be a center in your area
  • Program involves you eating prepackaged food which may leave you hungry
  • Diet can involve some unpleasant side effects while the body adjusts
  • You may suffer health problems if the supplements are not taken
  • Exercise not recommended
  • Calorie count is between 1,000-1,100 calories per day
DIET and NUTRITION

While on the Ideal Protein plan, you will be taking some required supplements and eating prepackaged meals that the company manufactures. There is no sugar allowed as long as you are on the program. This program can be very strict to stick to, especially for those that may be used to eating carbohydrates or sugar. You must follow the plan precisely so no cheating is allowed. There are a lot of foods that are not allowed, and it is easy to see how you can drop fairly large amounts of weight each week. The eating plan is designed to help your body burn stored fat and allow your organs to function properly. Below is a list of the foods that are not allowed in phases one and two:

  • Pasta, rice, potatoes, legumes, breads or carbohydrates
  • Rooted vegetables of any kind including beets and carrots
  • Sweet peas or corn
  • Fruit or fruit juice
  • Cheese or other dairy
  • Nuts
  • Soda (diet or regular)
  • Alcohol
EXERCISE

Exercise is actually not recommended during the first three weeks of the Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method. The reason for this is because your calorie intake will only be about 900 per day. The first three weeks of the program you will be teaching your body to dip into its fat stores for energy. If you exercise, you may burn too many calories and your body will start to burn off muscle as well. If you feel that you have to exercise during the first three weeks, it is recommended that you do it lightly rather than at full intensity.

CONCLUSION

The Ideal Protein Weight Loss Method is basically a low-calorie, low-carb diet. This program places you on a restrictive calorie count each day, and it also requires that you eat packaged meals. With no wiggle room and such strict rules, many dieters will not be able to stick to the program. For those that can, the low calorie portion of the diet alone is bound to cause weight loss. Many people have claimed that the Ideal Protein program has worked for them. If you have the discipline and can afford the program, it may be a solution for you as well.

Common Misspellings

Idea protein weight loss method, ideal weights loss method, ideal wait loss method, ideal weit loss method, idée weight loss method


Related Diets: Atkins Advantage, Atkins Diet, Sugar Busters!


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 7, 137 total comments)

Bill

I started IP back in June of 2014. I'm a 56 year old male and I did this with my wife and daughter. I was skeptical at first but in the first 10 days I lost 8 lbs. By Thanksgiving of 2014 I went from 211 lbs to 156 lbs! I live in Alaska so I used a lot of fish (not salmon) for dinner protein and ate a lot of veggies. By April of 2015 I was back up to 185 due to life stresses and a new heavy labor job. Yeah, I gained lots of muscle but I saw the fat return.
I've since gone back to IP on 9/1/15 and have dropped 14 lbs to date. IF I could offer one bit of advice: when one hits their weight goal, make the transition into Phase 2 and Phase 3 with the IP coach. I did not do that and went from a healthy weight loss diet to eating junk/carbs again.
Contrary to what many hear, being on IP has cleared my head/cognition and I love having sugars and carbs out of my diet. I have more energy now and feel great.
As an added bonus, doing this with your partner definitely improves intimacy. I have found that our ability to enjoy intimacy has increased greatly as a result of the IP weight loss.
I was overweight all of my life and this was the only program that was so rigid and coached that my success was almost assured. It does take discipline but doing this with a partner makes it a bit easier and more fun.
Best of luck to all of you working to achieve your goals.

posted Sep 26th, 2015 5:18 am


Bill

I started IP back in June of 2014. I'm a 56 year old male and I did this with my wife and daughter. I was skeptical at first but in the first 10 days I lost 8 lbs. By Thanksgiving of 2014 I went from 211 lbs to 156 lbs! I live in Alaska so I used a lot of fish (not salmon) for dinner protein and ate a lot of veggies. By April of 2015 I was back up to 185 due to life stresses and a new heavy labor job. Yeah, I gained lots of muscle but I saw the fat return.
I've since gone back to IP on 9/1/15 and have dropped 14 lbs to date. IF I could offer one bit of advice: when one hits their weight goal, make the transition into Phase 2 and Phase 3 with the IP coach. I did not do that and went from a healthy weight loss diet to eating junk/carbs again.
Contrary to what many hear, being on IP has cleared my head/cognition and I love having sugars and carbs out of my diet. I have more energy now and feel great.
As an added bonus, doing this with your partner definitely improves intimacy. I have found that our ability to enjoy intimacy has increased greatly as a result of the IP weight loss.
I was overweight all of my life and this was the only program that was so rigid and coached that my success was almost assured. It does take discipline but doing this with a partner makes it a bit easier and more fun.
Best of luck to all of you working to achieve your goals.

posted Sep 26th, 2015 5:17 am


Laura

I'm about to start Ip against, it has been five years since I last did the program. I lost 35 lbs five years ago, looked and felt amazing. I gained all the weight back plus 25 lbs since 2010 when I was on the program. I'm nervous about starting again because I know it is tough to do something like IP more than one time. I plan to start this Wednesday and am mentally preparing !

posted Sep 12th, 2015 8:28 pm


Monica

If you lose 3 to 7 lbs in the first week you are mobilizing your glycogen stores from your liver and not fat.

posted Aug 27th, 2015 1:50 am



Elyse

As others have said - this diet requires dedication. I have always been hooked on sugars and carbs, my mother as well. I could happily eat just fresh bread, twizzlers, sorbet, and a croissant for dinner. I'm in my mid-30s now and losing weight just isn't easy, even though I'm active. It's been creeping up and up, and even though I don't look it, I'm over my healthy weight zone. For someone who works out 3 hours a week, that's unacceptable! But nothing was working. I gave IP a shot. It was TOUGH for the first three days. I had to talk myself through every minute that I wanted to eat junk. But, amazingly, after three days, I wasn't hungry anymore! I couldn't believe it! I always feel hungry, could always munch on something. Suddenly, I didn't need to. It was unreal.

I continued working out, and my coach advised that I increase my proteins and veggies to accommodate it. That worked. I cheated and had some wine, and that knocked me out of ketosis. I could tell because I was hungry again. So then I would have half a glass socially, and that seemed to be sufficient.

I then went off IP for a year. The weight came back, even though I felt like I was keeping a not-terrible lifestyle. I went back to my IP coach to discover that yes, I had put the weight back on (I was the exact same weight as I was the first time I went) BUT I had 7 pounds more muscle! That was very encouraging. I'm back on IP again, and will try to sustain the lifestyle better (I did have the occasional binge on a WHOLE BAG of marshmallows from time to time) because even with the weight it's clear my body is doing better.

No, it's not easy at first. Yes, it costs up front but I'm saving money on eating out and junk food. But I feel so much better, not hungry, and my body responds well.

posted Jul 21st, 2015 8:58 am


TerrI

Have been on the diet 24 weeks; lost 35 lbs. The program DOES work but only if you are extremely dedicated to follow the plan exactly. You can travel while on this plan. You can not eat out. Since I have not lost the mandatory average of 2 lbs per week, my "weight loss coach" advised me that I would need to re-evaluate my goal weight, be ok with the lbs lost, and phase out of the program because I was obviously not invested, was obviously cheating, and IT IS NOT ACCEPTABLE TO NOT LOOSE WEIGHT ON THE PROGRAM BECAUSE IT IS NOT GOOD FOR THEIR BUSINESS OR IMAGE! Oh yes, don't forget, this IS A BUSINESS as a previous writer mentioned. The "coaches" are not weight loss specialists or medical professionals. It is all about money! I wanted to like this program, I really did! I saw my coworkers melt away. But after weigh in last night....DONE! She actually told me "this is not WW". NO, it's not, WW has very caring, empathetic coaches! My coworker inquired of her clinic if I could possibly switch over without a fee and that clinic agreed so I may consider that option. OH, and, when I was invited to a weight loss clinic during my 3rd week to talk about being on Phase 1, I met an ANOREXIC individual. Of course I asked lots of questions about her weight loss and which Phase she was in. She was somewhat avoidant but finally disclosed she was an anorexic and was on the program to eat to maintain her weight. WTF? That was my first red flag I chose to ignore. An anorexic person has absolutely no business speaking at a weight loss clinic. The coach totally misrepresented her, making us think this person had lost a ton of weight on Ideal Protein. Go for it but remember this is a business to make money!

posted Jul 18th, 2015 12:03 am


Sheryl

I started in Feb weighing in at 255lbs. As of today I'm down to 188lbs! I look and most importantly, feel amazing. Some of the food is gross but you stick to with what you like and it works like a charm. I did have and continue to have issues with constipation but IP couch was able to help me with that.

posted Jul 14th, 2015 2:43 pm


Cindy Sabine

Follow the diet for over a month very slow lost my center was not very helpful but I have friends with great results too costly to continue

posted Jun 28th, 2015 9:21 pm


Eirodann

So what's the bottom line cost? Everyone talks about everything except the cost. How much does this program cost? I assume you have to buy their food, is there also an enrollment fee?

posted Jun 24th, 2015 8:25 pm


ZLGVS

I've been in the diet for 3 weeks now and have lost 22 lbs..that's 1 lb a day...but actually I didn't lose a lb in the last week, So I lost 8 lbs the first week, 10 the second week, nothing the third week and 3 lbs yesterday. Zero during my third week, I was so frustrated, but I was having my period too, completely out of it last Friday but was still not losing weight, I saw the daily video we receive and they were talking about what to do during a plateau, so I skipped the restricted food yesterday and today I was down 3 lbs! yayyy finally. If you are going to do it, don't give up, I emailed my doctor today asking him for how long I should skip the restricted food.

posted Jun 23rd, 2015 7:19 pm


Mary

Rude representatives and customer service. Please don't waste your time. Not working also. I'm not even that obese.

posted Jun 19th, 2015 3:44 pm


Bruce Suskie

I just completed my 5th week. I was skeptical at first, but at today's weigh in I just hit 30lbs lost. That is 6 lbs per week, and I am getting to eat real food. There are times where I have felt week or lightheaded, but I've learned to put a little salt in my water to,over come it. It's not that hard, and definitely worth it. I hope to hit my goal of 45 lbs within the next 3 weeks or so.

posted Jun 18th, 2015 3:18 am


Ray

The plan works. But like any other challenge in life, The main component is YOUR DETERMINATION. If you do the work the plan will work for you. I'm 6 weeks in and lost 21 lbs. It has not been perfect but I haven't given up and it's good to be on a plan that helps you to live a healthier lifestyle and not just to lose weight temporarily. My coaches have been very supportive and were my saving grace and have helped me not to give up. I've tried other methods of losing weight but I love Ideal Protein! I'm more disciplined and I'm back in the kitchen cooking and I feel healthier and the reward is shredding unwanted pounds.

posted Jun 7th, 2015 3:38 pm


Carl

I've lost 40 lbs from 4/13/15 to 6/5/15, about 5 1/2 lbs a week. Ideal Protein diet works for me.

posted Jun 6th, 2015 1:53 am


Lynette

It is a bit expensive and hard to find competent coaches that really are there to help.

posted Jun 3rd, 2015 11:01 pm


Adrianna

I have been on the ideal protein diet for one week. I lost 7 pounds so far. I followed it perfectly.
1- You have weekly follow ups with your coach; you know how much fat you've lost, your body composition, the inches you lost also.
2- Chocolate Wafers, all soy puffs and chocolate chip pancakes are really good, also the bbq chips.
3- You will feel tired, that's inevitable but it's nothing you can't handle.

posted Jun 1st, 2015 11:04 pm


Bruce

I'm in 3rd week and have lost 18 lbs. it isn't too hard, goal is 40 lbs. I struggled a few days with light headless, but otherwise not too bad. Some say it's tough, it hasn't been too bad for me. First diet I've been on that actually works. Well worth the minor/temporary suffering.

posted Jun 1st, 2015 9:51 pm


Bruce

Lost 18 lbs in first 3 weeks, and it isn't too hard. Not too hungry. Very doable.

posted Jun 1st, 2015 9:42 pm


David

60 y/o male, 202 lbs, BP 150/90. Started program little over one week ago and lost 7 lbs first week. Feel very good about that. Goal to lose 25 lbs, maybe more. Woke up one night and felt the fat burning/ketosis, which I had never felt before (non-painful, just a sensation). Catalyst to my motivation: highest ever weight and highest BP for me; soul-searching. Doctor had this program posted on his wall. I believe in these kind of things. I signed up right away. Men are especially at need of this b/c of the way we store fats (belly) unlike women who store in more healthy ways by nature. High BP may not be seen in overweight women (my opinion) like is seen in men. Reduce weight and you reduce BP, double benefit.

posted May 30th, 2015 10:39 pm


Pat Moriarty

I made the big decision to try the ideal protein program and I do beleive that you have to be in the right mind set. I have always struggled with my weight, and what I found shocking was the explanation of how the program worked and in the end explained why I all my efforts previously did not work. The education part is a bonus, and the coaching videos keep you focused. I am consider this as an investment in myself as I feel I am worth it and I beleive you are also.

posted May 21st, 2015 4:15 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 






Featured Videos
Mona Greasa

Mona Greasa

traineoPLUS Demo

traineoPLUS Demo